Rose Macaulay - Crewe Train - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780349010038
    • Publication date:08 Feb 2018
Books in this series

Crewe Train

By Rose Macaulay

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Crewe Train is a witty and thought-provoking satire on London life in the 1920s

Denham Dobie has been brought up in Andorra by her father, a retired clergyman. On his death, she is snatched from this reclusive life and thrown into the social whirl of London by her sophisticated relatives. Denham, however, provides a candid response to the niceties of 'civilised' behaviour. CREWE TRAIN is one of Macaulay's wittiest satires. The reactions of Denham to the manners and modes of the highbrow circle in which she finds herself provide a devastating - and very funny - social commentary as well as a moving story.

This bitingly funny, elegantly written comedy of manners is as absorbing and entertaining today as on the book's first publication in 1967.

Biographical Notes

Rose Macaulay (1881-1958) was born in Rugby, Warwickshire. She studied Modern History at Somerville College, Oxford and wrote her first novel, Abbots Verney in 1906. She was introduced to the London literary scene by her childhood friend Rupert Brooke, and her friends included Ivy Compton-Burnett, Virginia Woolf, E. M. Forster, Rosamond Lehmann and Elizabeth Bowen. Macaulay became celebrated writer who published over thirty works of fiction, non-fiction and poetry in her lifetime, including Crewe Train and The World My Wilderness. She won the James Tait Black Memorial prize for her final novel, The Towers of Trebizond (1956) and was awarded the DBE in 1957.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780349010021
  • Publication date: 08 Feb 2018
  • Page count: 304
  • Imprint: Virago
Corsair

The Seas

Samantha Hunt
Authors:
Samantha Hunt

Corsair

Baxter's Requiem

Matthew Crow
Authors:
Matthew Crow
Virago

The Little Stranger

Sarah Waters
Authors:
Sarah Waters
Sphere

Blackpool Lass

Maggie Mason
Authors:
Maggie Mason

The perfect read for fans of Mary Wood, Kitty Neale, Val Wood and Nadine DorriesOrphaned and destitute, will Grace find her own way in the world?When Grace's Ma passes away and her Da's ship sinks with all hands, Grace is utterly alone in the world. She's sent to an orphanage in Blackpool, but the master has an eye for a pretty young lass. Grace won't be his victim, so she runs, destitute, into the night. In Blackpool, she finds a home with the kindly Sheila and Peggy - and meets a lovely airman. But it's 1938, and war is on the horizon. Will Grace ever find the happiness and home she deserves?

Hachette Audio

Daisy's Vintage Cornish Camper Van

Ali McNamara
Authors:
Ali McNamara
Fleet

The Great Believers

Rebecca Makkai
Authors:
Rebecca Makkai
Constable

'Rock and Roll is Life'

D.J. Taylor
Authors:
D.J. Taylor
Orbit

84K

Claire North
Authors:
Claire North
Abacus

Less

Andrew Sean Greer
Authors:
Andrew Sean Greer

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE FOR FICTION 2018 'You will sob little tears of joy' Nell Zink'I recommend it with my whole heart' Ann Patchett'I adore this book' Armistead Maupin'Marvellously, endearingly, unexpectedly funny' Gary Shteyngart'Bedazzling, bewitching and be-wonderful' New York Times Book Review'A fast and rocketing read . . . a wonderful, wonderful book!' Karen Joy Fowler'Hilarious, and wise, and abundantly funny' Adam HaslettWHO SAYS YOU CAN'T RUN AWAY FROM YOUR PROBLEMS?Arthur Less is a failed novelist about to turn fifty. A wedding invitation arrives in the post: it is from an ex-boyfriend of nine years who is engaged to someone else. Arthur can't say yes - it would be too awkward; he can't say no - it would look like defeat. So, he begins to accept the invitations on his desk to half-baked literary events around the world. From France to India, Germany to Japan, Arthur almost falls in love, almost falls to his death, and puts miles between him and the plight he refuses to face. Less is a novel about mishaps, misunderstandings and the depths of the human heart.

Little, Brown

The Little Italian Bakery

Valentina Cebeni
Authors:
Valentina Cebeni

'A true feast for the senses' Jenny Ashcroft, author of Beneath a Burning Sky The scent of freshly baked biscuits, lemon and aniseed reminds Elettra of her mother's kitchen. But her mother is in a coma, and the family bakery is failing. Elettra is distraught; she has many unanswered questions about her mother's childhood - Edda was a secretive woman. The only clue is a family heirloom: a necklace inscribed with the name of an island.Elettra buys a one-way ticket to that island, just off the coast of Sardinia. Once there, she discovers a community of women, each lost in their own way. They live in a crumbling convent, under threat from the local mayor and his new development plan. It is within the convent's dark corridors and behind its secret doors that Elettra discovers a connection to her mother's past. She also falls in love again: with friendship, baking and adventure.

Corsair

The Merry Spinster

Mallory Ortberg
Authors:
Mallory Ortberg
Virago

The World My Wilderness

Rose Macaulay
Authors:
Rose Macaulay

It is 1946 and the people of France and England are facing the aftermath of the war. Banished by her beautiful, indolent mother to England, Barbary Deniston is thrown into the care of her distinguished father and conventional stepmother. Having grown up in the sunshine of Provence, allowed to run wild with the Maquis, experienced collaboration, betrayal and death, Barbary finds it hard to adjust to the drab austerity of postwar London life.Confused and unhappy, she discovers one day the flowering wastes around St Paul's. Here, in the bombed heart of London, she finds an echo of the wilderness of Provence and is forced to confront the wilderness within herself.

Virago

Living the Dream

Lauren Berry
Authors:
Lauren Berry

Living the Dream is a sharp satire of modern British life. It features Emma, who should be a writer (but works in corporate advertising) and Clem, just back in London from New York, who is on the path to becoming a successful screenwriter (but works in a bar and lives with her mum). Both women navigate the challenges of dreams and aspirations vs. reality, of having the guts to take a risk vs. selling out. Amid the big questions, Emma and Clem also find themselves faced with life's little challenges: how to look happy at work, what to do with undesirable colleagues, how a hen party can go horribly wrong and what (not) to wear at a 'well-ness' spa.

Abacus

Precious and Grace

Alexander McCall Smith
Authors:
Alexander McCall Smith

One bright morning, Precious Ramotswe - head of Botswana's No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency - receives a visitor: a woman from Australia. This woman asks Precious to take on a case: to find the nursemaid who raised her during her childhood in Botswana. The woman wants to thank her for being such an important part of her life. Precious has a history of successfully solving cases, but this one proves difficult and throws up a number of surprises and challenges. Back in her office, next door to the Speedy Motors Garage on Twokleng Road, Precious also has a team to manage: Mr Polopetsi, a part-time science teacher and new assistant at the agency; she mentors Charlie, a former apprentice and young man too handsome and charming for his own good - a man who has gotten himself in deep water; and then there is Precious's tumultuous but heart-warming friendship with her co-director, the fiery Grace Makutsi. Precious and Grace is a story about being a detective, the complexities of human nature, as well as lessons about gratitude and obligation.

Little, Brown

A Distant View of Everything

Alexander McCall Smith
Authors:
Alexander McCall Smith
Abacus

My Italian Bulldozer

Alexander McCall Smith
Authors:
Alexander McCall Smith

'While My Italian Bulldozer certainly advocates a kind, considerate, some might even say old-fashioned approach to resolving affairs of the heart, it also succeeds in subtly, almost imperceptibly ripping up the traditional rules of the romantic comedy and creating something refreshingly original' ScotsmanWhen writer Paul Stewart heads to the idyllic Italian town of Montalcino to finish his already late book, it seems like the perfect escape from stressful city life. Upon landing, however, things quickly take a turn for the worse when he discovers his hired car is nowhere to be found. With no record of any reservation and no other cars available it looks like Paul is stuck at the airport. That is, until an enterprising stranger offers him an unexpected alternative. While there may be no cars available there is something else on offer: a bulldozer.With little choice in the matter, Paul accepts and so begins a series of laugh out loud adventures through the Italian countryside, following in the wake of Paul and his Italian Bulldozer. A story of unexpected circumstance and lesson in making the best of what you have, My Italian Bulldozer is a warm holiday read guaranteed to put a smile on your face.

Abacus

The Revolving Door of Life

Alexander McCall Smith
Authors:
Alexander McCall Smith
Little, Brown

The Quality of Silence

Rosamund Lupton
Authors:
Rosamund Lupton
Piatkus

Blueprints

Barbara Delinsky
Authors:
Barbara Delinsky

AN UPLIFTING, HEART-WRENCHING STORY OF THE UNBREAKABLE TIES BETWEEN A MOTHER AND HER DAUGHTER FROM NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR BARBARA DELINSKY'Fans of Jodie Picoult will love this.' Daily Express'Warm, rich, textured and impossible to put down.' Nora RobertsOn paper, Jamie MacAfee's life is perfect. She loves her fiancée, she's happy with her plans for the future and she gets to work alongside her beloved mother, Caroline, on their family home renovation show. In reality, she can't seem to make herself set a wedding date and an ageist, sexist decision by their TV network has thrown both her job and her relationship with Caroline into jeopardy. Meanwhile Caroline, who has been painfully putting herself back together after a difficult divorce, is watching the plans she's built her life around go up in flames.As loyalties shift and new relationships tempt, Jamie and Caroline will be tested as never before. Yet when all is said and done, there's nothing quite like the bond of family.'A poignant family story.' Daily Express'Compelling reading' The Sun'Delinsky's writing is fluid and makes for a hard-to-put-down book.' Glamour

Blackfriars

Everything I Never Told You

Celeste Ng
Authors:
Celeste Ng