Julia Quinn - Because of Miss Bridgerton - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback
    More information
    • ISBN:9780349410524
    • Publication date:29 Mar 2016
Books in this series

Because of Miss Bridgerton

By Julia Quinn

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

#1 NYT bestselling author Julia Quinn returns to the world of the Bridgertons with an all new series

There were Bridgertons before the eight alphabetically named siblings. In this first of a new prequel series, we go back to where it all began. . . from New York Times bestselling author Julia Quinn.

Sometimes you find love in the most unexpected of places...
This is not one of those times.

Everyone expects Billie Bridgerton to marry one of the Rokesby brothers. The two families have been neighbours for centuries, and as a child the tomboyish Billie ran wild with Edward and Andrew. Either one would make a perfect husband . . . someday.

Sometimes you fall in love with exactly the person you think you should . . .
Or not.

There is only one Rokesby Billie absolutely cannot tolerate, and that is George. He may be the eldest heir to the earldom, but he's arrogant, annoying and she's absolutely certain he detests her. Which is perfectly convenient, as she can't stand the sight of him, either.

But sometimes fate has a wicked sense of humour . . .

Because when Billie and George are quite literally thrown together, a whole new sort of sparks begins to fly. And when these lifelong adversaries finally kiss, they just might discover that the one person they can't abide is the one person they can't live without . . .

Biographical Notes

Julia Quinn started writing her first book one month after finishing college and has been tapping away at her keyboard ever since. She is a graduate of Harvard and Radcliffe colleges and lives with her family in Colorado.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780349410531
  • Publication date: 29 Mar 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Piatkus
Sphere

The Greatest Knight

Elizabeth Chadwick
Authors:
Elizabeth Chadwick
Piatkus

Not the Duke's Darling

Elizabeth Hoyt
Authors:
Elizabeth Hoyt
Sphere

Blackpool Evacuee

Maggie Mason
Authors:
Maggie Mason

The perfect read for fans of Mary Wood, Kitty Neale, Val Wood and Nadine DorriesClara is forced to flee her home as the Nazis invade the beautiful island of GuernseySeparated from her mother, far away from anything familiar, she is at the mercy of a cruel shopkeeper. Clara is worked like a dog, but the warmth of her Blackpool friendships will go far to save her. Julia just wants to find her beloved daughter - but the trials of war will keep them far apart. They will meet again - but the war will change everything for mother and daughter...

Piatkus

The Other Miss Bridgerton

Julia Quinn
Authors:
Julia Quinn
Dialogue Books

The Old Slave and the Mastiff

Patrick Chamoiseau
Authors:
Patrick Chamoiseau
Abacus

Birth Of A Nation: A Novel

Julian Rathbone
Authors:
Julian Rathbone
Sphere

Templar Silks

Elizabeth Chadwick
Authors:
Elizabeth Chadwick

To save his soul William Marshal takes the perilous road to Jerusalem, but the greatest danger he faces there is losing his heart.England, 1219Lying on his deathbed, William Marshal, England's greatest knight, sends a trusted servant to bring to him the silk Templar burial shrouds that returned with him from the Holy Land thirty years ago. It is time to fulfil his vow to the Templars and become a monk of their order for eternity. As he waits for the shrouds' return, he looks back upon his long-ago pilgrimage with his brother Ancel, and the sacred mission entrusted to them - to bear the cloak of their dead young lord to Jerusalem and lay it on Christ's tomb in the church of the Holy Sepulchre. Jerusalem, 1183In the holiest of all cities, the brothers become embroiled in the deadly politics, devious scheming and lusts of the powerful men and women who rule the kingdom. Entangled with the dangerous, mercurial Paschia de Riveri, concubine of the highest churchman in the land, William sets on a path so perilous that there seems no way back for him, or for his brother. Both will pay a terrible price and their only chance to see home again will be dependent on the Templar shrouds.In this glorious adventure, bestselling author Elizabeth Chadwick sweeps the reader to medieval Jerusalem in a story perfect for fans of Ken Follett and Philippa Gregory.

Piatkus

The Girl with the Make-Believe Husband

Julia Quinn
Authors:
Julia Quinn

#1 NYT bestselling author Julia Quinn returns to the world of the Bridgertons with a witty, romantic and all-new seriesWhile you were sleeping . . .With her brother Thomas injured on the battlefront in the Colonies, orphaned Cecilia Harcourt has two unbearable choices: move in with a maiden aunt or marry a scheming cousin. Instead, she chooses option three and travels across the Atlantic, determined to nurse her brother back to health. But after a week of searching, she finds not her brother but his best friend, the handsome officer Edward Rokesby. He's unconscious and in desperate need of her care, and Cecilia vows that she will save this soldier's life, even if staying by his side means telling one little lie . . .I told everyone I was your wifeWhen Edward comes to, he's more than a little confused. The blow to his head knocked out six months of his memory, but surely he would recall getting married. He knows who Cecilia Harcourt is - even if he does not recall her face - and with everyone calling her his wife, he decides it must be true, even though he'd always assumed he'd marry his neighbor back in England.If only it were true . . .Cecilia risks her entire future by giving herself - completely - to the man she loves. But when the truth comes out, Edward may have a few surprises of his own for the new Mrs Rokesby.

Constable

The Lanimer Bride

Pat McIntosh
Authors:
Pat McIntosh

How could the heavily-pregnant bride of the lanimer-man vanish into thin air?Young Mistress Audrey Madur is missing and her husband, responsible for maintaining boundaries and overseeing land use in the burgh of Lanark, is strangely reluctant to search for her.Gil Cunningham, answering the frantic appeal of Audrey's mother, finds himself searching the burgh and the lands round about, questioning family and neighbours. He and Alys uncover disagreements, feuds, adultery and murder, and encounter once again the flamboyant French lady Olympe Archibecque, who is not at all what she seems.And then another lady goes missing . . .Praise for Pat Macintosh:'Will do for Glasgow in the fifteenth century what Ellis Peters and her Brother Cadfael did for Shrewsbury in the twelfth' Mystery Reader's Journal.

Piatkus

Miss Wonderful

Loretta Chase
Authors:
Loretta Chase
Piatkus

Mr Impossible

Loretta Chase
Authors:
Loretta Chase

Rupert Carsington, fourth son of the Earl of Hargate, is his aristocratic family's favorite disaster. He is irresistibly handsome, shockingly masculine, and irretrievably reckless, and wherever he goes, trouble follows. Still, Rupert's never met an entanglement - emotional or other - he couldn't escape. Only now he's in Egypt, stranded in the depths of Cairo's most infamous prison, and his only way out is accepting a beautiful widow's dangerous proposal. Scholar Daphne Pembroke wants him to rescue her brother, who's been kidnapped by a rival seeking a fabled treasure. Their partnership is strictly business: She'll provide the brains, he, the brawn. Simple enough in theory.But as tensions flare and inhibitions melt, the most disciplined of women and the most reckless of men are about to clash in the most impossibly irresistible way.

Piatkus

The Secrets of Sir Richard Kenworthy

Julia Quinn
Authors:
Julia Quinn

Sir Richard Kenworthy has less than a month to find a bride. . . He knows he can't be too picky, but when he sees Iris Smythe-Smith hiding behind her cello at her family's infamous musicale, he thinks he might have struck gold. She's the type of girl you don't notice until the second-or third-look, but there's something about her, something simmering under the surface, and he knows she's the one.Iris Smythe-Smith is used to being underestimated. With her pale hair and quiet, sly wit she tends to blend into the background, and she likes it that way. So when Richard Kenworthy demands an introduction, she is suspicious. He flirts, he charms, he gives every impression of a man falling in love, but she can't quite believe it's all true. And when his proposal of marriage turns into a compromising position that forces the issue, she can't help thinking that he's hiding something...even as her heart tells her to say yes. This final installment of Julia Quinn's delightful Smythe-Smith quartet is witty, romantic and utterly addictive - guaranteed to make you smile, while tugging on your heartstrings

Piatkus

Never Judge a Lady By Her Cover

Sarah MacLean
Authors:
Sarah MacLean
Sphere

Resistance

Jack Whyte
Authors:
Jack Whyte

Born to a divided kingdom. Destined to unite it.AD 1286: The King of Scots is killed, leaving no heir. Twelve-year-old Robert Bruce, heir to the great House of Bruce, comes of age amid the bitter rivalry of Scotland's most powerful nobles to claim the vacant throne.The boy is schooled in the arts of warfare and the manipulation of ruthless and violent men, but when the Scottish Crown is bestowed upon Bruce's greatest enemies, Robert travels with his family to England, swearing feudal loyalty to King Edward Plantagenet - known as 'Longshanks'.But Longshanks's increasing treachery and his brutal attempts to annexe Scotland see Robert turning renegade and returning to his home country. The Battle of Bannockburn lies ahead and a legend is born.This is the story of one man's resistance, and the bravery of a country that would not yield.

Piatkus

Firelight

Kristen Callihan
Authors:
Kristen Callihan
Piatkus

Moonglow

Kristen Callihan
Authors:
Kristen Callihan
Piatkus

The Scoundrel's Seduction

Jennifer Haymore
Authors:
Jennifer Haymore

Temptation knows no bounds . . . Undercover agent Sam Hawkins has devoted his life to protecting king and country. So when he receives orders to assassinate a ruthless traitor, he doesn't question his mission. But Sam didn't know his deed had a witness - the beautiful and mysterious betrayer's wife. Now he has no choice but to take her as his prisoner - one he can neither trust . . . nor resist.Élise, Lady Dunthorpe, will do anything to escape her powerful captor - including seducing him senseless. She didn't know of her miserable husband's crimes, but she has secrets of her own, secrets that threaten everything she holds dear. With his piercing dark eyes and gentle touch, Sam inflames Élise's deepest desires. But how could she ever trust a man who won't let her go? Caught between the crown he's sworn to serve and the woman he's come to love, Sam will risk his heart - and his very life - to keep her safe.

Sphere

Singing Spears

E. V. Thompson
Authors:
E. V. Thompson

Daniel Retallick has grown to manhood during the years of flood tide in the chronicles of Africa. The son of Josh and Miriam Retallick, he settles with his wife and children on a homestead in a valley of Matabeleland.But the years are the 1880s, and the Matabele impis are advancing with their singing spears towards the deal-dealing Maxim guns of the white man. Daniel Retallick's loyalties, plans and dreams are about to be swept by fate into the whirlpool of history...

Little, Brown

The Visitors

Sally Beauman
Authors:
Sally Beauman
Abacus

The Last English King

Julian Rathbone
Authors:
Julian Rathbone