Jilly Bond - Little, Brown Book Group

Jilly Bond



JILLY BOND has recorded over 300 audiobooks and won four Audiofile Earphones Awards. She also regularly appears on stage, and has appeared at the National Theatre
in "Island", at the Birmingham Repertory in "Jump!", Manchester Lowry in "Transmissions", the English Theatre of Hamburg in "Othello" and "Mrs Warren's Profession" and on the Edinburgh and London Fringes, including at the Finborough as human-rights lawyer Fethiye Cetin in "I Wish to Die Singing" which won the Best Play UK Studio Theatre Awards. She has recorded over 100 radio plays for the BBC, as well as playing Bridget in "The Archers", and TV work has includedDr Greene in "Doctors", Dr Jannatie in "Judge John Deed" and roles in "Comedy Nation", "People Like Us", "My Hero" & "Alastair McGowan's Big Impression".

Hachette Audio

Christmas Cakes and Mistletoe Nights

Hachette Audio

Seven Days of Us

Francesca Hornak
Authors:
Francesca Hornak

'One of the best books of the year' Hello!The utterly brilliant, life-affirming Christmas story for fans of One Day. Also the Radio 2 Bookclub pick for Christmas. It's Christmas, and the Birch family is gathering for the first time in years. Emma is elated at having everybody under one roof, but her oldest child, Olivia, is only home because she has nowhere else to go. She's just returned from treating an epidemic abroad and must stay in quarantine for a week - and so, too should her family.For the next seven days, no one can leave the house and no one can enter.It doesn't sound too hard. But a week with your nearest and dearest can feel like an eternity, especially when they're all harbouring secrets.One of whom is about to come knocking at their door...Praise for Seven Days of Us:'Sharply observed by Hornak's satirical eye, this has "Working Title film deal" written all over it' Glamour'I loved this comic drama . . . the plot is genius . . . and the results are hilarious and touching' Daily Mail'LOVED it! Warm and humane, funny and sad, with a great, twisty plot, Seven Days of Us is absolute pleasure reading from beginning to end. Francesca Hornak is a true talent. Just gorgeous!' Marian Keyes'Francesca Hornak is hilariously funny with characters that jump off the page, grab you, and just won't let go' Rosamund Lupton, bestselling author of Sister 'Expertly captures the joys and the tensions of spending any time with those who know you best. It thoroughly deserves to be this year's big Christmas hit' The i'Absorbing, insightful and immensely enjoyable' Laura Barnett, bestselling author of The Versions of Us'Compassionate, witty and wise' Saskia Sarginson, bestselling author of The Twins'I loved this comic drama . . . the plot is genius . . . and the results are hilarious and touching' Daily Mail'I LOVED Seven Days of Us. The story swallowed me up. It has all the makings of your classic rom-com, with characters that are both remarkable yet wonderfully relatable, thanks to Francesca Hornak's acutely observational storytelling. The family tension is all too real. Brilliant!' The Unmumsy Mum'Gripping, powerfully emotional and life-affirming. I read it in one sitting!' Maeve Haran, bestselling author of Having it All'Touching, funny, emotionally intelligent, Seven Days of Us is pure pleasure from beginning to end. It's stylishly written and totally engrossing. I really, really loved it' Adele Geras'It's a cliché to say this book is a rollercoaster but the sun came up and the sun went down, people cried for help, and the bath overflowed, and I couldn't move, captivated by this extraordinary page-turner. The plot is compulsive and doesn't let up till the very last chapter. It has more twists and turns than Hampton Court Maze and yet Francesca Hornak guides one through it all with a confident hand until one puts it down, exhausted but exhilarated by such a rollicking good read. Terrific' Virginia Ironside'An engrossing and funny study of a middle-class British family in crisis. I loved it!' Keith Stuart, bestselling author of A Boy Made of Blocks'Witty and deeply heartfelt' Bestselling author Emily Griffin 'Hornak's wry, masterful portrayal of a family in crisis is filled with flawed and funny characters who will capture - and break - your heart' Fiona Davis, bestselling author of The Dollhouse'Hornak's first novel is a farcical gem, perfect for fans of Matthew Norman and Emma Straub. Alternately tender and razor-sharp, Seven Days of Us will resonate with anyone who regresses the minute they step inside their childhood home' Booklist starred review

Hachette Audio

A Boy in Winter

Rachel Seiffert
Authors:
Rachel Seiffert
Hachette Audio

The Brandons

Angela Thirkell
Authors:
Angela Thirkell
Hachette Audio

August Folly

Angela Thirkell
Authors:
Angela Thirkell
Hachette Audio

High Rising

Angela Thirkell
Authors:
Angela Thirkell
Hachette Audio

Rules

Jane Beaton, Jenny Colgan
Authors:
Jane Beaton, Jenny Colgan
Hachette Audio

Class

Jane Beaton, Jenny Colgan
Authors:
Jane Beaton, Jenny Colgan

'Funny, page-turning and addictive...just like Malory Towers for grown-ups' - Sophie Kinsella Maggie went to the window and opened it wide, inhaling the lovely, ozoney air off the sea. Why had she never lived by the sea before? Why had she always looked out on housing estates and not the little white hulls of trawlers bobbing off in the distance?It's gloriously sunny in Cornwall as the school year starts at the little boarding school by the sea. Maggie, the newest teacher at Downey House, is determined to make her mark - but will it be at the expense of her relationship with safe, dependable Stan? Simone has won a scholarship and wants to make her parents proud. Forced to share a room with the glossy, pretty, clever girls of Downey House, she needs to find a friend, fast. Fliss is furious at being sent away from her home. As Simone tries desperately to fit in, Fliss tries desperately to get out. Over the course of one year, friendships will bloom and lives will be changed forever. "A brilliant boarding school book, stuffed full of unforgettable characters, thrilling adventures and angst..." - Lisa Jewell

Hachette Audio

A Brief Affair

Margaret Leroy
Authors:
Margaret Leroy

September 1940. England is a war once again and London has become an ever-fragile place for widowed Livia Ripley and her two young daughters, Polly and Eliza. When Livia meets charismatic publisher Hugo Ballantyne, she is hopeful that her life is about to change for the better. But as clouds gather in the clear autumn sky, the wail of the siren heralds the arrival of the Luftwaffe.As the raids intensify, Livia volunteers to be a warden at the invitation of enigmatic Justin Connelly. Here she experiences the true reality and despair of war, a contrast to the world of comfort and cocktails provided in fleeting afternoons at the Balfour Hotel with Hugo. And ultimately, Livia discovers a strength she never knew she had that will give her the power to save those she loves. For when you don't know what tomorrow may bring, there is no choice but to live for today.Reminiscent of classic films like Brief Encounter and The End of the Affair, this is a stunningly captured story of a woman finding herself whilst the world is at war

Hachette Audio

Early One Morning

Virginia Baily
Authors:
Virginia Baily

A grey dawn in 1943: on a street in Rome, two young women, complete strangers to each other, lock eyes for a single moment.One of the women, Chiara Ravello, is about to flee the occupied city for the safety of her grandparents' house in the hills. The other has been herded on to a truck with her husband and their young children, and will shortly be driven off into the darkness. In that endless-seeming moment, before she has time to think about what she is doing, Chiara makes a decision that changes her life for ever. Loudly claiming the woman's son as her own nephew, she demands his immediate return; only as the trucks depart does she begin to realize what she has done. She is twenty-seven, single, with a sister who needs her constant care, a hazardous journey ahead of her, and now a child in her charge - a child with no papers who refuses to speak and gives every indication that he will bolt at the first opportunity. Three decades later, Chiara lives alone in Rome, a self-contained, self-possessed woman working as a translator and to all appearances quite content with a life which revolves around work, friends, music and the theatre. But always in the background is the shadow of Daniele, the boy from the truck, whose absence haunts her every moment. Gradually we learn of the havoc wrought on Chiara, her family and her friends by the boy she rescued, and how he eventually broke her heart. And when she receives a phone call from a teenage girl named Maria, claiming to be Daniele's daughter, Chiara knows that it is time for her to face up to the past. This epic novel is an unforgettably powerful, suspenseful, heartbreaking and inspiring tale of love, loss and war's reverberations down the years.

Hachette Audio

The Cake Shop in the Garden

Fay Merryweather runs her cake shop from her beautiful garden. She whips up airy sponges and scrumptious scones, while her customers enjoy the lovely blossoms and gorgeous blooms. Looking after the cake shop, the garden and her cantankerous mother means Fay is always busy but she accepts her responsibilities because if she doesn't do all this, who will?Then Danny Wilde walks into her life and makes Fay question every decision she's ever made.When a sudden tragedy strikes, Fay's entire world is thrown off balance even further and she doesn't know which way to turn. Can Fay find the strength to make a life-changing decision - even if it means giving up the thing she loves the most? Life, love and family are about to collide in The Cake Shop in the Garden.

Hachette Audio

Black Narcissus

Rumer Godden
Authors:
Rumer Godden
Hachette Audio

The White Pearl

Kate Furnivall
Authors:
Kate Furnivall
Hachette Audio

The Jewel Of St Petersburg

Kate Furnivall
Authors:
Kate Furnivall

*** THE Sunday Times TOP TEN BESTSELLING AUTHOR *** 'Wonderful . . . hugely ambitious and atmospheric' Kate Mosse Discover a brilliant story of love, danger, courage and betrayal, from the internationally bestselling author of The Betrayal. ***** Russia, 1910.Young Valentina Ivanova charms St Petersburg's aristocracy with her classic Russian beauty and her talent as a pianist. But she scandalises society when she begins a romance with Jens Friis, a Danish engineer. He brings to her life a passion and an intimacy she has never known. Unbending in their opposition, her parents push her into a loveless engagement with a Russian count. Valentina struggles for independence and to protect her young sister from the tumult sweeping the city, as Russia is bound for rebellion. The Tsar, the Duma and the Bolsheviks are at each other's throats and Valentina is forced to make a choice that changes her life for ever . . .The Russian Concubine and The Concubine's Secret are available to buy NOW in paperback and ebook. Further praise for Kate Furnivall: 'Superb storytelling' Dinah Jefferies 'A thrilling plot ... Fast-paced with a sinister edge' Times 'A thrilling, compelling read. Wonderful!' Lesley Pearse 'Gripping . . . poignant, beautifully written ...will capture the reader to the last' Sun 'Truly captivating' Elle 'Perfect escapist reading' Marie Claire 'An achingly beautiful epic' New Woman 'A rollicking good read' Daily Telegraph