Saskia Vogel - Permission - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback
    More information
    • ISBN:9780349700410
    • Publication date:07 Mar 2019
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780349700397
    • Publication date:07 Mar 2019

Permission

By Saskia Vogel

  • Hardback
  • £14.99

A raw, fresh, haunting, emotionally and sexually honest literary debut.

ELLE ONES TO WATCH 2019

'Beautifully written, mysterious and compelling' JANET FITCH

'If Joan Didion had written about the BDSM community in LA it may have felt a bit like Permission' LIT HUB MUST READ BOOKS OF 2019

'Stunning. Beautifully written, and a delicate portrayal of multiple slippery aspects of sexuality' STOYA

'Formidable in its elegance and fierce in its simplicity, Saskia Vogel's writing leaves the reader stunned and moved and wanting more.'
ANDREA SCRIMA, AUTHOR OF A LESSER DAY

'[A] quietly transgressive tale of desire, love, loneliness, restraint and connection. The writing is fresh and minimal and the characters full of longing. A blistering debut for fans of Mary Gaitskill and A. M. Homes'
SARAH JANE ROBERTS

'Wonderful'
JENNIFER CROFT, MAN BOOKER INTERNATIONAL PRIZE WINNING TRANSLATOR, 2018

'Permission excavates the uncertain landscape that lies just beneath the Hollywood dream factory we think we all know and against all odds finds something sacred there.'
RYAN RUBY, AUTHOR OF THE ZERO AND THE ONE

*
*
*

A raw, fresh, haunting, emotionally and sexually honest literary debut.

When Echo's father gets swept away by a freak current off the Los Angeles coast, she finds herself sinking into a complete state of paralysis. With no true friends and a troubled relationship with her mother, the failed young actress attempts to seek solace in the best way she knows: by losing herself in the lives of strangers. When by chance Echo meets a dominatrix called Orly, it finally feels like she might have found someone who will be nurturing and treasure her for who she is. But Orly's fifty-something houseboy, Piggy, isn't quite ready to let someone else share the intimate relationship he's worked so hard to form with his mistress.

Permission is a love story about people who are sick with dreams and expectations and turn to the erotic for comfort and cure. As they stumble through the landscape of desire, they are in a desperate search for the answer to that sacred question: how do I want to be loved?

Biographical Notes

Saskia Vogel is from Los Angeles and lives in Berlin, where she works as a writer and Swedish-to-English literary translator. She has written on power and sexuality for publications such as Paris Review Daily, The White Review, Sight and Sound, and The Offing. Previously, she worked as Granta magazine's publicist and as an editor at the
AVN Media Network, where she reported on pornography and adult pleasure products.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780349700403
  • Publication date: 07 Mar 2019
  • Page count: 256
  • Imprint: Dialogue Books
Formidable in its elegance and fierce in its simplicity, Saskia Vogel's writing leaves the reader stunned and moved and wanting more — Andrea Scrima, author of A Lesser Day
Beautifully written, mysterious and compelling — Janet Fitch
Permission excavates the uncertain landscape that lies just beneath the Hollywood dream factory we think we all know and against all odds finds something sacred there — Ryan Ruby, author of The Zero and the One
Vogel's writing is beauty in motion. From capturing a humiliating date with a predatory agent to what attracts people to BDSM, this is an addictive read you'll finish within hours — Stylist
A story about grief, loneliness and sadomasochism . . . it challenges any preconceptions you might have about BDSM in literature . . . Permission is sometimes a dark, even gruelling, read. But it possesses an unshowy beauty, too, suggesting Vogel is a gleaming new talent — Arifa Akbar, Observer (New Review)
Corsair

The Stepford Wives

Ira Levin
Authors:
Ira Levin
Corsair

How I Became a Famous Novelist

Steve Hely
Authors:
Steve Hely
Corsair

The Privileges

Jonathan Dee
Authors:
Jonathan Dee
Virago

A Long Way From Paradise

Leah Chishugi
Authors:
Leah Chishugi

Leah Chishugi grew up in eastern Congo but, aged seventeen, she moved to Kigali, the Rwandan capital, to work as a model. She married and had a son. Then in 1994 she was caught up in the horrific conflict, and escaped only after being left for dead under a pile of corpses. She fled with her son to Uganda, then South Africa where she was miraculously reunited with her husband whom she believed dead. Leah finally settled in the UK where she was granted asylum and became a nurse. After her mother died, Leah decided to set up a charity to help the women and children of eastern Congo - victims of continuing war atrocities. A LONG WAY FROM PARADISE is a deeply courageous narrative of one woman's survival of personal trauma and finding a greater purpose in life through devotion to the service of others.

Sphere

The One That Got Away

Lucy Dawson
Authors:
Lucy Dawson
Sphere

Sisters-In-Law

Nina Bell
Authors:
Nina Bell
Virago

Miles From Nowhere

Nami Mun
Authors:
Nami Mun

Joon is a young Korean immigrant living in the Bronx of the 1980s. Her parents have crumbled under the weight of her father's infidelity and mental illness has rendered her mother nearly catatonic. So Joon, at the age of thirteen, decides she's better off on her own and sets out on a harrowing and sometimes tragic journey, exposing herself to all the pain and difficulty of a life lived on the margins. Joon's years on the streets take her from a homeless shelter to an escort club, through struggles with addiction, to jobs selling newspapers and cosmetics, committing petty crimes, and, finally, towards something resembling hope. In raw and beautiful prose, Nami Mun tells the story of a young woman who is at once tough yet vulnerable, world-weary yet naive, faced with insurmountable odds and yet fiercely determined to survive. Honest, inventive and profoundly moving, Miles From Nowhere is a dazzling debut novel that will haunt and inspire.

Sphere

The Horse Whisperer

Nicholas Evans
Authors:
Nicholas Evans

In the still of a snow-covered morning in upstate New York, a girl out riding her horse is hit by a 40-ton truck. Though horribly injured, both thirteen-year-old Grace Maclean and her horse Pilgrim survive. But the impact on their lives is devastating.Grace's mother Annie hears about a man called Tom Booker, a 'whisperer' who is said to have the gift of healing troubled horses. Abandoning her job, Annie sets off across the continent with Grace and Pilgrim to find him. Under the massive Montana sky, all their lives are changed for ever.

Barbara Comyns

Barbara Comyns (1909-92) was born in Bidford-on-Avon in Warwickshire. She was an artist and writer, worked in advertising, dealt in old cars and antiques, bred poodles and developed property. She was twice married, and she and her second husband lived in Spain for eighteen years, returning to the UK in the early 1970s. She is the author of eleven books, including Sisters by a River (1947), Our Spoons Came from Woolworths (1950), The Vet's Daughter (1959), The Skin Chairs (1962) and A Touch of Mistletoe (1967). She died in Shropshire in 1992.

Carol Goodman

Carol Goodman's work has appeared in such journals as Literal Latte and Other Voices. After graduation from Vassar Colege, she taught Latin in Austin, Texas. She then received an M.F.A. in fiction. Goodman currently teaches writing and works as a writer-in-residence. Visit her at www.carolgoodman.com

Christopher Ransom

Christopher Ransom is the author of internationally bestselling novels including The Birthing House and The People Next Door. He studied literature at Colorado State University and worked at Entertainment Weekly magazine in New York, and now lives near his hometown of Boulder, Colorado.

E. V. Thompson

E V Thompson was born in London and spent nine years in the Navy before joining Bristol police. He moved to Hong Kong, then Rhodesia and had over 200 stories published before returning to England to become a full-time award-winning writer. He passed away in 2012.

Elaine Dundy

Elaine Dundy was born in New York. As an actress she worked in Paris and London and then became a writer. She has written plays, biographies and novels including the bestselling THE DUD AVOCADO, her first novel.

Gabrielle Kimm

Gabrielle Kimm is the author of His Last Duchess and The Courtesan's Lover, also published by Sphere. She lives in rural West Sussex, and teaches English part-time at a small performing arts school.

Gillian Slovo

Gillian Slovo (father Joe Slovo, mother Ruth First) was educated in Britain where she has spent all her adult life. Since Nelson Mandela's release she has made frequent visits to South Africa. She has written seven books.

Iain Banks

Iain Banks came to widespread and controversial public notice with the publication of his first novel, THE WASP FACTORY, in 1984. He gained enormous popular and critical acclaim for both his mainstream and his science fiction novels. Iain Banks died in June 2013.

Jane Gardam

Jane Gardam has been awarded the Heywood Hill Literary Prize for a lifetime's contribution to the enjoyment of literature; has twice won a Whitbread Award and has been shortlisted for the Booker Prize.

Jenny Maxwell

Jenny Maxwell was born in Scotland, educated in England and until recently was resident in Germany. She now lives on a narrow boat which is currently moored near Stourbridge.

Joan Collins

JOAN COLLINS, OBE, has appeared in some sixty films and many television series, including the highly rated TV drama Dynasty. Her books have sold over 50 million copies in 30 languages. A devoted humanitarian, she lends her support and celebrity to causes that include finding a cure for breast cancer.

Josephine Hart

Josephine Hart (1942-2011) was the bestselling author of Damage, Sin, Oblivion and The Reconstructionist. She was a Director of Haymarket Publishing and founded Gallery Poets before going on to produce a number of West End plays. As well writing novels, she was a `poetry evangelist' and her Josephine Hart Poetry Hour at the British Library inspired two edited poetry books: Catching Life By the Throat and Words that Burn. She was married to Maurice Saatchi and had two sons.