Emma Rous - The Au Pair - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780349419077
    • Publication date:06 Dec 2018

The Au Pair

By Emma Rous

  • Paperback
  • £13.99

A tautly plotted mystery of dark family secrets, perfect for fans of Kate Morton.

A tautly plotted mystery of dark family secrets, perfect for fans of Kate Morton.

'Entrancing, compelling, atmospheric, reminiscent of Daphne du Maurier. A beautiful read that delivers a shocking and satisfying ending' Liv Constantine, bestselling author of The Last Mrs Parrish

Seraphine Mayes and her brother Danny are known as the summer-born Summerbournes: the first set of summer twins to be born at Summerbourne House. But on the day they were born their mother threw herself to her death, their au pair fled, and the village thrilled with whispers of dark-cloaked figures and a stolen baby.

Now twenty-five, and mourning the recent death of her father, Seraphine uncovers a family photograph taken on the day the twins were born featuring both parents posing with just one baby. Seraphine soon becomes fixated with the notion that she and Danny might not be twins after all, that she wasn't the baby born that day and that there was more to her mother's death than she has ever been told...

Why did their beloved au pair flee that day?
Where is she now?
Does she hold the key to what really happened?

'Don't just pick up and read Emma Rous' The Au Pair, dive into it and get washed away with it' A bookseller

'This will keep you turning those pages. The characters are still playing on my mind' Jane Corry, bestselling author of My Husband's Wife

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780349419091
  • Publication date: 06 Dec 2018
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Piatkus
Entrancing and compelling . . . atmospheric and reminiscent of Daphne du Maurier's work, it's a beautiful read that delivers a shocking and satisfying ending. — Liv Constantine, bestselling author of The Last Mrs. Parrish
With a transporting sense of place and gripping story line, The Au Pair delves into the darkest of family secrets. A great read — Eve Chase
Don't just pick up and read Emma Rous' Summerbourne, dive into it and get washed away with it. — A bookseller
This will keep you turning those pages. The characters are still playing on my mind — Jane Corry, bestselling author of My Husband’s Wife
Sphere

Call Me Evie

JP Pomare
Authors:
JP Pomare
Little, Brown

An Orchestra of Minorities

Chigozie Obioma
Authors:
Chigozie Obioma
Corsair

The Locals

Jonathan Dee
Authors:
Jonathan Dee
Constable

Fear of Falling

Cath Staincliffe
Authors:
Cath Staincliffe
Sphere

The Three Beths

Jeff Abbott
Authors:
Jeff Abbott

From multi-million-selling writer Jeff Abbott comes an intense and gripping new psychological thriller about a daughter's desperate search for her mother - when she discovers two other women with the same name are also missing.My mum would never leave me.This has been Mariah Dunning's motto. So when she glimpses her mother - who's been missing for the past year - Mariah's conviction becomes stronger than ever. Or is she losing her mind?An unlikely coincidence?When Beth Dunning disappeared without a trace, suspicion for her murder immediately fell upon Mariah's father. Until Mariah stumbles upon two other recent disappearances. And all three women had the same name: Beth. Or a sinister connection?Mariah would give anything to find out what happened to her mother and clear her father's name. But the truth may be more devastating than she could have imagined...Praise for Jeff Abbott'I could not tear myself away from Jeff Abbott's mesmerising, gripping, and claustrophobic novel'Harlan Coben on Blame 'An instant classic' Lee Child'Jeff Abbott has put together a hell of a page turner' Michael Connelly

Hachette Audio

XX

Angela Chadwick
Authors:
Angela Chadwick
Virago

The Incendiaries

R. O. Kwon
Authors:
R. O. Kwon
Corsair

Baxter's Requiem

Matthew Crow
Authors:
Matthew Crow
Sphere

The Killer You Know

S. R. Masters
Authors:
S. R. Masters
Sphere

This Child of Ours

Sadie Pearse
Authors:
Sadie Pearse
Piatkus

Little Liar

Lisa Ballantyne
Authors:
Lisa Ballantyne

Sphere

When The Curtain Falls

Carrie Hope Fletcher
Authors:
Carrie Hope Fletcher
Sphere

Daisy's Vintage Cornish Camper Van

Ali McNamara
Authors:
Ali McNamara

'If you like your stories with an added pinch of magic, you'll love this... wonderfully enjoyable' - Heat'A magical tale of loss, love and finding happiness in the most unlikely places' - Cathy BramleyWelcome to the gorgeous Cornish town of St Felix, where there's magic in the air...When Ana inherits a broken-down camper van from her best friend, she takes the chance for a quick trip to Cornwall - some sea air and fish and chips on the beach is just the tonic she needs. But St Felix has bigger plans for Ana. She discovers a series of unsent postcards, dating back to the 1950s, hidden in the upholstery of the van. Ana knows that it's a sign: she'll make sure that the messages reach the person that they were meant for. And as the broken-down van is restored to gleaming health, so Ana begins to find her way back to happiness.

Orbit

84K

Claire North
Authors:
Claire North
Constable

The Blood

E. S. Thomson
Authors:
E. S. Thomson

'Love evocative descriptions of Victorian London and brilliant plotting? Then grab a copy of this!' Rebecca Griffiths, author of The Primrose PathA world of secrets, murder and betrayal lie behind the London waterfront . . . Summoned to the riverside by the desperate, scribbled note of an old friend, Jem Flockhart and Will Quartermain find themselves on board the seamen's floating hospital, an old hulk known only as The Blood, where prejudice, ambition and murder seethe beneath a veneer of medical respectability. On shore, a young woman, a known prostitute, is found drowned in a derelict boatyard. A man leaps to his death into the Thames, driven mad by poison and fear. The events are linked - but how? Courting danger in the opium dens and brothels of the waterfront, certain that the Blood lies at the heart of the puzzle, Jem and Will embark on a quest to uncover the truth. In a hunt that takes them from the dissecting tables of a private anatomy school to the squalor of the dock-side mortuary, they find themselves involved in a dark and terrible mystery. x x xPraise for E.S. Thomson'Meticulously researched and masterfully plotted, E.S. Thomson has written a complex, harrowing and highly enjoyable tale' Daily Express'Here's a tale of Victorian London to freeze your blood on a cold winter's night' Evening Telegraph'Jem Flockhart's London is vivid, pungent and perilous. The Blood takes you to places you will love to picture but be grateful you can't smell' Chris Brookmyre'E. S. Thompson's Jem Flockhart books are the best I've read in years. Jem is just my kind of heroine: scarred, smart, complex, and unapologetically queer' Kirsty Logan, author of The Gracekeepers'It's rare that a book is Gothic enough for me, but Beloved Poison is killing it. The blood, the bones, the crumbling hospital . . .' Laura Purcell, author of The Silent Companions'Jem Flockhart is a marvel . . . This vivid journey into the dark side of the human soul is a thoroughly engrossing tale' Mary Paulson Ellis, author of The Other Mrs Walker'Deliciously dark and vividly atmospheric, menace oozes from every page. Terrific for lovers of historical noir' Saga'A first class piece of historical crime writing' Big IssueA marvellous, vivid book ... immaculately researched and breathtakingly dark' Janet Ellis, author of The Butcher's Hook

Orbit

The Boy on the Bridge

M. R. Carey
Authors:
M. R. Carey
Piatkus

The Last Romeo

Justin Myers
Authors:
Justin Myers
Sphere

Happiness for Humans

P.Z. Reizin
Authors:
P.Z. Reizin

'Loved this book. Funny, quirky, unexpected' Jojo Moyes'Very clever and great fun' Kate Eberlen'Bridget Jones' diary for the digital age' Daily RecordHappiness for Humans is a joyful, romantic and very funny story, perfect for readers who lovedThe Rosie Project and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine.Do you believe in soulmates?Aiden does. So when his colleague, Jen, is dumped unceremoniously by her dreadful boyfriend, Aiden decides to take matters - and Jen's life - into his own hands. Scouring the internet for a suitable partner for Jen, Aiden finds Tom. He'd be perfect for Jen apart from one minor detail: Tom lives in New York. Luckily for Jen and Tom, Aiden's not just an interfering colleague. In fact, Aiden isn't exactly human - he's a very complicated artificial intelligence. As Jen and Tom's romance grows, Aiden begins to take more and more risks to make sure that they can be together. But what will happen if they realise how they met...and that somebody else is pulling the strings?'This is Jane Austen's Emma for the digital age' - Keith Stuart, bestselling author of A Boy Made of Blocks'So funny, clever and timely. I loved it' - Martha Kearney'This clever novel will appeal to David Nicholls fans. It's witty and great fun' - Daily Mail'This funny, madcap romp for the digital-age, featuring believably flawed characters (not all human), deserves to be a hit... like David Nicholls' One Day or Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project, it should appeal to male and female readers.' - Sunday Times'The most charming book I've read in ages' - Image magazine'You'll love this quirky, brilliantly funny love story... If you use Siri, Alexa or Google Assistant, prepare to have your heart warmed - and be a little bit scared!' - Fabulous magazine'This screwball comedy is touching and hilarious' - Sunday Mirror'One of the most uplifting and romantic novels I've read in a long time' - Sarra Manning, Red magazine'Funny and clever' - Good HousekeepingHumans meets The Rosie Project . . . A real smiler of a book - Nina Pottell, Prima

Little, Brown

At the End of the Century

Ruth Prawer Jhabvala
Authors:
Ruth Prawer Jhabvala

'A magnificent selection of the Booker winner's short stories' Sunday TimesWith an introduction by Anita Desai.Over the course of her glittering literary career, Ruth Prawer Jhabvala wrote some of the most wonderful novels of the twentieth century and screenplays to some of the most beloved films - but she was also a master of the short story form. This stunning new collection brings together the jewels in the crown of her writing: it is a showcase of astonishing storytelling power.

Sphere

Christmas Cakes and Mistletoe Nights

Carole Matthews
Authors:
Carole Matthews