Maggie Mason - Little, Brown Book Group

Maggie Mason



Maggie Mason is a pseudonym of author Mary Wood. Mary began her career by self-publishing on kindle where many of her sagas reached number one in genre. She was spotted by Pan Macmillan and to date has written many books for them under her own name, with more to come.

Mary continues to be proud to write for Pan Macmillan, but is now equally proud and thrilled to take up a second career with Sphere under the name of Maggie Mason. A Blackpool Lass is her first in a planned series of standalone books and trilogies set in her home town of Blackpool.

Born the thirteenth child of fifteen children, Mary describes her childhood as poor, but rich in love.
She was educated at St Peter's RC School in Hinckley and at Hinckley College for Further Education, where she was taught shorthand and typing.

Mary retired from working for the National Probation Service in 2009, when she took up full time writing, something she'd always dreamed of doing. She follows in the footsteps of her great-grandmother, Dora Langlois, who was an acclaimed author, playwright and actress in the late nineteenth - early twentieth century.

It was her work with the Probation Service that gives Mary's writing its grittiness, her need to tell it how it is, which takes her readers on an emotional journey to the heart of issues.

Books currently available by this author

Date published: New > Old

Sphere

Blackpool's Angel

Maggie Mason
Authors:
Maggie Mason

Blackpool, 1893Tilly has come a long way from the run-down tenements in which she grew up. She has a home, a loving, handsome husband, two beautiful little'uns - Betsy and Bunty - and she earns herself a little money weaving wicker baskets. Life is good. Until the day Tilly returns home to find a policeman standing outside her door. Her Arthur won't be coming home tonight - nor any night - having fallen to his death whilst working on Blackpool tower. Suddenly Tilly and her girls are alone, with the threat of destitution nipping at their heels.Tilly must do what she can to keep her family safe and together - but will it be enough?The perfect read for fans of Mary Wood, Kitty Neale, Val Wood and Nadine Dorries

Sphere

Blackpool's Daughter

Maggie Mason
Authors:
Maggie Mason

-------------The perfect read for fans of Mary Wood, Kitty Neale, Val Wood and Nadine Dorries***PREVIOUSLY CALLED BLACKPOOL EVACUEE***Clara is forced to flee her home as the Nazis invade the beautiful island of GuernseySeparated from her mother, far away from anything familiar, she is at the mercy of a cruel shopkeeper. Clara is worked like a dog, but the warmth of her Blackpool friendships will go far to save her. Julia just wants to find her beloved daughter - but the trials of war will keep them far apart. They will meet again - but the war will change everything for mother and daughter...

Hachette Audio

Blackpool Lass

Maggie Mason
Authors:
Maggie Mason
Sphere

Blackpool Evacuee

Maggie Mason
Authors:
Maggie Mason

The perfect read for fans of Mary Wood, Kitty Neale, Val Wood and Nadine DorriesClara is forced to flee her home as the Nazis invade the beautiful island of GuernseySeparated from her mother, far away from anything familiar, she is at the mercy of a cruel shopkeeper. Clara is worked like a dog, but the warmth of her Blackpool friendships will go far to save her. Julia just wants to find her beloved daughter - but the trials of war will keep them far apart. They will meet again - but the war will change everything for mother and daughter...