Marcus Berkmann - Rain Men - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405530453
    • Publication date:02 May 2013

Rain Men

By Marcus Berkmann

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

* The most hilarious book ever written about amateur cricket.

There are many cricket books, and they are all the same. 'Don't Tell Goochie', autobiographical insights of nights on the tiles in Delhi with Lambie and the boys; 'Fruit cake days', a celebrated humourist recalls 'ball' - related banter of yore; and Wisden, a deadly weapon when combined with a thermos flask. Rain Men is different. Like the moment the genius of Richie Benaud first revealed itself to you, it is a cricketing epiphany, a landmark in the literature of the game.

Shining the light meter of reason into cricket's incomparable madness, Marcus Berkmann illuminates all the obsessions and disappointments that the dedicated fan and pathologically hopeful clubman suffers year after year - the ritual humiliation of England's middle order, the partially-sighted umpires, the battling average that reads more like a shoe size. As satisfying as a perfectly timed cover drive, and rather easier to come by, Rain Men offers essential justification for anyone who has ever run a team-mate out on purpose or secretly blubbed at a video of Botham's Ashes.

Biographical Notes

Marcus Berkmann is the author of Zimmer Men (SBN 0 316 72838 1) the sequel to Rain Men. He writes regularly for the Oldie, Private Eye and The Spectator

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780349107424
  • Publication date: 04 Apr 1996
  • Page count: 256
  • Imprint: Abacus
The Fever Pitch of cricket. Very funny — DAILY TELEGRAPH
Many thousands of cricketers will be able to identify with Marcus Berkmann's marvellous Rain Men. A masterpiece — Sir Tim Rice
A very funny book about some very sad men — Ian Hislop
It captures splendidly the many dazzingling facets of the truly atrocious cricketer — OBSERVER
For addicts with a low batting average - i.e. most cricket lovers — GUARDIAN
This wonderfully funny book reads like an inside account of a secret cult, its members tinged with guilt, shame and a curious defiant pride — INDEPENDENT ON SUNDAY
Delightfully tongue in cheek — SUNDAY TELEGRAPH
Orbit

Beyond the Empire

K. B. Wagers
Authors:
K. B. Wagers
Little, Brown

The Old Man and the Knee

Christopher Matthew
Authors:
Christopher Matthew

Although in his seventies, Christopher Matthew is convinced he is not yet old. No one one has ever stood up for him on a crowded bus or tube. He plays golf and walks the dog. He has all his own teeth, hair, and does not require a hearing aid. He is, in short, enjoying late middle age and is making the best of it while he still can. 'I know it can't last for ever, but while it does, it gives me the chance to look at life in the last lane, as I am now experiencing it, and to consider what might be to come.' Subjects range from what's the point of a grandparent; the perils and pleasures of replacing one's partner with a younger model; and acquiring new interests and hobbies (bridge? ocean cruising? ballet? marathon running?) to the arrival of old age and the last leg of all. How do we know when we are old? Does old age creep up slowly or arrive out of the blue? Will we be able to summon up some half-decent last words and what should they be? Witty, like Oscar Wilde's about the wallpaper, or helpful like the 1st Lord Grimthorpe's 'We are low on marmalade'?

Constable

Backing into the Spotlight

Michael Whitehall
Authors:
Michael Whitehall
Constable

Shabby

Emlyn Rees, Josie Lloyd
Authors:
Emlyn Rees, Josie Lloyd
Sphere

Beer Craft

Jon Finch
Authors:
Jon Finch
Robinson

The Fish Book

Paul Peacock
Authors:
Paul Peacock
Robinson

Growing up Wild

Alexia Barrable, Duncan Barrable
Authors:
Alexia Barrable, Duncan Barrable
Running Press Adult

Batman: Metal Die-Cast Bat-Signal

Matthew K. Manning
Authors:
Matthew K. Manning
Robinson

Nicholas II, The Last Tsar

Michael Paterson
Authors:
Michael Paterson
Little, Brown

Travelling Light

Alastair Sawday
Authors:
Alastair Sawday

A charming and beautifully written account of the pleasures of slow travel - for readers of Patrick Leigh Fermor, Colin Thubron and Eric Newby.'Lawrence Sterne once suggested that we travel for one of just three reasons: imbecility of mind, infirmity of body or inevitable necessity. One might add to Sterne's little list: envy, curiosity - or just too much bloody rain at home. Escape, in other words.' Campaigner, publisher and wanderer Alastair Sawday has spent his life travelling. En route he has unearthed a multitude of stories - stories of people ploughing their own furrows, of travellers' tales, stories from the 'front line' of his publishing , ruminations and reflections about places, people and ideas. In this deeply charming, erudite and spirited book, he shares his experiences and explores the value of travel.'The richer our imaginations, the richer our travel experience. We British do things one way and the Spaniards another; there are unlimited ways of doing everything. Kindness is found in unexpected places, as is eccentricity. Eccentrics are an endangered species and need as much protection as does the house sparrow.'Travelling Light is a gradual awakening to the fragility of everything we love through contemplative, consciously slow journeying. Every visit uncovers difference - from France profonde to the darker side of Sicily, and to the woodland, flora, fauna, views and silence of rural Britain. Alastair Sawday gives voice to those of us who have climbed no mountains, discovered no rivers, created no great institutions, powered no legislation, changed very little - but who yearn to understand the world and make sense of its infinite variety.

Black Dog & Leventhal

This is What a Librarian Looks Like

Kyle Cassidy
Authors:
Kyle Cassidy
ATOM

Missing

Kelley Armstrong
Authors:
Kelley Armstrong
Constable

Devil's Breath

G.M. Malliet
Authors:
G.M. Malliet

Even though Max's calling led him to become a vicar, his past life as a spy catches up with him . . .Max receives the call for help when the body of glamorous film star Margot Browne is washed ashore at Monkslip-super-Mare. George, his former boss in the secret service, tells Max a former colleague, Patrice Logan, has asked MI5 for help - particularly, Max's help.It's a perfect 'closed circle' murder since victim Margot must have been killed by one of the group of actors, stylists, scriptwriters and other hangers-on aboard the yacht they were cruising on. Patrice suspects the yacht's owner, a playboy film director she's been keeping tabs on for smuggling, but Max isn't so sure. Max and DCI Cotton interview the suspects as they lounge about on one of the luxury hotels dotting the waterfront. Tipped by the playboy director, Max uncovers the truth about the star's life and death. But would Margot kill - or be killed - to keep her lurid past firmly in the past?Praise for G.M. Malliet:'Rarely have I read descriptions that have left me gasping, in both their hilarity and their painful truth.' Louise Penny'G.M. Malliet has brought the village cosy into the twenty first century.' Charles Todd'There are certain things you want in a village mystery: a pretty setting, a tasteful murder, an appealing sleuth... Malliet delivers all that.' New York Times Book Review

Non-Duality Press

The Unfindable Inquiry

Scott Kiloby
Authors:
Scott Kiloby
Corsair

The Return of the Witch

Paula Brackston
Authors:
Paula Brackston
Robinson

The Bacon Jam Cookbook

Eat 17
Authors:
Eat 17
Forever

Change of Heart

Nicole Jacquelyn
Authors:
Nicole Jacquelyn
Little, Brown

The Spectator Book of Wit, Humour and Mischief

Marcus Berkmann
Authors:
Marcus Berkmann

Approaching its 200th birthday in the rudest of health, the Spectator is known for the quality of its writing and the deep eccentricity of some of its writers. Given the freedom to say what they want, they take that freedom and more, and the result is original, provocative, often very funny, sometimes plain wrong. From Jeffrey Bernard's reports from the Soho frontline and Auberon Waugh fulminating about hamburger gases in the early 1990s, we encounter in turn the wild stream of consciousness of Deborah Ross's restaurant reviews, the pinpoint etiquette advice of Mary Killen, Rod Liddle's frothing but elegantly sculpted outrage and the magazine's secret weapon, low life adventurer Jeremy Clarke. This bumper selection, which also includes eminent diarists, mad letter-writers and Boris Johnson, amounts to a masterclass in comic writing, lovingly compiled and edited by Marcus Berkmann, who still can't believe he wrote a monthly pop column for the magazine for twenty-eight years without being fired.

ATOM

Deadly

Sara Shepard
Authors:
Sara Shepard

It's all fun and games until everybody gets hurt.Spencer, Hanna, Emily, and Aria are forced to watch as all their secrets finally come to light, from their littlest lies to their darkest deeds. Now, one by one, the girls' worlds come crashing down around them. Spencer gets kicked out of Princeton. Hanna gets kicked out of her dad's campaign - and his heart. Emily gets kicked to the curb. And Aria may get kicked out of the country.Thanks to me, these girls have lost everything - except their lives, of course. But I'm not done yet. And if my deadly plan succeeds, the pretty little liars will have finally told their last lie. . .

ATOM

Toxic

Sara Shepard
Authors:
Sara Shepard

High school seniors Aria, Emily, Spencer, and Hanna barely survived their most recent encounter with A. And it's not over yet . . . The police don't believe that the real A is still out there, but the girls know what - and who - they saw. If they don't track down this final tormentor soon, A will silence them forever.This penultimate installment of the beloved series is full of juicy scandals, dark secrets, and shocking plot twists that will prepare readers for the jaw-dropping series conclusion in Pretty Little Liars No 16.