Related to: 'The Dressmaker'

How My Dreams Came True

Inspiration for The Dressmaker

Read about Kate Alcott's inspiration for her novel, The Dressmaker

Abacus

Every Man For Himself

Beryl Bainbridge
Authors:
Beryl Bainbridge

For the four fraught, mysterious days of her doomed maiden voyage in 1912, the Titanic sails towards New York, glittering with luxury, freighted with millionaires and hopefuls. In her labyrinthine passageways are played out the last, secret hours of a small group of passengers, their fate sealed in prose of startling, sublime beauty, as Beryl Bainbridge's haunting masterpiece moves inexorably to its known and terrible end.

Virago

The Pink Suit

Nicole Mary Kelby
Authors:
Nicole Mary Kelby
Sphere

Sworn To Secrecy

Mary Larkin
Authors:
Mary Larkin

1971. With the troubles in Belfast at their height, a happy domestic life is something that Tess Maguire yearns for. Yet the political and social unrest are sending ripples of uncertainty through every aspect of her life. Whilst her partnership with her friend Theresa Cunningham in a dressmaking firm is successful, it's beginning to affect her romantic interests. Theresa's boyfriend Bob always seems to be near Tess. Near enough, one night, to declare his true feelings for her... Tess, in confusion, has to confront her own mixed up emotions concerning Bob. And to address her feelings for her own ever-faithful boyfriend Tony. Especially when he asks her to marry him ... Tess's widowed mother Alice marries Dan, her long-standing partner who can now spend the rest of his years with Alice and his beloved grandson Jackie. Jackie is almost an orphan: his father Jack died in a motorcycle accident. His mother Colette may as well be dead - she decamped to Canada shortly after his birth. But then Colette suddenly shows up to reclaim her son and her arrival in Belfast opens old wounds, triggers a bitter custody battle - and unearths secrets that will change everyone's lives for ever.

Virago

The Lifeboat

Charlotte Rogan
Authors:
Charlotte Rogan
Sphere

Laura's Handmade Life

Amanda Addison
Authors:
Amanda Addison

Laura Lovegrove is leaving behind her seamless life in London. Architect husband Adi has been relocated to rural Norfolk, a far cry from ultra-urban Ealing. Though Laura knew village life would be different, she didn't foresee a pokey cottage, nosey neighbours, errant poodles, and even an ex turning up. Chris had been her big love at art college and seeing him again is utterly confusing. Is she really so different from the impulsive student who once trawled charity shops for vintage treasures? When a fire all but destroys Laura's collection of vintage clothes, she's heartbroken. And seriously lacking in outfits. But, salvaging what she can, Laura makes do and mends - sewing purses, bags, even dog leads (which should solve the poodle problem). Soon, she's inundated with orders. But Adi is becoming more and more distant; it's like there's something he's not telling her. Can Laura make a stitch in time and pull her family back together again?

Import Aus

Paradise Road

C.J. Duggan
Authors:
C.J. Duggan

More than anything, seventeen-year-old Lexie Atkinson wants to move forward with her life, but she can't seem to shake free of the heart-pounding memories of Paradise High. Back on her parents' property in rural Victoria, she thought she'd left behind the glitzy, gritty nightlife of the big city and the group of misfit friends she'd loved to hate, but she soon realises that in order to move forward, there's something she must do first . . . Lexie's going back to Paradise City to face the boy who stole her heart. Lexie arrives in Paradise City eager to determine if her future includes bad-boy surfer, Luke Ballantine, but Luke is nowhere to be found. Determined not to lose her drive, she focuses on the positive - her amazing new apartment and a chance to try her hand at slinging drinks for the wild partygoers of Paradise City. But when Dean Saville, the owner and broody boss of the Wipe Out Bar, starts stirring more than just her drinks Lexie's future seems less cut and dry; and when Luke barrels back into town, Lexie is forced to choose between her head and her heart.

Robinson

Voices from the Titanic

Geoff Tibballs
Authors:
Geoff Tibballs

The graphic, first-hand story of the first voyage and disastrous sinking of RMS Titanic - told by the survivors themselves. The story of the sinking of the great liner, Titanic, has been told countless times since that fateful night on 14th April 1912 by historians, novelists and film producers alike, but no account is as graphic or revealing as those who were actually there. Through survivors' tales, and contemporary newspaper reports from both sides of the Atlantic, here are eye-witness accounts full of details that range from poignant to humorous, stage by stage from the Liner's glorious launch in Belfast to the sombre sea burial services of those who perished on her first and only voyage. In the book, the voices of the survivors record their own stories, as well as the official records, press reports and investigations into what went wrong that night.

Piatkus

Maid of Oaklands Manor

Terri Nixon
Authors:
Terri Nixon
Piatkus

The Duchess Hunt

Jennifer Haymore
Authors:
Jennifer Haymore
Orbit

The Castings Trilogy

Pamela Freeman
Authors:
Pamela Freeman
The summer must-read from Kate Furnivall

EXTRACT: SHADOWS ON THE NILE

Beautifully written, compulsively plotted and truly satisfying – Shadows on the Nile is a summer must-have for fans of Julia Gregson, Rosie Thomas and other sumptuous historical romances Indulge yourself with this sneak-peek at the first chapter now.

Abacus

Samarkand

Amin Maalouf
Authors:
Amin Maalouf
Blackfriars

The Painted Girls

Cathy Marie Buchanan
Authors:
Cathy Marie Buchanan
Abacus

The Mitford Girls

Mary S. Lovell
Authors:
Mary S. Lovell
Virago

The Perpetual Curate

Margaret Oliphant
Authors:
Margaret Oliphant
Abacus

Palimpsest: A Memoir

Gore Vidal
Authors:
Gore Vidal
Import Aus

So Close

Patrick Mangan
Authors:
Patrick Mangan
Virago

Letters From Egypt

Lucie Duff Gordon
Authors:
Lucie Duff Gordon
Forever

When She Was Wicked

Anne Barton
Authors:
Anne Barton