Jim Butcher - Proven Guilty - Little, Brown Book Group

Proven Guilty

The Dresden Files, Book Eight

By Jim Butcher

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

An action-packed case file from Harry Dresden, private investigator and wizard, by international bestselling author Jim Butcher

Meet Harry Dresden, Chicago's first (and only) Wizard P.I. Turns out the 'everyday' world is full of strange and magical things - and most of them don't play well with humans. That's where Harry comes in.

Harry has no friends on the White Council of Wizards, who find him brash and undisciplined (and they may have a point). However, now vampire wars have thinned out the wizards a little, they need him. So before he can blink, he's assigned to investigate rumours of black magic. Harry's other problem is an old friend's daughter - all grown-up and in trouble already. Her boyfriend insists he's innocent of something resembling a crime straight out of a horror film. This first impression turns out to be . . . well, pretty accurate, as Harry discovers malevolent entities feeding on fear. All in a day's work for a wizard, his dog, and a talking skull named Bob.

Magic - it can get a guy killed.

Biographical Notes

As well as being a bestselling author, Jim Butcher is a martial arts enthusiast with fifteen years of experience in various styles. He's also a skilled rider and enjoys fencing, singing, bad SF movies and live-action gaming. Jim lives in Missouri with his wife, son and a houseful of computers.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356500348
  • Publication date: 05 May 2011
  • Page count: 496
  • Imprint: Orbit
The body count from the magical melees would do any hard-boiled gumshoe proud — Publishers Weekly
This imaginative series continues to surprise and delight — Booklist
Orbit

The Hod King

Josiah Bancroft
Authors:
Josiah Bancroft
Orbit

The Night Angel Trilogy

Brent Weeks
Authors:
Brent Weeks
Dialogue Books

One More Chance

Lucy Ayrton
Authors:
Lucy Ayrton
Orbit

Empire of Sand

Tasha Suri
Authors:
Tasha Suri
Orbit

The Winter Road

Adrian Selby
Authors:
Adrian Selby

'A bold, assured storyteller' PETER NEWMAN author of The VagrantThe greatest empire of them all began with a road.The Circle - a thousand miles of perilous forests and warring clans. No one has ever tamed such treacherous territory before, but ex-soldier Teyr Amondsen, veteran of a hundred battles, is determined to try. With a merchant caravan protected by a crew of skilled mercenaries, Amondsen embarks on a dangerous mission to forge a road across the untamed wilderness that was once her home. But a warlord rises in the wilds of the Circle, uniting its clans and terrorising its people. Teyr's battles may not be over yet . . .All roads lead back to war.Praise for Adrian Selby: 'Perfect for fans of Joe Abercrombie' RT BOOK REVIEWS'A lot to enjoy, especially if you are a fan of dark, gritty, old-soldier stories' FANTASY FACTION'Wears its grimdark on its sleeve . . . a thrilling tale of adventure, betrayal, triumph and loss' INTERZONE 'I give it nothing but the highest recommendation' GRIMDARK MAGAZINE For more epic fantasy action from Adrian Selby, check out SNAKEWOOD or follow him on twitter at @adrianlselby for updates.

Piatkus

The Witch Who Courted Death

Maria Lewis
Authors:
Maria Lewis

'Maria Lewis is a must-read' Buzzfeed'Pay attention urban fantasy fans - Maria Lewis is a name you'll want to remember' One More PageConsidering her status as the world's most powerful medium, Casper von Klitzing and her twin brother Baristan have lived a pretty normal life - until now. After a horrific incident in her home city of Berlin, orchestrated by the mysterious Oct, Casper is consumed with vengeance towards an enemy she doesn't understand. But the only other person ever to escape Oct was a witch - and so Casper is soon on her trail. But this witch does not want to be found. Diving headfirst into the supernaturally secretive world of spells, charms and covens, it's not long before Casper is crossing more than just the line between the living and the dead . . . Reinventing witches and ghosts with a much-needed feminist twist, this is an unmissable new read from one of the most exciting voices in fantasy:'If you haven't heard about Maria Lewis you must have been living under a rock' Good Reading Magazine'I can't wait to find out what happens next!' Keri Arthur'Truly one of the best in the genre I have ever read.' Oscar-nominee Lexi Alexander (Green Street Hooligans, Punisher: War Zone, Arrow, Supergirl)'Journalist Maria Lewis grabs the paranormal fiction genre by the scruff of its neck and gives it a shake' The West Australian'An intriguing take on a classic monster with vibrant, modern characters.' Sci Fi Bulletin'Pay attention urban fantasy fans - Maria Lewis is a name you'll want to remember.' One More Page

Fleet

The Bus on Thursday

Shirley Barrett
Authors:
Shirley Barrett

'Intoxicating' Jeff VanderMeer, author of Annihilation'Barrett's brilliant second novel plummets headlong into a darkly funny tale' Mail on SundayBridget Jones meets Twin Peaks in this black comedy about a woman's retreat to a remote Australian town and the horrors awaiting her.It wasn't just the bad breakup that turned Eleanor Mellett's life upside down. It was the cancer. And all the demons that came with it.One day she felt a bit of a bump when she was scratching her armpit at work. The next thing she knew, her breast was being removed by an inappropriately attractive doctor, and she was subsequently inundated with cupcakes, besieged by judgy support groups, and the ungrateful recipient of hand-knitted sweaters from her mum.Luckily, Eleanor finds that Talbingo, a remote little town, needs a primary-school teacher. Their Miss Barker upped and vanished in the night, despite being the most caring teacher ever, according to everyone. Unfortunately, Talbingo is a bit creepy. It's not only the communion-wine-swigging priest prone to rants about how cancer is caused by demons. Or the unstable, overly sensitive kids, always going on about Miss Barker and her amazing sticker system. It's living alone in a remote cabin, with no phone service or wifi, wondering why there are so many locks on the front door, and who is knocking on it late at night.Riotously funny, deeply unsettling, and surprisingly poignant, Shirley Barrett's The Bus on Thursday is a wicked, weird, wild ride for fans of Maria Semple, Stephen King and Henry James's The Turn of the Screw. And when have those three writers ever appeared in the same sentence?

Orbit

Brief Cases

Jim Butcher
Authors:
Jim Butcher
ATOM

A Secret Beat

Rebecca Denton
Authors:
Rebecca Denton
Constable

The Case of the Fool

E. V. Harte
Authors:
E. V. Harte
Orbit

Rosewater

Tade Thompson
Authors:
Tade Thompson

Winner of the inaugural Nommo Award for Best Novel Africa's first award for speculative fiction John W. Campbell Award finalist for Best Science Fiction NovelRosewater is a town on the edge. A community formed around the edges of a mysterious biodome, its residents comprise the hopeful, the hungry and the helpless - people eager for a glimpse inside the dome or a taste of its rumoured healing powers. Kaaro is a government agent with a criminal past. He has seen inside the biodome, and doesn't care to again - but when something begins killing off others like himself, Kaaro must defy his masters to search for an answer, facing his dark history and coming to a realisation about a horrifying future.

Orbit

The Blood Mirror

Brent Weeks
Authors:
Brent Weeks
Orbit

Soul of the World

David Mealing
Authors:
David Mealing
Abacus

Hangover Square

Patrick Hamilton
Authors:
Patrick Hamilton

The seventy-fifth anniversary edition, with a new introduction by Anthony Quinn.'I recommend Hamilton at every opportunity, because he was such a wonderful writer and yet is rather under-read today. All his novels are terrific' Sarah Waters'If you were looking to fly from Dickens to Martin Amis with just one overnight stop, then Hamilton is your man' Nick HornbyLondon, 1939, and in the grimy publands of Earls Court, George Harvey Bone is pursuing a helpless infatuation. Netta is cool, contemptuous and hopelessly desirable to George. George is adrift in a drunken hell, except in his 'dead' moments, when something goes click in his head and he realises, without a doubt, that he must kill her. In the darkly comic Hangover Square Patrick Hamilton brilliantly evokes a seedy, fog-bound world of saloon bars, lodging houses and boozing philosophers, immortalising the slang and conversational tone of a whole generation and capturing the premonitions of doom that pervaded London life in the months before the war.

Orbit

The Aeronaut's Windlass

Jim Butcher
Authors:
Jim Butcher
Orbit

A Blade of Black Steel

Alex Marshall
Authors:
Alex Marshall

After five hundred years, the Sunken Kingdom has returned, and brought with it a monstrous secret that threatens to destroy every country on the Star. As an inhuman army gathers on its shores, poised to invade the Immaculate Isles, the members of the Cobalt Company face an ugly choice: abandon their dreams of glory and vengeance to combat a menace from another realm, or pursue their ambitions and hope the Star is still there when the smoke clears. Five villains. One legendary general. A battle for survival.

Orbit

Skin Game

Jim Butcher
Authors:
Jim Butcher
Orbit

Symbiont

Mira Grant
Authors:
Mira Grant

THE ENEMY IS INSIDE US.The SymboGen-designed parasites were created to relieve humanity of disease and sickness. But the implants in the majority of the world's population began attacking their hosts, turning them into a ravenous horde.Now those who do not appear to be afflicted are being gathered for quarantine as panic spreads, but Sal and her companions must discover how the parasites are taking over their hosts, what their eventual goal is and how they can be stopped.

Orbit

The Dragon Reborn

Robert Jordan
Authors:
Robert Jordan
Orbit

Red Blooded

Amanda Carlson
Authors:
Amanda Carlson