Jewell Parker Rhodes - Sugar - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Sugar

By Jewell Parker Rhodes

  • Paperback
  • £5.99

Jewell Parker Rhodes' inspiring novel of hope and change in the post-abolition South, now in paperback.

Ten-year-old Sugar lives on the River Road sugar plantation along the banks of the Mississippi. Slavery is over, but laboring in the fields all day doesn't make her feel very free. Thankfully, Sugar has a knack for finding her own fun, especially when she joins forces with forbidden friend Billy, the white plantation owner's son.

Sugar has always yearned to learn more about the world, and she sees her chance when Chinese workers are brought in to help harvest the cane. The older River Road folks feel threatened, but Sugar is fascinated. As she befriends young Beau and elder Master Liu, they introduce her to the traditions of their culture, and she, in turn, shares the ways of plantation life. Sugar soon realizes that she must be the one to bridge the cultural gap and bring the community together. Here is a story of unlikely friendships and how they can change our lives forever.

From Jewell Parker Rhodes, the author of Ninth Ward (a Coretta Scott King Honor Book and a Today show Al's Book Club for Kids pick), here's another tale of a strong, spirited young girl who rises beyond her circumstances and inspires others to work toward a brighter future.

Biographical Notes

Jewell Parker Rhodes is the Piper Endowed Chair and founding artistic director of the Virginia G. Piper Center for Creative Writing at Arizona State University. She has won numerous awards for her books for children and adults. Ninth Ward, her first novel for young readers, was named a Coretta Scott King Honor Book, a Notable Book for a Global Society, and a Today show Al's Book Club for Kids selection. You can visit Jewell online at www.jewellparkerrhodes.com.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780316043069
  • Publication date: 26 Jun 2014
  • Page count: 288
  • Imprint: Little, Brown Young Readers US
ATOM

The Boy and Girl Who Broke The World

Amy Reed
Authors:
Amy Reed
New Harbinger

The Resilience Workbook for Teens

Cheryl M Bradshaw
Authors:
Cheryl M Bradshaw

Running Press Kids

Super Jake & the King of Chaos

Naomi Milliner
Authors:
Naomi Milliner

Little, Brown Young Readers US

How to Be a Supervillain: Bad Guys Finish First

Michael Fry
Authors:
Michael Fry
New Harbinger

The Intuitive Eating Workbook for Teens

Elyse Resch
Authors:
Elyse Resch

New Harbinger

The Social Media Workbook for Teens

Saedi Bocci, Goali
Authors:
Saedi Bocci, Goali

ATOM

Home Girl

Alex Wheatle
Authors:
Alex Wheatle

'Alex Wheatle is the real deal; he writes with heart and authenticity, books that make you laugh and worry and cry and hold your breath. It's a pity there's only one of him' Kit de Waal'I love Alex and all he stands for in the world of literature' Kerry Hudson'Alex Wheatle is an inspirer. He is a vital writer. He is a prince among men. Long may he reign' Lemn Sissay'An author with great talent and great heart' David Almond'A major voice in British children's literature' S F Said'Alex is a one of our foremost literary activists, giving voice to the black working class experience with unsurpassed clarity and compassion. For this alone he should be universally considered a national treasure' Stephen Kelman'A writer who knows unseen places, unheard people and untold stories because he has lived a life that might have remained hidden if he hadn't found within him the urge and talent to write' Yasmin Alibhai-Brown 'This isn't my home. Haven't had a proper home since...This is just somewhere I'll be resting my bones for a week and maybe a bit. This time next year you'll forget who I am. I haven't got a diddly where I'll be by then. But I'm used to it'New from the winner of the Guardian Children's Book Award: Home Girl is the story of Naomi, a teenage girl growing up fast in the care system. It is a wholly modern story which sheds a much needed light on what can be an unsettling life - and the consequences that can follow when children are treated like pawns on a family chessboard. Home Girl is fast-paced and funny, tender, tragic and full of courage - just like Naomi. It is award-winning author Alex Wheatle's most moving and personal novel to date.

Running Press Kids

Secret Agents Jack and Max Stalwart: Book 3

Elizabeth Singer Hunt, Brian Williamson
Contributors:
Elizabeth Singer Hunt, Brian Williamson

The third jet-setting installment in the thrilling chapter book series SECRET AGENTS JACK AND MAX STALWART, by award-winning children's author Elizabeth Singer Hunt (SECRET AGENT JACK STALWART). Now Jack teams up with his older brother Max to solve an intriguing Irish mystery, using their special training as secret agents. Ireland's greatest national treasure, the sacred Book of Kells, vanishes from a library in Dublin. Clues point to the Mastermind being involved. Will Jack and Max be able to find the Book and uncover the Mastermind's identity before he strikes again?

Running Press Kids

Secret Agents Jack and Max Stalwart: Book 4

Elizabeth Singer Hunt, Brian Williamson
Contributors:
Elizabeth Singer Hunt, Brian Williamson

The fourth globe-trotting installment in the exciting SECRET AGENTS JACK AND MAX STALWART series, by beloved children's author Elizabeth Singer Hunt (SECRET AGENT JACK STALWART). Now Jack teams up with his older brother Max to solve a thrilling California puzzle, using their special training as Global Protection Force agents.In the foothills of California's Sierra Nevada Mountains, an unbelievable discovery is made: $10 million in rare coins dating back to the California Gold Rush! Secret Agents Jack and Max Stalwart are sent to protect the treasure. But almost as soon as they arrive, it vanishes into thin air. Little do they know that the culprit is someone from Jack's past. Unfortunately for the brothers, the criminal isn't only after the loot. He wants revenge.

ATOM

Internment

Samira Ahmed
Authors:
Samira Ahmed

'Samira has created a chilling, powerful, all-too-real near future that's a must-read for everyone's TBR' -- Karen M. McManus, author of One Of Us Is LyingRebellions are built on hope.Set in a horrifying 'fifteen minutes in the future' United States, seventeen-year-old Layla Amin is forced into an internment camp for Muslim-Americans along with her parents.With the help of newly-made friends also trapped within the camp, her boyfriend on the outside, and an unexpected alliance, Layla begins a journey to fight for freedom, leading a revolution against the internment camp's Director and his guards.Heart-racing and emotional, Internment questions the imaginary boundaries that separate us and challenges readers to fight the complicit silence that exists in our society today.'If you enjoyed The Hate U Give, this should be at the top of your TBR pile' -- Culturefly

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Survival Tails

Katrina Charman
Authors:
Katrina Charman

Sled dog Samson wants nothing more than to be part of Ernest Shackleton's historic voyage to Antarctica. He wants to feel the snow under his paws and the wind on his face as he races across the ice fields, and most of all he wants to help his humans find eternal glory as they chart the last unexplored continent. His fellow sled dog, Bummer, just wants to get through the voyage in one piece. Why would he want to face down a dangerous, icy wasteland when he could stay inside his kennel, warm and safe?Treacherous seas and dangerous ice packs are not the only threat they'll face on their voyage, however. Not every dog on Shackleton's team is willing to put the expedition before themselves. Amundsen, a wolf dog with a grudge against Samson, will stop at nothing to ensure he's the best dog on the expedition...even if it means sabotaging Samson and his friends.When their ship, the Endurance, becomes trapped in the sea ice, leaving the dogs and men with no way home, their journey becomes not about personal glory, but about survival. Samson, Bummer, and the other dogs will have to put aside their differences and band together to rescue their humans...and themselves.With engaging nonfiction back matter that delves into the fascinating true story behind the book, Survival Tails: Endurance in Antarctica is sure to keep readers entertained as the second entry in this series of action-packed animal adventures.

ATOM

All The Lonely People

David Owen
Authors:
David Owen
Running Press Kids

Love

Stacy McAnulty, Joanne Lew-Vriethoff
Contributors:
Stacy McAnulty, Joanne Lew-Vriethoff
Little, Brown Young Readers US

10 Little Kisses

Taylor Garland
Authors:
Taylor Garland

This Valentine's Day, everyone from puppies to polar bears is saying "I love you!" Share hugs and kisses--and an easy counting lesson--with baby in this sing-along board book full of sweet animal photography.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

How She Died, How I Lived

Mary Crockett
Authors:
Mary Crockett
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Invisible String

Patrice Karst, Joanne Lew-Vriethoff
Contributors:
Patrice Karst, Joanne Lew-Vriethoff
Little, Brown Young Readers US

An Assassin's Guide to Love and Treason

Virginia Boecker
Authors:
Virginia Boecker
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Pearl

Molly Idle
Authors:
Molly Idle
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Rule

Ellen Goodlett
Authors:
Ellen Goodlett

Three Dark Crowns meets Pretty Little Liars in this sensational and striking new fantasy from debut author Ellen Goodlett, for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Kristin Cashore.Three girls. Three deadly secrets. Only one can wear the crown.The king is dying, his heir has just been murdered, and rebellion brews in the east. But the kingdom of Kolonya and the outer Reaches has one last option before it descends into leaderless chaos.Or rather, three unexpected options.Zofi has spent her entire life trekking through the outer Reaches with her band of Travelers. She would do anything to protect the band, her family. But no one can ever find out how far she's already gone.Akeylah was raised in the Eastern Reach, surrounded by whispers of rebellion and abused by her father. Desperate to escape, she makes a decision that threatens the whole kingdom.Ren grew up in Kolonya, serving as a lady's maid and scheming her way out of the servants' chambers. But one such plot could get her hung for treason if anyone ever discovers what she's done.When the king summons the girls, they arrive expecting arrest or even execution. Instead they learn the truth: they are his illegitimate daughters, and one must become his new heir. But someone in Kolonya knows their secrets, and that someone will stop at nothing to keep the sisters from their destiny... to rule.Magic, mystery, and blackmail abound in the first book of this sensational and striking fantasy duology.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Year Of The Rat

Grace Lin
Authors:
Grace Lin

In this sequel to The Year of the Dog, Pacy has another big year in store for her. The year of the dog was a very lucky year: she met her best friend Melody and discovered her true talents. However, the year of the rat brings big changes: Pacy must deal with Melody moving to California, finds the courage to forge on with her dream of becoming a writer and illustrator, and learn to face some of her own flaws. Pacy encounters prejudice, struggles with acceptance and must find the beauty in change.