Cara McKenna - Lay it Down - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Lay it Down

By Cara McKenna

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The first in the Desert Dogs MC series. Perfect for fans of Kristen Ashley, this is a steamy romance you won't want to miss . . .

Backbreaking days, wild nights, and the hard hum of steel between your thighs...

Vince Grossier is the self-crowned outlaw king around here. When his town's slick new mayor invites a shady casino development to town, the invaders' cut-throat takeover tactics quickly turn deadly. With the police turning a blind eye, it's up to Vince. It's time to fight back. It's time to call in the Desert Dogs.

Finally free of a controlling ex, Kim Paget's not looking to be taken for a ride-not on the back of some tattooed roughneck's bike and definitely not in his bed. But when she finds evidence that her bosses are rattlesnake-dangerous, Kim must entrust her safety to the man who threatens danger of a whole different kind.

'Sweet, smoking hot, standout' Beth Kery

'Gritty and compelling. McKenna is a master at capturing realistic situations and characters' Maya Banks

Biographical Notes

Cara McKenna writes smart erotica - sexy stories with depth. A little dark, a little funny, always emotional. She also writes red-hot romance under the name Meg Maguire. She loves writing sexy, character-driven stories about strong-willed men and women who keep each other on their toes, and bring one another to their knees. Before becoming a purveyor of red-hot romance and smart erotica, Cara was a record store bitch, a lousy barista, a decent designer and an over-enthusiastic penguin handler. Cara now writes full-time and lives north of Boston with her bearded husband. When she's not trapped in her own head she can usually be found in the kitchen, the coffee shop or jogging around the nearest duck-filled pond.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780349406169
  • Publication date: 05 Aug 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Piatkus
McKenna ratchets up sexual chemistry and danger in equal measure, and tension stays high to the end. Readers will eagerly turn pages to learn the outcome of both the mystery and the romance — Publishers Weekly
Sizzling, intelligent and completely absorbing. She burrows under each character's skin, exposing the best and the worst of every one, and her well-executed badlands setting reflects her biker gang perfectly: gritty, rugged, dangerous, but noble and utterly captivating. The murder investigation that drives this plot is taut and well-developed, but it is the spark between this wonderfully unlikely couple that makes this book the success it is. Without a doubt, this is a series to watch — RT Book Reviews
Forever

Changing the Rules

Erin Kern
Authors:
Erin Kern
Piatkus

Absent in the Spring

Carrie Elks
Authors:
Carrie Elks
Forever

His to Claim

Shelly Bell
Authors:
Shelly Bell
Piatkus

Love and Other Words

Christina Lauren
Authors:
Christina Lauren
Forever

One and Only

Jenny Holiday
Authors:
Jenny Holiday
Piatkus

High Risk

Simona Ahrnstedt
Authors:
Simona Ahrnstedt
Piatkus

On Hart's Boardwalk

Samantha Young
Authors:
Samantha Young

Nate and Liv have a great life together but they miss the spontaneity and freedom they enjoyed early on in their romance. Careers and their children have inevitably kept them busy, so when Nate discovers Liv is feeling disconnected from him, he plans an anniversary trip to the idyllic seaside town of Hartwell, Delaware. There he hopes they will have the opportunity they've been craving-a chance to reinvent themselves and fall in love all over again.With each new day comes a new adventure, from wedding crashing at the five-star boardwalk hotel to pretending they are two strangers having a chance encounter at the boardwalk bar. In the midst of this daring, sexually charged game of romantic rediscovery, Nate and Liv discover the only constant they need is each other.Praise for Samatha Young"Really sexy." USA Today"Young writes stories that stay with you long after you flip that last page." Under the Covers"Scotland's answer to E. L. James" Sunday Post

Sphere

How to be Happy

Eva Woods
Authors:
Eva Woods
Piatkus

Devil's Cut

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward

A dynasty filled with secrets teeters on the edge of collapse as Sunday Times bestselling author J.R. Ward continues the thrilling saga of the Bradford family . . . At first, the death of the head of the Bradford family, was ruled a suicide. But then his eldest son and sworn enemy, Edward Baldwine, came forward and confessed to what was, in fact, a murder. Now in police custody, Edward mourns not the disintegration of his family or his loss of freedom . . . but the woman he left behind. Lane Baldwine was supposed to remain in his role of playboy, forever in his big brother Edward's shadow. Instead he has become the new head of the family and the company. Convinced that Edward is covering for someone else, Lane and his true love, Lizzie King, go on the trail of a killer - only to discover a devastating secret. Now everyone's future is at stake for only one thing is certain: no matter what happens, the lives of everyone at Easterly will never be the same again. 'Dallas meets Downton Abbey . . . This is high drama, and it's mesmerizing.' Fresh Fiction

Forever

More to Love

Alison Bliss
Authors:
Alison Bliss
Forever

The Luckiest Cowboy of All

Carolyn Brown
Authors:
Carolyn Brown
Piatkus

Tempting Love

Kelly Elliott
Authors:
Kelly Elliott

Can a woman actually make you feel like you're losing your damn mind?Yes.If she is Corina Miller.The only woman who has ever made me long for something more, and let me tell you, that has me all kinds of messed up. After months of ignoring my feelings, it's clear to me I've fallen for those piercing blue eyes and sexy smile.But is it too late?Have I pushed her into the arms of someone else?Hell no am I letting that happen.I'm on a mission to win the heart of the only woman I've ever cared about-and the only thing standing in my way is one stubborn and pissed off Corina.I always did like a challenge.

Hachette Audio

Bad for You

J. Daniels
Authors:
J. Daniels
Piatkus

Promise Not To Tell

Jayne Ann Krentz
Authors:
Jayne Ann Krentz

A broken promise reveals a terrifying legacy in this electrifying novel from the New York Times bestselling author of When All the Girls Have Gone.A painter of fiery, nightmarish visions throws herself into the sea - but she leaves her secrets behind . . . Seattle gallery owner Virginia Troy has spent years battling the demons that stem from her childhood time in a cult and the night a fire burned through the compound, killing her mother. And now one of her artists has taken her own life, but not before sending Virginia a last picture: a painting that makes Virginia doubt everything about the so-called suicide - and her own past.Like Virginia, private investigator Cabot Sutter was one of the children in the cult who survived that fire... and only he can help her now. As they struggle to unravel the clues in the painting, it becomes clear that someone thinks Virginia knows more than she does and that she must be stopped. Thrown into an inferno of desire and deception, Virginia and Cabot draw ever closer to the mystery of their shared memories - and the shocking fate of the one man who still wields the power to destroy everything they hold dear.A suspenseful read full of twists and with the darkest of secrets at its heart, this is perfect for fans of Nora Roberts or Sandra Brown

Orbit

A War in Crimson Embers

Alex Marshall
Authors:
Alex Marshall
Forever

In Pieces

Danielle Pearl
Authors:
Danielle Pearl

Beth Caplan is ready to begin college a new woman. She's worked hard to overcome her demons, and she's eager to live in a world where no one knows about her past. Except, of course, her childhood crush. David March has known Beth a lifetime. Tasked by her older brother to look after the beautiful incoming freshman, he takes his job exceptionally seriously. Even if she tempts him in ways no kid-sister type ever should.When Beth's ex shows up as a transfer student, and a creepy stranger with a reputation for violence sets his sights on her, Dave will do whatever it takes to protect her, even if it means moving her in with him. When he learns just how much a secret from his past hurt the girl he's always cared for, he becomes doubly determined to protect her, even from himself. But that's easier said than done.

Sphere

Christmas at Little Beach Street Bakery

Jenny Colgan
Authors:
Jenny Colgan

Welcome back to Mount Polbearne! The new book from Top Ten bestseller Jenny Colgan is full of festive joy, warmth and the best hot chocolate you can imagine...It's Christmas in the Cornish coastal village of Mount Polbearne - a time for family, friends and feasting. Polly Waterford loves running the Little Beach Street Bakery. She's at her happiest when she's creating delicious treats and the festive season always inspires her to bake and knead something extra special for the village residents. In fact, the only thing she loves more than her bakery is curling up with her gorgeous boyfriend, Huckle. She's determined that this Christmas is going to be their best one yet, but life doesn't always work out as planned...When Polly's best friend Kerensa turns up with a secret that threatens the life Polly and Huckle have built together, the future begins to look uncertain. And then a face from Polly's past reappears and things become even more complicated. Polly can usually find solace in baking but she has a feeling that's not going to be enough this time. Can she get things back on track so that everyone has a merry Christmas?

Piatkus

Love Profound

Kelly Elliott
Authors:
Kelly Elliott

I write about love, but I've never experienced it. Sure, I've been with guys that I cared about. Even thought I found 'the one'. He turned out to be the frog and not the prince.A few Frank Sinatra songs and a wildly handsome cowboy who calls me Darlin', will have me second guessing everything I ever thought I knew about love. Does happily ever after really exist . . . or is it only something I write about in books?

Piatkus

Dating You, Hating You

Christina Lauren
Authors:
Christina Lauren
Hachette Books

Don't Worry, Life Is Easy

Agnès Martin-Lugand
Authors:
Agnès Martin-Lugand

Diane needs to start over again. After returning from Ireland and turning the page on her stormy relationship with Edward, the brooding Irish photographer, she is determined to rebuild her life in Paris with help from her best friend Félix. She focuses solely on getting her literary café back on track-until she meets Olivier. He is kind and thoughtful, and she may have a future with him...until she stumbles across her former love at a photography exhibit. What is Edward doing in Paris? Why didn't he reach out? Faced with a hail of questions, her old flame remains cold and unresponsive. Apparently, he, too, has moved on.In order to put the past behind her, Diane must go back over her tracks. Ireland saved her before. Can she get answers there and find peace again?