Charlotte Rogan - Now and Again - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback
    More information
    • ISBN:9780349005782
    • Publication date:05 May 2016
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780349005805
    • Publication date:05 Apr 2016

Now and Again

By Charlotte Rogan

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A gripping novel about the fallout from a devastating cover-up by the author of the international bestseller The Lifeboat.

A gripping novel about what happens when one women stands up for her beliefs

From the author of The Lifeboat and Now and Again

'Dazzling' - The Sunday Times

'All the ingredients of a tense thriller' - Red

For Maggie Rayburn, wife, mother and secretary at a munitions plant, life is pleasant, predictable and secure. When she finds proof of a high-level cover-up on her boss's desk, she impulsively takes it, turning her world upside down.

Propelled by a desire to do good - and a new-found taste for excitement - Maggie starts to see injustice everywhere. Soon, her bottom drawer is filled with 'evidence', her town has turned against her, and she must decide how far she will go for the truth.

Biographical Notes

Charlotte Rogan studied architecture at Princeton University, graduating in 1975. She lives in Westport, Connecticut.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780349005812
  • Publication date: 04 May 2017
  • Page count: 512
  • Imprint: Fleet
With wit, humanity, and extraordinary clarity of vision, Rogan has found the uniting thread that weaves together contemporary American life. Now and Again is breathtaking in its scope and insight, revealing the interconnectedness of the prison-industrial complex, mass surveillance, environmental devastation, the moral vacuity of televangelists, failures of recent US military adventures, and the brutality of life for those on the margins. This is America from the ground up, full of ordinary people trying to make sense of their lives, driven by that brand of frontier idealism that might yet be our last best hope — Patrick Flanery, author of Absolution and Fallen Land
With consummate command of narrative, Charlotte Rogan nimbly brings together whistleblowers and soldiers in a damning-and page-turning-critique of America's military-industrial complex and its massive amount of collateral damage. It's the novel we deserve for the war we didn't — Teddy Wayne, author of The Love Song of Jonny Valentine and Kapitoil
Now & Again doesn't disappoint. All the ingredients of a tense thriller with a domestic slant that got my heart involved — Sarra Manning, Red
Dazzling layering of different people and different stories and of the leaps their minds make as they learn to open their eyes. The prose is strong, supple and sometimes infused with a magisterial rhythm that reflects the novel's commanding scope. This is a novel of the American dream, and of how that dream is shattered and betrayed — Christina Patterson, Sunday Times
Corsair

The Wisdom of Bones

Kitty Aldridge
Authors:
Kitty Aldridge

'To find a creature part eel, part African lion, who steps the tightrope, plays the viola, frightens the ladies and sings like a nightingale. This is my task. I must conjure, procure and invent, as a novelty is only novel once and no success succeeds as surely as failure fails. 'London 1879 - In a gloomy room on Islington's backstreets showman Percy Unusual George dreams of the miracle that will change his fortunes and that of his troupe of performing Remarkables. This waking dream will lead him to an infamous French dwarf, an exiled Polish king, and a superstar of the Enlightenment... and alter the course of his life forever.France 1746-1764 - At the court of Lunéville, in the Alsace region of Lorraine, exiled Polish King Stanislas hosts grand parties for the French nobility and luminaries of the Enlightenment. While Voltaire dotes on his lover, Émilie du Châtelet, the Polish king presents his horrified queen with a gift of an infant dwarf from the Vosges Mountains. King Stanislas names the child Bébé, and watches indulgently as his protégé becomes the most notorious and celebrated dwarf in France, until an unexpected guest arrives and unforeseen tragedy follows.Two ambitious men. One hundred years apart. Kitty Aldridge entwines their stories to powerful effect in this astonishingly imaginative and daring novel. The Wisdom of Bones is a high-wire performance: a hypnotic tale of desire and ambition, a quest for celebrity, and the human ache to be loved and remembered.'Time runs backwards and I see myself anew. Not a man but a child. Not English but French. Not here but there. And I am stranger than a sphinx.'

Virago

A Stranger City

Linda Grant
Authors:
Linda Grant
Corsair

Rainbirds

Clarissa Goenawan
Authors:
Clarissa Goenawan
Sphere

Lessons: Part 3

Jenny Colgan
Authors:
Jenny Colgan

***PART THREE OF A THREE-PART SERIAL***The unmissable third and final instalment of Jenny Colgan's return to the Little School by the Sea - perfect for anyone who ever dreamed of going to boarding school!"Funny, page-turning and addictive... just like Malory Towers for grown-ups" - Sophie Kinsella "A brilliant boarding school book, stuffed full of unforgettable characters, thrilling adventures and angst..." - Lisa JewellIn the final part of three instalments, the girls of Downey House are up to their usual tricks - and their teacher, Maggie, is a little distracted by developments in her relationship...

Little, Brown

The Department of Sensitive Crimes

Alexander McCall Smith
Authors:
Alexander McCall Smith
Fleet

The Atlas of Reds and Blues

Devi Laskar
Authors:
Devi Laskar

'It takes place in a morning; it covers a lifetime'Booklist starred reviewA book which epitomises the idea of life flashing before your eyes, The Atlas of Reds and Blues opens with a woman lying bleeding on her driveway, shot by police. The woman has moved her family to the wealthy suburbs, but once there was is met with the same questions: Where are you from? No, where are you really from? The American-born daughter of Bengali immigrant parents, her truthful answer, here, is never enough. The morning that opens The Atlas of Red and Blues is the morning that the woman's simmering anger breaks through. During a baseless and prejudice-driven police raid on her house, she finally refuses to be calm, complacent, polite. As she lies bleeding on her driveway, she struggles to make sense of her past and decipher her present - how did she end up here?

Hachette Audio

An Orchestra of Minorities

Chigozie Obioma
Authors:
Chigozie Obioma
Corsair

The Moscow Offensive

Dale Brown
Authors:
Dale Brown
Piatkus

Photos of You

Tammy Robinson
Authors:
Tammy Robinson
Hachette Audio

The Au Pair

Emma Rous
Authors:
Emma Rous
Sphere

Blackpool Evacuee

Maggie Mason
Authors:
Maggie Mason
Piatkus

Of Blood and Bone

Nora Roberts
Authors:
Nora Roberts

Sphere

A Wedding on Christmas Street

Ivy Pembroke
Authors:
Ivy Pembroke
Sphere

Every Colour of You

Amelia Mandeville
Authors:
Amelia Mandeville

Heart-breaking, heart-healing and a story you won't want to end, Amelia Mandeville's unforgettable debut is a love story with a difference, for fans of Me Before You, The Summer of Impossible Things and Giovanna FletcherWe had a story - short, but not a simple one. I couldn't stay here and explain it all to you. If you really want to know, you'll have to take time out of your day. You'll have to read it...Zoe's life is full of colour. A fan of impromptu yoga, inspirational quotes and experimenting with hair dye, she's on a mission to make the most of each and every day - even if she is currently spending most of her time behind a checkout till.Then she meets Tristan. The rumour is that since his dad died, Tristan's life has fallen apart. No one has seen him for months. But now he's reappeared, does that mean he's back to 'normal'?Zoe soon realises Tristan is struggling with a sadness that she can't possibly understand and becomes determined to bring a world of colour back into his life. But the harder she tries, the more she realises it's something she can't fix - and in trying to put him back together, a part of her is beginning to fall apart. . .'A beautiful coming of age story filled with colourful characters' Emma Cooper, author of The Songs of Us~~~~Real readers love Every Colour of You . . . 'Beautifully written and full of emotion' NetGalley reviewer 'A touching, heart-warming, feel-good novel' Goodreads reviewer 'An utterly heart wrenching tale of friendship, love, happiness, sadness, fun and pure joy' NetGalley reviewer 'I'm not over the ending yet . . . Simply stunning' Goodreads reviewer 'A story that is both heartbreaking and heartwarming all at once (yes it is possible)' Goodreads reviewer

Orbit

Someone Like Me

M. R. Carey
Authors:
M. R. Carey
Corsair

Where the Crawdads Sing

Delia Owens
Authors:
Delia Owens

#1 New York Times BestsellerA Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!" Reese Witherspoon"Painfully beautiful." The New York Times Book ReviewFor years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life - until the unthinkable happens.Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Celeste Ng, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

Virago

Crimson

Niviaq Korneliussen
Authors:
Niviaq Korneliussen
Virago

Noel Streatfeild's Christmas Stories

Noel Streatfeild
Authors:
Noel Streatfeild
Corsair

Trinity

Louisa Hall
Authors:
Louisa Hall
Sphere

An Island Christmas

Jenny Colgan
Authors:
Jenny Colgan

Christmas on the remote Scottish island of Mure is bleak, stark - and incredibly beautiful.It's a time for hunkering down, getting cosy in front of whisky barrel wood fires, and enjoying a dram with the people you love - unless, of course, you're accidentally pregnant to your ex-boss, and don't know how to tell him. In what should be the season of peace and goodwill on earth, will Joel think Flora is a bearer of glad tidings?Meanwhile Saif, the doctor and refugee from war-torn Syria is trying to enjoy his first western Christmas with his sons - but without his missing wife. Can the little family possibly find comfort and joy?Travel to the beautiful northern edge of the world and join the welcoming community of Mure for an unforgettable Christmas.