Related to: 'The Naming Of The Beasts'

Orbit

Dead Men's Boots

Mike Carey
Authors:
Mike Carey

Before he died, Castor's fellow exorcist John Gittings made several calls asking for help and if Castor had answered them, John might still be alive. So when a smooth-talking lawyer comes out of nowhere to claim the remains, Castor owes it to John's unhappy ghost and even more unhappy widow to help out. If only life were that simple. A brutal murder in King's Cross bears all the hallmarks of an American serial killer supposedly forty years dead, and it takes more good sense than Castor possesses not to get involved. He's also fighting a legal battle over the body - if not the soul - of his possessed friend, Rafi, and can't shake the feeling that his three problems are related. With the help of the succubus Juliet, paranoid zombie data-fence Nicky Heath and a little judicious digging, Castor just might have a chance of fitting the pieces together before someone drops him down a lift shaft or rips his throat out. Or not. . .

Orbit

Thicker Than Water

Mike Carey
Authors:
Mike Carey
Orbit

The Devil You Know

Mike Carey
Authors:
Mike Carey

Felix Castor is a freelance exorcist, and London is his stamping ground. At a time when the supernatural world is in upheaval and spilling over into the mundane reality of the living, his skills have never been more in demand. A good exorcist can charge what he likes - and enjoy a hell of a life-style - but there's a risk: sooner or later he's going to take on a spirit that's too strong for him. After a year spent in 'retirement' Castor is reluctantly drawn back to the life he rejected and accepts a seemingly simple exorcism case - just to pay the bills, you understand. Trouble is, the more he discovers about the ghost haunting the archive, the more things don't add up. What should have been a perfectly straightforward exorcism is rapidly turning into the Who Can Kill Castor First Show, with demons, were-beings and ghosts all keen to claim the big prize. But that's OK; Castor knows how to deal with the dead. It's the living who piss him off . . .

Orbit

Vicious Circle

Mike Carey
Authors:
Mike Carey
Orbit

The Paradox

Charlie Fletcher
Authors:
Charlie Fletcher
Orbit

The Girl With All The Gifts

M. R. Carey
Authors:
M. R. Carey

NOT EVERY GIFT IS A BLESSING Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant Parks keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don't like her. She jokes that she won't bite. But they don't laugh. Melanie is a very special girl. Emotionally charged and gripping from beginning to end, THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS is the most powerful and affecting thriller you will read this year. 'Original, thrilling and powerful' - GUARDIAN 'Haunting, heartbreaking' - VOGUE 'A great read that takes hold of you and doesn´t let go' - John Ajvide Lindqvist, author of LET THE RIGHT ONE IN 'Scary, tense and fast-paced . . . but with a heart-warming tenderness' - MARIE CLAIRE

Piatkus

Three Wishes

Carey Goldberg, Beth Jones, Pamela Ferdinand
Authors:
Carey Goldberg, Beth Jones, Pamela Ferdinand
The summer must-read from Kate Furnivall

EXTRACT: SHADOWS ON THE NILE

Beautifully written, compulsively plotted and truly satisfying – Shadows on the Nile is a summer must-have for fans of Julia Gregson, Rosie Thomas and other sumptuous historical romances Indulge yourself with this sneak-peek at the first chapter now.

Virago

On Writers and Writing

Margaret Atwood
Authors:
Margaret Atwood

What is the role of the writer? Prophet? High Priest of Art? Court Jester? Or witness to the real world? Looking back on her own childhood and the development of her writing career, Margaret Atwood examines the metaphors which writers of fiction and poetry have used to explain - or excuse! - their activities, looking at what costumes they have seen fit to assume, what roles they have chosen to play. In her final chapter she takes up the challenge of the book's title: if a writer is to be seen as 'gifted', who is doing the giving and what are the terms of the gift? Margaret Atwood's wide and eclectic reference to other writers, living and dead, is balanced by anecdotes from her own experiences as a writer, both in Canada and on the international scene. The lightness of her touch is underlined by a seriousness about the purpose and the pleasures of writing, and by a deep familiarity with the myths and traditions of western literature.

by Nora Roberts

The Witness: Chapter 1

Chapter One of Nora Roberts' thrilling romance, The Witness.

Orbit

The Coldest War

Ian Tregillis
Authors:
Ian Tregillis
Orbit

Necessary Evil

Ian Tregillis
Authors:
Ian Tregillis

The history of the Twentieth Century has been shaped by a secret conflict between technology and magic. When a twisted Nazi scientist devised a way to imbue ordinary humans with supernatural abilities - to walk through walls, throw fire and see the future - his work became the prized possession of first the Third Reich, then the Soviet Army. Only Britain's warlocks, and the dark magics they yield, have successfully countered the threat posed by these superhuman armies. But for decades, this conflict has been manipulated by Gretel, the mad seer. And now her long plan has come to fruition. And with it, a danger vastly greater than anything the world has known. Now British Intelligence officer Raybould Marsh must make a last-ditch effort to change the course of history - if his nation, and those he loves, are to survive.

Orbit

Bitter Seeds

Ian Tregillis
Authors:
Ian Tregillis

The year is 1939. Raybould Marsh and other members of British Intelligence have gathered to watch a damaged reel of film in a darkened room. It appears to show German troops walking through walls, bursting into flames and hurling tanks into the air from afar.If the British are to believe their eyes, a twisted Nazi scientist has been endowing German troops with unnatural, unstoppable powers. And Raybould will be forced to resort to dark methods to hold the impending invasion at bay.But dealing with the occult exacts a price. And that price must be paid in blood.Ian Tregillis' Bitter Seeds is a chilling masterpiece - a tale of a twentieth century like our own and also profoundly different.

Sphere

The Iron Castle

Angus Donald
Authors:
Angus Donald
Corsair

The Half-Made World

Felix Gilman
Authors:
Felix Gilman

The world is still only half-made. Between the wild shores of uncreation, and the ancient lands of the East lies the vast expanse of the West---young, chaotic, magnificent, war-torn. Thirty years ago, the Red Republic fought to remake the West---fought gloriously, and failed. The world that now exists has been carved out amid a war between two rival factions: the Line, enslaving the world with industry, and the Gun, a cult of terror and violence. The Republic is now history, and the last of its generals sits forgotten and nameless in a madhouse on the edge of creation. But locked in his memories is a secret that could change the West forever, and the world's warring powers would do anything to take it from him. Now Liv Alverhuysen, a doctor of the new science of psychology, travels west, hoping to heal the general's shattered mind. John Creedmoor, reluctant Agent of the Gun and would-be gentleman of leisure, travels west, too, looking to steal the secret or die trying. And the servants of the Line are on the march.

Lauren Bacall

Lauren Bacall has been an icon for over six decades and has made over 50 films. Together with Humphrey Bogart she became Hollywood's most celebrated couple on and off screen. She has various lifetime achievement awards, two Tony awards, two Golden Globes and an Oscar nomination. She has three children and lives in New York City with her beloved partner Sophie, her dog.

Abacus

The Mould In Dr Florey's Coat

Eric Lax
Authors:
Eric Lax
Little, Brown

The May Bride

Suzannah Dunn
Authors:
Suzannah Dunn
Piatkus

Undead And Unemployed

MaryJanice Davidson
Authors:
MaryJanice Davidson
Piatkus

Undead And Unwed

MaryJanice Davidson
Authors:
MaryJanice Davidson