Related to: 'The Salem Witch Society'

Sphere

The Devil's Revenge

K.N. Shields
Authors:
K.N. Shields

Grey paused and studied the crudely drawn figure. A rough shaped face, traced in ashes, stared back at them. Above the face, a message: 'Hell Awaits'1893. A trail of footprints lead Deputy Archie Lean and criminologist Perceval Grey to the body of a murdered thief. The victim's exposed flesh has been burnt beyond recognition and occult symbols mark the nearby walls. But two days earlier this same man was lowered into his grave . . . As Lean and Grey dig deeper, they're pulled into a maze of death, deceit and revenge as they try to prevent a devious murderer from unlocking an ancient and lethal power.Rich in history, mystery and witchcraft, The Devil's Revenge is a breathless historical thriller about the darkest of secrets. Secrets that some would kill for . . .

Sphere

Sphinx

T. S. Learner
Authors:
T. S. Learner
Grand Central Publishing

The Gilly Salt Sisters

Tiffany Baker
Authors:
Tiffany Baker

In the isolated Cape Cod village of Prospect, the Gilly sisters are as different as can be. Jo, a fierce and quiet loner, is devoted to the mysteries of her family's salt farm, while Claire is popular, pretty, and yearns to flee the salt at any cost. But the Gilly land hides a dark legacy that proves impossible to escape. Although the community half-suspects the Gilly sisters might be witches, it doesn't stop Whit Turner, the town's wealthiest bachelor, from forcing his way into their lives. It's Jo who first steals Whit's heart, but it is Claire--heartbroken over her high school sweetheart--who marries him. Years later, estranged from her family, Claire finds herself thrust back onto the farm with the last person she would have chosen: her husband's pregnant mistress. Suddenly, alliances change, old loves return, and new battle lines are drawn. What the Gilly sisters learn about each other, the land around them, and the power of the salt, will not only change each of their lives forever, it will also alter Gilly history for good.

Orbit

Full Blooded

Amanda Carlson
Authors:
Amanda Carlson
Canvas

Dark Shadows 2: The Salem Branch

Lara Parker
Authors:
Lara Parker
Sphere

The Stonehenge Legacy

Sam Christer
Authors:
Sam Christer

Eight days before the summer solstice, a man is butchered in a blood-freezing sacrifice on the ancient site of Stonehenge before a congregation of robed worshippers. Within hours, one of the world's foremost treasure hunters has shot himself in his country mansion. And to his estranged son, young archaeologist Gideon Chase, he leaves a cryptic letter . . . Teaming up with an intrepid Wiltshire policewoman, Gideon soon exposes a secret society - an ancient international legion devoted for thousands of years to Stonehenge. With a charismatic and ruthless new leader at the helm, the cult is now performing ritual human sacrifices in a terrifying bid to unlock the secret of the stones. Packed with codes, symbology, relentless suspense, and fascinating detail about the history of one of the world's most mysterious places, The Stonehenge Legacy is a blockbuster thriller to rival the very best of Dan Brown.

Blackfriars

Murder in Mississippi

John Safran
Authors:
John Safran
Orbit

Arcanum

Simon Morden
Authors:
Simon Morden

The kingdom of Carinthia is rich, powerful and undefeated. A thousand years ago, its ancestors were the spell-wielding northern tribes who crushed the Roman Empire. Their legendary hexmasters can destroy whole armies and turn battlefields into fiery lakes of lava.Magic is Carinthia's wealth, protection and way of life. But the age of magic is dying. Some would do anything to see it return: any act, no matter how terrible, is justified, so long as the hexmasters can still protect their homeland.The kingdom is poised between order and chaos - and the smallest spark is the difference between disaster and triumph.ARCANUM is powerful new epic fantasy from an award-winning author.

Abacus

Deliver Us From Evil

Tom Holland
Authors:
Tom Holland

Wiltshire, during the dying days of Oliver Cromwell's Republic. Robert Vaughan is the son of a Parliamentarian officer who is investigating a series of grisly murders which suggest a link with Satanic rituals at Stonehenge. The return of a notoriously wicked Cavalier, signalling the impending royalist restoration, leads to a terrible tragedy for the Vaughans. Robert's flight from his violent, terrifying past leads him to Restoration London, where he works as scribe for Milton, and where he survives the Plague and the Great Fire. But Robert is led along a dark path, to vampirism and beyond, as he devotes himself to gaining the powers that will enable him to fight an evil killer of seemingly satanic powers. He will travel the globe, from the ancient ghetto of Prague to the virgin forest of the New World, as he aims to gain revenge on those who betrayed him.

Corsair

The Winter Witch

Paula Brackston
Authors:
Paula Brackston
Robinson

Justice Denied

James Morton
Authors:
James Morton
Sphere

Lovers And Losers

Paul Burston
Authors:
Paul Burston
Little, Brown US

One Nation, Under Gods

Peter Manseau
Authors:
Peter Manseau

At the heart of the nation's spiritual history are audacious and often violent scenes. But the Puritans and the shining city on the hill give us just one way to understand the United States. Rather than recite American history from a Christian vantage point, Peter Manseau proves that what really happened is worth a close, fresh look. Thomas Jefferson himself collected books on all religions and required that the brand new Library of Congress take his books, since Americans needed to consider the "twenty gods or no god" he famously noted were revered by his neighbors. Looking at the Americans who believed in these gods, Manseau fills in America's story of itself, from the persecuted "witches" at Salem and who they really were, to the persecuted Buddhists in WWII California, from spirituality and cults in the '60s to the recent presidential election where both candidates were for the first time non-traditional Christians.One Nation, Under Gods shows how much more there is to the history we tell ourselves, right back to the country's earliest days. Dazzling in its scope and sweep, it is an American history unlike any you've read.

Orbit

Tempest Rising

Nicole Peeler
Authors:
Nicole Peeler

In a small town, big secrets are hard to keep.Jane True has always felt like a misfit in Rockabill. With a shady family background and a tragic past, she's used to being rejected by so-called 'normal' society. But she's about to discover there's more to this town than meets the eye. During her nightly swim in the ocean, a grisly find leads Jane to some startling revelations about Rockabill - and about her own dark heritage. Behind everyday life, she uncovers a world filled with strange, powerful (not to mention alluring) supernatural beings. It's a world both frightening and deadly. But it could be just what Jane's looking for . . .

Forever

Barefoot in the Rain

Roxanne St. Claire
Authors:
Roxanne St. Claire
Orbit

The Enterprise Of Death

Jesse Bullington
Authors:
Jesse Bullington
Grand Central Publishing

The Trials Of Zion

Alan M. Dershowitz
Authors:
Alan M. Dershowitz

Celebrated attorney and bestselling author Alan M. Dershowitz has produced a thrilling novel of Israel today, a place where warring factions from within and outside the Middle East continue to battle for the soul of a land they all regard as holy. A shocking act of terror brings the simmering tensions of the Holy Land to the point of explosion. As the internal conflicts of this troubled region threaten to erupt in unprecedented violence, a young Jewish-American lawyer joins the defence team of an arrested but possibly innocent Palestinian. Soon the lawyer's father, a famed criminal attorney, must win the Palestinian's case in court or risk losing his daughter forever. To solve the case, he must take into account the history of the Holy Land as it was experienced by people on all sides.

Constable

The Last Slave Market

Alastair Hazell
Authors:
Alastair Hazell

John Kirk was the only companion of David Livingstone to emerge untainted from the disastrous, often fatal expedition up the Zambesi river between 1859 and 1863. Three years later, Kirk returned to Africa, to the notorious island of Zanzibar, ancient source of slave trafficking from Africa to the Middle East. Half a century after the abolition of slave trading had been passed into British law, this commerce continued to exist on Africa's east coast, tolerated and even connived at by Britain's empire on the Indian Ocean. But Kirk, appointed as medical officer to the British Consulate in Zanzibar, could do nothing.This extraordinary - and controversial - book brings Kirk's years in Zanzibar to life. The horrors of the overland passage from the interior, and the Zanzibar slave market itself are vividly described. The final bitter conflict with Livingstone, who blamed Kirk for his own disasters, is retold. But it was Kirk's own success in closing down the slave trade on the island which made him internationally famous. Using private diaries and papers, a long forgotten Victorian hero and an extraordinary chapter in British history are revived in detail.

Orbit

Jinn and Juice

Nicole Peeler
Authors:
Nicole Peeler

'Peeler has done it again . . . A delightful read filled with action, humour, heart and a heroine to cheer for' - Kevin HearneWhat would you do to end your curse? Born in ancient Persia, Lyla turned to her house Jinn, Kouros, for help in escaping an arranged marriage. Kouros granted her wish: Cursing Lyla to live a thousand years as a Jinn herself.Now, her servitude is ending . . . But there are a few obstacles in Lyla's path to freedom. A Magi intent on binding her again and a Jinn bent on vengeance, not to mention the nightmare from her past that threatens to make her curse permanent - and claim her very soul.Jinn and Juice is the first in a new series by fantasy writer Nicole Peeler, set in a world of mysterious magic and immortal curses.'Nicole Peeler is a master at weaving humour and romance together to create addictive stories' - Richelle Mead'Peeler is perfect. Jinn and Juice is her best urban fantasy yet' - Kat Richardson

Sphere

The Map

T. S. Learner
Authors:
T. S. Learner

Mazes, riddles, witchcraft . . . and centuries-old secretsAn Oxford classics scholar has discovered an ancient scroll.A band of black-magic worshippers has gathered in London.A map to three labyrinths hidden within Europe has been unfolded.And an ancient mystery is calling . . .Pursued by spies and secret agents, guarding the map from unseen enemies, August Winthrop plunges headlong into a Europe ravaged by war. But the map will lead him farther than he ever dreamed - into a series of labyrinths with the power to change the world.From the Top 10 bestselling author of Sphinx comes the most dazzling novel of the year - a sophisticated, relentlessly exciting story in the tradition of Dan Brown, Robert Harris and Kate Mosse.