Jewell Parker Rhodes - Towers Falling - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £6.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780316262217
    • Publication date:17 May 2018

Towers Falling

By Jewell Parker Rhodes

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

From award-winning author Jewell Parker Rhodes, a powerful novel set fifteen years after September 11th, 2001, following three dynamic students who know the events only as history -- but slowly discover how much the attacks still color their community.

When her fifth-grade teacher hints that a series of lessons about home and community will culminate with one big answer about two tall towers once visible outside their classroom window, Deja can't help but feel confused. She sets off on a journey of discovery, with new friends Ben and Sabeen by her side. But just as she gets closer to answering big questions about who she is, what America means, and how communities can grow (and heal), she uncovers new questions, too. Like, why does Pop get so angry when she brings up anything about the towers?

As the fifteenth anniversary of September 11th nears, Towers Falling explores the thought-provoking question of how kids born after 2001 can find meaning in events they have no personal memory of, but which still have a monumental impact on their families, educators, and communities. In the tradition of her revered body of middle grade work including Ninth Ward, Sugar, and Bayou Magic, once again Jewell deftly weaves historical and socio-political layers into a story that is at its heart about friendship, family, and finding your way in a complicated world.

Biographical Notes

Jewell Parker Rhodes is the author of Ninth Ward, a Coretta Scott King honor book, Sugar, winner of the Jane Adams Peace Association book award, and Bayou Magic. She has also written many award-winning books for adults. Jewell lives with her family in Arizona.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780316262224
  • Publication date: 28 Jul 2016
  • Page count: 256
  • Imprint: Little, Brown Young Readers US
Little, Brown

Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald – The Original Screenplay

J.K. Rowling
Authors:
J.K. Rowling

At the end of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, the powerful Dark wizard Gellert Grindelwald was captured in New York with the help of Newt Scamander. But, making good on his threat, Grindelwald escapes custody and sets about gathering followers, most unsuspecting of his true agenda: to raise pure-blood wizards up to rule over all non-magical beings.In an effort to thwart Grindelwald's plans, Albus Dumbledore enlists Newt, his former Hogwarts student, who agrees to help once again, unaware of the dangers that lie ahead. Lines are drawn as love and loyalty are tested, even among the truest friends and family, in an increasingly divided wizarding world. This second original screenplay from J.K. Rowling, illustrated with stunning line art from MinaLima, expands on earlier events that helped shaped the wizarding world, with some surprising nods to the Harry Potter stories that will delight fans of both the books and films.

Running Press Kids

The 12 Days of Christmas

Jill Howarth
Authors:
Jill Howarth

Little, Brown Young Readers US

If You Ever Want to Bring a Pirate to Meet Santa, Don't!

Elise Parsley
Authors:
Elise Parsley

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Celebrate the Season: Let It Snow!

Taylor Garland
Authors:
Taylor Garland

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Celebrate the Season: Home for the Holidays

Taylor Garland
Authors:
Taylor Garland

Corsair

The Other Mother

Matthew Green
Authors:
Matthew Green

This mother is not my mother. She looks like my mother. Exactly like my mother. But she is definitely not my mother. Thirteen-year-old Michael Perkins is dealing with a lot. In the wake of his father's sudden death, he's had to become a de facto parent to his two younger siblings as his mother works double-shifts to keep the family afloat. And he struggles with anger issues. Then one day, Michael wakes up and his mother is gone. She's been replaced by an exact duplicate mother, the 'other mother'. No one else seems to notice the impostor - they act as if nothing's wrong - but Michael knows in his bones that this mother is not his. What follows is the big-hearted, life-enhancing story of a boy forced to be a man too early, struggling with an unusual disorder which offers unique challenges and unique opportunities.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Thank You, Omu!

Oge Mora
Authors:
Oge Mora

A generous woman is rewarded by her community in this remarkable author-illustrator debut that's perfect for the Thanksgiving season, perfect for fans of Last Stop on Market Street.Everyone in the neighborhood dreams of a taste of Omu's delicious stew! One by one, they follow their noses toward the scrumptious scent. And one by one, Omu offers a portion of her meal. Soon the pot is empty. Has she been so generous that she has nothing left for herself?Debut author-illustrator Oge Mora brings a heartwarming story of sharing and community to life in colorful cut-paper designs as luscious as Omu's stew, with an extra serving of love. An author's note explains that "Omu" (pronounced AH-moo) means "queen" in the Igbo language of her parents, but growing up, she used it to mean "Grandma."

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Crash, Splash, or Moo!

Bob Shea
Authors:
Bob Shea

Calling all daredevils! It's time to play CRASH, SPLASH, OR MOO! in this boisterous picture book with all the excitement of a game show.Mr. McMonkey is your host, and your contestants are America's favorite stunt clam, Action Clam...and a cow! These unlikely daredevils face off in a zany sequence of challenges--and readers get to guess the outcome of all the wacky stunts. Winner gets a Golden Banana!Readers will be laughing, cheering, and giving themselves a round of applause as they play the game over and over again. Bob Shea, creator of many favorite funny books, including Unicorn Thinks He's Pretty Great and the Ballet Cat series, provides endless storytime fun with high-energy audience participation.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Thankful Book

Todd Parr
Authors:
Todd Parr

I am thankful for music because it makes me want to dance.I am thankful for my feet because they help me run and play.I am thankful for kisses because they make me feel loved.The perfect book to treasure and share around the holidays and throughout the year is now available as a board book! Todd Parr's bestselling books have celebrated Valentine's Day, Earth Day, and Halloween, teaching kids about unconditional love, respecting the earth, and facing fears, all with his signature blend of playfulness and sensitivity. The Thankful Book celebrates all the little things children can give thanks for. From everyday activities like reading and bathtime to big family meals together and special alone time between parent and child, Todd inspires readers to remember all of life's special moments.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Tool of War

Paolo Bacigalupi
Authors:
Paolo Bacigalupi
Piatkus

The Definition Of Us

Sarah Harris
Authors:
Sarah Harris
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Neck & Neck

Elise Parsley
Authors:
Elise Parsley

In the first stand-alone picture book from the creator of the bestselling Magnolia Says DON'T! books, a giraffe's self-esteem is tested during a hilarious confrontation between unlikely look-alikes!Everybody loves Leopold the giraffe. He inspires awe and wonder. His adoring fans gaze and cheer. Best of all, they feed him lots of deeeelicious snacks! But, one day, a shiny, bobble-headed new rival comes in and ruins everything...a giraffe-shaped balloon! Just how far will Leopold go to prove that he's the hero of the zoo? Readers learn that actions speak far louder than looks in this laugh-out-loud face-off from Elise Parsley--the New York Times bestselling creator of If You Ever Want to Bring an Alligator to School, Don't!

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Unflushables

Ron Bates
Authors:
Ron Bates

James Patterson presents: The Titans of the Toilet! The Wonders from Down Under! Nitro City's very own sewer superheroes: The Plumbers! Super Mario Bros meets Captain Underpants in this action-packed comedy sure to make a splash!Thirteen-year-old Sully Stringfellow has always admired the great plumber heroes of Nitro City. These wrench-wielding warriors guarded the sewers--until they were discredited by the powerful Ironwater Corporation, which has a sinister scheme to take over the city. Without the plumbers, Nitro is being overrun by mutant creatures--and things are about to go totally nuclear thanks to the potentially explosive 50th Anniversary Burrito Festival!It's up to Sully and a league of long-forgotten plumber heroes to save the day, making it safe for all to flush again. It's a dirty job, but someone's got to do it!

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World

Ashley Herring Blake
Authors:
Ashley Herring Blake
Little, Brown Young Readers US

How to Be a Supervillain: Born to Be Good

Michael Fry
Authors:
Michael Fry
Running Press Kids

Elektra's Adventures in Tragedy

Douglas Rees
Authors:
Douglas Rees

Sixteen-year-old Elektra Kamenides is well on her way to becoming a proper southern belle in the small Mississippi college town she calls home. That is, until her mother decides to uproot her and her kid sister Thalia and start over in California. They leave behind Elektra's father--a professor and leading expert on Greek mythology, and Elektra can't understand why. For her, life is tragedy, and all signs point to her family being cursed. Their journey ends in Guadalupe Slough, a community of old Chicano families and oddball drifters sandwiched between San José and the southern shores of San Francisco Bay. The houseboat that her mother has bought, sight unseen, is really just an ancient trailer parked on a barge and sunk into a mudflat. What would Odysseus do? Elektra asks herself. Determined to get back to Mississippi at all costs, she'll beg, cheat, and steal to get there. But things are not always what they seem, and home is wherever you decide to make it.

Running Press Kids

Someone Else's Summer

Rachel Bateman
Authors:
Rachel Bateman

For fans of Julie Halpern and Morgan Matson comes a summer road trip story about adventure, sisters, and finding out who you truly want to be. Anna's always idolized her older sister, Storm. So when Storm dies in a tragic car accident on the night of her high school graduation, Anna is completely lost and her family is torn apart. That is, until she finds Storm's summer bucket list and decides to honor her sister by having the best summer ever--which includes taking an epic road trip to the coast from her sleepy Iowa town. Setting out to do everything on Storm's list along with her sisters best friend Cameron--the boy next door--who knew that Storm's dream summer would eventually lead to Anna's own self-discovery?

Running Press Kids

The Battle of Junk Mountain

Lauren Abbey Greenberg
Authors:
Lauren Abbey Greenberg
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Little & Lion

Brandy Colbert
Authors:
Brandy Colbert

When Suzette comes home to Los Angeles from her boarding school in New England, she isn't sure if she'll ever want to go back. L.A. is where her friends and family are (along with her crush, Emil). And her stepbrother, Lionel, who has been diagnosed with bipolar disorder, needs her emotional support.But as she settles into her old life, Suzette finds herself falling for someone new...the same girl her brother is in love with. When Lionel's disorder spirals out of control, Suzette is forced to confront her past mistakes and find a way to help her brother before he hurts himself - or worse.

Little, Brown

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

J.K. Rowling
Authors:
J.K. Rowling