Kerri Maniscalco - Stalking Jack the Ripper - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Stalking Jack the Ripper

By Kerri Maniscalco

  • Hardback
  • £14.99

In this spine-chilling gothic murder mystery set in gritty Victorian-era London, an intrepid society girl finds herself inescapably embroiled in the investigation of a ghastly serial killer known as Jack the Ripper.

Seventeen-year-old Audrey Rose Wadsworth was born a lord's daughter, with a life of wealth and privilege stretched out before her. But between the social teas and silk dress fittings, she leads a forbidden secret life.

Against her stern father's wishes and society's expectations, Audrey often slips away to her uncle's laboratory to study the gruesome practice of forensic medicine. When her work on a string of savagely killed corpses drags Audrey into the investigation of a serial murderer, her search for answers brings her close to her own sheltered world.

The story's shocking twists and turns, augmented with real, sinister period photos, will make this dazzling debut from author Kerri Maniscalco impossible to forget.

Biographical Notes

Kerri Maniscalco grew up in a small town just outside of New York City where her love of the arts was fostered from an early age. In her spare time she reads everything she can get her hands on, cooks all kinds of food for her family, and drinks entirely too much tea while discussing life's finer points with her cats. Stalking Jack the Ripper is her debut novel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780316273497
  • Publication date: 27 Oct 2016
  • Page count: 336
  • Imprint: Little, Brown Young Readers US
ATOM

Not Yet Dark

Simon P. Clark
Authors:
Simon P. Clark
ATOM

The Nowhere Girls

Amy Reed
Authors:
Amy Reed
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Hunting Prince Dracula

Kerri Maniscalco
Authors:
Kerri Maniscalco
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Lies My Girlfriend Told Me

Julie Anne Peters
Authors:
Julie Anne Peters

When Alix's charismatic girlfriend, Swanee, dies from sudden cardiac arrest, Alix is overcome with despair. As she searches Swanee's room for mementos of their relationship, she finds Swanee's cell phone, pinging with dozens of unread texts. Unsure what to do, Alix reads the text messages, all of which are sent from a mysterious contact "L.T." The most recent text reads: "Please tell me what I did. Please, Swan. Te quiero. I love you." Shocked and betrayed, Alix comes to learn that Swanee's been leading a double life -- dating a girl named Liana for the entire time she's been with Alix. Alix texts Liana from Swanee's phone, pretending to be Swanee in order to gather information, before finally meeting face-to-face to break the news. Brought together by Swanee's lies, Alix and Liana lean on one another to come to terms with her death. Soon, their connection deepens, and the two find themselves falling in love.But Alix is still hiding the truth from Liana - she was the one sending the texts from Swanee's phone, pretending that Swanee was alive. Alix knows what it feels like to be lied to -- but will coming clean to Liana mean losing her, too?

ATOM

Another Place

Matthew Crow
Authors:
Matthew Crow
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Zip! Zoom! On a Broom

Teri Sloat
Authors:
Teri Sloat
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Lola Levine and the Vacation Dream

Monica Brown, Angela Dominguez
Contributors:
Monica Brown, Angela Dominguez

Lola is named after her Tia Lola, who lives in Lima, Peru. Lola misses her aunt and dreams of visiting her. After Lola's Dad has a successful art show, Lola's dream comes true. The Levines are going to Peru! Thousands of miles from home, Lola and Ben discover all the new adventures Lima has to offer. They even visit the Peruvian School where Tia Lola is the principal. Will Lola and Ben manage to stay out of trouble?

ATOM

Stranger Than Fanfiction

Chris Colfer
Authors:
Chris Colfer
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Dreamland Burning

Jennifer Latham
Authors:
Jennifer Latham

When seventeen-year-old Rowan Chase finds a skeleton on her family's property, she has no idea that investigating the brutal century-old murder will lead to a summer of painful discoveries about the past... and the present.Nearly one hundred years earlier, a misguided violent encounter propels seventeen-year-old Will Tillman into a racial firestorm. In a country rife with violence against blacks and a hometown segregated by Jim Crow, Will must make hard choices on a painful journey towards self discovery and face his inner demons in order to do what's right the night Tulsa burns.One of the deadliest race riots in US history happened in Tulsa, Oklahoma, on a hot 1921 night when the economically and culturally thriving black community of Greenwood was burned to the ground. Dreamland Burning gives voice to this little-known moment in history, crossing historical fiction with a cold case mystery in a story that makes bold statements about how racial tensions have changed --- or haven't --- in nearly 100 years. Jennifer Latham brings her unique talent to this well-researched project, delivering a voice-driven, fast-paced, compelling read.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Goodbye Book

Todd Parr
Authors:
Todd Parr

From bestselling author Todd Parr, a poignant and reassuring story about loss. Through the lens of a pet fish who has lost his companion, Todd Parr tells a moving and wholly accessible story about saying goodbye. Touching upon the host of emotions children experience, Todd reminds readers that it's okay not to know all the answers and that someone will always be there to support them. An invaluable resource for life's toughest moments.

Little, Brown

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

J.K. Rowling
Authors:
J.K. Rowling
ATOM

The Secret City

C. J. Daugherty, Carina Rozenfeld
Authors:
C. J. Daugherty, Carina Rozenfeld
Weinstein Books

Secret Agent Jack Stalwart (Books 9-12)

Elizabeth Singer Hunt
Authors:
Elizabeth Singer Hunt

Meet Jack Stalwart. Code name: COURAGE.Jack is an ordinary kid who becomes a secret agent by night, thwarting evil all over the world as he searches for his missing brother, Max.The critically acclaimed bestselling middle grade series, now available in omnibus for the first time!

Little, Brown Young Readers US

We Should Hang Out Sometime

Josh Sundquist
Authors:
Josh Sundquist

Josh Sundquist had only ever had one girlfriend.For 23 hours.In eighth grade.Why was Josh still single? To find out, he tracked down the girls he had tried to date and asked them straight up: What went wrong?We Should Hang Out Sometime is the the result of Josh's semi-scientific, wholly hilarious investigation. From a disastrous putt-putt date involving a backwards prosthetic foot to his introduction to CFD (Close Fast Dancing) to a misguided "grand gesture" at a Miss America pageant, this story is about looking for love-or at least a girlfriend-in all the wrong places. We Should Hang Out Sometime is for every person who has ever wondered, "is there something wrong with me?" (the answer, by the way, is "no"). By revisiting middle school, high school, and college experiences, inspirational speaker Josh Sundquist shares what it was like to grow up as "the guy with one leg." Interspersed with the author's black-and-white line art, this real life story will appeal to fans of The Fault In Our Stars and Ned Vizzini's Teen Angst.

ATOM

The Boy Who Lost Fairyland

Catherynne M. Valente
Authors:
Catherynne M. Valente

When a young troll named Hawthorn is stolen from Fairyland by the Golden Wind, he becomes a changeling - a human boy - in the strange city of Chicago, a place no less bizarre and magical than Fairyland when seen through trollish eyes.Left with a human family, Hawthorn struggles with his troll nature and his changeling fate. But when he turns twelve, he stumbles upon a way back home, to a Fairyland much changed from the one he remembers.Soon, Hawthorn finds himself at the centre of a changeling revolution - until he comes face to face with a beautiful young Scientiste with very big, very red assistant . . .With The Boy Who Lost Fairyland, Catherynne M. Valente's wisdom and wit will continue to charm readers of all ages.

ATOM

The Secret Fire

C. J. Daugherty, Carina Rozenfeld
Authors:
C. J. Daugherty, Carina Rozenfeld

A battle against fate. A race against time.Taylor Montclair is a regular girl from the quiet backwater of Woodbury, England.Sacha Winters is a darkly mysterious boy from the City of Lights - Paris, France.While Taylor's focussed on her dream of attending Oxford University, school couldn't be further from Sacha's mind . . .Sacha knows exactly when he's going to die. Because he's done it before.On the appointed day, Sacha's time will run out. And his death will fulfil an ancient destiny that could unleash chaos and catastrophe.Taylor is the only person who can save him. Neither of them knows that yet.Because they haven't even met.Hundreds of miles and a body of water separate them.Deadly forces will stop at nothing to keep them apart.They have eight weeks to find each other and unravel an ancient web of mystery and danger.The clock starts NOW.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

If You Ever Want To Bring An Alligator To School, Don't!

Elise Parsley
Authors:
Elise Parsley

Note to self: If your teacher tells you to bring something from nature for show-and-tell, she does not want you to bring an alligator! But nothing will stop Magnolia, who's determined to have the best show-and-tell of all--until her reptilian rapscallion starts getting her into some major trouble. Now it's up to Magnolia to find a way to send this troublemaker home--but what could possibly scare an alligator away?

ATOM

This is Not a Love Story

Keren David
Authors:
Keren David

Kitty dreams of a beautiful life, but that's impossible in suburban London where her family is haunted by her father's unexpected death. So when her mum suggests moving to Amsterdam to try a new life, Kitty doesn't take much persuading. Will this be her opportunity to make her life picture perfect? In Amsterdam she meets moody, unpredictable Ethan, and clever, troubled Theo. Two enigmatic boys, who each harbour their own secrets. In a beautiful city and far from home, Kitty finds herself falling in love for the first time. But will love be everything she expected? And will anyone's heart survive?

Hachette Audio

Unspeakable

Abbie Rushton
Authors:
Abbie Rushton

Megan doesn't speak. She hasn't spoken in months.Pushing away the people she cares about is just a small price to pay. Because there are things locked inside Megan's head - things that are screaming to be heard - that she cannot, must not, let out.Then Jasmine starts at school: bubbly, beautiful, talkative Jasmine. And for reasons Megan can't quite understand, life starts to look a bit brighter.Megan would love to speak again, and it seems like Jasmine might be the answer. But if she finds her voice, will she lose everything else?

ATOM

Redeemed

P. C. Cast, Kristin Cast
Authors:
P. C. Cast, Kristin Cast