Louisa Morgan - A Secret History of Witches - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

A Secret History of Witches

By Louisa Morgan

  • Hardback
  • £19.99

A sweeping novel of family, sacrifice, love, and magic for fans of The Witch's Daughter and A Discovery of Witches.

A Secret History of Witches reveals an ancient and dangerous power that's been handed down from mother to daughter since time began. After Grandmére Ursule gives her life to save her tribe, her scrying stone falls silent. Even with Ursule's magic lost, her family keeps the Old Faith, practicing the spells and rites that have been handed from mother to daughter for generations. Until one day, Ursule's young granddaughter steps into the circle, and magic flows anew. From early 19th century Brittany to London during the Second World War, four generations of women fight the battles of their time, deciding how far they are willing to go to protect their family, their heritage, and ultimately, all of our futures.

Biographical Notes

Louisa Morgan is a pseudonym

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780316508551
  • Publication date: 26 Oct 2017
  • Page count: 496
  • Imprint: Redhook
Piatkus

The Palace of Lost Dreams

Charlotte Betts
Authors:
Charlotte Betts
Orbit

A Secret History of Witches

Louisa Morgan
Authors:
Louisa Morgan
Orbit

Successor's Promise

Trudi Canavan
Authors:
Trudi Canavan
Yen Press

Puella Magi Suzune Magica, Vol. 3

Magica Quartet, GAN
Authors:
Magica Quartet, GAN

Suzune Amano is a hard-working middle school student, but her ever-smiling face conceals a dark secret--that she is a magical-girl assassin. With the entrance of a new magical girl who stands in opposition to her, Suzune finds herself struggling for the first time. What final conclusion will Suzune's actions wreak...?

Yen Press

Puella Magi Suzune Magica, Vol. 2

Magica Quartet, GAN
Authors:
Magica Quartet, GAN
Yen Press

Puella Magi Suzune Magica, Vol. 1

Magica Quartet, GAN
Authors:
Magica Quartet, GAN

Suzune Amano lives an extraordinarily normal life as a middle school student by day and...magical-girl assassin by night?! When a group of four magical girls begins investigating the serial murders rampant in their city, they soon find themselves the next targets of Suzune! But what is the truth behind Suzune's motivations to hunt both witches and magical girls alike?

Orbit

The Eye Of The World

Robert Jordan
Authors:
Robert Jordan

'Epic in every sense' - Sunday TimesThe first novel in the Wheel of Time series - one of the most influential and popular fantasy epics ever published.The Wheel of Time turns and Ages come and pass, leaving memories that become legend. Legend fades to myth and even myth is long forgotten when the Age that gave it birth returns again. But one truth remains, and what mortal men forget, the Aes Sedai do not . . . What was, what will be, and what is, may yet fall under the shadow.'With the Wheel of Time, Jordan has come to dominate the world that Tolkien began to reveal' New York Times'A fantasy phenomenon' SFXThe Wheel of TimeThe Eye of the WorldThe Great HuntThe Dragon RebornThe Shadow RisingThe Fires of Heaven Lord of ChaosA Crown of Swords The Path of Daggers Winter's HeartCrossroads of TwilightKnife of DreamsThe Gathering StormTowers of MidnightA Memory of Light New Spring (prequel)

Orbit

Knife Of Dreams

Robert Jordan
Authors:
Robert Jordan

'Epic in every sense' - Sunday TimesThe eleventh novel in the Wheel of Time series - one of the most influential and popular fantasy epics ever published.As the very fabric of reality wears thin, all portents indicate that Tarmon Gai'don, the Last Battle, is imminent - and Rand al'Thor must ready himself to confront the Dark One. But Rand must first negotiate a truce with the Seanchan armies, as their forces increasingly sap his strength.All is in flux as established powers falter . . . In Caemlyn, Elayne fights to gain the Lion Throne while trying to avert civil war and Egwene finds that even the White Tower is no longer a place of safety. The winds of time have whirled into a storm, and Rand and his companions ride in the vortex. This small company must prevail against the trials of fate and fortune - or the Dark One will triumph and the world will be lost.'With the Wheel of Time, Jordan has come to dominate the world that Tolkien began to reveal' New York Times'A fantasy phenomenon' SFXThe Wheel of TimeThe Eye of the WorldThe Great HuntThe Dragon RebornThe Shadow RisingThe Fires of HeavenLord of ChaosA Crown of SwordsThe Path of DaggersWinter's HeartCrossroads of TwilightKnife of DreamsThe Gathering StormTowers of MidnightA Memory of LightNew Spring (prequel)

Orbit

Thief's Magic

Trudi Canavan
Authors:
Trudi Canavan

International No.1 bestselling author Trudi Canavan returns with her most powerful and thrilling adventure yet. In a world where an industrial revolution is powered by magic, Tyen, a student of archaeology, unearths a sentient book called Vella. Once a young sorcerer-bookbinder, Vella was transformed into a useful tool by one of the greatest sorcerers of history. Since then she has been collecting information, including a vital clue to the disaster Tyen's world faces.Elsewhere, in a land ruled by the priests, Rielle the dyer's daughter has been taught that to use magic is to steal from the Angels. Yet she knows she has a talent for it, and that there is a corrupter in the city willing to teach her how to use it - should she dare to risk the Angels' wrath.But not everything is as Tyen and Rielle have been raised to believe. Not the nature of magic, nor the laws of their lands. Not even the people they trust.

Orbit

Promise of Blood

Brian McClellan
Authors:
Brian McClellan

'Just plain awesome' Brandon Sanderson**Winner of the David Gemmell Morningstar Award**It's a bloody business, overthrowing a king. Now, amid the chaos, a whispered rumour is spreading. A rumour about a broken promise, omens of death and the gods returning to walk the earth. No one really believes these whispers.Perhaps they should.Winner of the David Gemmell Morningstar Award, Promise of Blood is the explosive first novel in the most action-packed and acclaimed new fantasy series in years.'Gunpowder and magic. An explosive combination' Peter Brett'Brings a welcome breath of gunpowder-tinged air to epic fantasy' Anthony Ryan'Tense action, memorable characters, rising stakes . . . Brian McClellan is the real thing' Brent WeeksThe Powder Mage trilogy:Promise of BloodThe Crimson CampaignThe Autumn Republic The Gods of Blood and Powder series:Sins of EmpireWrath of Empire

Orbit

Beyond The Shadows

Brent Weeks
Authors:
Brent Weeks
Robinson

Kiss of Midnight

Lara Adrian
Authors:
Lara Adrian
Robinson

Ashes of Midnight

Lara Adrian
Authors:
Lara Adrian

A woman driven by blood. A man thirsting for vengeance...As night falls, Claire Roth flees, driven from her home by a fiery threat that seems to come from hell itself. Then, from out the flames and ash, a vampire warrior emerges. He is Andreas Reichen, her one-time lover but now a stranger consumed by vengeance. Caught in the crossfire, Claire cannot escape his savage fury - or the hunger that plunges her into his world of eternal darkness and unending pleasure.Nothing will stop Andreas from destroying the vampire responsible for slaughtering his Breed brethren... even if he must use his former lover as a pawn in his deadly mission. Claire can lead Andreas to the enemy he seeks but it is a journey fraught with danger - and deep desire. For Claire is the one woman Andreas should not crave, and the only one he's ever loved. So a dangerous seduction begins - one which blurs the line between predator and prey, love and hate...

Orbit

Furies Of Calderon

Jim Butcher
Authors:
Jim Butcher

For a thousand years, the people of Alera have united against the aggressive races that inhabit the world, using their unique bond with the furies - elementals of earth, air, fire, water and metal. But now, Gaius Sextus, First Lord of Alera, grows old and lacks an heir. Ambitious Lords manoeuvre to place their Houses in positions of power, and a war of succession looms on the horizon. Far from city politics in the Calderon Valley, young Tavi struggles with his lack of furycrafting. At fifteen, he has no wind fury to help him fly, no fire fury to light his lamps. Yet as the Alerans' most savage enemy - the Marat - return to the Valley, his world will change. Caught in a storm of deadly wind furies, Tavi saves the life of a runaway slave. But Amara is actually a spy, seeking intelligence on possible Marat traitors to the Crown. And when the Valley erupts into chaos - when rebels war with loyalists and furies clash with furies - Amara will find Tavi invaluable. His talents will outweigh any fury-born power - and could even turn the tides of war.

Orbit

The Warrior-Prophet

R. Scott Bakker
Authors:
R. Scott Bakker

David Gemmell

David Gemmell's first novel, Legend, was published in 1984 and he is now widely acclaimed as Britain's king of heroic fantasy.

Elizabeth Moon

Elizabeth Moon served in the US Marine Corps, reaching the rank of 1st Lieutenant during active duty. She has also earned degrees in history and biology, run for public office and been a columnist on her local newspaper. She lives near Austin, Texas, with her husband and their son. Twenty-six of her books are in print, and she won the Nebula Award with her science fiction novel Speed of Dark (also shortlisted for the Clarke Award), and was a finalist for the Hugo in 1997.

Erica Spindler

Raised in Rockford, Illinois, New York Times bestselling author Erica Spindler went to university in New Orleans, where she now lives with her husband and two sons. She has won several awards for her fiction in the US and her books have been turned into graphic novels and a daytime drama in Japan.For more information about Erica visit her website www.ericaspindler.com or follow her on Twitter @EricaSpindler.

Jenny Diski

Jenny Diski is the author of eight novels and two memoirs: Skating to Antarctica and Stranger on a Train. She lives in Cambridge.

Julia Quinn

Julia Quinn started writing her first book one month after finishing college and has been tapping away at her keyboard ever since. She is a graduate of Harvard and Radcliffe colleges and lives with her family in Colorado. Visit her at www.juliaquinn.com