Emma Rous - The Au Pair - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats

The Au Pair

By Emma Rous

  • Paperback
  • £13.99

A tautly plotted mystery of dark family secrets, perfect for fans of Kate Morton.

A tautly plotted mystery of dark family secrets, perfect for fans of Kate Morton.

'Entrancing, compelling, atmospheric, reminiscent of Daphne du Maurier. A beautiful read that delivers a shocking and satisfying ending' Liv Constantine, bestselling author of The Last Mrs Parrish

Seraphine Mayes and her brother Danny are known as the summer-born Summerbournes: the first set of summer twins to be born at Summerbourne House. But on the day they were born their mother threw herself to her death, their au pair fled, and the village thrilled with whispers of dark-cloaked figures and a stolen baby.

Now twenty-five, and mourning the recent death of her father, Seraphine uncovers a family photograph taken on the day the twins were born featuring both parents posing with just one baby. Seraphine soon becomes fixated with the notion that she and Danny might not be twins after all, that she wasn't the baby born that day and that there was more to her mother's death than she has ever been told...

Why did their beloved au pair flee that day?
Where is she now?
Does she hold the key to what really happened?

'Don't just pick up and read Emma Rous' The Au Pair, dive into it and get washed away with it' A bookseller

'This will keep you turning those pages. The characters are still playing on my mind' Jane Corry, bestselling author of My Husband's Wife

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780349419091
  • Publication date: 06 Dec 2018
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Piatkus
Entrancing and compelling . . . atmospheric and reminiscent of Daphne du Maurier's work, it's a beautiful read that delivers a shocking and satisfying ending. — Liv Constantine, bestselling author of The Last Mrs. Parrish
With a transporting sense of place and gripping story line, The Au Pair delves into the darkest of family secrets. A great read — Eve Chase
Don't just pick up and read Emma Rous' Summerbourne, dive into it and get washed away with it. — A bookseller
This will keep you turning those pages. The characters are still playing on my mind — Jane Corry, bestselling author of My Husband’s Wife
Little, Brown

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two (Special Rehearsal Edition)

J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, Jack Thorne
Authors:
J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, Jack Thorne
Sphere

Breaking Nova

Jessica Sorensen
Authors:
Jessica Sorensen
Abacus

The Man In The Wooden Hat

Jane Gardam
Authors:
Jane Gardam
Sphere

Saving Quinton

Jessica Sorensen
Authors:
Jessica Sorensen

THE NUMBER ONE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHORNova Reed can't forget him -- Quinton Carter, the boy with the honey-brown eyes who made her realise she deserved more than an empty life. His pain was so similar to her own. But Nova has been coming to terms with her past and healing, while Quinton is out there somewhere, sinking deeper. She's determined to find him and help him . . . before it's too late.Nova has haunted his dreams for nearly a year, but Quinton never thought a sweet, kind person like her would care enough about someone like him. To Quinton, a dark, dangerous life is exactly what he deserves. And Nova has no place in it. But Nova has followed him, and now he must do whatever it takes to keep her away, to maintain his self-imposed punishment for the unforgivable things he's done. But there's one flaw in his plan: Nova isn't going anywhere . . .Discover the latest intense, passionate and page-turning novel from number one New York Times bestselling sensation Jessica Sorensen.

Corsair

They Came From SW19

Nigel Williams
Authors:
Nigel Williams

At fourteen years old, Simon Britten is a keen ufologist. When his dad dies, two things happen: a UFO-watch on Wimbledon Common turns up something distinctly out of this world; and his mother joins a local 'church' and attempts to contact her deceased husband beyond the grave. Caught between the Extra-Terrestrial and the First Church of Christ the Spiritualist, Simon struggles to work out just what - or whom - he should believe in.

Abacus

Live by Night

Dennis Lehane
Authors:
Dennis Lehane
Piatkus

Worth Any Price

Lisa Kleypas
Authors:
Lisa Kleypas

What is the price of love?Nick Gentry is reputed to be the most skilful lover in all England. Known for solving delicate situations, he is hired to seek out Miss Charlotte Howard. He believes his mission will be easily accomplished - but that is before he meets the lady in question.For instead of a wilful female, he discovers one in desperate circumstances, hiding from a man who would destroy her very soul. So Nick shockingly offers her a very different kind of proposition - one he has never offered before: he asks her to be his bride.But Nick quickly discovers that while he might easily claim Charlotte's body, it will take much more than passion to win her love.

Sphere

Drama Comes To Prior's Ford

Eve Houston
Authors:
Eve Houston

The residents of Prior's Ford are facing more upheaval . . .There are new arrivals at Prior's Ford - Meredith and Genevieve Whitelaw - who are determined to shake things up. Meanwhile, Alastair Marshall finds he is missing Clarissa Ramsay, now travelling the world to recover from the shock of her husband's affair, more than he would like to admit. At Tarbethill Farm, the McNair family is struggling to make ends meet, and face the prospect of losing the livelihood that has been in their family for generations. And Jenny Forsyth is to be reunited with her step-daughter Maggie - but Maggie is now a precocious teenager very unhappy at the idea of country life, and determined to cause trouble . . .

Sphere

The Secret of Ella and Micha

Jessica Sorensen
Authors:
Jessica Sorensen
Piatkus

Crystal Cove

Lisa Kleypas
Authors:
Lisa Kleypas

Justine Hoffman has made a safe and comfortable life for herself on the island of Friday Harbour but there is still something missing. Love. And after years of waiting and dreaming, she is willing to do whatever it takes to change her destiny. But when Justine discovers that someone cast a spell on her when she was born, with the result that she will never find her soul mate, she is determined to change her fate. But she could never have dreamt of the dangerous complications that will follow . . . Meeting the mysterious Jason Black, Justine unleashes a storm of desire and danger that threaten everything she holds dear - because Jason has secrets of his own, and he wants more from her than fate will ever allow.

Sphere

From Notting Hill to New York . . . Actually

Ali McNamara
Authors:
Ali McNamara

Scarlett O'Brien, utterly addicted to romantic films, has found her leading man. She's convinced Sean is Mr Right, but the day-to-day reality of a relationship isn't quite like the movies. With Sean constantly away on business, Scarlett and her new best friend Oscar decide to head to New York for the holiday of a lifetime.From one famous landmark to the next, Scarlett and Oscar make many new friends during their adventure - including sailors in town for Fleet Week, a famous film star, and Jamie & Max, a TV reporter and cameraman. Scarlett finds herself strangely drawn to Jamie, they appear to have much in common: a love of films and Jamie's search for a parent he never knew. But Scarlett has to ask herself why she is reacting like this to another man when she's so in love with Sean . . .

Little, Brown

The Casual Vacancy

J.K. Rowling
Authors:
J.K. Rowling
Piatkus

Dream Lake

Lisa Kleypas
Authors:
Lisa Kleypas

Zoë Hoffman is as gentle and romantic as they come, and when she meets the startlingly handsome Alex Nolan, all her instincts tell her to run. But something about him intrigues Zoë, so she attempts to make Alex open his mind to the possibility that love isn't for the foolish. Alex Nolan is about as bitter and cynical as they come, battling his demons with the help of a whiskey bottle, until he is visited by a mysterious ghost. Has Alex finally crossed over the threshold to insanity?The ghost doesn't know who he is, or why he is stuck in the Nolans' Victorian house. All he knows is that he loved a girl once. And Alex and Zoë hold the key to unlocking the mystery that keeps him trapped there.

Sphere

Ben Retallick

E. V. Thompson
Authors:
E. V. Thompson

In the tin mines of Cornwall during the first decades of the nineteenth century, death is the constant companion of the working man. Ben Retallick has grown to sturdy manhood among the miners and fisherfolk, through the hard and hungry years when blood was often the price of bread. When cruel fate steals away Jesse, his dark-eyed love, Ben searches the hiring fairs to find her again, knowing nothing of her parentage and caring only for the day he'll make her his wife.

Sphere

Chase The Wind

E. V. Thompson
Authors:
E. V. Thompson
Piatkus

Rainshadow Road

Lisa Kleypas
Authors:
Lisa Kleypas
Piatkus

White Lies

Jayne Ann Krentz
Authors:
Jayne Ann Krentz
Corsair

The Boys From Brazil

Ira Levin
Authors:
Ira Levin
Abacus

The Night Of The Mi'raj

Zoe Ferraris
Authors:
Zoe Ferraris

When Nouf ash-Shrawi, the sixteen-year-old daughter of a wealthy Saudi dynasty, disappears from her home in Jeddah just days before her arranged marriage, desert guide Nayir is asked to bring her home.But when her battered body is found, Nayir feels compelled to uncover the disturbing truth, travelling away from the endless desert to the vast city of Jeddah, where, most troubling of all, Nayir finds himself having to work closely with Katya Hijazi, a forensic scientist. The further into the investigation he goes, the more Nayir finds himself questioning his loyalties: to his friends, faith and culture.

Sphere

Secrets In Prior's Ford

Eve Houston
Authors:
Eve Houston

There is consternation among the villagers of pretty Scottish borders town, Priors Ford, when a firm is interested in re-opening an old sandstone quarry. It'll be disruptive, noisy and dusty, despite bringing in some new jobs.Publican Glen organises a protest group - but when the local newspaper takes an interest in him and the story, he starts to feel very nervous indeed. When Jenny Forsyth attends a protest meeting and sees the quarry surveyor she also discovers a problem. So does the surveyor, for he and Jenny recognise each other from years back when they lived different lives. And Jenny has no wish for her friends and neighbours to hear about her past . . .Clarissa Ramsay is too preoccupied to care much about the new threat facing the village. She and her husband, Kenneth, moved to the village a year earlier but Clarissa is newly widowed. But when she discovers he had a secret life she resolves to make some radical changes in her own ...