Chris Brookmyre - Black Widow - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £18.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408707159
    • Publication date:28 Jan 2016
  • Paperback £13.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408707142
    • Publication date:28 Jan 2016
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408707166
    • Publication date:28 Jan 2016
Books in this series

Black Widow

By Chris Brookmyre

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

Twists abound in the brilliant multi-award-nominated psychological thriller from master author Chris Brookmyre - perfect for readers of The Girl on the Train and Disclaimer.

'A celtic Gone Girl... guaranteed to keep you guessing'
Ian Rankin

*Winner of the Crime Novel of the Year at Bloody Scotland*

Twists abound in the brilliant new psychological thriller from master author Chris Brookmyre - perfect for readers of The Girl on the Train, I See You and Disclaimer.


Did she do it? Did he deserve it?

Diana Jager is clever, strong and successful, a skilled surgeon and fierce campaigner via her blog about sexism. Yet it takes only hours for her life to crumble when her personal details are released on the internet as revenge for her writing.

Then she meets Peter. He's kind, generous, and knows nothing about her past: the second chance she's been waiting for.

Within six months, they are married. Within six more, Peter is dead in a road accident, a nightmare end to their fairytale romance.

But Peter's sister Lucy doesn't believe in fairytales, and tasks maverick reporter Jack Parlabane with discovering the dark truth behind the woman the media is calling Black Widow...


'Black Widow is a stand-out thriller'
Renee Knight, author of Disclaimer

Biographical Notes

Chris Brookmyre was a journalist before becoming a full-time novelist with the publication of his award-winning debut QUITE UGLY ONE MORNING, which established him as one of Britain's leading crime authors. His Jack Parlabane novels have sold more than one million copies in the UK alone.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780349141329
  • Publication date: 09 Mar 2017
  • Page count: 512
  • Imprint: Abacus
A celtic Gone Girl... guaranteed to keep you guessing — Ian Rankin
Black Widow is a stand-out thriller, reminiscent of the best of Nordic Noir but with its own vivid landscape — Renee Knight, author of Disclaimer
Brookmyre opens with a dramatic court scene, followed by a series of clever twists that challenge the reader to work out who is the victim of an extremely sophisticated crime — Sunday Times
Exceptionally good - a knotty mystery that's not just richly, provocatively political but one of the most perceptive excavations of a dysfunctional marriage I can remember reading.... Brookmyre plays a cunning, careful game — Guardian
I didn't know what was going to happen next in this epic thriller. I urge you to read it, too — Sun
The story's characters are compelling and the mystery is evoked with scalpel-like precision — Daily Mail
This is mystery plotting at its highest level, all the disparate strands forming into a web and then into a knot that tightens around victim, detective and reader — Spectator
It's only as you're racing through the final tense pages, full of betrayal, revenge and shocking revelations, that you realise the brilliance behind the construction of this utterly compulsive, whipsmart thriller — Sunday Mirror
A gripping, complex and classy crime novel. — Mail on Sunday YOU Magazine
Chilling, gripping and exquisitely unpredictable — Daily Record
Black Widow does its best to evade you at every turn, demanding your full attention — Scotland on Sunday
Chris Brookmyre has some claim to be the leading satirical novelist currently at work in Britain — Daily Telegraph
Enthralling and entertaining — Daily Express
A biting satire, nuanced enough to avoid polemic — Sunday Telegraph
A briskly paced thriller with a sense of confident contemporary relevance — The List
Chris Brookmyre does an exceptionally good job . . . making sense of a narrative in which truth and lies are inextricably entwined. The more I read, the more I was hooked — Crime Review
Black Widow is a stand-out thriller, reminiscent of the best of Nordic Noir but with its own vivid landscape — Renee Knight (author of Disclaimer)
Tense, intense and quite, quite brilliant — Jenny Colgan
Has all the verbal and narrative energy of his best work. A pleasing mix of old and new, its country-hopping plot looks back to Grahame Greene and John Buchan, but the pop and media references are bang up-to-date — John Dugdale, Sunday Times
One of Brookmyre's most accomplished books... razor sharp — The Big Issue
'Brookmyre writes beautifully and describes an unfamiliar world vividly and credibly... I was hooked' — Jessica Mann, Literary Review