David Sedaris - Dress Your Family In Corduroy And Denim - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • CD-Audio £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781586215026
    • Publication date:27 May 2004
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405501668
    • Publication date:27 May 2004

Dress Your Family In Corduroy And Denim

By David Sedaris

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

*A new roundup of personal essays - surprising, disarming, heartbreakingly funny - from the #1 bestselling writer Time named America's Favorite Humorist.

David Sedaris plays in the snow with his sisters.
He goes on vacation with his family.
He gets a job selling drinks.
He attends his brother's wedding.
He mops his sister's floor.
He gives directions to a lost traveller.
He eats a hamburger.
He has his blood sugar tested.
It all sounds so normal, doesn't it?
In his new book David Sedaris lifts the corner of ordinary life, revealing the absurdity teeming below its surface. His world is alive with obscure desires and hidden motives - a world where forgiveness is automatic and an argument can be the highest form of love. Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim finds one of the wittiest and most original writers at work today at the peak of his form.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780349116709
  • Publication date: 16 Dec 2004
  • Page count: 272
  • Imprint: Abacus
So often Sedaris's phrasing is beautiful in its piquancy and minimalism...His life is extraordinary in so many ways - the drug addiction, the eccentric family, the crazy jobs, the fame, the globetrotting - but one of the more unlikely achievements here is in making it all seem quite ordinary. Ultimately, his masterstroke is in acting as a bystander in his own story — Guardian
He makes me laugh so much. In an era when US satire is outpacing our own he's a sharp, humane and hilarious voice that never fails to make you smile - and sometimes weep. Apparently effortless humour is difficult, and precious. He's the real thing — James Naughtie, Radio Times
A deadpan, darkly comical portrait of the American underbelly . . . Sedaris shares something of [Alan] Bennett's detached curiosity, and they both have a thirst for amusement — Craig Brown, Mail on Sunday
These are scenes of family life at its best, written with clarity but also with great affection, through which the character of the author emerges, watchful, self-mocking and full of understanding. — TLS
This is a man who could capture your heart and lift your spirits while reading out the ingredients of a rice cake. OBSERVER — 'Mr Sedaris's humour is dry, witty and consistently successful.’
ECONOMIST — 'Sedaris is like an updated Thurber: domestic, laconic, slightly warped but never bitter, and extremely funny.’
CULTURE, SUNDAY TIMES — 'His best, funniest, most satisfying book.’
Hachette Audio

Calypso

David Sedaris
Authors:
David Sedaris
Sphere

It Was Her

Mark Hill
Authors:
Mark Hill

Do you want a thriller where nothing is as it seems?Twenty years ago Tatia was adopted into a well-off home, where she seemed happy, settled. Then the youngest boy in the family dies in an accident, and she gets the blame. Did she do it?Tatia was cast out, away from her remaining adopted siblings Joel and Sarah. Now she yearns for a home to call her own. So when she see families going on holiday, leaving their beautiful homes empty, there seems no harm in living their lives while she is gone. But somehow, people keep ending up dead.Did she kill them?As bodies start to appear in supposedly safe neighbourhoods, DI Ray Drake and DS Flick Crowley race to find the thinnest of links between the victims. But Drake's secret past is once more threatening to destroy everything.Will they catch her?PRAISE FOR MARK HILL'A fantastic debut: dark, addictive and original. I couldn't put it down'Robert Bryndza, author of The Girl in the Ice'Grips from the start and never lets up' The Times 'Wreaks havoc with your assumptions. Hill has a hell of a career ahead of him' Alex Marwood, author of The Wicked Girls and The Darkest Secret 'A cracking debut. I can't wait to see more of Ray Drake' Mark Billingham, #1 bestselling author of Love Like Blood and In The Dark 'Utterly gripping, packed with unforgettable characters - and SO well-written. The twists had me reeling!' Louise Voss

Little, Brown Young Readers US

CatStronauts: Robot Rescue

Drew Brockington
Authors:
Drew Brockington

In the fourth book in the CatStronauts graphic novel series, the stalwart Cat-Stro-Bot is stranded, and the CatStronauts have to stage an off the books robot rescue! Cat-Stro-Bot has been with the CatStronauts through it all. He's saved the team as a stowaway on their mission to the moon, brought the team back from a crash on Mars, and co-piloted the crucial shuttle in the dreaded space station situation.But now Cat-Stro-Bot is stranded on Jupiter's coldest moon after a mission gone wrong--and his best friend/creator Blanket isn't about to leave him behind. When CATSUP brass declines a rescue mission request, Blanket creates robot stand-ins for the team. Soon, the rest of the CatStronauts, Major Meowser, Pom Pom and Waffles, are off on their longest journey ever with experimental new technology. The robot rescue is afoot! In this full-color graphic novel, debut author/illustrator Drew Brockington takes the CatStronauts to the brink, adding in mounds of robot glitches, wonky cover-ups, and fish jokes by the ton!

Hachette Books

The Clear Skin Diet

Nina Nelson, Randa Nelson
Authors:
Nina Nelson, Randa Nelson
Life and Style

The Freds at Barneys New York Cookbook

Mark Strausman, Susan Littlefield
Authors:
Mark Strausman, Susan Littlefield

Barneys New York, with its flagship store on Madison Avenue, is a world-famous cutting-edge fashion destination, and a true New York phenomenon. And since 1996, Barneys' restaurant Freds at Barneys New York--named after found Barneys Pressman's son Fred--has been offering in food what Barneys offers in fashion: a luxury destination that provides a level of personal service second to none, where the food keeps their celebrity clientele coming back for more. In THE FREDS AT BARNEYS COOKBOOK, Strausman invites you into the kitchen of this restaurant institution and teaches you how to bring a piece of Fred's into your own home. Whether its the Belgian Fries or Estelle's Chicken Soup, Mark's Madison Avenue Salad or Chicken Paillard, Traditional Bolognese (or Vegan!) or Cheese Fondue Scrambled Eggs, this cookbook commemorates all of the delicious recipes Freds has served over the years at the Madison Avenue, Chelsea, Beverly Hills, and Chicago locations.

Sphere

What We Did

Christobel Kent
Authors:
Christobel Kent

He stole her childhood. She'll take his futureWhat would you do if you accidentally encountered the man who once abused you? And how would you get away with it?Bridget's life is small and safe: she loves her husband, her son and works hard to keep her own business afloat. Then one day her world is changed forever. The music teacher who abused her walks into a shop with the teenager he's clearly grooming. Bridget is sent spiralling back into her past.Anthony begins to stalk Bridget, trying to ensure her silence - until suddenly, she snaps.And now Bridget must find away to deal with the aftermath of her actions...

Running Press Kids

The Battle of Junk Mountain

Lauren Abbey Greenberg
Authors:
Lauren Abbey Greenberg
Hachette Audio

Meet David Sedaris: Series Six

David Sedaris
Authors:
David Sedaris
Little, Brown

David Sedaris Diaries: A Visual Compendium

David Sedaris
Authors:
David Sedaris
Hachette Audio

David Sedaris: Live for Your Listening Pleasure

David Sedaris
Authors:
David Sedaris

Little, Brown

Theft by Finding

David Sedaris
Authors:
David Sedaris

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER'He's like an American Alan Bennett, in that his own fastidiousness becomes the joke, as per the taxi encounter, or his diary entry about waiting interminably in a coffee-bar queue' Guardian review of An Evening with David SedarisThe point is to find out who you are and to be true to that person. Because so often you can't. Won't people turn away if they know the real me? you wonder. The me that hates my own child, that put my perfectly healthy dog to sleep? The me who thinks, deep down, that maybe The Wire was overrated?For nearly four decades, David Sedaris has faithfully kept a diary in which he records his thoughts and observations on the odd and funny events he witnesses. Anyone who has attended a live Sedaris event knows that his diary readings are often among the most joyful parts of the evening. But never before have they been available in print. Now, in Theft by Finding, Sedaris brings us his favorite entries. From the family home in Ralegh, North Carolina, we follow Sedaris as he sets out to make his way in the world. As an art student and then teacher in Chicago he works at a succession of very odd jobs, meeting even odder people, before moving to New York to pursue a career as a writer - where instead he very quickly lands a job in Macy's department store as an elf in Santaland... Tender, hilarious, illuminating, and endlessly captivating, Theft by Finding offers a rare look into the mind of one of our generation's greatest comic geniuses.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Star Thief

Lindsey Becker
Authors:
Lindsey Becker
Constable

F*ck That

Jason Headley
Authors:
Jason Headley
Forever

Change of Heart

Nicole Jacquelyn
Authors:
Nicole Jacquelyn
Piatkus

The Hating Game: 2017's funniest romcom

Sally Thorne
Authors:
Sally Thorne

'Warm, witty and wise.' The Daily Mail'The next Sophie Kinsella.' Bustle'Charming, self-deprecating, quick-witted and funny.' The New York Times'I made a mistake when I first met Joshua: I smiled at him.My best sunny smile with all my teeth, my eyes sparkling with stupid optimism. His eyes scanned me from the top of my head to the soles of my shoes. Then he looked away out the window. He did not smile back, and somehow I feel like he's been carrying my smile around in his breast pocket ever since. He's one up.'Lucy Hutton, baker-of-cakes and usually a determined people-pleaser, has finally had enough. Joshua Templeman is officially her nemesis. Over months in a shared office they've faced off against each other and now that a big promotion is up for grabs, it's time to take him down. But as the tension between Lucy and Joshua reaches its boiling point, it's clear that the real battle has only just begun . . . Perfect for fans of Fiona Gibson's THE WOMAN WHO MET HER MATCH, Christina Lauren's DATING YOU HATING YOU and Sarra Manning's UNSTICKY'A smart and funny modern romance.' Good Housekeeping**RT REVIEWERS CHOICE WINNER****iBooks Best Romance 2016****Amazon Pick Best Romance 2016**

Hachette Audio

Meet David Sedaris: Series Five

David Sedaris
Authors:
David Sedaris
Hachette Audio

Meet David Sedaris: Series Four

David Sedaris
Authors:
David Sedaris

Moon Travel

Moon Santa Barbara & the Central Coast (2nd ed)

Stuart Thornton
Authors:
Stuart Thornton
Abacus

Let's Explore Diabetes With Owls

David Sedaris
Authors:
David Sedaris

A guy walks into a bar . . . From here the story could take many turns. A guy walks into a bar and meets the love of his life. A guy walks into a bar and finds no one else is there. When this guy is David Sedaris, the possibilities are endless. In Let's Explore Diabetes with Owls, Sedaris delights with twists of humour and intelligence, remembering his father's dinnertime attire (shirtsleeves and underpants) his first colonoscopy (remarkably pleasant) and the time he considered buying the skeleton of a murdered pygmy. By turns hilarious and moving, David Sedaris masterfully looks at life's absurdities as he takes us on adventures that are not to be forgotten.

Virago

Jamaica Inn

Daphne Du Maurier
Authors:
Daphne Du Maurier