Katrina Goldsaito - The Sound of Silence - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Sound of Silence

By Katrina Goldsaito
Illustrated by Julia Kuo

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

Wabi Sabi meets The Quiet Book in this story of a Japanese boy who tries to hear the sound of silence in bustling Tokyo.

Yoshio thinks Tokyo sounds like a symphony hall! He delights in everyday sounds--shoes squishing through puddles, raindrops pattering down, and lots of giggles! But one day he meets a musician who tells Yoshio that her favorite sound is ma, the Japanese word for the sound of silence. Yoshio must hear this! But how can he find it amid the hustle and bustle of the city?

In the vein of Wabi Sabi, this book explains a sophisticated Japanese concept in a child-friendly way.

Biographical Notes

Katrina Goldsaito (Author)
Katrina Goldsaito's favorite sound is the sound of bare feet on tatami mats. In Tokyo, she worked as an on-camera TV journalist and producer for NHK-World, and has written for National Geographic, The Christian Science Monitor, NPR, and The Japan Times. She lives near Golden Gate Park with her husband and son, and spends her days eating avocados and working on her first YA novel.

Julia Kuo (Illustrator)
Julia Kuo's favorite sound is kuk-kuk-kuk (the sound an angry squirrel makes). She is the illustrator of Go, Little Green Truck and has created illustrations for American Greetings, the Cleveland Public Library, The New York Times, and Capitol Records, among many others. She works from Chicago for most of the year, and from Taipei over the winter.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780316203371
  • Publication date: 25 Aug 2016
  • Page count: 40
  • Imprint: Little, Brown Young Readers US
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Cars and Trucks Book

Todd Parr
Authors:
Todd Parr

Some trucks help on the farm. Some trucks help in the city. Some cars like to drive in the snow. And some cars like to drive to the beach. All cars and trucks LOVE to be on the ROAD!Todd Parr brings his trademark bright colors and bold lines to his new book about cars, trucks, and the occasional bus. In a fun collection of silly images, Todd explores all of the ways vehicles have an impact on our daily lives, while weaving in messages about positivity, the environment, and safety. Readers will laugh along with the whole four-wheeled gang!

Running Press Kids

Love

Stacy McAnulty, Joanne Lew-Vriethoff
Contributors:
Stacy McAnulty, Joanne Lew-Vriethoff

What is love? Can you only express it in fancy meals, greeting cards, and heart-shaped chocolates? Kids will find love everywhere in this delightful book. It can be found in everyday moments such as baking cookies with grandma, notes from Mom in your lunchbox, or a family singing together on a car trip, and it isn't always what you expect!With delightful illustrations by Joanne Lew-Vriethoff and sweetly simple prose by award-winning author Stacy McAnulty, this is the perfect book to teach children what love means, why it's important, and how they can spread the love in their daily lives.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Don't Touch My Hair!

Sharee Miller
Authors:
Sharee Miller

It seems that wherever Aria goes, someone wants to touch her hair. In the street, strangers reach for her fluffy curls; and even under the sea, in the jungle, and in space, she's chased by a mermaid, monkeys, and poked by aliens... until, finally, Aria has had enough!This humorous picture book speaks to a national conversation on strangers touching black hair (from Solange's song "Don't Touch My Hair", to Phoebe Robinson's You Can't Touch My Hair), and sparks an important conversation on personal boundaries for children as Aria explains that her hair should not be touched without asking for permission first. Commercial, imaginative, and fun, Don't Touch My Hair! can be used to teach young readers about personal boundaries and asking for permission--and that it's all right to be told "no" as well.Author-illustrator Sharee Miller takes the tradition of appreciation of black hair to a fresh, commercial level, as she doesn't seek to convince or remind young readers that their curls are beautiful--she simply acknowledges black beauty while telling a fun, imaginative story.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Princess Hair

Sharee Miller
Authors:
Sharee Miller
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Thank You, Omu!

Oge Mora
Authors:
Oge Mora

A generous woman is rewarded by her community in this remarkable author-illustrator debut that's perfect for the Thanksgiving season, perfect for fans of Last Stop on Market Street.Everyone in the neighborhood dreams of a taste of Omu's delicious stew! One by one, they follow their noses toward the scrumptious scent. And one by one, Omu offers a portion of her meal. Soon the pot is empty. Has she been so generous that she has nothing left for herself?Debut author-illustrator Oge Mora brings a heartwarming story of sharing and community to life in colorful cut-paper designs as luscious as Omu's stew, with an extra serving of love. An author's note explains that "Omu" (pronounced AH-moo) means "queen" in the Igbo language of her parents, but growing up, she used it to mean "Grandma."

Little, Brown Young Readers US

A Big Mooncake for Little Star

Grace Lin
Authors:
Grace Lin

When Little Star's mother bakes a delicious-looking mooncake, she leaves it in the night sky to cool. But it looks so tasty that Little Star can't wait, and every night she must take a little nibble of the perfectly round confection until instead of a glowing, round cookie, there is only a shining trail of crumbs!As Little Star takes bites out of the mooncake, readers see that the moon itself wanes, passing through each phase until it becomes a new moon--and Little Star's mother bakes a new mooncake!Illustrated in a limited palette of mainly black and yellow, this striking, book is the latest dazzling offering from award-winning author Grace Lin.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Secret Life of Squirrels: Back to School!

Nancy Rose
Authors:
Nancy Rose
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Summer Color!

Diana Murray, Zoe Persico
Contributors:
Diana Murray, Zoe Persico

A celebration of the wonder and colors of every child's favorite season--summer!In this celebration of the outdoors, two rambunctious children take off on an adventure from their own backyard. In each new scene they discover the wondrous details--and beautiful colors--of nature. Even when a little summer rain threatens to dampen their grand adventure, the fun continues as woodland scenes come to life in a whole new way.Diana Murray's spirited verse paired with Zoe Persico's charming illustrations hits a wonderful balance of sophisticated and sweet, with details that young children will immediately relate to and layered verse that will enchant readers of all ages.

Running Press Kids

Pink Is for Boys

Eda Kaban, Robb Pearlman
Authors:
Eda Kaban, Robb Pearlman
Little, Brown Young Readers US

What If...

Samantha Berger, Mike Curato
Authors:
Samantha Berger, Mike Curato
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Books That Drive Kids CRAZY!: This Book Is Red

Beck Stanton, Matt Stanton
Authors:
Beck Stanton, Matt Stanton

This clever companion to This Is a Ball and Did You Take the B from My _ook? is the perfect read-aloud for the giggling masses who love Hervé Tullet's Press Here, Lane Smith's It's a Book!, and BJ Novak's The Book With No Pictures.The Books That Drive Kids CRAZY! series offers parents, teachers, and storytellers a hilarious script for fun reading time with children. In book 3, This Book Is Red, something is clearly bonkers when the narrator insists that frogs and penguins are obviously the same color as lobsters--and the claims get more outrageous from there. What is up with this nonsense? Kids will demand to know--and all readers will be howling with laughter all along the way. With strikingly simple text and art, Books That Drive Kids CRAZY! are ideal picks for emergent readers.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Sheep 101

Richard Morris, LeUyen Pham
Contributors:
Richard Morris, LeUyen Pham
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The True Adventures of Esther the Wonder Pig

Steve Jenkins, Derek Walter, Caprice Crane, Cori Doerrfeld
Contributors:
Steve Jenkins, Derek Walter, Caprice Crane, Cori Doerrfeld
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Baby Bear's Book of Tiny Tales

David McPhail
Authors:
David McPhail
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Hey Black Child

Useni Eugene Perkins, Bryan Collier
Contributors:
Useni Eugene Perkins, Bryan Collier

HEY BLACK CHILD--do you know who you are? Who you really are?So begins the widely-recited poem by Useni Eugene Perkins, to be illustrated by award-winning illustrator Bryan Collier. An ode to black children, this empowering picture book is a celebration of African-American lives that promotes the self-esteem, making this both a timely and important book, especially in light of recent events across America.Useni Eugene Perkins's "Hey Black Child" was recently performed on Steve Harvey's show Little Big Shots by four-year-old Pe'Tehn (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QOTZWdIyRJE) and, last fall, was recited by Pe'Tehn when she was three (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5n_DeHMVAkM), blowing away viewers and raising awareness for the confidence-building text.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Claymates

Dev Petty, Lauren Eldridge
Contributors:
Dev Petty, Lauren Eldridge

What can you do with two blobs of clay? Create something amazing! But don't leave them alone for too long. Things might get a little crazy.Watch the claymates squish, smash, and sculpt themselves into the funniest shapes they can think of--from a peanut to an elephant to a blowfish and more--in a crazy competition that will keep young readers giggling. But when the claymates mess themselves up beyond repair, they'll have to work together to fix each other before they're caught in the act! Kids will laugh themselves silly at the antics of these very creative blobs of clay--and they'll never look at their art projects the same way again.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

I Promise

David McPhail
Authors:
David McPhail
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Brave Little Finn

John Churchman, Jennifer Churchman
Authors:
John Churchman, Jennifer Churchman
Little, Brown Young Readers US

One Minute Till Bedtime

Kenn Nesbitt, Christoph Niemann
Contributors:
Kenn Nesbitt, Christoph Niemann
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Nanobots

Chris Gall
Authors:
Chris Gall

Introducing a team of robots powerful enough to change the world--and yet smaller than the dot at the end of this sentence! A boy inventor creates the ultimate in high-tech superheroes that could one day save the world - but they have some smaller problems to take on first! NanoBots are tiny. They're almost too small to see but they can each do a unique and important job: Medibot makes sure their Inventor never catches a cold.... Chewbots gobble up that gum the Inventor trampled into the carpet... Binobot scans the scene of a crime for clues the Inventor could never see... and Seekerbots explore to meet microscopic new creatures. These bots and their high-tech friends sure make the inventor's life easier but when the most AWESOME robot in town is in real trouble, they must band together and prove that sometimes the SMALLEST helpers can be the BIGGEST heroes! Includes fun facts about real nanotechnology in the backmatter.