Charlotte Betts - Little, Brown Book Group

Charlotte Betts



Charlotte Betts began her working life as a fashion designer in London. A career followed in interior design, property management and lettings.

Always a bookworm, Charlotte discovered her passion for writing after her three children and two step-children had grown up. The Apothecary's Daughter is her debut novel and won the YouWriteOn Book of the Year in 2010, the Romantic Novelists' Association Joan Hessayon Award for New Writers in 2011 and the RoNA's Historical Category award for 2013. The sequel, The Painter's Apprentice was published in 2012 and shortlisted for the Festival of Romance's Best Historical Read Award in 2012. The Spice Merchant's Wife was published in 2013 and won the Festival of Romance's Best Historical Read Award in 2013.

Piatkus

The Palace of Lost Dreams

Charlotte Betts
Authors:
Charlotte Betts
Piatkus

The Dressmaker's Secret

Charlotte Betts
Authors:
Charlotte Betts

A sumptuously romantic story bursting with historical colour and flavour, perfect for readers of Dinah Jefferies, Lucinda Riley and Jenny Ashcroft.'Romantic, engaging and hugely satisfying' Katie Fford on The Apothecary's Daughter*****Italy, 1819. Emilia Barton and her mother Sarah live a nomadic existence, travelling from town to town as itinerant dressmakers to escape their past. When they settle in the idyllic coastal town of Pesaro, Emilia desperately hopes that, this time, they have found a permanent home. But when Sarah is brutally attacked by an unknown assailant, a deathbed confession turns Emilia's world upside down.Seeking refuge as a dressmaker in the eccentric household of Princess Caroline of Brunswick, Emilia experiences her first taste of love with the charming Alessandro. But her troubling history gnaws away at her. Might she, a humble dressmaker's daughter, have a more aristocratic past than she could have imagined? When the Princess sends her on an assignment to London, she grasps the opportunity to unravel the truth.Caught up in a web of treachery and deceit, Emilia is determined to discover who she really is - even if she risks losing everything . . .*****Reader reviews:'You will never be disappointed with a Charlotte Betts book!' Amazon reviewer'Well-written and thought-provoking' Goodreads reviewer'A fantastic story loaded with history' Amazon reviewer

Piatkus

The House in Quill Court

Charlotte Betts
Authors:
Charlotte Betts

1813. Venetia Lovell lives by the sea in Kent with her pretty, frivolous mother and idle younger brother. Venetia's father, Theo, is an interior decorator to the rich and frequently travels away from home, leaving his sensible and artistic daughter to look after the family. Venetia designs paper hangings and she and her father often daydream about having an imaginary shop where they would display the highest quality furniture, fabrics and art to his clients. When a handsome but antagonistic stranger, Jack Chamberlaine, arrives at the Lovell's cottage just before Christmas bringing terrible news, Venetia's world is turned upside-down and the family have no option but to move to London, to the House in Quill Court and begin a new life. Here, Venetia's courage and creativity are tested to breaking point, and she discovers a love far greater than she could have ever imagined . . . From the multi-award-winning author of The Apothecary's Daughter, The House in Quill Court is a gorgeously evocative Regency novel bursting with historical flavour and characters you won't forget. If you love Philippa Gregory and Joanne Harris, you will adore Charlotte Betts.

Piatkus

Christmas at Quill Court

Charlotte Betts
Authors:
Charlotte Betts

December 1815: the Stanhope sisters are eagerly preparing for Christmas at Quill Court, decking the halls and chattering excitedly about the festivities. Emily, the eldest Stanhope girl, pines for her dashing but distant fiancé Captain Hugh Seymour, whom she loves desperately but she worries he holds a candle for her flighty best friend Selina. Emily has competed with Selina for a man's affection once before, and her surprise arrival at Quill Court this Christmas has set the Stanhope family on edge.Can Emily overcome her doubts about her impending nuptials, and prevent the captivating Selina from enticing away her beloved Hugh? Whatever the outcome, this will be a Christmas to remember . . .Introducing the sumptuous Regency world soon to be seen in Charlotte Betts' The House in Quill Court, this is a story sure to warm your heart this winter.

Piatkus

The Chateau on the Lake

Charlotte Betts
Authors:
Charlotte Betts
Piatkus

The Milliner's Daughter

Charlotte Betts
Authors:
Charlotte Betts

1666. When her apothecary husband sickens with the plague and the Great Fire sweeps through London, the beautiful, and now twice-widowed Arabella is left homeless and destitute. Determined to secure a better future for herself and her five children, she must find a new husband. When she meets the dull, but wealthy, Mr Goddard, Arabella dares to believe that her worries are over, until her charismatic and charming childhood sweetheart, Charlie, walks back into her life . . . In this exclusive digital short story, Charlotte Betts shares a stunning tale of passion filled to the brim with historical colour and flavour.Discover Piatkus Entice: temptation at your fingertips - www.piatkusentice.co.uk

Piatkus

The Spice Merchant's Wife

Charlotte Betts
Authors:
Charlotte Betts
Piatkus

The Painter's Apprentice

Charlotte Betts
Authors:
Charlotte Betts
Piatkus

The Apothecary's Daughter

Charlotte Betts
Authors:
Charlotte Betts

The ebook bestseller1665. Susannah Leyton has grown up behind the counter of her father's apothecary shop in bustling Fleet Street. A skilled student - the resinous scents of lavender, rosemary, liquorice and turpentine run in her blood - her father has granted her the freedom to pursue her considerable talents. But Susannah is dealt a shocking blow when her widowed father marries again, and her new step-mother seems determined to remove her from the apothecary shop for good.A proposal of marriage from the charming Henry Savage seems to offer Susannah an escape. But as the plague sweeps through London, tragedy strikes, and dark secrets in her husband's past begin to unfold. It will take all of Susannah's courage and passion to save herself from tragedy . . .