John Churchman and Jennifer Churchman - Brave Little Finn - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Brave Little Finn

By John Churchman and Jennifer Churchman

  • Hardback
  • £13.99

A follow-up to the media sensation and instant New York Times bestseller THE SHEEPOVER, featuring a real and adorable newborn lamb, Finn.

Newborn lamb Finn, raised inside the farmhouse, isn't as big and strong as the other animals on the farm. He can't help but be frightened as he ventures outside and encounters unfamiliar sights, sounds, and creatures. With the help of Farmer John and his animal friends, Little Finn learns to be brave and mighty.

This charming story by John and Jennifer Churchman, featuring real animals on their bustling Vermont farm including fan favorite Sweet Pea from The Sheepover, celebrates the magic of friendship and finding the courage within.

Will include a behind-the-scenes spread about life on the farm.

Biographical Notes

John Churchman is an artist, photographer and farmer, bringing stories to life with his enchanting photo-illustrations.

Jennifer Churchman is a multimedia artist and business consultant, and has loved telling stories all her life.

John and Jennifer bring their talents together to give voice to the stories of all the animals that surround them and add boundless enjoyment to their lives. They have made their home on a small farm in the beautiful countryside of Essex, Vermont, with their daughter Gabrielle. They are also the authors of the New York Times bestseller The SheepOver.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780316273596
  • Publication date: 29 Dec 2016
  • Page count: 40
  • Imprint: Little, Brown Young Readers US
Little, Brown Young Readers US

When You Are Brave

Pat Zietlow Miller, Eliza Wheeler
Contributors:
Pat Zietlow Miller, Eliza Wheeler
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Easter Surprise

Jennifer Churchman, John Churchman
Authors:
Jennifer Churchman, John Churchman

The fifth book by the authors of the media sensation and instant New York Times bestseller The SheepOver, featuring a curious bunny and her baby farm animal friends solving an Easter mystery together. Fern the bunny wakes up one morning to a surprise: the squirrels have discovered a beautifully decorated egg in their tree! And it's not just the squirrels--Mo the kitten, the goslings, the puppies, and even the lambs have all found special eggs hidden around the farm. As the baby animals follow clues from one egg to the next, Fern thinks she sees two soft, pointy ears peeking out above the grass. Then she notices a fluffy tail disappearing behind the barn. Then she spots long whiskers twitching among the flowers! Someone is watching, and the animal friends will have to solve their Easter mystery together to find out who.With vividly evocative photo illustrations, John and Jennifer Churchman bring to life a delightful story based on real animals and events on their Vermont farm.

Running Press Kids

Love

Stacy McAnulty, Joanne Lew-Vriethoff
Contributors:
Stacy McAnulty, Joanne Lew-Vriethoff
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Don't Touch My Hair!

Sharee Miller
Authors:
Sharee Miller
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Thank You, Omu!

Oge Mora
Authors:
Oge Mora

A generous woman is rewarded by her community in this remarkable author-illustrator debut that's perfect for the Thanksgiving season, perfect for fans of Last Stop on Market Street.Everyone in the neighborhood dreams of a taste of Omu's delicious stew! One by one, they follow their noses toward the scrumptious scent. And one by one, Omu offers a portion of her meal. Soon the pot is empty. Has she been so generous that she has nothing left for herself?Debut author-illustrator Oge Mora brings a heartwarming story of sharing and community to life in colorful cut-paper designs as luscious as Omu's stew, with an extra serving of love. An author's note explains that "Omu" (pronounced AH-moo) means "queen" in the Igbo language of her parents, but growing up, she used it to mean "Grandma."

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Alpaca Lunch

John Churchman, Jennifer Churchman
Authors:
John Churchman, Jennifer Churchman

Poppy the alpaca loves going on adventures and trying new things! She's excited to explore the farm and discover all of the plants, fruits, and vegetables growing around every bend. But when she hears about the winter frost coming, she's worried--where will she and her family get their food? Poppy and her animal friends learn how everyone on the farm works together to prepare for the colder season. Alpaca Lunch encourages healthy eating and trying new things as the animals explore a beautiful array of interesting and colorful foods growing around the farm. This charming story by John and Jennifer Churchman features real animals on their bustling Vermont farm including a brand-new herd of adorable alpacas, as well as fan favorites Sweet Pea from The SheepOver, Finn from Brave Little Finn, and Maisie from A Farm for Maisie.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Secret Life of Squirrels: Back to School!

Nancy Rose
Authors:
Nancy Rose

Mr. Peanuts' friend Rosie needs help preparing for the first day of school! The two squirrels go shopping for school supplies, set up the library and music corners, bring all the sports equipment out to the blacktop, and decorate the classroom. Mr. Peanuts even practices driving the school bus! This school year is going to be a blast.Nancy Rose brings this back-to-school story to life with her photographs of real wild squirrels in handcrafted, homemade miniature settings.

Running Press Kids

Pink Is for Boys

Eda Kaban, Robb Pearlman
Authors:
Eda Kaban, Robb Pearlman
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Hey Black Child

Useni Eugene Perkins, Bryan Collier
Contributors:
Useni Eugene Perkins, Bryan Collier

HEY BLACK CHILD--do you know who you are? Who you really are?So begins the widely-recited poem by Useni Eugene Perkins, to be illustrated by award-winning illustrator Bryan Collier. An ode to black children, this empowering picture book is a celebration of African-American lives that promotes the self-esteem, making this both a timely and important book, especially in light of recent events across America.Useni Eugene Perkins's "Hey Black Child" was recently performed on Steve Harvey's show Little Big Shots by four-year-old Pe'Tehn (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QOTZWdIyRJE) and, last fall, was recited by Pe'Tehn when she was three (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5n_DeHMVAkM), blowing away viewers and raising awareness for the confidence-building text.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Claymates

Dev Petty, Lauren Eldridge
Contributors:
Dev Petty, Lauren Eldridge
Little, Brown Young Readers US

One Minute Till Bedtime

Kenn Nesbitt, Christoph Niemann
Contributors:
Kenn Nesbitt, Christoph Niemann
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Sound of Silence

Katrina Goldsaito, Julia Kuo
Contributors:
Katrina Goldsaito, Julia Kuo

Yoshio thinks Tokyo sounds like a symphony hall! He delights in everyday sounds--shoes squishing through puddles, raindrops pattering down, and lots of giggles! But one day he meets a musician who tells Yoshio that her favorite sound is ma, the Japanese word for the sound of silence. Yoshio must hear this! But how can he find it amid the hustle and bustle of the city?In the vein of Wabi Sabi, this book explains a sophisticated Japanese concept in a child-friendly way.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Puppy Pool Party!

Seth Casteel
Authors:
Seth Casteel

You're invited the most adorable pool party of the season--a puppy pool party! This young readers companion to Underwater Puppies pairs animated rhymes with brand new photos from best-selling author and pet photographer Seth Casteel, as well as old favorites (over half of the photos are new!). Join these VIP guests (that's "Very Important Pups") for a story that follows the puppies over the course of a day by the pool and is sure to put you in the party spirit.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The SheepOver

John Churchman, Jennifer Churchman
Authors:
John Churchman, Jennifer Churchman
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Very Fairy Princess: Valentines From The Heart

Julie Andrews, Emma Walton Hamilton
Authors:
Julie Andrews, Emma Walton Hamilton
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Hansel And Gretel

Holly Hobbie
Authors:
Holly Hobbie

When a woodcutter and his scheming wife abandon Hansel and Gretel in the forest, all hope is lost until they come upon a cottage made of tasty sweets. But the owner is not the kindly old woman she pretends to be. Can Gretel save Hansel from the clutches of a hungry witch? Holly Hobbie's masterful watercolors reach new heights in this spine-tingling rendition of the tale, faithful to the beloved classic.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Beep! Beep! Go to Sleep!

Todd Tarpley
Authors:
Todd Tarpley

A playful robot bedtime story, illustrated by Caldecott Honoree John Rocco! Quiet at last. Not a peep. Three little robots are... BEEP! BEEP!When his three rambunctious robots give every possible excuse not to go to sleep, what's a little boy to do? With a fun refrain that will have readers of all ages chanting along, here's a book that kids will be begging to read every night before bed.

Twelve

The Way Forward

Paul Ryan
Authors:
Paul Ryan
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Very Fairy Princess: A Spooky, Sparkly Halloween

Julie Andrews, Emma Walton Hamilton, Christine Davenier
Contributors:
Julie Andrews, Emma Walton Hamilton, Christine Davenier
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Goon Holler: Goon Fishin'

Parker Jacobs, Christian Jacobs
Authors:
Parker Jacobs, Christian Jacobs

Tooba, a shy and unassuming bigfoot, stumbles through a waterfall into Goon Holler, a new and exciting world. There, he meets a feisty little gal named Dosie. She teaches him it's fun to meet new people and try new things--especially when the people are goons and the things are delicious, steaming-hot pancakes!