Related to: 'The Dressmaker'

How My Dreams Came True

Inspiration for The Dressmaker

Read about Kate Alcott's inspiration for her novel, The Dressmaker

Abacus

Every Man For Himself

Beryl Bainbridge
Authors:
Beryl Bainbridge

For the four fraught, mysterious days of her doomed maiden voyage in 1912, the Titanic sails towards New York, glittering with luxury, freighted with millionaires and hopefuls. In her labyrinthine passageways are played out the last, secret hours of a small group of passengers, their fate sealed in prose of startling, sublime beauty, as Beryl Bainbridge's haunting masterpiece moves inexorably to its known and terrible end.

Virago

The Pink Suit

Nicole Mary Kelby
Authors:
Nicole Mary Kelby
Sphere

Sworn To Secrecy

Mary Larkin
Authors:
Mary Larkin
Virago

The Lifeboat

Charlotte Rogan
Authors:
Charlotte Rogan

I was to stand trial for my life. I was twenty-two years old. I had been married for ten weeks and a widow for six. In the summer of 1914, the Empress Alexandra, a magnificent ocean liner, suffers a mysterious explosion on its voyage from London to New York City. On board are Henry Winter, a rich banker, and his young new wife, Grace. Somehow, Henry manages to secure a place in a lifeboat for Grace. But the survivors quickly realize it is over capacity and could sink at any moment. For any to live, some must die. As the castaways battle the elements, and each other, Grace watches and waits. She is a woman who has learned the value of patience - her journey to a life of glittering privilege has been far from straightforward. Now, she knows, it is in jeopardy, and her very survival is at stake. Over the course of three perilous weeks, the passengers on the lifeboat plot, scheme, gossip and console one another while sitting inches apart. Their deepest beliefs about goodness, humanity and God are tested to the limit as they begin to discover what they will do in order to survive. The Lifeboat is a page-turning story of moral dilemmas, and also the moving and haunting story of Grace, a woman as unforgettable and complicated as the story she recounts.

Sphere

Laura's Handmade Life

Amanda Addison
Authors:
Amanda Addison

Laura Lovegrove is leaving behind her seamless life in London. Architect husband Adi has been relocated to rural Norfolk, a far cry from ultra-urban Ealing. Though Laura knew village life would be different, she didn't foresee a pokey cottage, nosey neighbours, errant poodles, and even an ex turning up. Chris had been her big love at art college and seeing him again is utterly confusing. Is she really so different from the impulsive student who once trawled charity shops for vintage treasures? When a fire all but destroys Laura's collection of vintage clothes, she's heartbroken. And seriously lacking in outfits. But, salvaging what she can, Laura makes do and mends - sewing purses, bags, even dog leads (which should solve the poodle problem). Soon, she's inundated with orders. But Adi is becoming more and more distant; it's like there's something he's not telling her. Can Laura make a stitch in time and pull her family back together again?

Import Aus

Paradise Road

C.J. Duggan
Authors:
C.J. Duggan

More than anything, seventeen-year-old Lexie Atkinson wants to move forward with her life, but she can't seem to shake free of the heart-pounding memories of Paradise High. Back on her parents' property in rural Victoria, she thought she'd left behind the glitzy, gritty nightlife of the big city and the group of misfit friends she'd loved to hate, but she soon realises that in order to move forward, there's something she must do first . . . Lexie's going back to Paradise City to face the boy who stole her heart. Lexie arrives in Paradise City eager to determine if her future includes bad-boy surfer, Luke Ballantine, but Luke is nowhere to be found. Determined not to lose her drive, she focuses on the positive - her amazing new apartment and a chance to try her hand at slinging drinks for the wild partygoers of Paradise City. But when Dean Saville, the owner and broody boss of the Wipe Out Bar, starts stirring more than just her drinks Lexie's future seems less cut and dry; and when Luke barrels back into town, Lexie is forced to choose between her head and her heart.

Robinson

Voices from the Titanic

Geoff Tibballs
Authors:
Geoff Tibballs

The graphic, first-hand story of the first voyage and disastrous sinking of RMS Titanic - told by the survivors themselves. The story of the sinking of the great liner, Titanic, has been told countless times since that fateful night on 14th April 1912 by historians, novelists and film producers alike, but no account is as graphic or revealing as those who were actually there. Through survivors' tales, and contemporary newspaper reports from both sides of the Atlantic, here are eye-witness accounts full of details that range from poignant to humorous, stage by stage from the Liner's glorious launch in Belfast to the sombre sea burial services of those who perished on her first and only voyage. In the book, the voices of the survivors record their own stories, as well as the official records, press reports and investigations into what went wrong that night.

Piatkus

The Duchess Hunt

Jennifer Haymore
Authors:
Jennifer Haymore
Sphere

Scruples

Judith Krantz
Authors:
Judith Krantz

Scruples is a temple of high fashion where the rich and the super-chic can sip champagne, browse, gossip - and buy the most beautiful and expensive clothes in the world. Its owner Billy Ikehorn is stylish, beautiful and rich and her ruthless search for fulfilment leads her from lover to lover. Then she meets the one man who can match her ambition and her passion . . . From the romance of Paris and the streets of New York to the staggering luxury and wealth of Beverly Hills' Rodeo Drive, Scruples is the cult classic that everyone remembers: the original sexy read is back.

Orbit

The Castings Trilogy

Pamela Freeman
Authors:
Pamela Freeman

Bramble is impetuous with a talent for trouble, and she finds it when an accident brands her a criminal. But she expects no mercy with her Traveller blood - so when the village gods tell her to flee, she hits the road. In ghost-ridden Turvite, Ash leaves the road for an apprenticeship, the only one available for a Traveller such as himself. Then his employer trains him to kill on demand and his future looks bleak. But the gods have deeper plans for both Ash and Bramble. Their shared heritage grants them hidden strengths, which are needed to combat a new evil. Saker also remembers Travellers once owned this land. But he intends to take it back in vengeance, using enchantment and the blood of innocents. This omnibus edition contains: BLOOD TIES, DEEP WATER and FULL CIRCLE.

Blackfriars

The Painted Girls

Cathy Marie Buchanan
Authors:
Cathy Marie Buchanan
Abacus

Samarkand

Amin Maalouf
Authors:
Amin Maalouf
The summer must-read from Kate Furnivall

EXTRACT: SHADOWS ON THE NILE

Beautifully written, compulsively plotted and truly satisfying – Shadows on the Nile is a summer must-have for fans of Julia Gregson, Rosie Thomas and other sumptuous historical romances Indulge yourself with this sneak-peek at the first chapter now.

Piatkus

The Twins

Saskia Sarginson
Authors:
Saskia Sarginson

'Convincing and compelling . . . building tension that resonates even after the novel ends' Stylist 'Outstandingly good. Part-thriller, part-love story, I guarantee you will not be able to put it down' Sun 'Touching and extremely readable' Sunday Mirror 'Intense...dark' Daily Mail 'Thumpingly good' Good Housekeeping 'Gripping' Marie Claire 'Clever, and full of suspense' Richard Madeley 'Stunning in its insight and beautifully written' Judy Finnigan 'A Perfect R & J read. Highly compulsive' Bookseller 'An absorbing account of unbreakable and uncanny bonds' Heat 'An excellent debut and you are sure to have a hard time putting it down' Candis 'This book got its hooks into us and wouldn't let go. Hypnotic, with real emotional punch' Star 'This debut reveals a stunning writer with deep insight into people. A beautifully crafted and compelling story that won't disappoint' NZ Women's Weekly 'Timeless and riveting' RT Book Reviews They were identical in every way Until the unthinkable tore them apart Isolte and Viola are twins. Inseparable as children, they've grown into very different adults: Isolte, a successful features writer for a fashion magazine with a photographer boyfriend and a flat in London, and Viola, desperately unhappy and struggling with a lifelong eating disorder. What happened all those years ago to set the twins on such different paths to adulthood? As both women start to unravel the escalating tragedies of a half-remembered summer, terrifying secrets from the past come rushing back - and threaten to overwhelm their adult lives...

Abacus

The Mitford Girls

Mary S. Lovell
Authors:
Mary S. Lovell
Abacus

Palimpsest: A Memoir

Gore Vidal
Authors:
Gore Vidal

This is a memoir of the first 40 years of Gore Vidal's life, ranging back and forth across a rich history. He spent his childhood in Washington DC, in the household of his grandfather, the blind senator from Oklahoma, T.P. Gore, and in the various domestic situations of his complicated and exasperating mother, Nina. Then come schooldays at St Albans and Exeter; the army; life as a literary wunderkind in New York, London, Rome and Paris in the '40s and '50s; sex in an age of promiscuity; and a campaign for Congress in 1960. His cast includes Tennessee Williams, the Kennedys, Eleanor Roosevelt, Truman Capote, Paul Newman and Joanne Woodward, Christopher Isherwood, Jack Kerouac, Jane and Paul Bowles, Santayana, Anais Nin, Norman Mailer, Leonard Bernstein and the Duke and Duchess of Windsor, among others.

Import Aus

So Close

Patrick Mangan
Authors:
Patrick Mangan
Virago

The Perpetual Curate

Margaret Oliphant
Authors:
Margaret Oliphant
Virago

Letters From Egypt

Lucie Duff Gordon
Authors:
Lucie Duff Gordon

In 1862 Lucie Duff Gordon, cousin of Harriet Martineau and friend of Caroline Norton, Meredith and Thackeray, embarked on a solo trip to Egypt in an effort to rid herself of consumption. The next seven years were spent in a ruined house above a temple in Luxor on the Nile. Feeling at home in this most foreign of lands, Lucie Duff Gordon integrated herself quickly in the locale, setting up a hospital from her home and welcoming the people of Luxor, be they officials or slaves, into her house. The absorbing story told through her letters offers a wonderfully penetrating and sympathetic view of mid-nineteenth century Egypt as well as the personal story of this brave and generous woman.