Chris Brookmyre - Little, Brown Book Group

Chris Brookmyre



Chris Brookmyre was a journalist before becoming a full-time novelist with the publication of his award-winning debut Quite Ugly One Morning, which established him as one of Britain's leading crime authors. His Jack Parlabane novels have sold more than one million copies in the UK alone, and Black Widow won both the McIlvanney Prize and the Theakston's Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year award.
Coming Soon
Little, Brown

Fallen Angel

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre

ONE FAMILY, TWO HOLIDAYS, ONE DEVASTATING SECRET To new nanny Amanda, the Temple family seem to have it all: the former actress; the famous professor; their three successful grown-up children. But like any family, beneath the smiles and hugs there lurks far darker emotions. Sixteen years earlier, little Niamh Temple died while they were on holiday in Portugal. Now, as Amanda joins the family for a reunion at their seaside villa, she begins to suspect one of them might be hiding something terrible...And suspicion is a dangerous thing.From Chris Brookmyre, winner of the Theakstons and McIllvanney awards for Black Widow, comes a standalone psychological thriller full of twists, lies and betrayal. PRAISE FOR CHRIS BROOKMYRE'Guaranteed to keep you guessing' Ian Rankin'Extremely sophisticated crime' Sunday Times'Exceptionally good' Guardian'In the pantheon of great crime writers' Elly Griffiths 'Scales new heights of invention' Times Literary Supplement'Brookmyre writes beautifully . . . I was hooked' Literary Review

Abacus

Siege Mentality

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre

Dark deeds make for devilish reading in this short story from the multi-award-winning crime author of Black Widow, Want You Gone and Where the Bodies Are Buried.***Please note that this story was originally published as The Last Siege of Bothwell Castle in the Bloody Scotland anthology***A hostage crisis is developing at a castle on the outskirts of Glasgow, during what is supposed to be Superintendent Catherine McLeod's bank holiday relaxation time. Those trapped inside the castle are used to dealing with the volatile mix of light-fingered teens and obnoxious tourists; less so a truckload of explosives and a hidden agenda. For Catherine and her team, it's a recipe for a potentially deadly day off.Tense, twisted and laugh-out-loud funny, Siege Mentality is a day-trip you won't forget.For more from Catherine McLeod, read the Jasmine Sharp trilogy, beginning with Where the Bodies are Buried, a sample from which is included with this short story.

Orbit

Places in the Darkness

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre

Million-copy-selling Chris Brookmyre takes his fiction further than ever before in this wildly inventive and sharply-plotted novel set in the unforgiving emptiness of space.**LONGLISTED FOR THE MCILVANNEY PRIZE FOR CRIME WRITING 2018**"This is as close to a city without crime as mankind has ever seen."Ciudad de Cielo is the 'city in the sky', a space station where hundreds of scientists and engineers work in earth's orbit, building the colony ship that will one day take humanity to the stars. When a mutilated body is found on the CdC, the eyes of the world are watching. Top-of the-class investigator, Alice Blake, is sent from Earth to team up with CdC's Freeman - a jaded cop with more reason than most to distrust such planetside interference. As the death toll climbs and factions aboard the station become more and more fractious, Freeman and Blake will discover clues to a conspiracy that threatens not only their own lives, but the future of humanity itself. Praise for this author: 'FASCINATING, FAST-PACED BUT THOUGHTFUL' Iain M. Banks 'INGENIOUS' SFX 'ENTERTAINING AND INTELLIGENT' Patrick Ness 'RAZOR SHARP' The Big Issue 'BRILLIANT' Charles Stross 'TERRIFYINGLY ADDICTIVE' Guardian 'GRIPPING' Scotsman 'GUARANTEEED TO KEEP YOU GUESSING' Ian Rankin

Little, Brown

Want You Gone

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre
Abacus

Black Widow

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre

'A celtic Gone Girl... guaranteed to keep you guessing'Ian Rankin*****WINNER Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year**********WINNER Bloody Scotland McIlvanney Prize for Crime Novel of the Year*****Twists abound in the brilliant new psychological thriller from master author Chris Brookmyre - perfect for readers of The Girl on the Train, I See You and Disclaimer.Did she do it? Did he deserve it?Diana Jager is clever, strong and successful, a skilled surgeon and fierce campaigner via her blog about sexism. Yet it takes only hours for her life to crumble when her personal details are released on the internet as revenge for her writing.Then she meets Peter. He's kind, generous, and knows nothing about her past: the second chance she's been waiting for. Within six months, they are married. Within six more, Peter is dead in a road accident, a nightmare end to their fairytale romance.But Peter's sister Lucy doesn't believe in fairytales, and tasks maverick reporter Jack Parlabane with discovering the dark truth behind the woman the media is calling Black Widow...'Black Widow is a stand-out thriller'Renee Knight, author of Disclaimer

Little, Brown

Dead Girl Walking

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre

Life is dangerous when you have everything to lose.Famous, beautiful and talented, Heike Gunn has the world at her feet. Then, one day, she simply vanishes.Jack Parlabane has lost everything: his journalism career, his marriage, his self-respect. A call for help from an old friend offers a chance for redemption - but only if he can find out what happened to Heike.Pursued by those who would punish him for past crimes, Parlabane enters the world of Heike's band, Savage Earth Heart, a group at breaking point. Each of its members seems to be hiding something, not least its newest recruit Monica Halcrow, whose possible relationship with Heike has become a public obsession.Monica's own story, however, reveals a far darker truth. Fixated on Heike from day one, she has been engulfed by paranoia, jealousy and fear, as she discovers the hidden price of fame. From Berlin to Barcelona, from the streets of Milan to remote Scottish islands, Parlabane must find out what happened before it's too late, all while the walls are closing in on him...

Little, Brown

The Last Day of Christmas

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre
Abacus

Flesh Wounds

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre
Little, Brown

When The Devil Drives

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre

Is the devil merely the name we give the worst in ourselves?When private investigator Jasmine Sharp is hired to find Tessa Garrion, a young woman who has vanished without trace, it becomes increasingly clear that there are those who want her to stay that way. What begins as a simple search awakens a malevolence that has lain dormant for three decades, putting Jasmine in the crosshairs of those who would stop at nothing to keep their secrets buried.Uncovering a hidden history of sex, drugs, ritualism and murder, Jasmine realises she may need a little help from dark places herself if she's going to get to the truth. But then needs must...

Abacus

Where The Bodies Are Buried

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre
Abacus

Jaggy Splinters

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre