Joseph Kertes - The Afterlife of Stars - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Afterlife of Stars

By Joseph Kertes

  • Hardback
  • £19.99

"The Afterlife of Stars moved me more than any other novel I've read in recent memory." --Tim O'Brien

When Russian tanks roll into the public squares of Budapest to crush the Hungarian Revolution, brothers Robert and Attila Beck flee with their family to the Paris townhouse of their great-aunt Hermina. The year is 1956 and as their country changes forever, these two boys transform as well, confronting danger and wonders previously unknown.

As they travel through minefields both real and imagined, Robert and Attila grapple with sibling rivalry, family secrets and incalculable loss. Along the way they encounter mysterious fellow travelers, bewildering sights of a nation in transition and surprising hilarity, all in pursuit of the one place they thought they'd lost forever: home.

Elegant, tender and deeply funny, Joseph Kertes has crafted a journey filled with adventure and heartbreak. A meditation on both family and displacement, THE AFTERLIFE OF STARS is a tale of perseverance, faith and the unbreakable bond of brotherhood.

Biographical Notes

Joseph Kertes was born in Hungary but escaped with his family to Canada after the revolution of 1956. He studied English at York University and the University of Toronto. His novel Gratitude won the National Jewish Book Award for fiction. Kertes founded Humber College's distinguished creative writing and comedy programs. He is currently Humber's dean of creative and performing arts.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780316308113
  • Publication date: 26 Jan 2017
  • Page count: 256
  • Imprint: Little, Brown US
Hachette Audio

The Burning Girl

Claire Messud
Authors:
Claire Messud
Sphere

Before Evil

Alex Kava
Authors:
Alex Kava
Blackfriars

The Sisters Chase

Sarah Healy
Authors:
Sarah Healy
Little, Brown

The Lie of the Land

Amanda Craig
Authors:
Amanda Craig
Little, Brown

Summary Justice

John Fairfax
Authors:
John Fairfax

Sphere

A Boy Made of Blocks

Keith Stuart
Authors:
Keith Stuart

***THE RICHARD AND JUDY BOOK CLUB 2017 BESTSELLER***'The publishing sensation of the year: a compelling, uplifting and heart-rending debut novel'Mail on SundayThe number one Amazon bestseller A Boy Made of Blocks is a moving, funny and heartwarming story of family and love inspired by the author's own experiences with his son, the perfect latest obsession for fans of The Rosie Project, David Nicholls and Jojo Moyes. A father who rediscovers love Alex loves his wife Jody, but has forgotten how to show it. He loves his son Sam, but doesn't understand him. He needs a reason to grab his future with both hands.A son who shows him how to live Meet eight-year-old Sam: beautiful, surprising - and different. To him the world is a frightening mystery. But as his imagination comes to life, his family will be changed . . . for good.Keith Stuart's magical and moving second novel Days of Wonder is available to pre-order now. 'One of those wonderful books that makes you laugh and cry at the same time' Good Housekeeping 'Funny, expertly plotted and written with enormous heart. Readers who enjoyed The Rosie Project will love A Boy Made of Blocks - I did'Graeme Simsion 'Very funny, incredibly poignant and full of insight. Awesome.' Jenny Colgan 'Heartwarming' The Unmumsy Mum 'A wonderful, warm, insightful novel about family, friendship and love' Daily Mail 'A great plot, with a rare sense of honesty' Guardian 'A truly beautiful story' Heat 'A heartwarming and wise story' Cathy Rentzenbrink, author of The Last Act of Love

Corsair

The Angel of History

Rabih Alameddine
Authors:
Rabih Alameddine
Corsair

Dear Fang, With Love

Rufi Thorpe
Authors:
Rufi Thorpe
Robinson

Speak My Language, and Other Stories

Torsten Højer
Authors:
Torsten Højer
FaithWords

Balm of Gilead

Adina Senft
Authors:
Adina Senft
Abacus

The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry

Gabrielle Zevin
Authors:
Gabrielle Zevin

Originally published as The Collected Works of A. J. Fikry."Who the hell are you?" A.J. asks the baby. For no apparent reason, she stops crying and smiles at him. "Maya," she answers. That was easy, A.J. thinks. "How old are you?" he asks. Maya holds up two fingers. "You're two?" Maya smiles again and holds up her arms to him." A.J. Fikry, the grumpy owner of Island Books, is going through a hard time: his bookshop is failing, he has lost his beloved wife, and a prized rare first edition has been stolen. But one day A.J. finds two-year-old Maya sitting on the bookshop floor, with a note attached to her asking the owner to look after her. His life - and Maya's - is changed forever.

Corsair

I Am Max Lamm

Raphael Brous
Authors:
Raphael Brous
Corsair

They Eat Puppies, Don't They?

Christopher Buckley
Authors:
Christopher Buckley

In an attempt to gain Congressional approval for a top secret weapons system, Washington lobbyist "Bird" McIntyre and sexy Neo-Con wonkette Angel Templeton start a rumour that the Chinese secret service is trying to assassinate the Dalai Lama. Their outrageous scheme provokes a series of crises involving the White House, the CIA, and a strangely sympathetic and vulnerable Chinese president, with both countries veering perilously towards war.Buckley has drawn his most convincing and outrageous characters to date: Bird, failed novelist of amusingly awful Clancy-esque thrillers; Angel, combination Anne Coulter and Ayn Rand; Bird's demanding, equestrian wife, Myndi; Bewks, his feckless but endearing Civil War re-enactor brother; the mild-mannered Chinese President Fa and his devoted aide Gang, manoeuvring desperately against sinister Politburo hard-liners Minister Lo and General Han. Blending the skewering genius of Thank You For Smoking with Dr. Strangelove's dark comedy, They Eat Puppies Don't They? has something to offend -- and amuse -- everyone.Praise for Christopher Buckely: "One of the funniest writers in the English language." Tom Wolfe."A Benchley with WordPerfect." John Updike."An effervescent joy." Joseph Heller.

Canvas

The Paradise Guest House

Ellen Sussman
Authors:
Ellen Sussman

It starts as a trip to paradise. Sent on assignment to Bali, Jamie, an adventure guide, imagines spending weeks exploring the island's lush jungles and pristine white sand beaches. Yet three days after her arrival, she is caught in Bali's infamous nightclub bombings, which irreparably change her life and leave her with many unanswered questions. One year later, haunted by memories, Jamie returns to Bali seeking a sense of closure. Most of all, she hopes to find Gabe, the man who saved her from the attacks. She hasn't been able to forget his kindness - or the spark between them as he helped her heal. Checking into a cosy guest house for her stay, Jamie meets the kindly owner, who is coping with a painful past of his own, and a young boy who improbably becomes crucial to her search. Jamie has never shied away from a challenge, but a second chance with Gabe presents her with the biggest dilemma of all: whether she's ready to open her heart.Praise for French Lessons:'A wonderfully warm and sexy book ... we loved it!' Bella.'A delightful novel, full of joie de vivre'. Woman and Home.

Sphere

A Walk To Remember

Nicholas Sparks
Authors:
Nicholas Sparks

Can you resist the depths of the human heart?It is 1958 and seventeen-year-old Landon is revelling in his youth: dating girls and even claiming to have been in love. He is a world apart from shy, reclusive Jamie Sullivan, a Baptist's daughter who carries a bible with her school books, cares for her widowed father and volunteers at the orphanage. But fate will intervene.Forced to partner up at the school dance, Landon and Jamie embark on a journey of earth-shattering love and agonising loss far beyond their years. In the months that follow, Landon discovers the true depths of the human heart, and takes a decision that is so stunning it will lead him irrevocably down the road to manhood . . .

Canvas

Naked Angel

Logan Belle
Authors:
Logan Belle

It's the biggest night of Mallory Dale's life. She's unveiling her sexy new burlesque club, The Painted Lady, and her boyfriend has a thrilling surprise for her. Alec is ready to propose, and he does it in her favourite place - onstage. But can she give up her boas in the name of happily ever after?Mallory isn't the only one torn between bliss onstage and off. Ballerina Nadia Grant has hung up her toe shoes, now she's perfecting the art of the striptease and whips the crowd at The Painted Lady into a frenzy. But one man is outraged, and it's the man Nadia loves. Meanwhile, the club's financial benefactor is endangering everything he holds dear when he begins a sizzling affair with a young costume designer. Just when they're so close to having it all, will the stars of The Painted Lady lose everything?

Grand Central Publishing

Shattered

Kia Dupree
Authors:
Kia Dupree

Kiki's world is turned upside down when her partially deaf mother loses custody of her children, sending Kiki and her siblings into foster care. After running away with a friend, the two run straight into the arms of a pedophile in disguise, who lures the two girls into a life far too mature for their twelve-year-old minds. Held in captivity for months, the girls are finally set free when a neighbor exposes them. But what should have been a happy moment for Kiki actually sends her on a life path that quickly spirals out of control.From the abuse she receives from her captor, to the violent rape by a loved one, to being part of a heinous drug trafficking scheme, Kiki risks her life time and time again in the pursuit of a normal life off the streets.

Canvas

The Dark Glamour

Gabriella Pierce
Authors:
Gabriella Pierce

Welcome to New York City, where the socialites are witches.Jane Boyle thought she'd met the man of her dreams. But it's hard to live happily ever after when you realise your new mother-in-law is literally a witch, determined to steal the magical powers you didn't even know you had. When Jane discovers that the man she fell in love with is a mere pawn in her mother-in-law's cunning plan, she flees. Now Jane is alone and on the run, hiding out in Manhattan. But Jane can't hide forever... One magical Park Avenue makeover later and Jane is ready to settle the score with her witch of a mother-in-law. In her new guise as Ella the Brazilian beauty, Jane meets the devilishly handsome André. The magical blood that teems through her veins draws her inexplicably towards this mysterious man. But is André all he seems? And can Jane make it into the witches' den to overthrow the most evil of witches?

Sphere

Thurston House

Danielle Steel
Authors:
Danielle Steel
Sphere

Unlike A Virgin

Lucy-Anne Holmes
Authors:
Lucy-Anne Holmes

Is Gracie in love for the very first time?You know that bit in The X Factor, when the singer tells everyone about the rocky road they travelled to pursue their dream? Well, that's Gracie Flowers' story.Gracie is very focused for a woman of almost twenty-six. Her favourite book is 'The 5-Year Plan: Making the Most of Your Life'. And her five-year plan is going very well. That is, until she is usurped from her big promotion by a handsome, posh idiot; she is dumped by her boyfriend; and discovers her loopy mother is facing bankruptcy.Hormones awry and ice cream over-ordered, a dream Gracie thought she'd buried ten years ago starts to resurface. A dream that reminds her of the girl she used to be and everything she wanted to become.