Related to: 'Life Saving'

Virago

Catching Life By The Throat

Josephine Hart
Authors:
Josephine Hart
Virago

Sin

Josephine Hart
Authors:
Josephine Hart

Though she wounded me beyond pain, I too inflicted deep hurt. Not born to murder her, still I sought to break her . . . Her name was Elizabeth Ashbridge. And I even envied her that.'Sin is about a woman possessed by an obsessive envy, a woman who will stop at nothing to get what she wants. Sin, from the author of the bestselling Damage, now takes its proper place as a Virago Modern Classic. 'Stripped down to a single, inexorable storyline that centres on the destructive power of passion. As in Les Liaisons Dangereuses, innocence and virtue are cruelly and deliberately betrayed, as the reader looks on with mingled shock and fascination . . . a tour de force' New York Times

Virago

Damage

Josephine Hart
Authors:
Josephine Hart

Damaged people are dangerous. They know they can survive.'Damage, Josephine Hart's debut novel, an international bestseller, filmed with Jeremy Irons and Juliette Binoche, now takes its proper place as a Virago Modern Classic. Here is one of the most chilling explorations of physical passion and dark, obsessive love ever written.'A remarkable first novel of awesome accomplishment and quite startling psychological insight' Ruth Rendell

Virago

The Truth About Love

Josephine Hart
Authors:
Josephine Hart

Josephine Hart

Josephine Hart (1942-2011) was the bestselling author of Damage, Sin, Oblivion and The Reconstructionist. She was a Director of Haymarket Publishing and founded Gallery Poets before going on to produce a number of West End plays. As well writing novels, she was a `poetry evangelist' and her Josephine Hart Poetry Hour at the British Library inspired two edited poetry books: Catching Life By the Throat and Words that Burn. She was married to Maurice Saatchi and had two sons.

Virago

Words That Burn

Josephine Hart
Authors:
Josephine Hart

Following the success of CATCHING LIFE BY THE THROAT, Josephine Hart compiles more poetry from the like of such poets as Milton, Byron, Keats, Shelley, Browning, Frost and Lowell. An audio CD accompanies.

by Nora Roberts

The Witness: Chapter 1

Chapter One of Nora Roberts' thrilling romance, The Witness.

Little, Brown

Best-Loved Poems

Neil Philip, Isabelle Brent, Isabelle Brent
Contributors:
Neil Philip, Isabelle Brent, Isabelle Brent

This highly accessible collection gathers together the best-loved gems of English language verse, from the deeply moving to the hilariously silly. The poems span the entire range of verse from high drama to stuff-and-nonsense and are presented in nine sections: Poems of Childhood and Youth; Poems of Love and Marriage; Poems of Life; Poems of Loss and Comfort; Poems of War and Peace; Poems to Read Aloud; Poems to Read Quietly; Poems of Animals and Nature and Poems of Magic and Mystery.The anthology includes works by William Blake, Dylan Thomas, Seamus Heaney, Robert Burns, T S Eliot, Rudyard Kipling, W B Yeats and many, many more. The poems have all been chosen and arranged by Neil Philip and the volume is illustrated throughout with watercolour borders and decorative motifs by Isabelle Brent, glowing with her trademark gold leaf.

Virago

If Not, Winter: Fragments Of Sappho

Anne Carson
Authors:
Anne Carson

From the critically acclaimed poet and classicist Anne Carson: a brilliant new translation of the work of Sappho, together with the original Greek. During her life on the island of Lesbos, Sappho is said to have composed nine books of lyrics. Only one poem has survived complete. In IF NOT, WINTER, Carson presents all the extant fragments of Sappho's verse, employing brackets and white space to denote missing text - allowing the reader to imagine the poems as they were written. Carson says of her method of translation: 'I like to think that, the more I stand out of the way, the more Sappho shows through.' And certainly her translation illuminates Sappho's reflections on love and desire, her companions and rivals, the goddess Aphrodite, her own daughter, Kleis. IF NOT, WINTER gives us an extraordinary ancient poet brought alive by a brilliantly empathetic contemporary poet. Complete with Carson's introduction and notes, it will become the standard translation of Sappho for our time.

Robinson

Mammoth Books presents Unexpected Encounters

Caitlín R. Kiernan, Mark Samuels, Richard L. Tierney, Simon Kurt Unsworth
Authors:
Caitlín R. Kiernan, Mark Samuels, Richard L. Tierney, Simon Kurt Unsworth
by Gregory David Roberts

Shantaram - Introduction

The introduction the Gregory David Roberts' Abacus 40 edition of 'Shantaram': the book that inspired a million journeys.

The start of a magnificent new trilogy

An Extract from The Summer Queen

Overflowing with scandal, sex, triumph and tragedy. Read the first chapter of The Summer Queen, the gripping new novel from New York Times Bestseller, Elizabeth Chadwick.

by Amanda Carlson

Full Blooded

Read the first chapter of Full Blooded by Amanda Carlson, the start of an exceptionally fast-paced and irresistibly sexy new urban fantasy trilogy!

Hachette Audio

Pretending To Be Me: Philip Larkin, A Portrait

Tom Courtenay
Authors:
Tom Courtenay
The summer must-read from Kate Furnivall

EXTRACT: SHADOWS ON THE NILE

Beautifully written, compulsively plotted and truly satisfying – Shadows on the Nile is a summer must-have for fans of Julia Gregson, Rosie Thomas and other sumptuous historical romances Indulge yourself with this sneak-peek at the first chapter now.

Corsair

A Visit From the Goon Squad

Jennifer Egan
Authors:
Jennifer Egan
Back Bay

Rule Number Two

Heidi Squier Kraft
Authors:
Heidi Squier Kraft

When Lieutenant Commander Heidi Kraft's twins were fifteen months old, she was deployed to Iraq. A clinical psychologist in the US Navy, Kraft had the job of uncovering the wounds of war that surgeons never see. She put away thoughts of her children and learned how to listen to the most traumatic stories a war zone has to offer.One of the toughest lessons was perfectly articulated by the TV show M*A*S*H: "There are two rules of war. Rule number one is that young men die. Rule number two is that doctors can't change rule number one." Some marines, Kraft realized, would be damaged by war in ways that she couldn't repair. And sometimes people were repaired in ways she never expected.RULE NUMBER TWO has steadily established itself as a powerful firsthand account of providing comfort amid the chaos of war, and of what it takes to endure. Now, at long last in paperback, it will reach an even wider audience.

Virago

The Imperfect Life of T. S. Eliot

Lyndall Gordon
Authors:
Lyndall Gordon
Hachette Audio

Carol Ann Duffy: Selected Poems

Carol Ann Duffy
Authors:
Carol Ann Duffy

SELECTED POEMS is a collection of poetry chosen by Carol Ann Duffy from her first four acclaimed novels: STANDING FEMALE NUDE, SELLING MANHATTAN, THE OTHER COUNTRY and MEAN TIME (winner of the Whitbread Poetry Award). It is read by the author - the first time she's recorded her work as an audiobook.

Sphere

A Brother's Journey

Richard B. Pelzer
Authors:
Richard B. Pelzer