B. E. Jones - Little, Brown Book Group

B. E. Jones



B.E. Jones is a former journalist and police press officer, now a novelist and book obsessive. She was born in a small village in the South Wales valleys, north of Cardiff and started her journalism career with Trinity Mirror newspapers before becoming a broadcast journalist with BBC Wales Today.

She has worked on all aspects of crime reporting (as well as community news and features) producing stories and content for newspapers and live TV. Most recently she worked as a press officer for South Wales Police, dealing with the media and participating in criminal investigations, security operations and emergency planning. Perhaps unsurprisingly she channels these experiences of 'true crime,' and her insight into the murkier side of human nature, into her dark, psychological thrillers set in and around South Wales.

Books currently available by this author

Date published: New > Old

Coming Soon
Constable

Wilderness

B. E. Jones
Authors:
B. E. Jones

Two weeks, 1500 miles and three opportunities for her husband to save his own life. It wasn't about his survival - it was about hers. An addictive psychological thriller for fans of The Wife Between Us and Gone Girl.Shattered by the discovery of her husband's affair, Liv knows they need to leave the chaos of New York to try to save their marriage. Maybe the roadtrip that they'd always planned, exploring America's national parks, just the two of them, would help heal the wounds.But what Liv hasn't told her husband is that she has set him three challenges. Three opportunities to prove he's really sorry and worthy of her forgiveness.If he fails? Well, it's dangerous out there. There are so many ways to die in the wilderness. And if it's easy to die, then it's easy to kill too.If their marriage can't survive, he can't either. Praise for B. E. Jones:'The perfect thriller' Buzz'Irresistible' Catriona McPherson'Claustrophobic and infused with menace. B. E. Jones creates a sinister world of secrets, twists and revelations' Alison Bruce'A fantastic read' My Weekly

Constable

The Lies You Tell

B. E. Jones
Authors:
B. E. Jones

The Secret History meets The Life and Loves of a She-Devil in a gripping thriller that subverts chick lit clichés in a trail of blood and jealousy. Friendship, freedom, booze, and student loans: the glory days of university. For Liz, Cora, Mike, and Stevie, students at Cardiff together, their circle was a surrogate family, bound together for three years in total trust. Or so it seemed. Post-graduation the group "stays in touch", with growing distance, but eventually reunite when Mike and Cora, now married, return to live in Cardiff. The foursome paint the town, marking Stevie's birthday in an orgy of nostalgia, when from nowhere, a beautiful - and younger - flame-haired girl appears. "Jenny" seems to recognise them, knows their names, but her identity's a total mystery to them all. Or so Liz and Cora think. But then Jenny reappears the next day, as a corpse found in the river . . . Foul play is presumed and Liz, a journalist, is assigned to cover the story. Before long she finds herself caught up in an expanding web of lies as Jenny's death is traced back to that fateful night between friends. And the ancient secrets of their college days begin to catch up with them all . . .~ Previously published as Telling Stories ~Praise for B. E. Jones'Claustrophobic and infused with menace. B. E. Jones creates a sinister world of secrets, twists and revelations' Alison Bruce'I got completely sucked in by this . . . irresistible!' Catriona McPherson'Bev Jones is a first class writer . . . I can thoroughly recommend this book' ***** Amazon Reviewer'A gripping summer must-read! Addictive!' ***** Amazon Reviewer'Twists and turns aplenty' ***** Amazon Reviewer

Constable

Fear the Dark

B. E. Jones
Authors:
B. E. Jones

An intriguing thriller from the author of Where She Went, perfect for fans of Clare Mackintosh and Ruth Ware.'There's been an accident . . .'When Ellis Andrews wakes to a knock on the door in the middle of the night, he's devasted to learn that his wife Rae has been killed in a car accident in the New England town of Chareham. Was Rae's death simply a case of 'wrong place, wrong time' as the local police would have him believe? Or is there something more sinister at work? When Ellis uncovers Rae's diary and reads the disturbing accounts of the 'night terrors' she's been suffering since childhood, he's unwilling to accept that there could be a link between them and her fatal car accident, until he begins to dream of Rae each night - and starts to doubt his own sanity . . .Fear The Dark is a multi-stranded mystery about a man searching for answers; the power of grief and guilt; and the ability of love to shape lives or break them apart.~ Previously published as Dreamcatcher ~Praise for B. E. Jones'Claustrophobic and infused with menace. B. E. Jones creates a sinister world of secrets, twists and revelations' Alison Bruce'I got completely sucked in by this . . . irresistible!' Catriona McPherson'Bev Jones is a first class writer . . . I can thoroughly recommend this book' ***** Amazon Reviewer'A gripping summer must-read! Addictive!' ***** Amazon Reviewer'A compelling psychological thriller that will have you constantly thinking, 'just one more page' and leave you feeling haunted . . . A stomach-knotting depiction of grief and loss intertwined with an addictive, sophisticated crime thriller - Don't miss it!' ***** Amazon Reviewer

Constable

Make Him Pay

B. E. Jones
Authors:
B. E. Jones

An irresistible, twisty thriller from the author of Where She Went, perfect for fans of Clare Mackintosh and Gillian Flynn.Jen's life is exactly how it should be. She has a steady job as a press officer for the police and a stable relationship with police inspector Dan, now her fiancé. But her stable life is thrown into turmoil when Jen receives a phone call from a mysterious woman that leaves her doubting everything. Convinced that Dan is having an affair, Jen retaliates and the next day finds her waking up in an empty bed, far from home, with a pounding headache and two used condoms beside her.Feeling guilty, Jen reconciles with a contrite Dan and the wedding plans continue. But then a video of her having sex with the stranger surfaces. Desperate to stop it being exposed to the public, Jen starts searching for the blackmailer. But as she does so, darker secrets begin to emerge and she starts to realise that there may be more to husband-to-be than she'd ever known . . .~ Previously published as Holiday Money ~Praise for B. E. Jones'Claustrophobic and infused with menace. B. E. Jones creates a sinister world of secrets, twists and revelations' Alison Bruce'I got completely sucked in by this . . . irresistible!' Catriona McPherson'Bev Jones is a first class writer . . . I can thoroughly recommend this book' ***** Amazon Reviewer'A gripping summer must-read! Addictive!' ***** Amazon Reviewer

Constable

Halfway

B. E. Jones
Authors:
B. E. Jones

An irresistible, twisty new thriller from the author of Where She Went, perfect for fans of Clare Mackintosh and Gillian Flynn.If everyone is lying, who can you trust?The Halfway Inn is closed to customers, side-lined by a bypass and hidden deep in inhospitable countryside. One winter's night, two women end up knocking on the door, seeking refuge as a blizzard takes hold. But why is the landlord less than pleased to see them? And what is his elderly father trying so hard to tell them?At the local police station PC Lissa Lloyd is holding the fort while the rest of her team share in the rare excitement of a brutal murder at an isolated farmhouse. A dangerous fugitive is on the run - but how can Lissa make a name for herself if she's stuck at her desk? When a call comes in saying the local district nurse is missing, she jumps at the chance to investigate her disappearance.The strangers at Halfway wait out the storm, but soon realise they might have been safer on the road. It seems not all the travellers will make it home for Christmas . . . Praise for B. E. Jones'Claustrophobic and infused with menace. B. E. Jones creates a sinister world of secrets, twists and revelations' Alison Bruce'An atmospheric read in which everything and everyone are not exactly what they seem' Irish Independent

Constable

Where She Went

B. E. Jones
Authors:
B. E. Jones

An irresistible, twisty thriller, perfect for fans of Gone Girl, Lie With Me and The Girlfriend-----She used to report on murder cases - but now she's the victim of one...TV journalist Melanie Black wakes up one morning next to a man she doesn't remember. When his wife walks in he greets her with a smile and to her horror, Melanie comes to realise that no one can see or hear her - because she is dead.But has she woken up next to her murderer? And why is she an invisible and uninvited guest in a house she can't seem to leave?As she begins to piece together the last days of her life it becomes clear she has to make a choice: bring her killer to justice, or wreak her own punishment on the man who murdered her.-----'I got completely sucked in by this . . . irresistible!' Catriona McPherson'An enjoyable debut that turns the whodunit genre on its head and catapults B.E. Jones firmly into the 'one to watch' category' Starburst Magazine'Brilliantly and originally plotted, sure to be one of 2017's best murder mysteries' ***** Goodreads Reviewer'A cracking good read' ***** Goodreads Reviewer