Charlotte Betts - Little, Brown Book Group

Charlotte Betts



Charlotte Betts began her working life as a fashion designer in London. A career followed in interior design, property management and lettings.

Always a bookworm, Charlotte discovered her passion for writing after her three children and two step-children had grown up. The Apothecary's Daughter is her debut novel and won the YouWriteOn Book of the Year in 2010, the Romantic Novelists' Association Joan Hessayon Award for New Writers in 2011 and the RoNA's Historical Category award for 2013. The sequel, The Painter's Apprentice was published in 2012 and shortlisted for the Festival of Romance's Best Historical Read Award in 2012. The Spice Merchant's Wife was published in 2013 and won the Festival of Romance's Best Historical Read Award in 2013.

Piatkus

The Palace of Lost Dreams

Charlotte Betts
Authors:
Charlotte Betts

Hyderabad, India. 1798.Beatrice Sinclair, a grieving young widow facing financial destitution, has travelled from Hampshire to Hyderabad to visit her brother, an employee of the British East India Company. There, she is astonished to discover that he has married a beautiful Indian girl and lives with his wife's extended family in a dilapidated palace, the Jahanara Mahal - famed for the theft of a fabled diamond many years ago.As an outsider in an unfamiliar world, Bee faces many challenges - not least of all building a new and meaningful life after the heartbreak she has endured. Meanwhile the French and British forces become locked in a battle over India's riches, and matters are complicated further by the presence of the dashing Harry Wyndam: a maverick ex-soldier and suspected spy.With rebellion in the air, Bee must decide where her loyalties lie . . .

Piatkus

The Dressmaker's Secret

Charlotte Betts
Authors:
Charlotte Betts

Italy, 1819. Emilia Barton and her mother Sarah live a nomadic existence, travelling from town to town as itinerant dressmakers to escape their past. When they settle in the idyllic coastal town of Pesaro, Emilia desperately hopes that, this time, they have found a permanent home. But when Sarah is brutally attacked by an unknown assailant, a deathbed confession turns Emilia's world upside down.Seeking refuge as a dressmaker in the eccentric household of Princess Caroline of Brunswick, Emilia experiences her first taste of love with the charming Alessandro. But her troubling history gnaws away at her. Might she, a humble dressmaker's daughter, have a more aristocratic past than she could have imagined? When the Princess sends her on an assignment to London, she grasps the opportunity to unravel the truth.Caught up in a web of treachery and deceit, Emilia is determined to discover who she really is - even if she risks losing everything . . .

Piatkus

The House in Quill Court

Charlotte Betts
Authors:
Charlotte Betts
Piatkus

Christmas at Quill Court

Charlotte Betts
Authors:
Charlotte Betts

December 1815: the Stanhope sisters are eagerly preparing for Christmas at Quill Court, decking the halls and chattering excitedly about the festivities. Emily, the eldest Stanhope girl, pines for her dashing but distant fiancé Captain Hugh Seymour, whom she loves desperately but she worries he holds a candle for her flighty best friend Selina. Emily has competed with Selina for a man's affection once before, and her surprise arrival at Quill Court this Christmas has set the Stanhope family on edge.Can Emily overcome her doubts about her impending nuptials, and prevent the captivating Selina from enticing away her beloved Hugh? Whatever the outcome, this will be a Christmas to remember . . .Introducing the sumptuous Regency world soon to be seen in Charlotte Betts' The House in Quill Court, this is a story sure to warm your heart this winter.

Piatkus

The Chateau on the Lake

Charlotte Betts
Authors:
Charlotte Betts

1792. As a teacher at her parents' Academy for Young Ladies in the heart of London, Madeleine Moreau has lived her life sheltered from the outside world. But on the night of a dazzling Masquerade, tragedy strikes and she is left alone in the world. Desperate to find the family she never knew, Madeleine impulsively travels to France in search of them. But with war around the corner, and fearing for Madeleine's safety, the enigmatic Comte Etienne d'Aubery offers her protection at his home, Chateau Mirabelle.Chateau Mirabelle enchants Madeleine with its startling beauty, but it is a place of dark and haunting secrets. As the Revolution gathers momentum and the passions of the populace are enflamed, Madeleine must take control of her own destiny and unravel events of the past in order to secure a chance of future happiness. The Chateau on the Lake is an enthralling historical novel set during the time of the French Revolution; rich, evocative and immersive. If you love Philippa Gregory and Joanne Harris, you will adore Charlotte Betts.

Piatkus

The Milliner's Daughter

Charlotte Betts
Authors:
Charlotte Betts

1666. When her apothecary husband sickens with the plague and the Great Fire sweeps through London, the beautiful, and now twice-widowed Arabella is left homeless and destitute. Determined to secure a better future for herself and her five children, she must find a new husband. When she meets the dull, but wealthy, Mr Goddard, Arabella dares to believe that her worries are over, until her charismatic and charming childhood sweetheart, Charlie, walks back into her life . . . In this exclusive digital short story, Charlotte Betts shares a stunning tale of passion filled to the brim with historical colour and flavour.Discover Piatkus Entice: temptation at your fingertips - www.piatkusentice.co.uk

Hachette Audio

The Spice Merchant's Wife

Charlotte Betts
Authors:
Charlotte Betts

1666. Newly married to a wealthy spice merchant, Kate Finche believes all her dreams of a happy family life are just around the corner until the Great Fire rages through London. She watches in horror as their livelihood goes up in flames, filling the air with the heady scents of cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves.As the city is devastated, Kate's husband, Robert is forced to seek employment to ensure their survival, but when he is found drowned, Kate refuses to believe that he has taken his own life. Widowed and penniless, she seeks refuge in The House of Perfume, the home of blind perfumer Gabriel Harte, who awakens Kate's senses to a whole new world. But as she flees from this forbidden love, her husband's murderer comes looking for her . . . The Spice Merchant's Wife is a stunning novel, bursting with the colour and flavour of Restoration London -- perfect for readers of Phillipa Gregory, Joanne Harris and Patrick Suskind's Perfume.

Hachette Audio

The Painter's Apprentice

Charlotte Betts
Authors:
Charlotte Betts
Hachette Audio

The Apothecary's Daughter

Charlotte Betts
Authors:
Charlotte Betts

1665. Susannah Leyton has grown up behind the counter of her father's apothecary shop in bustling Fleet Street. A skilled student - the resinous scents of lavender, rosemary, liquorice and turpentine run in her blood - her father has granted her the freedom to pursue her considerable talents. But Susannah is dealt a shocking blow when her widowed father marries again, and her new step-mother seems determined to remove her from the apothecary shop for good.A proposal of marriage from the charming Henry Savage seems to offer Susannah an escape. But as the plague sweeps through London, tragedy strikes, and dark secrets in her husband's past begin to unfold. It will take all of Susannah's courage and passion to save herself from tragedy . . .