Related to: 'The Salem Witch Society'

Sphere

The Devil's Revenge

Grey paused and studied the crudely drawn figure. A rough shaped face, traced in ashes, stared back at them. Above the face, a message: 'Hell Awaits'1893. A trail of footprints lead Deputy Archie Lean and criminologist Perceval Grey to the body of a murdered thief. The victim's exposed flesh has been burnt beyond recognition and occult symbols mark the nearby walls. But two days earlier this same man was lowered into his grave . . . As Lean and Grey dig deeper, they're pulled into a maze of death, deceit and revenge as they try to prevent a devious murderer from unlocking an ancient and lethal power.Rich in history, mystery and witchcraft, The Devil's Revenge is a breathless historical thriller about the darkest of secrets. Secrets that some would kill for . . .

Sphere

Sphinx

T. S. Learner
Grand Central Publishing

The Gilly Salt Sisters

Tiffany Baker
Sphere

The Stonehenge Legacy

Sam Christer
Blackfriars

Murder in Mississippi

Abacus

Deliver Us From Evil

Tom Holland

Wiltshire, during the dying days of Oliver Cromwell's Republic. Robert Vaughan is the son of a Parliamentarian officer who is investigating a series of grisly murders which suggest a link with Satanic rituals at Stonehenge. The return of a notoriously wicked Cavalier, signalling the impending royalist restoration, leads to a terrible tragedy for the Vaughans. Robert's flight from his violent, terrifying past leads him to Restoration London, where he works as scribe for Milton, and where he survives the Plague and the Great Fire. But Robert is led along a dark path, to vampirism and beyond, as he devotes himself to gaining the powers that will enable him to fight an evil killer of seemingly satanic powers. He will travel the globe, from the ancient ghetto of Prague to the virgin forest of the New World, as he aims to gain revenge on those who betrayed him.

Orbit

Arcanum

Simon Morden

The kingdom of Carinthia is rich, powerful and undefeated. A thousand years ago, its ancestors were the spell-wielding northern tribes who crushed the Roman Empire. Their legendary hexmasters can destroy whole armies and turn battlefields into fiery lakes of lava.Magic is Carinthia's wealth, protection and way of life. But the age of magic is dying. Some would do anything to see it return: any act, no matter how terrible, is justified, so long as the hexmasters can still protect their homeland.The kingdom is poised between order and chaos - and the smallest spark is the difference between disaster and triumph.ARCANUM is powerful new epic fantasy from an award-winning author.

Sphere

Lovers And Losers

Tony used to be a winner: five consecutive Top Ten hits, a haircut that was imitated by every Top of the Pops fan, and a coke habit that was little short of legendary. Of course this was back in the 80s, when Tony was part of pop duo A Boy and His Diva, singers of the synth-pop classic 'Lovers and Losers'. In 1984 they were the biggest band in Britain. That is before Katrina, the other half of the duo, had her heart broken and the friendship was destroyed. Now in his forties, missing his fame and his hairline, Tony has signed up for a new reality TV show called The Clink. This could be the ideal opportunity to relaunch the band and revive his comatose career. There's just one problem: Tony and Katrina haven't spoken in years. Meanwhile, Katrina is busy arranging a funeral for a cherished friend, and coping with his estranged mother. When Tony knocks on her door, his arrival reopens old wounds and raises some very uncomfortable questions.Paul Burston's third novel is a wise, witty and evocative novel about the decade of excess, and its many legacies - New Romantics, gender benders, electro-pop and AIDS.

Forever

Barefoot in the Rain

Roxanne St. Claire

They say you can never go home again...but when "Life Coach to the Stars" Jocelyn Bloom is embroiled in scandal, she has to try. She left Barefoot Bay -- and the boy next door who knows all her secrets -- years ago and never looked back. But nothing about the tiny island off the coast of Florida is quite how she remembers it, especially Will Palmer. He's even more gorgeous, more tempting, and still capable of turning her world inside out.Will Palmer's life is in a holding pattern. A knee injury knocked him off the path to professional baseball stardom, and coaching jobs are hard to come by. In the meantime, he's been working construction, living in his parents' old house, and keeping an eye on his elderly neighbor. Will would like to think he'd look out for anyone suffering from Alzheimer's, but Guy Bloom is more than that -- he's the last connection to Jocelyn, the woman Will has loved since they were teenagers.When Jocelyn comes home, the reunion doesn't go quite the way Will expected. Unprepared for the change in her father's personality, Jocelyn struggles to reconcile the abusive monster of her childhood with the sweet, confused man Will has grown close to. And even though the chemistry between Will and Jocelyn is as electrifying as ever, suddenly they're clashing about everything, especially her father's future. Will's capable hands can build almost anything, but can he forge a bridge to forgiveness for Jocelyn and her father? If not, the woman who's guided countless clients to happiness will never be able to escape the rainy days of her past for a sunny new future with the man who loves her.

Orbit

The Enterprise Of Death

Grand Central Publishing

The Trials Of Zion

Alan M. Dershowitz

Celebrated attorney and bestselling author Alan M. Dershowitz has produced a thrilling novel of Israel today, a place where warring factions from within and outside the Middle East continue to battle for the soul of a land they all regard as holy. A shocking act of terror brings the simmering tensions of the Holy Land to the point of explosion. As the internal conflicts of this troubled region threaten to erupt in unprecedented violence, a young Jewish-American lawyer joins the defence team of an arrested but possibly innocent Palestinian. Soon the lawyer's father, a famed criminal attorney, must win the Palestinian's case in court or risk losing his daughter forever. To solve the case, he must take into account the history of the Holy Land as it was experienced by people on all sides.

The start of a magnificent new trilogy

An Extract from The Summer Queen

Overflowing with scandal, sex, triumph and tragedy. Read the first chapter of The Summer Queen, the gripping new novel from New York Times Bestseller, Elizabeth Chadwick.

by Judy Finnigan

Eloise - An Extract

Compulsively-readable and incredibly haunting, this is the debut novel from broadcaster, journalist and Book Club champion, Judy Finnigan. Read chapter one.

Abacus

George Orwell

Gordon Bowker
Abacus

The Man Who Knew Infinity

Robert Kanigel
Sphere

The Map

T. S. Learner

Mazes, riddles, witchcraft . . . and centuries-old secretsAn Oxford classics scholar has discovered an ancient scroll.A band of black-magic worshippers has gathered in London.A map to three labyrinths hidden within Europe has been unfolded.And an ancient mystery is calling . . .Pursued by spies and secret agents, guarding the map from unseen enemies, August Winthrop plunges headlong into a Europe ravaged by war. But the map will lead him farther than he ever dreamed - into a series of labyrinths with the power to change the world.From the Top 10 bestselling author of Sphinx comes the most dazzling novel of the year - a sophisticated, relentlessly exciting story in the tradition of Dan Brown, Robert Harris and Kate Mosse.

Little, Brown

The Savage Storm

Britain's defeat of Napoleon is one the great accomplishments in our history. And yet it was by no means certain that Britain itself would survive the revolutionary fervour of the age, let alone emerge victorious from such a vast conflict. From the late 1790s, the country was stricken by naval mutinies, rebellion in Ireland, and riots born of hunger, poverty and grinding injustice. As the new century opened, with republican graffiti on the walls of the cities, and revolutionary secret societies reportedly widespread, King George III only narrowly escaped assassination. Jacobin forces seemed to threaten a dissolution of the social order. Above all, the threat of French invasion was ever-present. Yet, despite all this, and new threats from royal madness and rampant corruption, Britain did not become a revolutionary republic. Her elites proved remarkably resilient, and drew on the power of an already-global empire to find the strength to defeat Napoleon abroad, and continued popular unrest at home. In this brilliant, sweeping history of the period, David Andress fuses two hitherto separate historical perspectives - the military and the social - to provide a vivid portrait of the age. From the conditions of warfare faced by the British soldier and the great battles in which they fought, to the literary and artistic culture of the time, The Savage Storm is at once a searing narrative of dramatic events and an important reassessment of one of the most significant turning points in our history.

Orbit

The Left Hand Of Darkness

Ursula K. Le Guin
Forever

What a Wicked Earl Wants

Vicky Dreiling

Laura Davenport could ring her beloved stepson's neck. She loves Justin deeply - would do anything for him - but his wretchedly rebellious phase is wearing thin and people in the town are beginning to take heed. When Montclief, her ruthless brother-in-law, unexpectedly calls at her home, threatening to take Justin away, Laura won't give in without a fight...gossip be damned. So she does the only thing she can think of: she fakes an engagement to the sinfully sexy Earl of Bellingham.Andrew Carrington, Earl of Bellingham is not the kind a man to tie himself down to any one woman, no matter how dazzling her smile or how gentle the sway of her hips. But after one look at the desperation -and determination - in this golden-haired beauty's eyes when she ambushes him into an engagement, and Bell is powerless to deny her. What harm can a little rouse be? As they join forces to correct Justin's wayward behavior, passion smolders between them...and stirs longings this devil has never felt before. Could he be the marrying kind after all?

Sphere

The Turin Shroud Secret

Sam Christer