Related to: 'Sweet William'

Virago

A Quiet Life

Beryl Bainbridge
Authors:
Beryl Bainbridge
Virago

A Weekend With Claude

Beryl Bainbridge
Authors:
Beryl Bainbridge

An old snapshot shows a group of friends lounging in the sunshine, on a weekend in the country at the invitation of bearded, satyric Claude and his wife Julia. The girl in the centre is dreamy Lily, whose latest failed love affair forms the purpose of the weekend, as Lily's friends set out to help her ensnare an unwitting father for her unborn child. Next to her is Norman, a Marxist romantic hell-bent on seducing his milk-white hostess; behind them is old, persecuted Shebah; and, slightly apart, the young man on whom all hopes are pinned: quiet, pleasant Edward. Told through the fractured narratives of Claude, Lily, Shebah and Norman, in Beryl Bainbridge's first published novel a darkly comic weekend of friendship and failure unravels.

Virago

Harriet Said...

Beryl Bainbridge
Authors:
Beryl Bainbridge
Abacus

Mum and Mr Armitage

Beryl Bainbridge
Authors:
Beryl Bainbridge
Abacus

The Bottle Factory Outing

Beryl Bainbridge
Authors:
Beryl Bainbridge

Freda and Brenda spend their days working in an Italian-run wine-bottling factory. A work outing offers promise for Freda and terror from Brenda; passions run high on that chilly day of freedom, and life after the outing never returns to normal. Beryl Bainbridge will dazzle readers in this offbeat, haunting yet hilarious novel.

Little, Brown

The Girl In The Polka Dot Dress

Beryl Bainbridge
Authors:
Beryl Bainbridge
Abacus

The Dressmaker

Beryl Bainbridge
Authors:
Beryl Bainbridge
Abacus

Master Georgie

Beryl Bainbridge
Authors:
Beryl Bainbridge
Abacus

An Awfully Big Adventure

Beryl Bainbridge
Authors:
Beryl Bainbridge

It is 1950 and the Liverpool reporatory theatre company is rehearsing its Christmas production of Peter Pan, a story of childhood innocence and loss. Stella has been taken on as assistant stage manager and quickly becomes obsessed with Meredith, the dissolute director. But it is only when the celebrated O'Hara arrives to take the lead, that a different drama unfolds. In it, he and Stella are bound together in a past that neither dares to interpret.

Abacus

Injury Time

Beryl Bainbridge
Authors:
Beryl Bainbridge
The summer must-read from Kate Furnivall

EXTRACT: SHADOWS ON THE NILE

Beautifully written, compulsively plotted and truly satisfying – Shadows on the Nile is a summer must-have for fans of Julia Gregson, Rosie Thomas and other sumptuous historical romances Indulge yourself with this sneak-peek at the first chapter now.

Abacus

Young Adolf

Beryl Bainbridge
Authors:
Beryl Bainbridge
Abacus

According To Queeney

Beryl Bainbridge
Authors:
Beryl Bainbridge

Beryl Bainbridge's latest novel is a masterly evocation of the last years of Dr Johnson, arguably Britain's greatest Man of Letters. The time is the 1770s and 1780s and Johnson, having completed his life's major work (he compiled the first ever Dictionary of the English Language) is running an increasingly chaotic life. Torn between his strict morality and his undeclared passion for Mrs Thrale, the wife of an old friend, ACCORDING TO QUEENEY reveals one of Britain's most wonderful characters in all his wit and glory. Above all, though, this is a story of love and friendship and brilliantly narrated by Queeney, Mrs Thrale's daughter, looking back over her life. A few of Johnson quotes: *Marriage has many pains, but celibacy has no pleasures *No man but a blockhead ever wrote, except for money *When a man is tired of London, he is tired of life

by Amanda Carlson

Full Blooded

Read the first chapter of Full Blooded by Amanda Carlson, the start of an exceptionally fast-paced and irresistibly sexy new urban fantasy trilogy!

by Val McDermid

The Vanishing Point - Chapter One

It's every parent's worst nightmare - your child abducted while you look on, helpless. But five-year-old Jimmy's life is shrouded in secrets, and his mother will be forced to make the most difficult choice of her life - a choice that will affect everyone around her...

C & R Crime

Bone Idle

Suzette Hill
Authors:
Suzette Hill

Revd Francis Oughterard is in the grip of a blackmailer and under orders to steal a valuable figurine. Relief at success is short-lived when the theft backfires, and further skulduggery ensues. The Reverend's efforts to distance himself from yet another murder lead to embarrassing complications for him and his pompous bishop, Horace Clinker. When things come to a head in the form of crazily menacing Victor Crumpemeyer, it is once again up to the Reverend's world-weary cat, Maurice, and intrepid mongrel, Bouncer, to save his bacon. Praise for Suzette A. Hill: 'Perfect one-sitting summer read.' Laura Wilson, Guardian 'I think this is tremendous - amusing and professional' Dame Beryl Bainbridge 'E F Benson crossed with Jerome K Jerome' The Times audiobooks review 'Quite why this series should be charming, astringent and witty, instead of emetically twee, I am not sure, but it is entirely delightful' Guardian 'This dry, funny British gem, with its eccentric cast of characters, will have readers laughing and eagerly awaiting the next episode' Publishers Weekly 'An intriguingly quirky read! And Maurice the cat is a very clever puss indeed!' Leslie Phillips OBE

Corsair

Fin and Lady

Cathleen Schine
Authors:
Cathleen Schine

Eleven-year-old Fin and his older half-sister, Lady, have just been orphaned. Fin has not seen his glamorous sister in six years, but she is now his legal guardian - and his only hope. Uprooted from his home on a small dairy farm in rural Connecticut, Fin joins Lady in her Greenwich Village apartment. With the Swinging Sixties swirling in kaleidoscope colour all around him, Fin soon learns that his free-living, free-loving sister is going to be as much his responsibility, as he is hers. Comic and romantic, joyous and moving, Fin & Lady is a spirited love story about a brother and sister who must form their own unconventional bond in increasingly troubled times. Praise for The Three Weissmanns of Westport: 'Elegant prose, pin-sharp humour, and an ending that proves satisfyingly bittersweet.' Guardian 'Intelligent and beguiling.' The Times 'Sparkling, crisp, clever, deft, hilarious, and deeply affecting.' New York Times

Sphere

Whistling For The Elephants

Sandi Toksvig
Authors:
Sandi Toksvig
Abacus

Every Man For Himself

Beryl Bainbridge
Authors:
Beryl Bainbridge

Beryl Bainbridge

Beryl Bainbridge was one of the greatest living novelists. Author of seventeen novels, two travel books and five plays for stage and television, she was shortlisted for the Booker Prize five times, and won many literary awards including the Whitbread Prize and the Author of the Year Award at the British Book Awards. She died in July 2010.