Nina George - The Little Breton Bistro - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780349142210
    • Publication date:02 Mar 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405536134
    • Publication date:02 Mar 2017

The Little Breton Bistro

By Nina George

  • Paperback
  • £12.99

An heart-warming story of romance and adventure - and a return to France - from the internationally bestselling author of THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP (500,000 copies sold worldwide)

From the New York Times and internationally bestselling author of The Little Paris Bookshop, an extraordinary novel about self-discovery and new beginnings.

Marianne Messman longs to escape her loveless marriage to an uncaring husband - an artillery sergeant major named Lothar. On a day trip to Paris, Marianne decides to leap off the Pont Neuf into the Seine, but she is saved from drowning by a homeless man. While recovering in hospital, Marianne comes across a painting of the tiny port town of Kerdruc in Brittany and decides to try her luck on the coast.

In Kerdruc, Marianne meets a host of colourful characters who all gravitate around the restaurant of Ar Mor (The Sea). It is this cast of true Bretons who become Marianne's new family, and among whom she will find love once again. But with her husband looking to pull her back to her old life, Marianne is left with a choice: to step back into the known, or to take a huge jump into an exciting and unpredictable future.

Biographical Notes

Born in 1973, Nina George is a journalist and the author of numerous bestselling novels, which have been translated into several languages. The Little Paris Bookshop was a phenomenal top five bestseller in Germany and is set to be published around the world. She is married to the writer Jens J. Kramer and lives in Hamburg.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780349142227
  • Publication date: 02 Mar 2017
  • Page count: 304
  • Imprint: Abacus
[Nina] George's engrossing novel is as much about indulging the senses with succulent dishes and dazzling sights as it is about romance and second chances. With a profound sense of place and sensuous prose, the novel functions as a satisfying virtual visit to the French Riviera. A luscious and uplifting tale of personal redemption in the tradition of Eat, Pray, Love — Kirkus Reviews
A sweet lifesaver bound to be in huge demand — Library Journal
Glowing . . . layered with wit, enchanting writing and a love of books . . . I prescribed it for a cynical friend who has '"seen it all" (and read it all) and she swooned — Daily Mail on THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP
A true gem for fiction lovers — Good Housekeeping on THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP
Abacus

The Little Paris Bookshop

Nina George
Authors:
Nina George
Yen Press

Chocolat: Vol. 8

Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Contributors:
Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Yen Press

Very! Very! Sweet: Vol 8

Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Contributors:
Ji-Sang Shin, Geo

Luckily, Be-Ri's timely discovery of the forgotten Doki saves the cat's life. But while Doki is well on his way to a full recovery, his master back in Japan is struggling with losing his grandfather and having to rethink his identity. With only snatches of news from Erica's brother, the uncertainty about Tsuyoshi's condition weighs heavily on Be-Ri's mind and heart. Given the physical distance between them, Be-Ri will have to take decisive action if she wants to help her friend. Is she ready to make a bold move in the name of love? There's no turning back in the final volume of Very! Very! Sweet!

Yen Press

Very! Very! Sweet: Vol 7

Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Contributors:
Ji-Sang Shin, Geo

Tsuyoshi wanders the streets, still reeling after learning the truth of his past and the cruelty that ripped his true family apart. Unwilling to return home and face his uncle and grandfather, Tsuyoshi asks to stay with Be-Ri for the night. But Erica and Mi-Hyuk are not about to leave the two of them alone in an empty house, and Be-Ri is soon made the unwilling host of an impromptu slumber party. It's no surprise when Tsuyoshi is the first to fall asleep, but when the time comes to rouse him, Tsuyoshi remains unconscious...

Yen Press

Very! Very! Sweet: Vol 6

Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Contributors:
Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Yen Press

Very! Very! Sweet: Vol 5

Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Contributors:
Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Yen Press

Very! Very! Sweet: Vol 4

Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Contributors:
Ji-Sang Shin, Geo

Tsuyoshi and Be-Ri's charade has Grandfather convinced, but it's just a bit too convincing for Erica and Mu-Hyuk. Forming a coalition of their own, the pair is determined to prevent Tsuyoshi and Be-Ri from becoming anything more than business partners. Meanwhile, Gyu-Ri and San-Ne are on the rocks as Gyu-Ri's unfaithfulness becomes increasingly apparent. Be-Ri watches their relationship crumble before her eyes, her heart filled with concern for the suffering San-Ne. It could be an opportunity to make her move, but as much as she cares for him, does she really want her true feelings out in the open at a time like this?

Yen Press

Very! Very! Sweet: Vol 3

Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Contributors:
Ji-Sang Shin, Geo

Thanks in no small part to Be-Ri, Tsuyoshi is just getting settled in his new life in Korea. But now that Erica's on the scene, Tsuyoshi's decision to use Korea as a "fresh start" is becoming more and more difficult, especially when she announces she'll be joining his class at school. For Be-Ri, the only thing worse than watching Erica's shameless affection from the back seat of a car is...having to watch it every day from her new seat behind Erica and Tsuyoshi. But what's this? Is Erica...crying? Seems there's trouble in paradise, but Be-Ri's got troubles of her own when Mu-Hyuk's surprise kiss turns her insides to knots...

Yen Press

Chocolat: Vol. 7

Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Contributors:
Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Yen Press

Chocolat: Vol. 6

Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Contributors:
Ji-Sang Shin, Geo

With her confession rejected by E-Wan of Yo-I, Kum-Ji is driven to despair. But with DDL's tour starting up again, she at least has something to get her mind off of her hurting heart. But when E-Wan is suddenly hospitalized, she must draw up the courage to visit him. And who's there to back her up but E-Soh?! Just when it seems that E-Wan can never be as nice as E-Soh, he has a change of heart?!

Yen Press

Very! Very! Sweet, Vol 2

Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Contributors:
Ji-Sang Shin, Geo

The fur may have been flying at their first meeting, but things have eased up a little between Be-Ri and Tsuyoshi. Their newfound neighborliness raises Mi-Hyuk's hackles, however, prompting him to make a bid for Be-Ri's affections. And as Tsuyoshi defends her from the oncoming love attack, no one is more surprised than Be-Ri herself. But when a familiar face from Japan shows up on Tsuyoshi's doorstep, Be-Ri's not the only one who has to deal with affairs of the heart.

Yen Press

Very! Very! Sweet Vol. 1

Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Contributors:
Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Yen Press

Chocolat: Vol. 5

Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Contributors:
Ji-Sang Shin, Geo

Kum-Ji may have started following Yo-I to get close to her favorite boy band, D.D.L., but it's E-Wan of Yo-I that she can't get out of her head! With E-Soh's confession still heavy on her heart, a confused Kum-Ji joins her fellow fan girls in strategizing for the next tour. But Barbie, the fan club president, has other plans. When a surprise attack leaves Kum-Ji bruised and beaten, E-Soh charges in as her knight in shining armor! Will this dashing rescue be enough to change Kum-Ji's affections?

Amin Maalouf

Amin Maalouf is a Lebanese journalist and writer. He was formerly director of the weekly international edition of the leading Beirut daily an-Nahar, and editor-in-chief of Jeune Afrique. He now lives with his wife and three children in Paris.

Angela Huth

Angela Huth has written three short story collections and several novels. She also writes plays for radio, television and stage, and is a well-known freelance journalist, critic and broadcaster. She is married to a don, lives in Oxford and has two daughters.

Bronwyn Parry

Bronwyn Parry lives in Australia. She was awarded the Golden Heart for best new romance writer by the Romance Writers of America. Visit her at www.bronwynparry.com

Cath Staincliffe

Cath Staincliffe is an award winning novelist, radio playwright and creator of ITV's hit series Blue Murder. Cath's books have been shortlisted for the CWA Best First Novel award. She was joint winner of the CWA Short Story Dagger in 2012. Letters To My Daughter's Killer was selected for the Specsavers Crime Thriller Book Club on ITV3 in 2014. Cath also writes the Scott & Bailey books based on the popular ITV series. She lives with her family in Manchester.

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles is the author of the hugely popular Morland Dynasty novels, which have captivated and enthralled readers for decades. She is also the author of the contemporary Bill Slider Mystery series, as well as her new series, War at Home, which is an epic family drama set against the backdrop of World War I. Cynthia's passions are music, wine, horses, architecture and the English countryside.

Derek Wilson

DEREK WILSON is a renowned Tudor historian. A graduate of Peterhouse, Cambridge, he has written over 50 critically acclaimed books including A Brief History of the Circumnavigators, and The Uncrowned Kings of England, as well as recent biographies of Charlemagne and Holbein.He is a writer and presenter for radio and television and is also the founder of the Cambridge History festival. He lives in North Devon. Visit his website: www.derekwilson.com

Elaine Dundy

Elaine Dundy was born in New York. As an actress she worked in Paris and London and then became a writer. She has written plays, biographies and novels including the bestselling THE DUD AVOCADO, her first novel.