Grace Lin - The Year of the Rat (New Edition) - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback
    More information
    • ISBN:9780316033619
    • Publication date:15 Jan 2009

The Year of the Rat (New Edition)

By Grace Lin

  • Paperback
  • £5.99

This repackaged sequel of Newbery Honor winner Grace Lin's second classic novel celebrates the upcoming Year of the Rat with a fresh new cover!

In this sequel to Year of the Dog, Pacy has another big year in store for her. The Year of the Dog was a very lucky year: she met her best friend Melody and discovered her true talents. However, the Year of the Rat brings big changes: Pacy must deal with Melody moving to California, find the courage to forge on with her dream of becoming a writer and illustrator, and learn to face some of her own flaws. Pacy encounters prejudice, struggles with acceptance, and must find the beauty in change.

Based on the author's childhood adventures, Year of the Rat, features the whimsical black and white illustrations and the hilarious and touching anecdotes that helped Year of the Dog earn rave reviews and satisfied readers.

This special edition of the modern classic features over 15 pages of new content, including deleted stories, a Q&A with the author and editor, photos from the author's childhood, and more!

Biographical Notes

Grace Lin is the award-winning and bestselling author and illustrator of Starry River of the Sky, Where the Mountain Meets the Moon, The Year of the Dog, The Year of the Rat, Dumpling Days, and Ling & Ting, as well as picture books such as The Ugly Vegetables and Dim Sum for Everyone! Grace is a graduate of the Rhode Island School of Design and lives in Massachusetts

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780316531344
  • Publication date: 13 Jun 2019
  • Page count: 208
  • Imprint: Little, Brown Young Readers US
Running Press Kids

Caleb and Kit

Beth Vrabel
Authors:
Beth Vrabel

Twelve-year-old Caleb is shorter, frailer and more protected than most kids his age. That's because he has cystic fibrosis, a diagnosis meaning lungs that fill with mucus and a shortened lifespan. Caleb tries not to let his disorder define him but it can be hard with an overprotective mom and a perfect big brother. Then Caleb meets Kit - a vibrant, independent and free girl - and his world changes instantly. Kit reads Caleb's palm and tells him they are destined to become friends. She calls birds down from the sky and turns every day into an adventure. Her magic is contagious, making Caleb question the rules and order in his life. But being Kit's friend means embracing deception and danger and soon Caleb will have to decide if his friendship with Kit is really what's best for him - or her.This new paperback edition includes a Q&A with the author as well as a sneak peek at Beth Vrabel's next middle grad novel, The Humiliations of Pipi McGee.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Rise

Ellen Goodlett
Authors:
Ellen Goodlett
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Don't Worry Book

Todd Parr
Authors:
Todd Parr
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Hangry

Drew Brockington
Authors:
Drew Brockington
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Bear Came Along

Richard T. Morris, LeUyen Pham
Contributors:
Richard T. Morris, LeUyen Pham
Little, Brown Young Readers US

When We Were Lost

Kevin Wignall
Authors:
Kevin Wignall

Survival. It's a concept these high school students never had to consider--until their plane crashes in a remote rainforest with no adults left alive. With many of them falling prey to threats from both the jungle and man, they soon realize that danger comes in many sinister forms.Tom Calloway didn't want to go on a field trip to Costa Rica, but circumstances had him ending up sitting in the back of the plane--which was the only part that was intact after the crash in the remote South American wilderness. Tom and a small group of his classmates are fortunate to be alive, but their luck quickly runs out when some of them fall prey to the unfamiliar threats of the jungle--animals, reptiles, insects, and even the unforgiving heat. Every decision they make could mean life or death.As the days go by and the survivors' desperation grows, things get even more perilous. Not everyone can cope with the trauma of seeing their friends die, and a struggle for leadership soon pits them against each other. And when they come across evidence of other people in the middle of the rainforest, does that mean they're safe--or has their survival come to an even more vicious end?

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Dumpling Days (New Edition)

Grace Lin
Authors:
Grace Lin

There was no day that dumplings couldn't make better.Pacy is back! The beloved heroine of The Year of the Dog and The Year of the Rat has returned in a brand new story. This summer, Pacy's family is going to Taiwan for an entire month to visit family and prepare for their grandmother's 60th birthday celebration. Pacy's parents have signed her up for a Chinese painting class, and at first she's excited. This is a new way to explore her art talent! But everything about the trip is harder than she thought it would be--she looks like everyone else but can't speak the language, she has trouble following the art teacher's instructions, and it's difficult to make friends in her class. At least the dumplings are delicious...As the month passes by, Pacy eats chicken feet (by accident!), gets blessed by a fortune teller, searches for her true identity, and grows closer to those who matter most.

Running Press Kids

Super Jake & the King of Chaos

Naomi Milliner
Authors:
Naomi Milliner

Little, Brown Young Readers US

How to Be a Supervillain: Bad Guys Finish First

Michael Fry
Authors:
Michael Fry
Little, Brown Young Readers US

We Contain Multitudes

Sarah Henstra
Authors:
Sarah Henstra

Jonathan Hopkirk and Adam "Kurl" Kurlansky are partnered in English class, writing letters to one another in a weekly pen pal assignment. With each letter, the two begin to develop a friendship that grows into love. But with homophobia, bullying, and familial abuse, Jonathan and Kurl must struggle to overcome their conflicts and hold onto their relationship, and each other.We Contain Multitudes is the sort of novel that has readers falling in love with their characters, becoming so invested in their stories and conflicts that it's impossible to put the book down. The literary languages and references throughout (particularly to Walt Whitman) bring to mind award-winning novels such as I'll Give You the Sun, Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, and more.With a growing appreciation for LGBTQ+ characters and stories, and such a compelling novel with engaging characters and stunning language, We Contain Multitudes has the potential to be a commercial and literary success.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Absence of Sparrows

Kurt Kirchmeier
Authors:
Kurt Kirchmeier

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Abner & Ian Get Right-Side Up

Dave Eggers, Laura Park
Contributors:
Dave Eggers, Laura Park
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Inventors and the Lost Island

A. M. Morgen
Authors:
A. M. Morgen

Get ready for heart-pounding action, nefarious mysteries, and hijinx galore in the thrilling, clever sequel to The Inventors at No. 8!As the one-time unluckiest boy in London, George, the 3rd Lord of Devonshire, knows better than to overlook something as suspicious as a secretive new neighbor. And George was right to be wary--this new neighbor turns out to be Don Nadie, the head of the nefarious Society of Nobodies, and a man just as villainous as he is mysterious.Almost overnight, George finds himself framed for attempting to assassinate the king (a crime he most assuredly did not commit) and once again on the run with his best friend Ada Byron, the future Countess of Lovelace. Together, they must navigate the high seas in Ada's latest invention, a submersible mechanical whale, all while trying to stay one step ahead of Don Nadie and the Society. Because even though George may be a gentleman, there's no way he's going to sit idly by while Don Nadie ruins his family name and takes over the world. In this charming and brilliant sequel, author A.M. Morgen raises the stakes and expands a humor and heart-filled world sure to appeal to fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society and The Inquisitor's Tale.

Running Press Kids

Georgia's Terrific, Colorific Experiment

Zoe Persico
Authors:
Zoe Persico

Georgia is a creative girl from a family of artists who wants to be a scientist. She decides she has to create her own unique experiment to truly be a great scientist (the way her family are all great artists). She rebukes her family's advice, thinking science and art have to be mutually exclusive, but after many failed attempts at recreating experiments, she comes to realize that science can be a work of art.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James

Ashley Herring Blake
Authors:
Ashley Herring Blake

When Sunny St. James receives a new heart, she decides to set off on a New Life Plan: 1) do awesome amazing things she could never do before; 2) find a new best friend; and 3) kiss a boy for the first time. Her New Life Plan seems to be racing forward, but when she meets her new best friend Quinn, Sunny questions whether she really wants to kiss a boy at all. With the reemergence of her mother, Sunny begins a journey to becoming the new Sunny St. James.As with Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World, the sophomore middle grade novel by Ashley Herring Blake adds to the slowly growing, but still small list of queer MG titles. The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James is a gorgeous follow-up to Ivy Aberdeen as a novel about grief, loss, discovery, friendship, and the power in being oneself, no matter what.This sweet, tender novel has a strong voice in the vein of The Thing About Jellyfish, strong potential for the School & Library market, and is an award contender.

Running Press Kids

Cowhide-and-Seek

Sheri Dillard, Jess Pauwels
Contributors:
Sheri Dillard, Jess Pauwels

Bessie is a cow determined to be the winner of hide and seek. However, she's she's the only one playing the game! Bessie thinks the farmer is trying to play the classic children's game when he starts counting all his cows, so she moooves off to find a series of successively ridiculous hiding spots. As Bessie keeps searching, she sets off a chain reaction of craziness in and around her farm until she finally finds that perfect place to hide.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Rule

Ellen Goodlett
Authors:
Ellen Goodlett
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Finding Yvonne

Brandy Colbert
Authors:
Brandy Colbert
Little, Brown Young Readers US

President of the Whole Sixth Grade: Girl Code

Sherri Winston
Authors:
Sherri Winston
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Zip! Zoom! On a Broom

Teri Sloat, Rosalinde Bonnet
Contributors:
Teri Sloat, Rosalinde Bonnet

One goes zip,two go zoom.Three witches glide from room to room.So begins this witchy counting story. Counting up from 1 to 10 and back down again, ten witches jump on a broom--and then fall off one by one! Written in pitch-perfect rhyme, and full of fun read-aloud energy that will have kids memorizing lines and clamoring to read the book again and again, this book hits the mash-up sweet spot between perennially important concept and growing holiday promotional moment.