Related to: 'The Naming Of The Beasts'

Orbit

Dead Men's Boots

Mike Carey
Authors:
Mike Carey

Before he died, Castor's fellow exorcist John Gittings made several calls asking for help and if Castor had answered them, John might still be alive. So when a smooth-talking lawyer comes out of nowhere to claim the remains, Castor owes it to John's unhappy ghost and even more unhappy widow to help out. If only life were that simple. A brutal murder in King's Cross bears all the hallmarks of an American serial killer supposedly forty years dead, and it takes more good sense than Castor possesses not to get involved. He's also fighting a legal battle over the body - if not the soul - of his possessed friend, Rafi, and can't shake the feeling that his three problems are related. With the help of the succubus Juliet, paranoid zombie data-fence Nicky Heath and a little judicious digging, Castor just might have a chance of fitting the pieces together before someone drops him down a lift shaft or rips his throat out. Or not. . .

Orbit

Thicker Than Water

Mike Carey
Authors:
Mike Carey
Orbit

The Devil You Know

Mike Carey
Authors:
Mike Carey

Felix Castor is a freelance exorcist, and London is his stamping ground. At a time when the supernatural world is in upheaval and spilling over into the mundane reality of the living, his skills have never been more in demand. A good exorcist can charge what he likes - and enjoy a hell of a life-style - but there's a risk: sooner or later he's going to take on a spirit that's too strong for him. After a year spent in 'retirement' Castor is reluctantly drawn back to the life he rejected and accepts a seemingly simple exorcism case - just to pay the bills, you understand. Trouble is, the more he discovers about the ghost haunting the archive, the more things don't add up. What should have been a perfectly straightforward exorcism is rapidly turning into the Who Can Kill Castor First Show, with demons, were-beings and ghosts all keen to claim the big prize. But that's OK; Castor knows how to deal with the dead. It's the living who piss him off . . .

Orbit

Vicious Circle

Mike Carey
Authors:
Mike Carey

Castor has reluctantly returned to exorcism after the case of the Bonnington Archive ghost convinced him that he really can do some good with his abilities ('good', of course, being a relative term when dealing with the undead). But his friend, Rafi, is still possessed; the succubus, Ajulutsikael (Juliet to her friends), still technically has a contract on him; and he's still - let's not beat around the bush - dirt poor. Doing some consulting for the local constabulary helps pay the bills, but Castor needs a big, private job to really fill the hole in his overdraft. That's what he needs. What he gets, good fortune and Castor not being on speaking terms, is a seemingly insignificant 'missing ghost' case that inexorably drags himself and his loved ones into the middle of a horrific plot to raise one of Hell's fiercest demons. And when Satanists, sacrifice farms, stolen spirits and possessed churches all appear on the same police report, the name of Felix Castor can't be too far behind . . .

Piatkus

Three Wishes

Carey Goldberg, Beth Jones, Pamela Ferdinand
Authors:
Carey Goldberg, Beth Jones, Pamela Ferdinand
Sphere

The Iron Castle

Angus Donald
Authors:
Angus Donald

AD 1203: ROBIN HOOD MUST TURN THE TIDE OF WAR Normandy Ablaze AD 1203: England and France are locked in a brutal struggle for power. The fate of the embattled duchy of Normandy is in the hands of the weak and untrustworthy King John. Facing disaster, he calls for help from a former outlaw - Robin Hood. The Earl of Locksley As King Philip II's army rips through the Norman defences, Robin - the Earl of Locksley - leads a savage mercenary force into battle under the English banner, supported by his loyal lieutenant Sir Alan Dale. But defeat is only one castle away. The Iron Castle The most powerful fortress in Christendom, only Château Gaillard can resist the French advance. Robin and Alan must defend this last bastion against overwhelming force - for if the Iron Castle falls, Normandy will fall with it.

Orbit

The Paradox

Charlie Fletcher
Authors:
Charlie Fletcher

SOMETIMES YOU LOOK IN THE MIRROR - SOMETIMES IT LOOKS BACK. Those who belong to the secret society called The Oversight know many things. They know cold iron will hold back the beasts in the darkness. They know it is dangerous to stand between two mirrors. And they know that, despite their dwindling numbers, it remains their duty to protect humanity from the predations of the supernatural. And vice versa. But two of the society's strongest members, Mr Sharp and Sara Falk, are trapped in the world between the mirrors, looking for each other, searching for a way back home. What they discover there will have ominous consequences both for The Oversight and the world it protects, effects that will make them question everything they thought they knew. The dark waters rise. The candle is guttering. But the light still remains. For now . . .

Orbit

The Girl With All The Gifts

M. R. Carey
Authors:
M. R. Carey
Abacus

The Mould In Dr Florey's Coat

Eric Lax
Authors:
Eric Lax
The summer must-read from Kate Furnivall

EXTRACT: SHADOWS ON THE NILE

Beautifully written, compulsively plotted and truly satisfying – Shadows on the Nile is a summer must-have for fans of Julia Gregson, Rosie Thomas and other sumptuous historical romances Indulge yourself with this sneak-peek at the first chapter now.

Virago

On Writers and Writing

Margaret Atwood
Authors:
Margaret Atwood
by Nora Roberts

The Witness: Chapter 1

Chapter One of Nora Roberts' thrilling romance, The Witness.

Corsair

The Half-Made World

Felix Gilman
Authors:
Felix Gilman

Lauren Bacall

Lauren Bacall has been an icon for over six decades and has made over 50 films. Together with Humphrey Bogart she became Hollywood's most celebrated couple on and off screen. She has various lifetime achievement awards, two Tony awards, two Golden Globes and an Oscar nomination. She has three children and lives in New York City with her beloved partner Sophie, her dog.

Mike Carey

Mike Carey is the acclaimed writer of Lucifer and Hellblazer (now filmed as Constantine). He has recently completed a comics adaptation of Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere, and is the current writer on Marvel's X-Men and Ultimate Fantastic Four. He has also written the screenplay for a movie, Frost Flowers, which is soon to be produced by Hadaly Films and Bluestar Pictures.

Little, Brown

The May Bride

Suzannah Dunn
Authors:
Suzannah Dunn

I didn't stand a chance: looking back over thirteen years, that's what I see. In the very first instant, I was won over, and of course I was: I was fifteen and had been nowhere and done nothing, whereas Katherine was twenty-one and yellow-silk-clad and just married to the golden boy... Jane Seymour is a shy, dutiful fifteen-year-old when her eldest brother, Edward, brings his bride home to Wolf Hall. Katherine Filliol is the perfect match for Edward, as well as being a breath of fresh air for the Seymour family, and Jane is captivated by the older girl. Over the course of a long, hot country summer, the two become close friends and allies, while Edward is busy building alliances at court and advancing his career. However, only two years later, the family is torn apart by a dreadful allegation made by Edward against his wife. The repercussions for all the Seymours are incalculable, not least for Katherine herself. When Jane is sent away, to serve Katharine of Aragon, she is forced to witness another wife being put aside, with terrible consequences. Changed forever by what happened to Katherine Filliol, Jane comes to understand that in a world where power is held entirely by men, there is a way in which she can still hold true to herself.

Piatkus

Undead And Unemployed

MaryJanice Davidson
Authors:
MaryJanice Davidson
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Illusive

Emily Lloyd-Jones
Authors:
Emily Lloyd-Jones
Grand Central Publishing

Pot Psychology's How To Be

Tracie Egan Morrissey, Rich Juzwiak, Lindsay Mound
Contributors:
Tracie Egan Morrissey, Rich Juzwiak, Lindsay Mound

Nobody needs advice, but everybody wants it. Conversely, everybody wants to give advice but we need to. It's in our blood...because we're stoned. That's the point. And what better way to legitimize two stoned people's need to babble advice than with a book? Allow us to introduce ourselves: We're Tracie and Rich. We go way back. We met as teenagers in 1998, during our freshman year at NYU. We were at a dorm party, where lesbians and gay men were making out. Tracie had short hair and glasses; Rich approached and asked, "Do you like Ani DiFranco?" That was not a come-on. We didn't kiss (and Tracie is not a lesbian, anyway), but we did shotgun a joint. From there, a friendship was born. Flash forward 12 years. We host an Internet video series in which we answer viewer-submitted questions, solving their problems with the help of an herbal remedy. Basically we get stoned and tell people how to live their lives. We give our two cents (or is that 420 sense?) on all of life's non-problems from party etiquette, problems in the workplace, what religion to be, to whether or not your boyfriend/girlfriend/parent/friend/teacher/pet is gay. At this point, we want to get higher, and take things to the next level. We've already gotten inside people's heads-now we want to get in their pants. With a pocket guide, pervert. It is intended to be a reference guide for people to carry through life. Because you never know when life will present a non-problem outside of a wifi hot zone. (And that's a non-problem solved right there.)

Virago

Getting Colder

Amanda Coe
Authors:
Amanda Coe

Shortlisted for the Encore Award for best second novel. They were colour-supplement darlings of the 1980s: Patrick, the sexy, ferocious young playwright, scourge of an enthralled establishment, and Sara, who abandoned her two children to fulfil her destiny as Patrick's beautiful, devoted wife and muse. Thirty-five years later, Sara's death leaves Patrick alone in their crumbling house in Cornwall, with his whisky, his writer's block and his undimmed rage against the world. But bereavement is no respecter of life's estrangements, and Sara's children, Louise and Nigel, are now adults, with memories, questions and agendas of their own. What was their mother really like? Why did she leave them? What has she left them? And how can Patrick carry on without the love of his life? Getting Colder is a painfully funny and perceptive novel about family, love, and how sometimes the harder you look, the less you find.