Sharee Miller - Princess Hair - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback
    More information
    • ISBN:9780316562614
    • Publication date:28 Dec 2017

Princess Hair

By Sharee Miller

  • Paperback
  • £5.99

Now available in paperback, debut author-illustrator Sharee Miller celebrates black hair of different shapes, textures, and styles in this self-affirming picture book.

Princesses with head wraps take long naps.
Princesses with curls wear pearls.
And princesses with teeny-weeny afros wear teeny-weeny bows.

Debut author-illustrator Sharee Miller's picture book celebrates different shapes, textures, and styles of black hair, from dreadlocks, to blowouts, to braids (and more!), shining a spotlight on the beauty and diversity of black hair with playful, colorful illustrations and an endearing text with great read-aloud quality.

Nearly twenty years ago, Natasha Tarpley and E.B. Lewis brought LBYR the evergreen, ever-selling I Love My Hair!, showing the need for books providing and encouraging self-affirmation for young black girls--and while I Love My Hair! helped to fill a gap, Princess Hair adds a more playful, contemporary offering to address this ongoing need in the market.

While this is Sharee's first book as an author-illustrator, she has built a platform as an illustrator who celebrates black hair and young black readers, having illustrated the upcoming book by actress Quevenzhane Wallis (of Beasts of the Southern Wild and Annie fame). Sharee's prolific talents could help her become a strong brand for picture books celebrating young black readers on our list.

Discovered as a self-published book, Princess Hair has been added as a Fall 2017 drop-in title, fast-tracked for hardcover publication.

Biographical Notes

Sharee Miller has a BFA in communication design from Pratt Institute. She lives in Brooklyn, where she enjoys spending time with her two cats, illustrating fun stories, and playing with her princess hair. Sharee invites you to visit her website at shareemiller.com and her Instagram @coilyandcute.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780316441223
  • Publication date: 29 Nov 2018
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Little, Brown Young Readers US
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Rise

Ellen Goodlett
Authors:
Ellen Goodlett

Sisters Akeylah, Ren, and Zofi are all a step closer to their dying father's throne, a step closer to the crown that will allow one of them to rule over Kolonya. But the sisters' pasts continue to haunt them. Each hides a secret marked with blood and betrayal, and now their blackmailer--calling themselves the "true heir"--is holding nothing back. When King Andros discovers one sister's traitorous past, events are set in motion that will shake the entire kingdom to its core. As Kolonya's greatest threat stalks closer and closer, weaving a web of fear and deceit around Ren, Zofi, and Akeylah, even the people they love are under suspicion. If the sisters are going to survive, they'll have to learn to trust each other above all else and work together, not only to save themselves, but to save everything they hold dear.With shocking reveals and suspenseful storytelling, this breathtaking sequel to Rule will keep you guessing until the very last page.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Don't Worry Book

Todd Parr
Authors:
Todd Parr
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Hangry

Drew Brockington
Authors:
Drew Brockington
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Bear Came Along

Richard T. Morris, LeUyen Pham
Contributors:
Richard T. Morris, LeUyen Pham
Little, Brown Young Readers US

When We Were Lost

Kevin Wignall
Authors:
Kevin Wignall

Survival. It's a concept these high school students never had to consider--until their plane crashes in a remote rainforest with no adults left alive. With many of them falling prey to threats from both the jungle and man, they soon realize that danger comes in many sinister forms.Tom Calloway didn't want to go on a field trip to Costa Rica, but circumstances had him ending up sitting in the back of the plane--which was the only part that was intact after the crash in the remote South American wilderness. Tom and a small group of his classmates are fortunate to be alive, but their luck quickly runs out when some of them fall prey to the unfamiliar threats of the jungle--animals, reptiles, insects, and even the unforgiving heat. Every decision they make could mean life or death.As the days go by and the survivors' desperation grows, things get even more perilous. Not everyone can cope with the trauma of seeing their friends die, and a struggle for leadership soon pits them against each other. And when they come across evidence of other people in the middle of the rainforest, does that mean they're safe--or has their survival come to an even more vicious end?

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Finding Yvonne

Brandy Colbert
Authors:
Brandy Colbert
FaithWords

Micah's Super Vlog: The Big Fail

Andy McGuire, Girish Manuel
Authors:
Andy McGuire, Girish Manuel

When deciding whether to keep up the lie of his "A paper," will Micah admit his mistakes or risk losing his friends?Based on the popular JellyTelly show, Micah's Super Vlog, book two in this series finds Micah wrestling with a decision facing every kid his age: to study or play video games? Micah chooses to ditch his responsibility, so it's no surprise when the result is a big . . . F. Seeing that his friends did well on the same test, Micah is too ashamed to show his grade before changing the F to an A with a marker. Although he knows it's wrong, Micah feels the need to keep up the façade . . . which only leads to more lying. Will Micah continue to be dishonest, or admit his mistakes before things spin so far out of control that he loses his friends?

Running Press Kids

Super Jake & the King of Chaos

Naomi Milliner
Authors:
Naomi Milliner
Little, Brown Young Readers US

How to Be a Supervillain: Bad Guys Finish First

Michael Fry
Authors:
Michael Fry
Little, Brown Young Readers US

We Contain Multitudes

Sarah Henstra
Authors:
Sarah Henstra
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Absence of Sparrows

Kurt Kirchmeier
Authors:
Kurt Kirchmeier
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Abner & Ian Get Right-Side Up

Dave Eggers, Laura Park
Contributors:
Dave Eggers, Laura Park

Abner and Ian are stuck sideways on the pages of their debut picture book. They can't start the story like this! Ian is trying to be brave, despite his dizziness and fear of heights. But don't worry, because Abner has a plan: Readers will shake and turn the book until they get right side up! Sounds easy, right? Think again, because the real solution may be the opposite of what you'd expect.With the odd couple wit of Elephant & Piggie, the interactive appeal of Press Here, and a timeless charm all their own, Abner & Ian offer readers of all ages 80 pages of fast-paced fun.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Inventors and the Lost Island

A. M. Morgen
Authors:
A. M. Morgen
Running Press Kids

Georgia's Terrific, Colorific Experiment

Zoe Persico
Authors:
Zoe Persico

Georgia is a creative girl from a family of artists who wants to be a scientist. She decides she has to create her own unique experiment to truly be a great scientist (the way her family are all great artists). She rebukes her family's advice, thinking science and art have to be mutually exclusive, but after many failed attempts at recreating experiments, she comes to realize that science can be a work of art.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James

Ashley Herring Blake
Authors:
Ashley Herring Blake

When Sunny St. James receives a new heart, she decides to set off on a New Life Plan: 1) do awesome amazing things she could never do before; 2) find a new best friend; and 3) kiss a boy for the first time. Her New Life Plan seems to be racing forward, but when she meets her new best friend Quinn, Sunny questions whether she really wants to kiss a boy at all. With the reemergence of her mother, Sunny begins a journey to becoming the new Sunny St. James.As with Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World, the sophomore middle grade novel by Ashley Herring Blake adds to the slowly growing, but still small list of queer MG titles. The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James is a gorgeous follow-up to Ivy Aberdeen as a novel about grief, loss, discovery, friendship, and the power in being oneself, no matter what.This sweet, tender novel has a strong voice in the vein of The Thing About Jellyfish, strong potential for the School & Library market, and is an award contender.

Running Press Kids

Cowhide-and-Seek

Sheri Dillard, Jess Pauwels
Contributors:
Sheri Dillard, Jess Pauwels
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Rule

Ellen Goodlett
Authors:
Ellen Goodlett

Three Dark Crowns meets Pretty Little Liars in this sensational and striking new fantasy from debut author Ellen Goodlett, for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Kristin Cashore.Three girls. Three deadly secrets. Only one can wear the crown.The king is dying, his heir has just been murdered, and rebellion brews in the east. But the kingdom of Kolonya and the outer Reaches has one last option before it descends into leaderless chaos.Or rather, three unexpected options.Zofi has spent her entire life trekking through the outer Reaches with her band of Travelers. She would do anything to protect the band, her family. But no one can ever find out how far she's already gone.Akeylah was raised in the Eastern Reach, surrounded by whispers of rebellion and abused by her father. Desperate to escape, she makes a decision that threatens the whole kingdom.Ren grew up in Kolonya, serving as a lady's maid and scheming her way out of the servants' chambers. But one such plot could get her hung for treason if anyone ever discovers what she's done.When the king summons the girls, they arrive expecting arrest or even execution. Instead they learn the truth: they are his illegitimate daughters, and one must become his new heir. But someone in Kolonya knows their secrets, and that someone will stop at nothing to keep the sisters from their destiny... to rule.Magic, mystery, and blackmail abound in the first book of this sensational and striking fantasy duology.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

President of the Whole Sixth Grade: Girl Code

Sherri Winston
Authors:
Sherri Winston

Go-getter Brianna Justice is back and on assignment with her local newspaper in the third book in the popular President series!When budding middle school journalist Brianna Justice learns that Yavonka Steele, rising star of the nightly news broadcast, is looking for a mentee for a class project, she's thrilled! That is until she's paired instead with a "boring" reporter from the community news desk.But when she's asked to interview students from a girls' coding program at Price Academy, an inner-city middle school, this suburban girl has no idea what to expect. Will Brianna learn to ignore stereotypes and embrace the world around her?Sherri Winston crafts another winning story in the President series, full of humor, heart, and a deeper examination of stereotypes and how they can throw a wrench in middle school life.

Running Press Kids

Caleb and Kit

Beth Vrabel
Authors:
Beth Vrabel
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Zip! Zoom! On a Broom

Teri Sloat, Rosalinde Bonnet
Contributors:
Teri Sloat, Rosalinde Bonnet

One goes zip,two go zoom.Three witches glide from room to room.So begins this witchy counting story. Counting up from 1 to 10 and back down again, ten witches jump on a broom--and then fall off one by one! Written in pitch-perfect rhyme, and full of fun read-aloud energy that will have kids memorizing lines and clamoring to read the book again and again, this book hits the mash-up sweet spot between perennially important concept and growing holiday promotional moment.