Related to: 'The Naming Of The Beasts'

Orbit

Dead Men's Boots

Mike Carey
Authors:
Mike Carey
Orbit

Thicker Than Water

Mike Carey
Authors:
Mike Carey

Old ghosts of different kinds come back to haunt Fix, in the fourth gripping Felix Castor novel. Names and faces he thought he'd left behind in Liverpool resurface in London, bringing Castor far more trouble than he'd anticipated. Childhood memories, family traumas, sins old and new, and a council estate that was meant to be a modern utopia until it turned into something like hell . . . these are just some of the sticks life uses to beat Felix Castor with as things go from bad to worse for London's favourite freelance exorcist. See, Castor's stepped over the line this time, and he knows he'll have to pay; the only question is: how much? Not the best of times, then, for an unwelcome confrontation with his holier-than-thou brother, Matthew. And just when he thinks things can't possibly get any worse, along comes Father Gwillam and the Anathemata. Oh joy . . .

Orbit

The Devil You Know

Mike Carey
Authors:
Mike Carey

Felix Castor is a freelance exorcist, and London is his stamping ground. At a time when the supernatural world is in upheaval and spilling over into the mundane reality of the living, his skills have never been more in demand. A good exorcist can charge what he likes - and enjoy a hell of a life-style - but there's a risk: sooner or later he's going to take on a spirit that's too strong for him. After a year spent in 'retirement' Castor is reluctantly drawn back to the life he rejected and accepts a seemingly simple exorcism case - just to pay the bills, you understand. Trouble is, the more he discovers about the ghost haunting the archive, the more things don't add up. What should have been a perfectly straightforward exorcism is rapidly turning into the Who Can Kill Castor First Show, with demons, were-beings and ghosts all keen to claim the big prize. But that's OK; Castor knows how to deal with the dead. It's the living who piss him off . . .

Orbit

Vicious Circle

Mike Carey
Authors:
Mike Carey
The summer must-read from Kate Furnivall

EXTRACT: SHADOWS ON THE NILE

Beautifully written, compulsively plotted and truly satisfying – Shadows on the Nile is a summer must-have for fans of Julia Gregson, Rosie Thomas and other sumptuous historical romances Indulge yourself with this sneak-peek at the first chapter now.

Piatkus

Three Wishes

Carey Goldberg, Beth Jones, Pamela Ferdinand
Authors:
Carey Goldberg, Beth Jones, Pamela Ferdinand
Orbit

The Paradox

Charlie Fletcher
Authors:
Charlie Fletcher

SOMETIMES YOU LOOK IN THE MIRROR - SOMETIMES IT LOOKS BACK.Those who belong to the secret society called The Oversight know many things. They know cold iron will hold back the beasts in the darkness. They know it is dangerous to stand between two mirrors. And they know that, despite their dwindling numbers, it remains their duty to protect humanity from the predations of the supernatural. And vice versa.But two of the society's strongest members, Mr Sharp and Sara Falk, are trapped in the world between the mirrors, looking for each other, searching for a way back home. What they discover there will have ominous consequences both for The Oversight and the world it protects, effects that will make them question everything they thought they knew.The dark waters rise. The candle is guttering. But the light still remains. For now . . .

Orbit

The Girl With All The Gifts

M. R. Carey
Authors:
M. R. Carey

NOT EVERY GIFT IS A BLESSING Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant Parks keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don't like her. She jokes that she won't bite. But they don't laugh. Melanie is a very special girl. Emotionally charged and gripping from beginning to end, THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS is the most powerful and affecting thriller you will read this year. 'Original, thrilling and powerful' - GUARDIAN 'Haunting, heartbreaking' - VOGUE 'A great read that takes hold of you and doesn´t let go' - John Ajvide Lindqvist, author of LET THE RIGHT ONE IN 'Scary, tense and fast-paced . . . but with a heart-warming tenderness' - MARIE CLAIRE

Virago

On Writers and Writing

Margaret Atwood
Authors:
Margaret Atwood

What is the role of the writer? Prophet? High Priest of Art? Court Jester? Or witness to the real world? Looking back on her own childhood and the development of her writing career, Margaret Atwood examines the metaphors which writers of fiction and poetry have used to explain - or excuse! - their activities, looking at what costumes they have seen fit to assume, what roles they have chosen to play. In her final chapter she takes up the challenge of the book's title: if a writer is to be seen as 'gifted', who is doing the giving and what are the terms of the gift? Margaret Atwood's wide and eclectic reference to other writers, living and dead, is balanced by anecdotes from her own experiences as a writer, both in Canada and on the international scene. The lightness of her touch is underlined by a seriousness about the purpose and the pleasures of writing, and by a deep familiarity with the myths and traditions of western literature.

by Nora Roberts

The Witness: Chapter 1

Chapter One of Nora Roberts' thrilling romance, The Witness.

Corsair

The Half-Made World

Felix Gilman
Authors:
Felix Gilman

The world is still only half-made. Between the wild shores of uncreation, and the ancient lands of the East lies the vast expanse of the West---young, chaotic, magnificent, war-torn. Thirty years ago, the Red Republic fought to remake the West---fought gloriously, and failed. The world that now exists has been carved out amid a war between two rival factions: the Line, enslaving the world with industry, and the Gun, a cult of terror and violence. The Republic is now history, and the last of its generals sits forgotten and nameless in a madhouse on the edge of creation. But locked in his memories is a secret that could change the West forever, and the world's warring powers would do anything to take it from him. Now Liv Alverhuysen, a doctor of the new science of psychology, travels west, hoping to heal the general's shattered mind. John Creedmoor, reluctant Agent of the Gun and would-be gentleman of leisure, travels west, too, looking to steal the secret or die trying. And the servants of the Line are on the march.

Sphere

The Iron Castle

Angus Donald
Authors:
Angus Donald

AD 1203: ROBIN HOOD MUST TURN THE TIDE OF WARNormandy AblazeAD 1203: England and France are locked in a brutal struggle for power. The fate of the embattled duchy of Normandy is in the hands of the weak and untrustworthy King John. Facing disaster, he calls for help from a former outlaw - Robin Hood.The Earl of LocksleyAs King Philip II's army rips through the Norman defences, Robin - the Earl of Locksley - leads a savage mercenary force into battle under the English banner, supported by his loyal lieutenant Sir Alan Dale. But defeat is only one castle away.The Iron CastleThe most powerful fortress in Christendom, only Château Gaillard can resist the French advance. Robin and Alan must defend this last bastion against overwhelming force - for if the Iron Castle falls, Normandy will fall with it.

Lauren Bacall

Lauren Bacall has been an icon for over six decades and has made over 50 films. Together with Humphrey Bogart she became Hollywood's most celebrated couple on and off screen. She has various lifetime achievement awards, two Tony awards, two Golden Globes and an Oscar nomination. She has three children and lives in New York City with her beloved partner Sophie, her dog.

Abacus

The Mould In Dr Florey's Coat

Eric Lax
Authors:
Eric Lax
Little, Brown

The May Bride

Suzannah Dunn
Authors:
Suzannah Dunn
Piatkus

Undead And Unemployed

MaryJanice Davidson
Authors:
MaryJanice Davidson

And the first who shall noe the Queen as a husband noes his Wyfe shall be the Queen's Consort and shall rule at her side for a thousand yeares.' The Book of the Dead. 'If that rat bastard Sinclair thinks I'm going to be his wife for a thousand years, he's out of his f***** mind.' From the private papers of Her Majesty, Queen Elizabeth I, Empress of the Undead, Rightful Ruler of the Vampires, Consort of Eric I, Lawful King. Nothing can make Betsy Taylor give up her shoe fetish - even dying and rising as the new Queen of the Vampires. Only being royally undead doesn't mean there aren't still credit card bills to be paid. Things couldn't be better - except for her new friends who keep pestering her while she's at work. As if she has time to socialise when there are deliciously sinful shoes to try on - and buy at a discount. It seems there's been a string of vampire murders in town and they're all clamouring for Betsy to do something about it. The worst part is she'll have to enlist the help of the one vamp who makes her blood boil: the oh-so-sexy Eric Sinclair. Only the last time she ran into Sinclair she accidentally fulfilled an ancient prophesy - and ended up married to him

Piatkus

Undead And Unwed

MaryJanice Davidson
Authors:
MaryJanice Davidson

It's been a hell of a week for Betsy Taylor. First she loses her job. Then she's killed in a freak accident only to wake up in a morgue to discover she's a vampire. On the plus side, being undead sure beats the alternative. She now has superhuman strength and an unnatural effect on the opposite sex. But what Betsy can't handle is her new liquid diet...And whilst her mother and best-friend are just relieved to find out that being dead doesn't mean Betsy's can't visit, her new 'night-time' friends have the ridiculous idea that Betsy is the prophesied vampire queen. The scrumptious Sinclair and his cohorts want her help in overthrowing the most obnoxious power-hungry vampire in five centuries. (A Bella Lugosi wannabe who's seen one to many B-movies.) Frankly Betsy couldn't care less about vamp politics. But Sinclair and his followers have a powerful weapon in their arsenal - unlimited access to Manolo Blahnik's Spring collection. Well, just because a girl's dead - er undead - doesn't mean she can't have great shoes...

Grand Central Publishing

Pot Psychology's How To Be

Tracie Egan Morrissey, Rich Juzwiak, Lindsay Mound
Contributors:
Tracie Egan Morrissey, Rich Juzwiak, Lindsay Mound
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Illusive

Emily Lloyd-Jones
Authors:
Emily Lloyd-Jones
Virago

Getting Colder

Amanda Coe
Authors:
Amanda Coe