P. L. Travers - I Go by Sea, I Go by Land - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780349005737
    • Publication date:05 Mar 2015
Books in this series

I Go by Sea, I Go by Land

By P. L. Travers
Illustrated by Gertrude Hermes

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

First published in 1941, this children's classic, by the author of Mary Poppins, has been unavailable for many years. A moving story of a little girl and her brother, who must leave their parents and home in the Sussex countryside for safety in America.

'James and I stayed on at home and everything was quiet and sunny and we got to thinking the war would never come after all . . . Just when we were so sure nothing would happen, the German plane came over. It came over one night at one o'clock in the morning and the sound was quite different from an English plane and we all woke up. You could hear it drumming and drumming like a big bee in a flower, buroom, buroom, buroom, round and round in the air above the house. Then suddenly there were five loud explosions. After that there was a terrible silence and I knew that Father and Mother were looking at each other in the darkness and I felt myself getting small and tight inside. Then Father said quietly, "Meg, they must go!"'

Now I am going to write a Diary because we are going to America because of the War. It has just been decided. I will write down everything about it because we shall be so much older when we come back that I will never remember it if I do not. So this is the beginning. Oh, please let us come back soon, please.'

This is the fictional diary of Sabrina Lind, an eleven-year-old English girl who, with her little brother James, is sent on the long voyage across the sea to her aunt in America.

Biographical Notes

P. L. Travers was born Helen Lyndon Goff in 1899 in Queensland, Australia. She worked as a dancer and an actress, but writing was her real love and she turned to journalism. Travers set sail for England in 1924 and became an essayist, theatre and film critic, and scholar of folklore and myth. While recuperating from a serious illness Travers wrote Mary Poppins -'to while away the days, but also to put down something that had been in my mind for a long time,' she said. It was first published in 1934 and was an instant success. Mary Poppins has gone on to become one of the best-loved classics in children's literature and has enchanted generations. In addition to the Mary Poppins books, Travers wrote novels, poetry and non-fiction. She received an OBE in 1977 and died in 1996.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780349005744
  • Publication date: 05 Mar 2015
  • Page count: 208
  • Imprint: Virago
A pitch-perfect reissue . . . funny, touching and splendidly misspelled — New Statesman
Virago

Noel Streatfeild’s Holiday Stories

Noel Streatfeild, Peter Bailey
Contributors:
Noel Streatfeild, Peter Bailey
Sphere

Blackpool's Daughter

Maggie Mason
Authors:
Maggie Mason

-------------The perfect read for fans of Mary Wood, Kitty Neale, Val Wood and Nadine Dorries***PREVIOUSLY CALLED BLACKPOOL EVACUEE***Clara is forced to flee her home as the Nazis invade the beautiful island of GuernseySeparated from her mother, far away from anything familiar, she is at the mercy of a cruel shopkeeper. Clara is worked like a dog, but the warmth of her Blackpool friendships will go far to save her. Julia just wants to find her beloved daughter - but the trials of war will keep them far apart. They will meet again - but the war will change everything for mother and daughter...

Virago

Noel Streatfeild's Christmas Stories

Noel Streatfeild
Authors:
Noel Streatfeild

From the author of Ballet ShoesIn this captivating collection of festive stories, there are auditions on stage and antics on ice, trips to the pantomime, holiday adventures, and laughter shared with family and friends. Charming, heartwarming and funny, this exciting new collection is sure to be a hit with readers of all ages.Originally written for annuals, magazines and the radio from the 1940s-60s, these stories by this much-loved author have never been collected before and will be a welcome discovery to all Streatfeild's admirers.Stories include:The AuditionThe Bells Keep Twelfth NightThe Moss RoseThimbleThe PrincessThe ChainChristmas at CollersThe Pantomime GooseSkating to the Stars

Virago

The Seventh Cross

Anna Seghers
Authors:
Anna Seghers
Running Press Kids

Superfail

Max Brunner, Dustin Mackay
Contributors:
Max Brunner, Dustin Mackay
Running Press Kids

The Story of Christmas

Helen Dardik
Authors:
Helen Dardik

A long time ago, in the town of Nazareth, there lived a young woman named Mary. One day, an angel appeared before her and told her that she would give birth to a baby. The baby would be the son of God, and she would name him Jesus.Every year, children of all ages revisit this nativity tale of Mary and Joseph, the three wise men, the angels and the shepherds, and baby Jesus in the manger. Share this simple introduction to a remarkable and classic Bible story with young ones in this second book in a delightful new series. With stunning art by Helen Dardik and simplified text for little readers, The Story of Christmas is sure to become a favorite of families for years to come.

Running Press Mini Editions

Teeny-Tiny Noah's Ark

The classic story of Noah's Ark comes to life with this collectible mini wooden set, complete with Noah and his ark full of animals and The Story of Noah's Ark mini book.This kit includes:* Wooden Noah's Ark collectible set * The Story of Noah's Ark mini book

Running Press Kids

The Story of Noah's Ark

Helen Dardik
Authors:
Helen Dardik
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Clone Camp!

B. A. Frade
Authors:
B. A. Frade
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Stef Soto, Taco Queen

Jennifer Torres
Authors:
Jennifer Torres

Seventh grader Estefania "Stef" Soto is itching to shake off the onion-and-cilantro embrace of Tia Perla, her family's taco truck. She wants nothing more than for her dad to get a normal job and for Tia Perla to be put out to pasture. It's no fun being known as the "Taco Queen" at school. But just when it looks like Stef is going to get exactly what she wants, and her family's livelihood is threatened, she will have to become the truck's unlikely champion. In this fun and multicultural middle grade novel, Stef will discover what matters the most, and ultimately embrace an identity that even includes old Tia Perla.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Werewolf Weekend

B. A. Frade, Stacia Deutsch
Authors:
B. A. Frade, Stacia Deutsch

Don't make the same mistake Emma made. Don't read my book. Signed,The Scaremaster... Don't say I didn't warn you.Twelve-year-old Emma is excited to spend a night away at best friend Samantha's house for an epic sleepover with Sam's very chic out-of-town cousins - but when the cousins turns out to have a creepy secret, it's up to Emma to solve this wolfish mystery, race against the clock to outwit the Scaremaster, and stop a werewolf in her tracks.For fans of Goosebumps, Eerie Elementary, and the Haunted Library series, debut pseudonymous author B.A. Frade brings frightfully funny tales to life in this new middle grade series.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Peter Powers and His Not-So-Super Powers

Kent Clark
Authors:
Kent Clark
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Swamp Scarefest!

B. A. Frade, Stephanie Peters
Authors:
B. A. Frade, Stephanie Peters
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Nothing Up My Sleeve

Diana Lopez
Authors:
Diana Lopez
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Peter Powers and the Rowdy Robot Raiders

Kent Clark, Brandon T. Snider, Dave Bardin
Contributors:
Kent Clark, Brandon T. Snider, Dave Bardin
Little, Brown Young Readers US

President of the Whole Sixth Grade

Sherri Winston
Authors:
Sherri Winston

Brianna Justice is determined to raise enough money for the big class trip to Washington, D.C., but she's up against a lot: classmates who all pretend to be something they're not, a new nemesis determined to run her out of office, and the sinking feeling she's about to lose her two best friends. But just when she begins to lose hope, she comes to realize that sometimes surprises can turn out even better than the best-laid plans.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Look Out for the Fitzgerald-Trouts

Esta Spalding, Sydney Smith
Contributors:
Esta Spalding, Sydney Smith

The Fitzgerald-Trouts are four barely-related siblings living together in a small car on a lush tropical island. They are wonderfully self-reliant, but they are out-growing their small vehicle, and must band together to find a new home. A quick, delightful, and deeply resonant read, here is a beautifully imagined adventure where children live remarkable, independent lives despite some terrible grown-ups in their midst. These extraordinary siblings offer evidence that kids could get along just fine--they wouldn't even argue much with their siblings--if only grown ups left them alone.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Best Worst Thing

Kathleen Lane
Authors:
Kathleen Lane

Ten year-old Maggie sees injustice and danger everywhere--in her history textbook, on the playground, in her neighborhood, on the news. How can anyone be safe when there's a murderer on the loose, a bully about to get a gun for his 12th birthday, rabbits being held captive for who-knows-what next door, and an older sister being mysteriously consumed by adolescence? Maggie doesn't like it one bit, so she devises intricate ways of controlling her own world and a larger, more dangerous plan for protecting everyone else.Beautifully written, Maggie's voice rings brilliantly true and brings to mind the writing of Jack Gantos and Katherine Patterson. Kathleen Lane is a promising new voice, an exciting new talent.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Minna's Patchwork Coat

Lauren A. Mills
Authors:
Lauren A. Mills

Minna's papa died from working in the coal mines, and now she can't afford a winter coat to wear to school. When friends and neighbors make one from their fabric scraps, her classmates tease her about her rags--until she reminds them that her coat contains pieces of clothing that were once important to each of them; it's the stories they share that have turned her rags into a treasure.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Year Of The Rat

Grace Lin
Authors:
Grace Lin