A. M. Morgen - The Inventors at No. 8 - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Inventors at No. 8

By A. M. Morgen

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

A destitute orphan and a genius inventor set out on an epic quest to find a missing father and a priceless treasure in this captivating, fresh, and funny new fantasy adventure, perfect for fans of The Apothecaryand The Inquisitor's Tale.

Brimming with mystery and treasure, this action-packed tale sends a boy in need of luck and girl in need of a friend on an adventure that will change their lives forever.

Meet George, the third Lord of Devonshire and the unluckiest boy in London. Why is George so unlucky? First, he's an orphan. Second, unless he sells everything, he's about to lose his house. So when his family's last heirloom, a priceless map to the Star of Victory (a unique gem said to bring its owner success in any battle) is stolen by a nefarious group of criminals, George knows that there is no one less lucky--or more alone--than he is.

That is until Ada Byron, the future Countess of Lovelace, bursts into his life. She promises to help George recover his family legacy, and is determined to find her own father along the way--all in a flying machine she built herself. Joined by a mischievous orangutan and the long-lost son of an infamous pirate, Ada and George take off on a cross-continent journey through the skies that will change their lives, and perhaps the world, forever.

Biographical Notes

A.M. Morgen comes from a long line of engineers and researchers but chose to pursue literature over the laboratory. To her family's surprise, she has managed to make a decent living as an editor with her English degree. In her spare time, A.M. enjoys taking forest baths, trying out new hobbies (then abandoning them), and complaining about her mean cat. Despite what you may think, A.M. is not a morning person.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780316471497
  • Publication date: 12 Jul 2018
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: Little, Brown Young Readers US
Sphere

Mission Critical

Mark Greaney
Authors:
Mark Greaney
ATOM

Killing Mr Griffin

Lois Duncan
Authors:
Lois Duncan
ATOM

Huntress

Malinda Lo
Authors:
Malinda Lo

Nature is out of balance in the human world. The sun hasn't shone in years, and crops are failing. Worse yet, strange and hostile creatures have begun to appear. The people's survival hangs in the balance.To solve the crisis, the oracle stones are cast, and Kaede and Taisin are picked to go on a dangerous and unheard-of journey to Tanlili, the city of the Fairy Queen. Taisin is a sage, thrumming with magic, and Kaede is of the earth, without a speck of the otherworldly. And yet their two destinies are drawn together during the mission. As members of their party succumb to unearthly attacks and fairy tricks, the two come to rely on each other and even begin to fall in love. But the Kingdom needs only one huntress to save it, and what it takes could tear Kaede and Taisin apart forever. . .

ATOM

Don't Look Behind You

Lois Duncan
Authors:
Lois Duncan

Seventeen-year-old April finds her comfortable life changed forever when death threats to her father, a witness in a federal case, force her family to go into hiding under assumed names and flee the pursuit of a hired killer.

ATOM

I Know What You Did Last Summer

Lois Duncan
Authors:
Lois Duncan

It was only an accident but it would change their lives forever.Last summer, four terrified friends made a desperate pact to conceal a shocking secret. But now, someone has learned the truth, and the horror is starting again. There is an unknown avenger out there who is stalking them in a deadly game. Will he stop at terror--or is he out for revenge?This summer, four friends are going to learn that some secrets just won't stay buried.

ATOM

Red Riding Hood

Sarah Blakley-Cartwright
Authors:
Sarah Blakley-Cartwright

Valerie is in love with the dangerous and unlikable Peter (a woodcutter, of course) but is betrothed to the rich hot blacksmith in town, Henry. Their town has been terrorized by a wolf - a wolf that appears only at the full moon - and when Valerie's sister is brutally murdered the message is clear: she's next.

ATOM

The Fledgling Handbook

P. C. Cast, Kim Doner
Contributors:
P. C. Cast, Kim Doner
ATOM

Winter's Knight

Richard Argent
Authors:
Richard Argent
ATOM

Keys To The Repository

Melissa de la Cruz
Authors:
Melissa de la Cruz

Lavish parties. Passionate meetings in the night. Bone-chilling murders. Exams. The day-to-day life of Schuyler Van Alen and her Blue Bloods friends (and enemies) is never boring. But there's oh-so-much more to know about the beautiful and powerful Blue Bloods. Below the streets of Manhattan, within the walls of the Repository, lies a wealth of revealing short stories, journal entries, and never-before-seen letters about the vampire elite dating back through time. Won't you come inside?

ATOM

Prophecy Of The Sisters

Michelle Zink
Authors:
Michelle Zink
ATOM

The Extraordinary & Unusual Adventures of Horatio Lyle

Catherine Webb
Authors:
Catherine Webb

In Victorian London at the height of the industrial revolution, Horatio Lyle is a former Special Constable with a passion for science and invention. He's also an occasional, but reluctant, sleuth. The truth is that he'd rather be in his lab tinkering with dangerous chemicals and odd machinery than running around the cobbled streets of London trying to track down stolen goods. But when Her Majesty's Government calls, Horatio swaps his microscope for a magnifying glass, fills his pockets with things that explode and sallies forth to unravel a mystery of a singularly extraordinary nature.Thrown together with a reformed (i.e. 'caught') pickpocket called Tess, and a rebellious (within reason) young gentleman called Thomas, Lyle and his faithful hound, Tate, find themselves pursuing an ancient Chinese plate, a conspiracy that reaches to the highest levels of polite society and a dangerous enemy who may not even be human. Solving the crime will be hard enough - surviving would be a bonus...

ATOM

The Doomsday Machine: Another Astounding Adventure of Horatio Lyle

Catherine Webb
Authors:
Catherine Webb

London, 1865. There are many mysteries in this world that are yet to be resolved. Some of them, man was not meant to know . . .Scientist, inventor and occasional sleuth, Horatio Lyle, is a man of science - a man of reason. As such, he does not care for the Tseiqin and the strange, mystical enigma they represent. But when news reaches him of a plot to remove them - through the simple expedient of mass murder! - well . . . that presents a problem for a man of moral fortitude. A decent man. A man like Horatio Lyle . . .Leading his young friends, Tess and Thomas, and his faithful hound, Tate, into a series of the most appalling dangers, Lyle leaps to the rescue of his mortal enemies. But when the dust clears and the menace has been confronted, there remains one rather pressing question for occasional Special Constable Horatio Lyle: who's going to rescue him . . . ?

Orbit

Witches' Brew

Terry Brooks
Authors:
Terry Brooks

***50 MILLION TERRY BROOKS COPIES SOLD AROUND THE WORLD***'Terry's place is at the head of the fantasy world' Philip PullmanWith peace reigning in the Magic Kingdom at last, Ben Holiday is finally free to lie back and enjoy the finer things in life - like watching his daughter grow, which she does by leaps and bounds. Born a seedling and nourished by soil from Landover, Earth and the fairy mists, Mistaya is a unique child, fully as dazzling as her mother, the sylph, Willow - but fiery and impatient with those who can't keep up with her lightning-fast development. But Ben's idyll is not to last.The dark and pitiless Rydall, king of lands beyond the fairy mists, arrives at the gates of Sterling Silver. His armies are ready to invade if Ben will not accept his challenge: to face and defeat seven different champions of Rydall's choice. And accept he must, for Mistaya has been snatched from her guardians by foul magic and only Rydall holds the key to her fate . . .Praise for Terry Brooks:'A master of the craft . . . required reading' Brent Weeks'I can't even begin to count how many of Terry Brooks's books I've read (and re-read) over the years' Patrick Rothfuss, author of The Name of the Wind'I would not be writing epic fantasy today if not for Shannara' Peter V. Brett, author of The Painted Man'If you haven't read Terry Brooks, you haven't read fantasy' Christopher Paolini, author of Eragon

ATOM

The Obsidian Dagger: Being the Further Extraordinary Adventures of Horatio Lyle

Catherine Webb
Authors:
Catherine Webb

Alison Umminger

Alison Umminger grew up in Arlington, Virginia, and as an undergraduate was the fourth woman to be elected president of The Harvard Lampoon. Today, she is an associate professor at the University of West Georgia in Carrollton, Georgia, where she lives with her husband, a blues musician, and their four-year-old daughter. My Favorite Manson Girl is her first book.

C. J. Daugherty

International bestselling author C. J. Daugherty is a former newspaper reporter and crime writer. Her Night School series has been translated into 21 languages, and has been the number 1 best selling young adult book in Germany, Poland, France, and Israel, topping charts in countries around the world.

Carina Rozenfeld

French author Carina Rozenfeld has won more than 20 literary awards and written dozens of hugely popular French YA fantasy novels. A former journalist for French youth press, she has also written for French television. The Secret Fire is her first novel in English.

Dan Simmons

Dan Simmons was born in Peoria, Illinois, in 1948, and grew up in various cities and small towns in the Midwest. He received his Masters in Education from Washington University in St. Louis in 1971. He worked in elementary education for eighteen years, winning awards for his innovative teaching, and became a full-time writer in 1987. Dan lives in Colorado with his wife, Karen, and has a daughter in her twenties. His books are published in twenty-nine counties and many of them have been optioned for film.

Erica Spindler

Raised in Rockford, Illinois, New York Times bestselling author Erica Spindler went to university in New Orleans, where she now lives with her husband and two sons. She has won several awards for her fiction in the US and her books have been turned into graphic novels and a daytime drama in Japan.For more information about Erica visit her website www.ericaspindler.com or follow her on Twitter @EricaSpindler.

Gabriel Packard

Gabriel is the Associate Director of the Creative Writing MFA Programme at Hunter College, and has previously given seminars at Oxford, Cambridge, Yale, Cornell, Dartmouth and Wellesley. He writes a monthly 'Writers on Writing' column for The Writer magazine, and his journalism has appeared in more than 100 publications worldwide, including New York Magazine, The Village Voice and Poets & Writers. He has a BA in English from Oxford University and an MFA in fiction writing from Hunter College. He has also worked as a researcher for the novelists E.L. Doctorow, Peter Carey and worked with Jonathan Franzen on the novel he is currently completing.