Jilly Bond - Little, Brown Book Group

Jilly Bond



JILLY BOND has recorded over 300 audiobooks and won four Audiofile Earphones Awards. She also regularly appears on stage, and has appeared at the National Theatre
in "Island", at the Birmingham Repertory in "Jump!", Manchester Lowry in "Transmissions", the English Theatre of Hamburg in "Othello" and "Mrs Warren's Profession" and on the Edinburgh and London Fringes, including at the Finborough as human-rights lawyer Fethiye Cetin in "I Wish to Die Singing" which won the Best Play UK Studio Theatre Awards. She has recorded over 100 radio plays for the BBC, as well as playing Bridget in "The Archers", and TV work has includedDr Greene in "Doctors", Dr Jannatie in "Judge John Deed" and roles in "Comedy Nation", "People Like Us", "My Hero" & "Alastair McGowan's Big Impression".

Hachette Audio

Christmas Cakes and Mistletoe Nights

Carole Matthews
Authors:
Carole Matthews
Hachette Audio

Seven Days of Us

Francesca Hornak
Authors:
Francesca Hornak

'One of the best books of the year' Hello!The joyful, sharply observed and life-affirming Christmas story for fans of One Day. Also a Radio 2 Bookclub pick. It's Christmas and for one whole week the Birch family is gathering under one roof. Olivia, the eldest daughter, has returned from treating an epidemic abroad and must go into quarantine for seven days.Her mother says it's the perfect opportunity to spend some 'special time' together. Her younger sister wholeheartedly disagrees. Her father isn't allowed an opinion - but is determined to offer one anyway. When no one can leave the house, and no one can enter, seven days for the Birches feels like an eternity. Especially when they're all harbouring secrets. One of whom is about to come knocking at their door...'LOVED it! Warm and humane, funny and sad, with a great, twisty plot, Seven Days of Us is absolute pleasure reading from beginning to end. Francesca Hornak is a true talent. Just gorgeous!' Marian Keyes'I loved this comic drama . . . the plot is genius . . . and the results are hilarious and touching' Daily Mail'Sharply observed by Hornak's satirical eye, this has "Working Title film deal" written all over it' Glamour'Francesca Hornak is hilariously funny with characters that jump off the page, grab you, and just won't let go' Rosamund Lupton, bestselling author of Sister 'Expertly captures the joys and the tensions of spending any time with those who know you best. It thoroughly deserves to be this year's big Christmas hit' The i'Absorbing, insightful and immensely enjoyable' Laura Barnett, bestselling author of The Versions of Us'Compassionate, witty and wise' Saskia Sarginson, bestselling author of The Twins'I LOVED Seven Days of Us. The story swallowed me up. It has all the makings of your classic rom-com, with characters that are both remarkable yet wonderfully relatable, thanks to Francesca Hornak's acutely observational storytelling. The family tension is all too real. Brilliant!' The Unmumsy Mum'Gripping, powerfully emotional and life-affirming. I read it in one sitting!' Maeve Haran, bestselling author of Having it All'Touching, funny, emotionally intelligent, Seven Days of Us is pure pleasure from beginning to end. It's stylishly written and totally engrossing. I really, really loved it' Adele Geras'It's a cliché to say this book is a rollercoaster but the sun came up and the sun went down, people cried for help, and the bath overflowed, and I couldn't move, captivated by this extraordinary page-turner. The plot is compulsive and doesn't let up till the very last chapter. It has more twists and turns than Hampton Court Maze and yet Francesca Hornak guides one through it all with a confident hand until one puts it down, exhausted but exhilarated by such a rollicking good read. Terrific'Virginia Ironside'An engrossing and funny study of a middle-class British family in crisis. I loved it!' Keith Stuart, bestselling author of A Boy Made of Blocks'Witty and deeply heartfelt' Bestselling author Emily Griffin 'Hornak's wry, masterful portrayal of a family in crisis is filled with flawed and funny characters who will capture - and break - your heart' Fiona Davis, bestselling author of The Dollhouse'Hornak's first novel is a farcical gem, perfect for fans of Matthew Norman and Emma Straub. Alternately tender and razor-sharp, Seven Days of Us will resonate with anyone who regresses the minute they step inside their childhood home' Booklist starred review

Hachette Audio

A Boy in Winter

Rachel Seiffert
Authors:
Rachel Seiffert

From the Man Booker-shortlisted author of The Dark Room, an extraordinary new novel: `A spellbinding evocation of fear and threat tinged with the possibility of hope and change' - Philippe Sands, author of East West StreetEarly on a grey November morning in 1941, only weeks after the German invasion, a small Ukrainian town is overrun by the SS. A Boy In Winter tells of the three days that follow and the lives that are overturned in the process. And in the midst of it all is the determined boy Yankel who will throw his and his young brother's chances of surviving to strangers.A Boy In Winter is a story of hope when all is lost, and of mercy when the times have none.'Superb, delicately poised' FT'Magnificent' Linda Grant'A joy to read ' Helen Dunmore

Hachette Audio

The Brandons

Angela Thirkell
Authors:
Angela Thirkell
Hachette Audio

August Folly

Angela Thirkell
Authors:
Angela Thirkell
Hachette Audio

High Rising

Angela Thirkell
Authors:
Angela Thirkell
Hachette Audio

Rules

Jane Beaton, Jenny Colgan
Authors:
Jane Beaton, Jenny Colgan
Hachette Audio

Class

Jane Beaton, Jenny Colgan
Authors:
Jane Beaton, Jenny Colgan
Hachette Audio

A Brief Affair

Margaret Leroy
Authors:
Margaret Leroy

September 1940. England is a war once again and London has become an ever-fragile place for widowed Livia Ripley and her two young daughters, Polly and Eliza. When Livia meets charismatic publisher Hugo Ballantyne, she is hopeful that her life is about to change for the better. But as clouds gather in the clear autumn sky, the wail of the siren heralds the arrival of the Luftwaffe.As the raids intensify, Livia volunteers to be a warden at the invitation of enigmatic Justin Connelly. Here she experiences the true reality and despair of war, a contrast to the world of comfort and cocktails provided in fleeting afternoons at the Balfour Hotel with Hugo. And ultimately, Livia discovers a strength she never knew she had that will give her the power to save those she loves. For when you don't know what tomorrow may bring, there is no choice but to live for today.Reminiscent of classic films like Brief Encounter and The End of the Affair, this is a stunningly captured story of a woman finding herself whilst the world is at war

Hachette Audio

Early One Morning

Virginia Baily
Authors:
Virginia Baily
Hachette Audio

The Cake Shop in the Garden

Carole Matthews
Authors:
Carole Matthews
Hachette Audio

Black Narcissus

Rumer Godden
Authors:
Rumer Godden

High in the Himalayas near Darjeeling, the old mountaintop palace shines like a jewel. When it was the General's 'harem' palace, richly dressed ladies wandered the windswept terraces; at night, music floated out over the villages and gorges. Now, the General's son has bestowed it on an order of nuns, the Sisters of Mary.Well-intentioned yet misguided, the nuns set about taming the gardens and opening a school and dispensary for the villagers. They are dependent on the local English agent of Empire, Mr Dean; but his charm and insolent candour are disconcerting. And the implacable emptiness of the mountain, the ceaseless winds, exact a toll on the Sisters.When Mr Dean says bluntly, 'This is no place for a nunnery,' it is as if he foresees their destiny...

Hachette Audio

The White Pearl

Kate Furnivall
Authors:
Kate Furnivall
Hachette Audio

The Jewel Of St Petersburg

Kate Furnivall
Authors:
Kate Furnivall

*** THE Sunday Times TOP TEN BESTSELLING AUTHOR *** 'Wonderful . . . hugely ambitious and atmospheric' Kate Mosse Discover a brilliant story of love, danger, courage and betrayal, from the internationally bestselling author of The Betrayal. ***** Russia, 1910.Young Valentina Ivanova charms St Petersburg's aristocracy with her classic Russian beauty and her talent as a pianist. But she scandalises society when she begins a romance with Jens Friis, a Danish engineer. He brings to her life a passion and an intimacy she has never known. Unbending in their opposition, her parents push her into a loveless engagement with a Russian count. Valentina struggles for independence and to protect her young sister from the tumult sweeping the city, as Russia is bound for rebellion. The Tsar, the Duma and the Bolsheviks are at each other's throats and Valentina is forced to make a choice that changes her life for ever . . .The Russian Concubine and The Concubine's Secret are available to buy NOW in paperback and ebook. Further praise for Kate Furnivall: 'Superb storytelling' Dinah Jefferies 'A thrilling plot ... Fast-paced with a sinister edge' Times 'A thrilling, compelling read. Wonderful!' Lesley Pearse 'Gripping . . . poignant, beautifully written ...will capture the reader to the last' Sun 'Truly captivating' Elle 'Perfect escapist reading' Marie Claire 'An achingly beautiful epic' New Woman 'A rollicking good read' Daily Telegraph