Related to: 'The Naked Scientist: Everyday Life Under the Microscope'

Abacus

The Naked Scientist

Chris Smith

Is it possible to tell how happy a dog is by watching the way it wags its tail? Why is the Eiffel Tower 15 centimetres taller in mid-summer than it is in mid-winter? Does sound travel faster in water or air? Can one really read other people like a book? Why do so many people hate eating their greens? Firmly in the tradition of DOES ANYTHING EAT WASPS? new scientific kid on the block Chris Smith - aka THE NAKED SCIENTIST - explores present-day predicaments and tomorrow's technologies, from the most surprising facts to the most innovative new inventions, from staggering stats to serious developments that will transform the world around us.In this fascinating book, top scientist Chris Smith uses his wit and charm to lift the lid on the curious, crazy and compelling - and answer those questions you never thought to ask.

Chris Smith

Dr Chris Smith is a medical doctor and scientist, employed as a specialist registrar and clinical lecturer in virology at Cambridge University. He is also the founder and driving force behind The Naked Scientist, live weekly radio talkback show aired by the BBC

Chapter One

The Uncommon Appeal of Clouds

Read the first chapter of the latest book in Alexander McCall Smith's Sunday Philosophy Club series. The victim of an important art theft appeals to Isabel Dalhousie, Edinburgh philosopher and sleuth, for help.

by Nora Roberts

The Witness: Chapter 1

Chapter One of Nora Roberts' thrilling romance, The Witness.

Piatkus

Your Personal Paleo Diet

Chris Kresser

The idea behind the Paleo, or 'caveman', diet is simple - eat the food we humans were genetically and biologically meant to eat, as our hunter-gatherer ancestors once did, and we can all experience near-effortless weight loss, increased vitality and greatly improved health. But does it really make sense to restrict yourself to the limited range of foods available to our ancestors? Although we share a lot in common with them, we each have our own genes, tastes and health goals.In this groundbreaking book, leading expert Chris Kresser offers his unique solution - a 3-step plan that will fit your body, your lifestyle and your specific health issues. Start by following the basic Paleo plan for 30 days and enjoy a satisfying diet of lean meat, fish, non-starchy vegetables, some fruit, nuts and seeds but avoid grains, dairy, sugar and refined foods. After this 30-day plan, Chris helps you re-introduce certain foods in moderation to find out what agrees with you and what doesn't. So what are you waiting for? You can enjoy life more, look slimmer and feel more vital. And because Chris advocates an 80/20 approach - we all have to live in the real world after all - you can still enjoy your favourite treats from time to time.In addition to dietary advice, the plan also includes guidance on fine-tuning your sleep, exercise and response to stress - all crucial elements in living a life that suits our natural design.

C & R Crime

Everyone Lies

A. D. Garrett

DI Kate Simms is on the fast track to nowhere. Five years ago she helped a colleague when she shouldn't have. She's been clawing her way back from a demotion ever since. Professor Nick Fennimore is a failed genetics student, successful gambler, betting agent, crime scene officer, chemistry graduate, toxicology specialist and one-time scientific advisor to the National Crime Faculty. He is the best there is, but ever since his wife and daughter disappeared he's been hiding away in Scotland, working as a forensics lecturer.In Manchester, drug addicts are turning up dead and Simms' superior is only too pleased to hand the problem to her. Then a celebrity dies and the media gets interested. Another overdose victim shows up, but this time the woman has been systematically beaten and all identifying features removed. The evidence doesn't add up; Simms' superiors seem to be obstructing her investigation; and the one person she can't afford to associate with is the one man who can help: Fennimore.

author of The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul

Q&A with Deborah Rodriguez

Deborah Rodriguez, author of The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul, shares her experiences of Afghanistan in this fascinating Q&A.

Laugh, cry and fall in love

Extract from The Valentine’s Card

The Valentine’s Card is the fabulous first novel from Juliet Ashton. Publishing just in time for Valentine’s Day, it is a heart-warming, heart-breaking tale of love, laughter, and starting over full of vivid characters, real emotions and events both epic and ordinary. If you are looking for something special to read this spring The Valentine’s Card is a MUST. Perfect for fans of Cecelia Ahern, you will laugh, you will cry and you will fall in love with this bright new voice in women’s fiction.

How To Books

How to Start And Run A Home Tutoring Business

Vivienne Howse, Gillian Stellman
New Harbinger

The Nurture Effect

Anthony Biglan
New Harbinger

A Still Quiet Place

Amy Saltzman
Piatkus

The Feel Good Factor

Patrick Holford
Corsair

A Visit From the Goon Squad

Jennifer Egan

Jennifer Egan's spellbinding novel circles the lives of Bennie Salazar, an ageing former punk rocker and record executive, and Sasha, the passionate, troubled young woman he employs. Although Bennie and Sasha never discover each other's pasts, the reader does, in intimate detail, along with the secret lives of a host of other characters whose paths intersect with theirs, over many years, in locales as varied as New York, San Francisco, Naples, and Africa.We first meet Sasha in her mid-thirties, on her therapist's couch in New York City, confronting her long-standing compulsion to steal. Later, we learn the genesis of her turmoil when we see her as the child of a violent marriage, then a runaway living in Naples, then as a college student trying to avert the suicidal impulses of her best friend. We meet Bennie Salazar at the melancholy nadir of his adult life-divorced, struggling to connect with his nine-year-old son, listening to a washed up band in the basement of a suburban house-and then revisit him in 1979, at the height of his youth, shy and tender, revelling in San Francisco's punk scene as he discovers his ardour for rock and roll and his gift for spotting talent. We learn what became of his high school gang-who thrived and who faltered-and we encounter Lou Kline, Bennie's catastrophically careless mentor, along with the lovers and children left behind in the wake of Lou's far flung sexual conquests and meteoric rise and fall.A Visit from the Goon Squad is a book about the interplay of time and music, about survival, about the stirrings and transformations set inexorably in motion by even the most passing conjunction of our fates. In a breathtaking array of styles and tones ranging from tragedy to satire to Powerpoint, Egan captures the undertow of self-destruction that we all must either master or succumb to; the basic human hunger for redemption; and the universal tendency to reach for both-and escape the merciless progress of time-in the transporting realms of art and music. Sly, startling, exhilarating work from one of our boldest writers.

Grand Central Publishing

What Your Dr...Diabetes

Steven V. Joyal
Abacus

Corduroy Mansions

Alexander McCall Smith
Piatkus

Mum's Not Having Chemo

Laura Bond
Piatkus

Cry of Pain

Mark Williams

Suicide presents a real and often tragic puzzle for the family and friends of someone who has committed or attempted suicide. 'Why did they do it?' 'How could they do this?' 'Why did they not see there was help available?' For therapists and clinicians who want to help those who are vulnerable and their families, there are also puzzles that often seem unsolvable. What is it that causes someone to end his or her own life, or to harm themselves: is it down to a person's temperament, the biology of their genes, or to social conditions? What provides the best clue to a suicidal person's thoughts and behaviour? Each type of explanation, seen in isolation, has its drawbacks, so we need to see how they may fit together to give a more complete picture.Cry of Pain examines the evidence from a social, psychological and biological perspective to see if there are common features that might shed light on suicide. Informative and sympathetically written, it is essential reading for therapists and mental health professionals as well as those struggling with suicidal feelings, their families and friends.

How To Books

How To Make Your Own Soap

Sally Hornsey
Abacus

How To Drive A Tank

Frank Coles

Call yourself a man? You do? Do you even know what a real man is? Are you a six foot one Adonis who wears all the latest fashions, moisturises regularly, visits spas for pleasure and never does anything wrong? Or do you drink twenty pints every Friday night, guzzle a kebab on the way home and then fart yourself to sleep? It's time to stop being the man everyone expects you to be and be the one you want to be. And while you're at it, why not discover the practical skills a real man should have: from hot-wiring a car to hiding a dead body, how to disappear without trace in less than 24 hours, to unarmed combat. Add in tips on love, sex, money and fatherhood and you have a book tells you everything you need to know about being a man. Fast-paced and funny this is the ultimate bible for the modern man.

You've chosen the Businessman

A Girl Walks Into A Bar

A Girl Walks Into A Bar extract