Deborah Rodriguez - Little, Brown Book Group

Deborah Rodriguez



Deborah Rodriguez spent five years teaching at and later directing the Kabul Beauty School, the first modern beauty academy and training salon in Afghanistan. She also owned the Cabul Coffee House, and is now a hairdresser and a motivational speaker. Deborah currently lives in Mexico where she owns the Tippy Toes Salon.
To learn more about her visit www.debbierodriguez.com

Sphere

The Zanzibar Wife

Deborah Rodriguez
Authors:
Deborah Rodriguez

'A lovely novel of female friendship and support when East meets West, of magic and things we may not understand, of hope, of comfort, and in the background the enticing salty, fishy, spicy aromas of Zanzibar.' - Dinah Jeffries'Heart-warming and poignant. A story of female courage and friendship sprinkled with magic - what's not to love?' - Rosanna Ley'a compelling account of three very different women, each challenged by circumstances that reveal the inner conflict in their lives, and their refusal to conform. An endearing read.' - Vaseem KhanA beautiful, exotic, sweeping, emotional story, perfect for fans of The Little Coffee Shop of KabulAn internationally best selling author****************Oman. The ancient land of frankincense, wind-swept deserts, craggy mountaintops and turquoise seas. Into this magical nation come three remarkable women, each facing a crossroad in her life. Rachel, an American war photographer, who is struggling to shed the trauma of her career. Now she is headed to Oman to cover quite a different story - for a glossy travel magazine. Ariana Khan, a bubbly English woman who has rashly volunteered as Rachel's 'fixer', a job she's never heard of in a country she knows nothing about. And Miza, a young woman living far from her beloved homeland of Zanzibar. As the second wife of Tariq, she remains a secret from his terrifying 'other' wife, Maryam. Until the day that Tariq fails to come home...As the three women journey together across this extraordinary land, they quickly learn that, in Oman, things aren't always what they appear to be...The Zanzibar Wife is a bewitching story of clashing cultures and conflicting beliefs, of secrets and revelations, of mystery and magic, by the author of the beloved international bestseller The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul.'As if Maeve Binchy had written 'The Kite Runner' - Kirkus Reviews

Hachette Audio

Return to the Little Coffee Shop of Kabul

Deborah Rodriguez
Authors:
Deborah Rodriguez
Sphere

The House on Carnaval Street

Deborah Rodriguez
Authors:
Deborah Rodriguez
Sphere

The Kabul Beauty School

Deborah Rodriguez
Authors:
Deborah Rodriguez

In a little beauty school in the war zone of Kabul, a community of women comes together, all with stories to tell.DEBBIE, the American hairdresser who co-founds the training salon. As the burqas are removed in class, curls are coiffed and make-up is applied, Debbie's students share with her their stories - and their hearts.MINA, forcibly married to a man in repayment of a family debt and threatened with having her child taken away.ROSHANNA, a tearful young bride terrified her in-laws will discover she's not a virgin.And NAHIDA, the prize pupil who bears the scars of her Taliban husband's approval.In the Kabul Beauty School, these women and many others find a safe haven and the seeds of their future independence.From the bestselling author of THE LITTLE COFFEE SHOP OF KABUL, this is an eye-opening, inspiring and enthralling story.

Sphere

The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul

Deborah Rodriguez
Authors:
Deborah Rodriguez

In a little coffee shop in one of the most dangerous places on earth, five very different women come together. SUNNY, the proud proprietor, who needs an ingenious plan - and fast - to keep her café and customers safe.YAZMINA, a young pregnant woman stolen from her remote village and now abandoned on Kabul's violent streets.CANDACE, a wealthy American who has finally left her husband for her Afghan lover, the enigmatic Wakil.ISABEL, a determined journalist with a secret that might keep her from the biggest story of her life.And HALAJAN, the sixty-year-old den mother, whose long-hidden love affair breaks all the rules. As these five women discover there's more to one another than meets the eye, they form a unique bond that will for ever change their lives and the lives of many others.The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul is the heart-warming and life-affirming fiction debut from the author of the bestselling memoir The Kabul Beauty School.