Keigo Higashino - The Devotion Of Suspect X - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780349138732
    • Publication date:02 Feb 2012
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780748126187
    • Publication date:07 Jul 2011

The Devotion Of Suspect X

By Keigo Higashino

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Read the book that sold over two million copies in Japan and became a national obsession

Yasuko lives a quiet life, working in a Tokyo bento shop, a good mother to her only child. But when her ex-husband appears at her door without warning one day, her comfortable world is shattered.

When Detective Kusanagi of the Tokyo Police tries to piece together the events of that day, he finds himself confronted by the most puzzling, mysterious circumstances he has ever investigated. Nothing quite makes sense, and it will take a genius to understand the genius behind this particular crime...

One of the biggest-selling Japanese thrillers ever, and the inspiration for a cult film, The Devotion of Suspect X is now being discovered across the world. Its blend of a page-turning story, evocative Tokyo setting and utterly surprising ending make it a must-read for anyone interested in international fiction.

Biographical Notes

Keigo Higashino is a Japanese author chiefly known for mystery novels. Born in Osaka, he started writing novels while still working as an engineer at Nippon Denso Co. He won the Edogawa Rampo Prize, which is awarded annually to the finest mystery work, in 1985 for the novel Hokago (After School) at age 27. Subsequently, he quit his job and started a career as a writer in Tokyo.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780349123745
  • Publication date: 02 Feb 2012
  • Page count: 448
  • Imprint: Abacus
Intricate and beguiling...if you like riddles inside enigmas, it will please you no end — Guardian
The plot is taut and intriguing...this psychological driver sets it apart from more run-of-the-mill crime thrillers...Agatha Christie would be mightily impressed — Financial Times
A very clever novel that explores the consequences of a murder from the perspectives of the murderer, the police investigators, and the man who engages in a battle of wits with the police...a page-turning thriller — Irish Times
It's the details that hold the key to this enjoyable read — We Love This Book
Two million copies sold in Japan and it's easy to see why — Independent Summer Reads
Constable

The Betel Nut Tree Mystery

Ovidia Yu
Authors:
Ovidia Yu
Sphere

Survivor

Roberta Kray
Authors:
Roberta Kray
Sphere

Never Let You Go

Chevy Stevens
Authors:
Chevy Stevens

A chilling, twisting thriller that crackles with suspense, perfect for fans of BA Paris and Clare Mackintosh.She thought she'd escaped him forever. But will he ever let her go?Eleven years ago, Lindsey Nash fled into the night with her young daughter, leaving an abusive relationship behind. Her ex-husband ended up in jail and Lindsey started a new life.Now, Lindsey is older, wiser and believes she has cut all ties with the past. But when Andrew is released from prison, strange things start happening. Lindsey's new boyfriend is threatened, her home invaded and her daughter followed.Her ex-husband denies all knowledge, but Lindsey is convinced he's responsible. Because, after all, who else could it be...?'Stevens's taut writing and chilling depiction of love twisted beyond recognition make this a compelling read' Publishers Weekly, Starred Review'Disturbing, suspenseful, and just a little nerve-wracking' Library Journal

Little, Brown

Want You Gone

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre

From the award-winning, million-selling author of Black Widow comes a twist-filled story of secrets and lies.What if your deepest secret was revealed?Sam Morpeth is growing up way too fast, left to fend for a younger sister when their mother goes to prison and watching her dreams of university evaporate. But Sam learns what it is to be truly powerless when a stranger begins to blackmail her.Who would you turn to?Meanwhile, reporter Jack Parlabane has finally got his career back on track, but his success has left him indebted to a volatile, criminal source. Now that debt is being called in, and it could cost him everything. What would you be capable of?Thrown together by a vindictive and mysterious mutual enemy, Sam and Jack are about to discover they might be each other's only hope.

Abacus

Journey Under the Midnight Sun

Keigo Higashino
Authors:
Keigo Higashino

A twenty-year-old murder A chain of unsolvable mysteries Can one detective solve this epic riddle?When a man is found murdered in an abandoned building in Osaka in 1973, unflappable detective Sasagaki is assigned to the case. He begins to piece together the connection of two young people who are inextricably linked to the crime; the dark, taciturn son of the victim and the unexpectedly captivating daughter of the main suspect. Over the next twenty years we follow their lives as Sasagaki pursues the case - which remains unsolved - to the point of obsession. Stark, intriguing and stylish, Journey Under the Midnight Sun is an epic mystery by the bestselling Japanese author of The Devotion of Suspect X.

Sphere

The Long Way Home

Louise Penny
Authors:
Louise Penny
Little, Brown

A Midsummer's Equation

Keigo Higashino
Authors:
Keigo Higashino

When a man's body is discovered at the base of some cliffs in the small resort town of Hari Cove, the police at first suspect a tragic accident, a misstep that cost the man his life. However, when the victim is found to have been a former policeman and that the cause of death was actually carbon monoxide poisoning, they begin a murder investigation. Manabu Yukawa, the physicist known as 'Detective Galileo', is in Hari Cove to speak at a conference on a planned underwater mining operation, and finds himself drawn into the case. Did the murder have something to do with the fight of the small community to rebuild itself, or does it have its roots in the town's history? In a series of twists as complex and surprising as any in Higashino's brilliant, critically acclaimed work, Yukawa uncovers the hidden relationship behind the tragic events that led to this murder.

Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Jack the Ripper Stories

Maxim Jakubowski
Authors:
Maxim Jakubowski
Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Historical Whodunnits Volume 2

Mike Ashley
Authors:
Mike Ashley
Abacus

Malice

Keigo Higashino
Authors:
Keigo Higashino
Sphere

How The Light Gets In

Louise Penny
Authors:
Louise Penny

The NUMBER ONE New York Times Bestseller'Full of twists and turns . . . Wonderfully satisfying' (Kate Mosse)Shortlisted for the CWA Gold Dagger 2014***A DETECTIVEAs a fierce, unrelenting winter grips Quebec, shadows are closing in on Chief Inspector Armand Gamache. Most of his best agents have left the Homicide Department and hostile forces are lining up against him. A DISAPPEARANCEWhen Gamache receives a message about a mysterious case in Three Pines, he is compelled to investigate -- a woman who was once one of the most famous people in the world has vanished. A DEADLY CONCLUSIONAs he begins to shed light on the investigation, he is drawn into a web of murder, lies and unimaginable corruption at the heart of the city. Facing his most challenging, and personal, case to date, can Gamache save the reputation of the Sûreté, those he holds dear and himself?Evocative, gripping and atmospheric, this magnificent work of crime fiction from international bestselling author Louise Penny will stay with you long after you turn the final page.

Robinson

Mammoth Book of Best British Crime 11

Maxim Jakubowski
Authors:
Maxim Jakubowski
C & R Crime

The Mammoth Book of Roman Whodunnits

Mike Ashley
Authors:
Mike Ashley

Twenty tales of intrigue, murder and mayhem from this most bloodthirsty and exciting of times.With dramatic settings ranging form the Eternal City of Rome to the most remote outposts of her Empire, here are new tales form the masters of the historical detective story, with classic gems and rare reprints - plus a special introduction, and a new Gordianus the Finder novella from Steven Saylor.A Gladiator Dies Only Once, Steven Saylor: set just before the rebellion of Spartacus, Gordianus is sent to investigate, not a murder but a resurrection. Heads You Lose, Simon Scarrow: someone is beheading soldiers during the siege of Jerusalem, but could the assassin be within the Roman camp?Never Forget, Tom HOlt: having defeated Hannibal, Scipio Africanus has a murder to solve and consults a wily Greek philosopher to help him.The Hostage to Fortune, Michael Jecks: during Caesar's invasion of Britain, the murder of one of the hostages causes a real problem for the guards.The Finger of Aphrodite, Mary Reed and Eric Mayer: with Rome under siege by the Ostrogoths, John the Eunuch is faced with a locked room murder.Edited by Edgar Award winner Mike Ashley

Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Egyptian Whodunnits

Mike Ashley
Authors:
Mike Ashley
C & R Crime

The Mammoth Book of Classical Whodunnits

Mike Ashley
Authors:
Mike Ashley

In the golden days of Ancient Greece and Rome, amidst the splendid art and architecture, the philosophy and politics - there was always a full measure of intrigue, mystery and murder.In this new collection twenty-two writers take up their pens to give an enthralling picture of classical crime. Favourite historical detectives such as Gordianus the Finder, Decius Metellus, and Sister Fidelma rub shoulders with eminent temporary sleuths such as Socrates and that honourable man Brutus, whilst other great names - Augustus, Archimedes, and even the spoilt and beautiful goddess of love, Aphrodite herself - also become enmeshed in terrible and ingenious crimes.Contributors include:Keith HellerEdward D. HochPhyllis Ann KarrTheodore MathiesonAmy MyersWallace NicholsAnthony PriceSteven SaylorDarrell SchweitzerBrian StablefordKeith Taylorand many more

C & R Crime

The Mammoth Book of The Lost Chronicles of Sherlock Holmes

Denis O. Smith
Authors:
Denis O. Smith

These are stories of the sort loved by true fans of the greatest of all detectives, in which a client tells Holmes a strange tale, drawing him into a baffling mystery. Whether in fogbound London or deep in the English countryside, these action-packed stories, set during the 1880s and early 1890s, before Holmes's disappearance at the Reichenbach Falls, faithfully recreate the atmosphere of Conan Doyle's early Holmes stories. This wonderful anthology brings together the best work of Denis O. Smith, much admired for his new Sherlock Holmes stories, including 'A Hair's Breadth', 'The Adventure of the Smiling Face' and 'An Incident in Society'. Ten of these stories have never previously been published in book form.

Sphere

The Beautiful Mystery

Louise Penny
Authors:
Louise Penny
C & R Crime

The Mammoth Book of Best British Crime 10

Maxim Jakubowski
Authors:
Maxim Jakubowski
Abacus

Salvation of a Saint

Keigo Higashino
Authors:
Keigo Higashino
C & R Crime

Mammoth Books presents The Best British Crime Omnibus: Volume 7, 8 and 9

Maxim Jakubowski
Authors:
Maxim Jakubowski