Related to: 'Etiquette and Espionage'

ATOM

Curtsies and Conspiracies

Gail Carriger
Authors:
Gail Carriger

Does one need four fully-grown foxgloves for decorating a dinner table for six guests? Or is it six foxgloves to kill four fully-grown guests? Sophronia's first year at school has certainly been rousing. First, her finishing school is training her to be a spy (Won't Mumsy be surprised!). Secondly, she gets mixed up in an intrigue over a stolen device and has a cheese pie thrown at her. Now, as Sophronia sneaks around the dirigible school, eavesdropping on the teachers' quarters and making clandestine climbs to the ship's boiler room, she learns that there may be more to a school trip to London than at first appears . . . Vampires, werewolves and humans are all after the prototype Sophronia recovered in Etiquette & Espionage, which has the potential to alter human and supernatural travel. Sophronia must try to uncover who is behind a dangerous plot to control the prototype . . . as well as survive the London season with a full dance card.

ATOM

Waistcoats and Weaponry

Gail Carriger
Authors:
Gail Carriger

It's one thing to waltz properly. It's quite another to waltz properly with a bladed fan stitched into one's corset. Sophronia continues finishing school in style - with a range of deadly defences secreted in the folds of her ball gown, of course. Her fashionable choice of weapons comes in handy when Sophronia, her best friend Dimity, sweet sootie Soap and the charming Lord Felix Mersey hijack a suspiciously empty train to return their chum Sidheag to her werewolf pack in Scotland. But when Sophronia discovers they are being trailed by a dirigible of Picklemen and flywaymen, she unearths a plot that threatens to throw all of London into chaos. With her friends in mortal danger, Sophronia must sacrifice what she holds most dear - her freedom. Gather your poison, your steel-tipped quill, and the rest of your school supplies and join Mademoiselle Geraldine's proper young killing machines in the third rousing instalment of the New York Times bestselling Finishing School series.

ATOM

Manners and Mutiny

Gail Carriger
Authors:
Gail Carriger

The fourth and final book in a steampunk YA adventure series, from Orbit's New York Times bestselling author of the Parasol Protectorate series. When a dastardly Pickleman plot comes to fruition, only Sophronia can save her friends, her school, and all of London...but at what cost? Our proper young heroine puts her training and skills to the test in this highly anticipated conclusion of the rousing, intriguing, and always polished New York Times bestselling Finishing School series!

Orbit

Prudence

Gail Carriger
Authors:
Gail Carriger
Orbit

Soulless: The Manga, Vol. 3

Gail Carriger, Rem
Contributors:
Gail Carriger, Rem

Quitting her husband's house and moving back in with her horrible family, Lady Maccon becomes the scandal of the London season, with everyone wishing to know what has caused the rift between the couple. Queen Victoria dismisses her from the Shadow Council, and the only person who can explain anything, Lord Akeldama, unexpectedly leaves town. To top it all off, Alexia is attacked by homicidal mechanical ladybirds, indicating, as only ladybirds can, the fact that all of London's vampires are now very much interested in seeing Alexia quite thoroughly dead. While Lord Maccon elects to get progressively more inebriated and Professor Lyall desperately tries to hold the Woolsey werewolf pack together, Alexia flees England for Italy in search of the mysterious Templars. Only they know enough about the preternatural to explain her increasingly inconvenient condition, but they may be worse than the vampires - and they're armed with pesto.

Orbit

Soulless: The Manga, Vol. 2

Gail Carriger, Rem
Contributors:
Gail Carriger, Rem

Alexia Maccon, the Lady Woolsey, awakens in the wee hours of the mid-afternoon to find her husband, who should be decently asleep like any normal werewolf, yelling at the top of his lungs. Then he disappears; leaving her to deal with a regiment of supernatural soldiers encamped on her doorstep, a plethora of exorcised ghosts, and an angry Queen Victoria. But Alexia is armed with her trusty parasol, the latest fashions, and an arsenal of biting civility. So even when her investigations take her to Scotland, the backwater of ugly waistcoats, she is prepared: upending werewolf pack dynamics as only the soulless can. She might even find time to track down her wayward husband, if she feels like it.

Orbit

Soulless

Gail Carriger
Authors:
Gail Carriger
Orbit

Soulless: The Manga Vol. 1

Gail Carriger, Rem
Contributors:
Gail Carriger, Rem
Orbit

Heartless

Gail Carriger
Authors:
Gail Carriger

Lady Alexia Maccon, soulless, is at it again, only this time the trouble in the air is not her fault. When a mad ghost threatens the queen, Alexia is on the case, following a trail that leads her deep into her husband's past. Top that off with a sister who has joined the suffragette movement (shocking!), Madame Lefoux's latest mechanical invention, and a plague of zombie porcupines - and Alexia barely has time to remember she just happens to be eight months pregnant. Will Alexia be able to figure out who is trying to kill Queen Victoria before it's too late? Is it the vampires again or is there a traitor lurking about in wolf's clothing? And do they really have to take up residence in Lord Akeldama's second best closet? ***Also available as a manga adaptation***

Orbit

Blameless

Gail Carriger
Authors:
Gail Carriger
Orbit

Changeless

Gail Carriger
Authors:
Gail Carriger
Orbit

Timeless

Gail Carriger
Authors:
Gail Carriger

Alexia Tarabotti, Lady Maccon, has settled into domestic bliss. Of course, being Alexia, such bliss involves integrating werewolves into London High society, living in a vampire's second best closet, and coping with a precocious toddler who is prone to turning supernatural willy-nilly. Even Ivy Tunstell's acting troupe's latest play, disastrous to say the least, cannot put a dampener on Alexia's enjoyment of her new London lifestyle. Until, that is, she receives a summons from Alexandria that cannot be ignored. With husband, child and Tunstells in tow, Alexia boards a steamer to cross the Mediterranean. But Egypt may hold more mysteries than even the indomitable Lady Maccon can handle. What does the vampire Queen of the Alexandria Hive really want from her? Why is the God-Breaker Plague suddenly expanding? And how has Ivy Tunstell suddenly become the most popular actress in all the British Empire? ***Also available as a manga adaptation***

Gail Carriger

Ms. Carriger began writing in order to cope with being raised in obscurity by an expatriate Brit and an incurable curmudgeon. She escaped small town life and inadvertently acquired several degrees in Higher Learning.

Orbit

God Save the Queen

Kate Locke
Authors:
Kate Locke
Orbit

The Queen Is Dead

Kate Locke
Authors:
Kate Locke
Orbit

Long Live the Queen

Kate Locke
Authors:
Kate Locke
Orbit

The Red Plague Affair

Lilith Saintcrow
Authors:
Lilith Saintcrow

The service of Britannia is not for the faint of heart - or conscience . . . After defeating a clockwork army bent upon regicide, the sorceress Emma Bannon and genius detective Archibald Clare have come to respect each other's skills, despite the fact that magic and logic are usually opposing forces. So when the Queen asks Emma to track down a missing doctor who holds the key to a deadly new weapon, Archibald's deductive talent may be just what she needs to find the man, before his destructive discovery sets the entire capital city ablaze . . . The game is afoot. And the Red Plague rises.

Orbit

The Iron Wyrm Affair

Lilith Saintcrow
Authors:
Lilith Saintcrow

The game is afoot! London's geniuses are being picked off by a vicious killer, and Emma Bannon, a sorceress in the service of the Empire, must protect the next target, Archibald Clare. Unfortunately he's more interested in solving the mystery of the murders than staying alive . . . In a world where illogical magic has turned the Industrial Revolution on its head, Bannon and Clare will face dark sorcery, cannon fire, high treason and the vexing problem of reliably finding hansom cabs in the city.

Orbit

Clockwork Angel: The Mortal Instruments Prequel

Cassandra Clare, HyeKyung Baek
Contributors:
Cassandra Clare, HyeKyung Baek
Piatkus

Firelight

Kristen Callihan
Authors:
Kristen Callihan

For fans of Diana Gabaldon, Amanda Quick and Nalini Singh comes the Darkest London series. In Victorian London, magic lurks in every shadowy corner . . . 'Callihan has a great talent for sexual tension and jaw-dropping plots' - Diana Gabaldon 'A sizzling paranormal with dark history and explosive magic! Callihan is an impressive new talent' - Larissa Ione London, 1881 Once the flames are ignited . . . Miranda Ellis is a woman tormented. Plagued since birth by a strange and powerful gift, she has spent her entire life struggling to control her exceptional abilities. Yet one innocent but irreversible mistake has left her family's fortune decimated and forced her to wed London's most nefarious nobleman. They will burn for eternity . . . Lord Benjamin Archer is no ordinary man. Doomed to hide his disfigured face behind masks, Archer knows it's selfish to take Miranda as his bride. Yet he can't help being drawn to the flame-haired beauty whose touch sparks a passion he hasn't felt in a lifetime. When Archer is accused of a series of gruesome murders, he gives in to the beastly nature he has fought so hard to hide from the world. But the curse that haunts him cannot be denied. Now, to save his soul, Miranda will enter a world of dark magic and darker intrigue. For only she can see the man hiding behind the mask. 'Evocative and deeply romantic, Firelight was fascinating from the very first page' - Nalini Singh 'Callihan has a great talent for sexual tension and jaw-dropping plots' - Diana Gabaldon 'A sizzling paranormal with dark history and explosive magic! Callihan is an impressive new talent' - Larissa Ione 'Debut author Callihan pens a compelling Victorian paranormal with heart and soul' - Publishers Weekly 'A taut tale filled with sexual tension. This is one of the finest debuts of the season' - RT Book Reviews Kristen Callihan is RITA nominated and the bestselling author of The Hook Up