Related to: 'Life Saving'

Virago

Catching Life By The Throat

Josephine Hart

This book is an anthology of poems by WH Auden, TS Eliot, Philip Larkin, Emily Dickinson, Marianne Moore, Rudyard Kipling, Sylvia Plath and W B Yeats, introduced by Josephine Hart and accompanied by a complimentary 80 minute CD featuring a selection of the actors' readings. 'The idea is simple,' says Josephine Hart as she introduces the poets and takes us through their life and writings, 'an understanding of the life and philosophy of the poet illuminates the poetry and therefore makes the experience of reading or listening to each poem more intense.' 'This book will, I hope, bring the magic of the events to a much greater audience.' Whether you believe, like Robert Frost, that poetry is a way of catching life by the throat or, like Eliot, it is one person talking to another, nobody does it better than the poets whose work and life will feature in this publication.

Virago

Sin

Josephine Hart
Virago

Damage

Josephine Hart
Virago

The Truth About Love

Josephine Hart

It's dangerous . . . and that's the truth about love . . . A young man shields his terrible wounds from his mother; a husband believes he can love his grief-stricken wife back to life; a young girl puts her own life on hold until her family can find their way back from blinding pain; a man surrenders to the helplessness of obsessive love. Set in Ireland, this brilliant, intense story is about a family named O'Hara who chose to remain in the place of their loss, and the stranger from Germany who has run from his. It's about love - for another, for a country, for family - and survival, and it's remarkable.

Josephine Hart

Josephine Hart (1942-2011) was the bestselling author of Damage, Sin, Oblivion and The Reconstructionist. She was a Director of Haymarket Publishing and founded Gallery Poets before going on to produce a number of West End plays. As well writing novels, she was a `poetry evangelist' and her Josephine Hart Poetry Hour at the British Library inspired two edited poetry books: Catching Life By the Throat and Words that Burn. She was married to Maurice Saatchi and had two sons.

Virago

Words That Burn

Josephine Hart
by Nora Roberts

The Witness: Chapter 1

Chapter One of Nora Roberts' thrilling romance, The Witness.

Little, Brown

Best-Loved Poems

Neil Philip, Isabelle Brent

This highly accessible collection gathers together the best-loved gems of English language verse, from the deeply moving to the hilariously silly. The poems span the entire range of verse from high drama to stuff-and-nonsense and are presented in nine sections: Poems of Childhood and Youth; Poems of Love and Marriage; Poems of Life; Poems of Loss and Comfort; Poems of War and Peace; Poems to Read Aloud; Poems to Read Quietly; Poems of Animals and Nature and Poems of Magic and Mystery.The anthology includes works by William Blake, Dylan Thomas, Seamus Heaney, Robert Burns, T S Eliot, Rudyard Kipling, W B Yeats and many, many more. The poems have all been chosen and arranged by Neil Philip and the volume is illustrated throughout with watercolour borders and decorative motifs by Isabelle Brent, glowing with her trademark gold leaf.

Virago

If Not, Winter: Fragments Of Sappho

Anne Carson
Robinson

Mammoth Books presents Unexpected Encounters

Caitlín R. Kiernan, Mark Samuels, Richard L. Tierney, Simon Kurt Unsworth
by Amanda Carlson

Full Blooded

Read the first chapter of Full Blooded by Amanda Carlson, the start of an exceptionally fast-paced and irresistibly sexy new urban fantasy trilogy!

by Gregory David Roberts

Shantaram - Introduction

The introduction the Gregory David Roberts' Abacus 40 edition of 'Shantaram': the book that inspired a million journeys.

Hachette Digital

Pretending To Be Me: Philip Larkin, A Portrait

Tom Courtenay

PRETENDING TO BE ME is an intimate, acerbic and occasionally scurrilous show about the poet, jazz aficionado and Hull University librarian, Philip Larkin.Larkin ('the magnificent Eeyore of British verse' - Daily Telegraph) has moved home; surrounded by packing cases, playing selections from his favourite jazz LPs, and making himself cups of tea - and later whiskies - he reflects wryly on writing and life.Hilarious and moving, the narrative shifts seamlessly between Larkin's outrageous wit and the poems, which Courtenay reads with powerful directness and simplicity.PHILIP LARKIN, one of the foremost figures in 20th-Century English poetry, feared his epitaph would be: 'They fuck you up, your mum and dad'. This, and other familiar poems, 'An Arundel Tomb', 'The Whitsun Weddings' and 'High Windows' are included in PRETENDING TO BE ME.

The summer must-read from Kate Furnivall

EXTRACT: SHADOWS ON THE NILE

Beautifully written, compulsively plotted and truly satisfying – Shadows on the Nile is a summer must-have for fans of Julia Gregson, Rosie Thomas and other sumptuous historical romances Indulge yourself with this sneak-peek at the first chapter now.

The start of a magnificent new trilogy

An Extract from The Summer Queen

Overflowing with scandal, sex, triumph and tragedy. Read the first chapter of The Summer Queen, the gripping new novel from New York Times Bestseller, Elizabeth Chadwick.

Corsair

A Visit From the Goon Squad

Jennifer Egan

Jennifer Egan's spellbinding novel circles the lives of Bennie Salazar, an ageing former punk rocker and record executive, and Sasha, the passionate, troubled young woman he employs. Although Bennie and Sasha never discover each other's pasts, the reader does, in intimate detail, along with the secret lives of a host of other characters whose paths intersect with theirs, over many years, in locales as varied as New York, San Francisco, Naples, and Africa.We first meet Sasha in her mid-thirties, on her therapist's couch in New York City, confronting her long-standing compulsion to steal. Later, we learn the genesis of her turmoil when we see her as the child of a violent marriage, then a runaway living in Naples, then as a college student trying to avert the suicidal impulses of her best friend. We meet Bennie Salazar at the melancholy nadir of his adult life-divorced, struggling to connect with his nine-year-old son, listening to a washed up band in the basement of a suburban house-and then revisit him in 1979, at the height of his youth, shy and tender, revelling in San Francisco's punk scene as he discovers his ardour for rock and roll and his gift for spotting talent. We learn what became of his high school gang-who thrived and who faltered-and we encounter Lou Kline, Bennie's catastrophically careless mentor, along with the lovers and children left behind in the wake of Lou's far flung sexual conquests and meteoric rise and fall.A Visit from the Goon Squad is a book about the interplay of time and music, about survival, about the stirrings and transformations set inexorably in motion by even the most passing conjunction of our fates. In a breathtaking array of styles and tones ranging from tragedy to satire to Powerpoint, Egan captures the undertow of self-destruction that we all must either master or succumb to; the basic human hunger for redemption; and the universal tendency to reach for both-and escape the merciless progress of time-in the transporting realms of art and music. Sly, startling, exhilarating work from one of our boldest writers.

Kate Colquhoun on her new book, Did She Kill Him?

Why is Victorian crime so appealing?

What is it about Victorian crime that still manages to grab us by the throat?

Virago

The Door

Margaret Atwood
Back Bay

Rule Number Two

Heidi Squier Kraft

When Lieutenant Commander Heidi Kraft's twins were fifteen months old, she was deployed to Iraq. A clinical psychologist in the US Navy, Kraft had the job of uncovering the wounds of war that surgeons never see. She put away thoughts of her children and learned how to listen to the most traumatic stories a war zone has to offer.One of the toughest lessons was perfectly articulated by the TV show M*A*S*H: "There are two rules of war. Rule number one is that young men die. Rule number two is that doctors can't change rule number one." Some marines, Kraft realized, would be damaged by war in ways that she couldn't repair. And sometimes people were repaired in ways she never expected.RULE NUMBER TWO has steadily established itself as a powerful firsthand account of providing comfort amid the chaos of war, and of what it takes to endure. Now, at long last in paperback, it will reach an even wider audience.

Hachette Digital

Carol Ann Duffy: Selected Poems

Carol Ann Duffy