Anton Svensson - Little, Brown Book Group

Anton Svensson



'Anton Svensson' is a pseudonym for Stefan Thunberg and Anders Roslund.

Stefan Thunberg is one of Scandinavia's most celebrated screenwriters. His body of work spans popular TV series such as Henning Mankell's Wallander and Håkan Nesser's Van Veeteren as well as two of Sweden's biggest box office successes in recent years: Hamilton and Jägarna 2. While Thunberg achieved fame as a screenwriter, the rest of his family became infamous in an entirely different way: his father and brothers were Sweden's most notorious bank robbers, dubbed Militärligan (The Military Gang) by the media.

Anders Roslund is an award-winning investigative journalist and one of the most successful and critically acclaimed Scandinavian crime writers of our time. Roslund is part of the New York Times bestselling author duo Roslund & Hellström, who are recipients of many prestigious awards, including the CWA International Dagger, the Glass Key and the Swedish Academy of Crime Writers' Award, and who boast sales exceeding five million copies. Films and TV series based on Roslund & Hellström's novels are in the works, both in Hollywood and Europe.

Books currently available by this author

Date published: New > Old

Sphere

The Sons

Anton Svensson
Authors:
Anton Svensson

'Unique and stunning. One of the most powerful novels you'll read this year'Stephen Booth on The FatherIn the second part of the highly acclaimed and internationally bestselling series Made in Sweden, one brother fictionalises the real crimes of his own family for a remarkable and epic novel.After six years in prison, Sweden's most notorious criminal Leo Dûvnjac is free, acquitted of all but two of the ten bank robberies he and his two younger brothers pulled off.While behind bars, he befriended Sam Larsen, who was convicted of murdering his own father - and also happens to be the brother of the cop who caught Leo, Detective John Broncks.With Sam at his side, Leo seeks out his now-law-abiding brothers for one last job and a chance at redemption - or revenge. But Bronks is on to him, and Leo's father has other plans for his sons . . .Now two sets of brothers will play out the tragic and thrilling destinies of childhoods built on heartbreaking betrayal.Praise for The Father and The Sons'A powerful real-life story'Guardian'The emotional centre of the story is truly compelling . . . the sweep and scope are epic'Herald'Superior. . . builds to a breathless climax'Sun'A deep, clean cut into the body of fathers, sons, loyalty and family'Sainsburys Magazine'Will delight fans of Nordic Noir'Crime Fiction Lover'Mind boggling and captivating'The Crime Warp'An unbelievably exciting and authentic story. . . One of the year's best crime stories'Östran, Sweden'One of the summer's best thrillers'Café, Sweden'A thrilling novel that becomes something much more than a book you can't put down'Tara, Sweden'A gripping coming-of-age story, flush with exciting scenes and the psychological battle between father and son'Falu-Kuriren, Sweden

Sphere

The Father

Anton Svensson
Authors:
Anton Svensson

'A powerful real-life story'GuardianAn epic crime thriller for fans of Jo Nesbo, The Father is inspired by the extraordinary true story of three brothers who became Sweden's most successful criminals - written by their real brother.None had committed a crime before. All were under 24 years old. All of them would be changed forever.In this intoxicating, heartbreaking thriller, the real-life fourth brother, who was not involved in the real robberies, tells of three boys who grew from innocent children to become public enemy number one - and of the man who made them that way.'Unique and stunning. One of the most powerful novels you'll read this year'Stephen Booth'The emotional centre of the story is truly compelling . . . the sweep and scope are epic'Herald'Superior. . . builds to a breathless climax'Sun'A deep, clean cut into the body of fathers, sons, loyalty and family'Sainsburys Magazine'Will delight fans of Nordic Noir'Crime Fiction Lover'Mind boggling and captivating'The Crime Warp'An incredible story'Crime Time'Incredibly efficient and easy to read . . . gripping and thrilling'Helsingborgs Dagblad, Sweden'An unbelievably exciting and authentic story. . . One of the year's best crime stories'Östran, Sweden'An insider story that beats any action film'Aftonbladet, Sweden'A remarkable blend of fact and fiction'Skånska Dagbladet, Sweden'Many of the scenes stick with you'Expressen, Sweden'A powerful and riveting reading experience'Deckarbloggen, Sweden'One of the summer's best thrillers'Café, Sweden'The action in The Father is captivating. It holds us in suspense from the first page to the last'LitteraturMagazinet, Sweden'I have a soft spot not only for suspense novels, but also for coming-of-age stories; here, I get both!'Bokbabbel, Sweden'The craftsmanship in this novel is first-class. It is both exciting and dramatic in an almost cinematic way'Gefle Dagblad, Sweden'It is hard to put The Father down for more than the briefest moment. It is an empathetic story that vividly portrays perpetrators, victims and police'Upsala Nya Tidning, Sweden'It is captivating to read about the inner workings of a gang of robbers'Borås Tidning, Sweden'A very clever suspense novel, a classic story of crime and punishment that is simultaneously a gripping family drama with a genuinely painful element'BTJ, Sweden'The Father is more than a traditional suspense novel. It is also a story of exclusion, a fractured family, an unfamiliar Sweden and a kind of honour culture. This is why it is so totally relevant to us'Mariestads-Tidningen, Sweden'The Father isn't just exciting - it also gives a sincere picture of a home that is a far cry from that of your average Joe'Ölandsbladet, Sweden'A thrilling novel that becomes something much more than a book you can't put down'Tara, Sweden'A flawlessly constructed thriller'Femina, Sweden'The Father is thoroughly exciting from the first line to the last. Seductively well-written'Kristianstadsbladet, Sweden'A gripping coming-of-age story, flush with exciting scenes and the psychological battle between father and son'Falu-Kuriren, Sweden'The Father is a novel where we know already from the beginning how it will all end, but the way there is worth our while'Aftonbladet, Sweden'A book that seems infallible: bring on the cartloads of stars, the stellar reviews and the millions of readers'de Volkskrant, Netherlands'The Father is a book that will elicit a lot of response, a must-read for every crime lover. Actually, a must for anyone who likes to read'Hebban, The Netherlands'An incredible crime novel'Brabants Dagblad, Netherlands'The meticulous preparation and execution of the robberies are depicted stunningly' NRC Handelsblad, Netherlands'It is amazing how much tension the authors create while merely describing the preparations for the robberies. Even more exciting are the robberies themselves'VN Thriller & Detective Guide, Netherlands'Never before have I read a book that so successfully explains how people can end up as criminals'Het Nieuwsblad, Netherlands'The Father provides an intriguing insight in the criminal life'De Telegraaf, Netherlands'The Father is a technically wonderful novel crafted with breathtaking cleverness' Corriere della Sera, Italy'Totally crazy, totally reckless and totally brilliant: a well-researched fictional reality of a book ... the best crime thriller of the year so far'Nordjyske Stiftstidende, Denmark'The structure is strictly cinematic: well-formed scenes with sharp dialogue and seamless progress, making reading a pleasure. Once you've started reading, it's hard to put the book down'Politiken, Denmark'It's extremely well written, thrilling, gripping, gruesome, cheerful, anguished, heartwarming, and ice cold - spectacular in all ways. The Father is a world-class piece of fiction'Fredericia Dagblad, Denmark'[An] action-packed page turner - not for the faint of heart'Elle, Germany