Iain Banks - The Steep Approach To Garbadale - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats

The Steep Approach To Garbadale

By Iain Banks

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

Dark family secrets and a passionate love affair, full of his trademark warmth, humanity and ingenuity, Iain Banks's classic novel is reissued with a striking new cover

Dark family secrets and a long-lost love affair lie at the heart of Iain Banks's fabulous new novel.
The Wopuld family built its fortune on a board game called Empire! - now a hugely successful computer game. So successful, the American Spraint Corp wants to buy the firm out. Young renegade Alban, who has been evading the family clutches for years, is run to ground and persuded to attend the forthcoming family gathering - part birthday party, part Extraordinary General Meeting - convened by Win, Wopuld matriarch and most powerful member of the board, at Garbadale, the family's highland castle.
Being drawn back into the bosom of the clan brings a disconcerting confrontation with Alban's past. What drove his mother to take her own life? And is he ready to see Sophie, his beautiful cousin and teenage love? Grandmother Win's revelations wll radically alter Alban's perspective for ever.

Biographical Notes

Iain Banks came to widespread and controversial public notice with the publication of his first novel, THE WASP FACTORY, in 1984. He gained enormous popular and critical acclaim for both his mainstream and his science fiction novels. Iain Banks died in June 2013.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780349139142
  • Publication date: 05 Dec 2013
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Abacus
Piatkus

The Little Café of Second Chances

J.D. Barrett
Authors:
J.D. Barrett

Lucy Muir is leaving her husband. It's complicated.As joint owners and chefs at one of the best restaurants in town making a clean break is tough. But, let's face it, a woman can only take so much cheating, recipe stealing and lack of good grace. Despondently driving around the back streets of Woolloomooloo one night, Lucy happens upon an old, empty terrace that was once the city's hottest restaurant: Fortune. One minute she's peering through grimy windows into an abandoned space, the next she's planning a pop-up bistro. When Lucy fires up Fortune's old kitchen she discovers a little red recipe book that belonged to the former chef, the infamous Frankie Summers. As she cries over the ingredients for Frankie's French Onion Soup, she imagines what Fortune was like in its heyday. It's strange, Lucy can sense Frankie beside her, almost see him there . . . This fiery chef, who lived with a passion for food and women in almost equal measure, just might help Lucy cook herself up a better life. But is she brave enough to believe?Charming, heartwarming and just a little bit magical, The Secret Recipe for Second Chances will leave you smiling and hungry for more

Sphere

The Trouble With Love

Rosemary Dun
Authors:
Rosemary Dun

'Quirky, charming and laugh-out-loud funny' Julie CohenA hilarious and romantic love story that's guaranteed to have you laughing out loud! Perfect for fans of Holly Martin, Alex Brown and Kat French.When Polly Park meets Spike, the fact that he's emigrating to Australia in six months' time is not a problem - no commitment or messy endings. But she doesn't bank on falling in love, or on making a certain discovery after he's gone. Three years on, Polly is a single mum to her gorgeous daughter Rowan, she's dating the lovely Max and she might finally be ready to take a chance on love. Then, out of the blue, Spike returns with his glamorous girlfriend in tow, and suddenly Polly finds herself in the middle of a very sticky situation . . . Will Spike's return resurrect Polly's feelings for him? Where does that leave Max and Polly? And how will all this change effect Rowan? Nothing is simple - but then, that's the trouble with love . . . The Trouble with Love is a fresh and funny romantic comedy that explores both conventional and modern dilemmas in love. It will make you think, it will make you laugh and above all else, it will make you believe that love really can conquer all.

Sphere

We'll Always Have Paris

Sue Watson
Authors:
Sue Watson

'fizzes with warmth, humour and tenderness, from the first page to the last. . . I adored it' Cathy Bramley, author of Appleby FarmDoes first love deserve a second chance?When she was almost seventeen, Rosie Draper locked eyes with a charismatic student called Peter during their first week at art college, changing the course of her life forever. Now, on the cusp of sixty-five and recently widowed, Rosie is slowly coming to terms with a new future. And after a chance encounter with Peter, forty-seven years later, they both begin to wonder 'what if' . . .Told with warmth, wit and humour, We'll Always Have Paris is a charming, moving and uplifting novel about two people; the choices they make, the lives they lead and the love they share.

Sphere

You Had Me at Merlot

Lisa Dickenson
Authors:
Lisa Dickenson
Sphere

First Touch

Laurelin Paige
Authors:
Laurelin Paige
Sphere

To Love Again

Danielle Steel
Authors:
Danielle Steel

An epic and romantic tale from the world's favourite storyteller, Danielle Steel.'Emotional and gripping . . . I was left in no doubt as to the reasons behind Steel's multi-million sales around the world' Daily Mail on BlueIsabella and Amadeo. The toast of international society and the undisputed leaders of Rome couture. Together they ruled the House of San Gregoria, a monument to Isabella's fabulous designs and stunning beauty, to Amadeo's unerring flair and golden Florentine elegance. And beyond their enchanted world of splendour shone their boundless, undying love for one another.Then suddenly their dream was shattered. Amadeo was gone - for ever. Isabella fled to Rome for a new life of bitter struggles and haunting memories. With her proud courage and all her zest for living, could she ever say goodbye to the past and dare . . . to love again.

Little, Brown

Poems

Iain Banks, Ken MacLeod
Authors:
Iain Banks, Ken MacLeod

Iain Banks is celebrated as a novelist and science fiction writer. It is less well known that his first published work was the poem '041', in New Writing Scotland in 1983. Like the poems that appeared within his novels, this was selected from the many he had written between 1973 and 1981.Banks took his poetry seriously and worked on it assiduously, but showed it mostly to friends. He first thought of publishing his poetry late in 2012, though insisted it be a joint collection with his life-long friend Ken MacLeod. The two writers were working on this project when Banks learned of his terminal diagnosis, and continued thereafter. He made his final revisions just days before his death.Readers of Iain Banks' novels will find in the poems a further affirmation of the humane, sceptical and clear-eyed sensibility that informed all his work, shot through as ever with a dry wit that continues to disturb and delight. Ken MacLeod edited and introduces this collection.

Sphere

The Happy Ever Afterlife of Rosie Potter (RIP)

Kate Winter
Authors:
Kate Winter
Hachette Audio

Whit

Iain Banks
Authors:
Iain Banks

A little knowledge can be a very dangerous thing... Innocent in the ways of the world, an ingenue when it comes to pop and fashion, the Elect of God of a small but committed Stirlingshire religious cult: Isis Whit is no ordinary teenager.When her cousin Morag - Guest of Honour at the Luskentyrian's four-yearly Festival of Love - disappears after renouncing her faith, Isis is marked out to venture among the Unsaved and bring the apostate back into the fold. But the road to Babylondon (as Sister Angela puts it) is a treacherous one, particularly when Isis discovers that Morag appears to have embraced the ways of the Unsaved with spectacular abandon...Truth and falsehood; kinship and betrayal; 'herbal' cigarettes and compact discs - Whit is an exploration of the techno-ridden barrenness of modern Britain from a unique perspective.

Abacus

A Song Of Stone

Iain Banks
Authors:
Iain Banks

The war is ending, perhaps ended. For the castle and its occupants the troubles are just beginning. Armed gangs roam a lawless land where each farm and house supports a column of dark smoke. Taking to the roads with the other refugees, anonymous in their raggedness, seems safer than remaining in the ancient keep. However, the lieutenant of an outlaw band has other ideas and the castle becomes the focus for a dangerous game of desire, deceit and death. Iain Banks' masterly novel reveals his unique ability to combine gripping narrative with a relentlessly voyaging imagination. The narrative technique and sheer brio of A SONG OF STONE reveal a great novelist at the height of his powers.

Little, Brown

The Quarry

Iain Banks
Authors:
Iain Banks
Abacus

The Crow Road

Iain Banks
Authors:
Iain Banks
Abacus

Walking On Glass

Iain Banks
Authors:
Iain Banks
Abacus

Stonemouth

Iain Banks
Authors:
Iain Banks
Sphere

The Notebook

Nicholas Sparks
Authors:
Nicholas Sparks
Abacus

Transition

Iain Banks
Authors:
Iain Banks
Abacus

Dead Air

Iain Banks
Authors:
Iain Banks
Abacus

The Business

Iain Banks
Authors:
Iain Banks

Kate Telman is a senior executive officer in The Business, a powerful and massively discreet transglobal organisation. Financially transparent, internally democratic and disavowing conventional familial inheritance, the character of The Business seems, even to Kate, to be vague to the point of invisibility. It possesses, allegedly, a book of Leonardo cartoons, several sets of Crown Jewels and wants to buy its own State in order to acquire a seat at the United Nations.Kate's job is to keep abreast of current technological developments and her global reach encompasses Silicon Valley, a ranch in Nebraska, the firm's secretive Swiss headquarters, and a remote Himalayan principality. In the course of her journey Kate must peel away layers of emotional insulation and the assumptions of a lifetime. She must learn to keep her world at arm's length. To take control, she has to do The Business.

Abacus

Espedair Street

Iain Banks
Authors:
Iain Banks

Daniel Weir used to be a famous - not to say infamous - rock star. Maybe still is. At thirty-one he has been both a brilliant failure and a dull success. He's made a lot of mistakes that have paid off and a lot of smart moves he'll regret forever (however long that turns out to be). Daniel Weir has gone from rags to riches and back, and managed to hold onto them both, though not much else. His friends all seem to be dead, fed up with him or just disgusted - and who can blame them? And now Daniel Weir is all alone. As he contemplates his life, Daniel realises he only has two problems: the past and the future. He knows how bad the past has been. But the future - well, the future is something else.

Abacus

The Bridge

Iain Banks
Authors:
Iain Banks

The man who wakes up in the extraordinary world of a bridge has amnesia, and his doctor doesn't seem to want to cure him. Does it matter? Exploring the bridge occupies most of his days. But at night there are his dreams. Dreams in which desperate men drive sealed carriages across barren mountains to a bizarre rendezvous; an illiterate barbarian storms an enchanted tower under a stream of verbal abuse; and broken men walk forever over bridges without end, taunted by visions of a doomed sexuality.Lying in bed unconscious after an accident wouldn't be much fun, you'd think. Oh yes? It depends who and what you've left behind.Which is the stranger reality, day or night? Frequently hilarious and consistently disturbing, THE BRIDGE is a novel of outrageous contrasts, constructed chaos and elegant absurdities.