Related to: 'The New Rules'

by Brent Weeks

The Blinding Knife wallpapers

The Blinding Knife by Brent Weeks publishes on 13th September, and to celebrate we've got some amazing wallpapers

Read an exclusive extract here

Countdown

Read an exclusive extract from Alan Weisman’s brilliant new book, Countdown.

Read an exclusive extract

Countdown

Read an exclusive extract from Alan Weisman's brilliant new book, Countdown.

How To Books

50 Cautionary Tales For Managers

Peter Honey
Authors:
Peter Honey
Twelve

Glass Jaw

Eric Dezenhall
Authors:
Eric Dezenhall
by Amanda Carlson

Full Blooded

Read the first chapter of Full Blooded by Amanda Carlson, the start of an exceptionally fast-paced and irresistibly sexy new urban fantasy trilogy!

Piatkus

How to Build a Billion Dollar App

George Berkowski
Authors:
George Berkowski
New digital literary imprint from Little, Brown

Announcing Blackfriars

In June 2013, Little, Brown Book Group will launch the first digital literary imprint from a major UK publisher. Blackfriars has been created with the aim of discovering and nurturing new talent (or talent that has been away for a while) by Clare Smith of L,B/Abacus and Ursula Doyle of Virago.

How To Books

Wake Up and Smell the Profit

Hugh Gilmartin, John Richardson
Authors:
Hugh Gilmartin, John Richardson

Witty, authoritative, comprehensive and fun, Wake Up and Smell the Profit is the ultimate guide to making more money in your coffee business.In this book you'll find the sharpest insights and the best ideas from two of the UK's top Coffee Business Gurus. Together 'The Coffee Boys' have 40 years' experience in how to make money in the coffee selling business. Whether you operate a single site espresso bar, a Michelin starred restaurant or chain of hotels, there is something in this book for everyone.With 52 motivating tips and suggestions (plus an extra bonus idea for good measure), all you need to do is apply one initiative a week for a year and you could have a much more profitable and easier to manage business within twelve months.With this book you'll be able to:A* Make more money and work lessA* Have happier customers who spend more moneyA* Win more customers without spending a fortuneA* Enjoy running your business moreA* Create customers who rave about your business and consequently generate more customers through word of mouthWhat are you waiting for? Contents: Introduction; 1. It's all about the money - the good news; 2. It's all about the money - the bad news; 3. It's all about the money - a little story; 4. Focus on coffee for profit; 5. Great coffee (profits) come from great training; 6. Great coffee sales come from one thing - great taste; 7. It's all about the food; 8. There are three ways and only three ways to grow your business; 9. Be brave about your prices; 10. Know your figures and have a plan - a plan that works for you!; 11. Get accountable and know your figures; 12. Know your food cost for every single item; 13. Know your labour/wage cost and stay accountable; 14. It's your fault - get this and then get it again; 15. A coffee shop is all about people - and people need clear rules; 16. Make sure your employees understand the numbers; 17. Every pound is not equal. A pound earned is worth a lot less than a pound saved; 18. View your coffee business as if you were a customer; 19. View the business every day as if you were an employee; 20. Break the whole selling process down and make it better; 21. Keep your toilets spotless; 22. Treat lunch like a restaurant; 23. Create food stories about your star products and sell, sell, sell; 24. Get crafty with your menu and signage; 25. Watch your language; 26. Say hello; 27. Don't point and watch your body language; 28. Nod your head when asking a customer if they would like something; 29. Thank them; 30. The Granny Rule; 31 Keep the kids occupied; 32. Sell more coffee with cake and more cake with coffee Up selling and cross selling; 33. Sell more cold drinks; 34. Get your customer flow right; 35. Make it easy for the customer to buy; 36. Work out your lifetime customer value; 37. Consider the sizes - carefully; 38. Make it accessible and open. Make it all look great; 39 Use your sign wisely. Spend money and make yourshop look obvious; 40. Get creative with signage; 41. Avoid A"sour faced hagsA"; 42. Make the customers feel you care; 43. Use the list -cheapest marketing you'll ever do; 44. Create a catering side to your business; 45. Post the utility bills; 46. Incentives for saving money and making money; 47. Get creative with your marketing and steal ideas from other industries; 48. Create a A"bibleA"; 49. Beware staff attitudes towards business ownership; 50. Make a big deal of the big days; 51. Think wisely before you open your second shop; 52. Give a bit extra; 53. Work A"onA" the business not A"inA"it; And finally; Thanks; More from The Coffee Boys.

Little, Brown

Wasted

Georgia Gould
Authors:
Georgia Gould
Laugh, cry and fall in love

Extract from The Valentine’s Card

The Valentine’s Card is the fabulous first novel from Juliet Ashton. Publishing just in time for Valentine’s Day, it is a heart-warming, heart-breaking tale of love, laughter, and starting over full of vivid characters, real emotions and events both epic and ordinary. If you are looking for something special to read this spring The Valentine’s Card is a MUST. Perfect for fans of Cecelia Ahern, you will laugh, you will cry and you will fall in love with this bright new voice in women’s fiction.

Sphere

The Art Of Drowning

Frances Fyfield
Authors:
Frances Fyfield

Rachel Doe is a shy accountant at a low ebb in life when she meets charismatic Ivy Schneider, nee Wiseman, at her evening class and her life changes for the better. Ivy is her polar opposite: strong, six years her senior and the romantic survivor of drug addiction, homelessness and the death of her child. Ivy does menial shift work, beholden to no one, and she inspires life; as do her farming parents, with their ramshackle house and its swan-filled lake, the lake where Ivy's daughter drowned. As Rachel grows closer to them all she learns how Ivy came to be married to Carl, the son of a WWII prisoner, as well as the true nature of that marriage to a bullying and ambitious lawyer who has become a judge and who denies her access to her surviving child. Rachel wants justice for Ivy, but Ivy has another agenda and Rachel's naïve sense of fair play is no match for the manipulative qualities of the Wisemen women.

Jericho Books

Damaged Goods

Dianna E. Anderson
Authors:
Dianna E. Anderson

Anderson's new sexual ethics draw on core biblical principles and set a standard for today's Christians that may be as influential Joshua Harris' I Kissed Dating Goodbye, Don Raunikar's Choosing God's Best, and Elisabeth Elliot's Passion and Purity. Anderson uses her own illuminating experience with the purity movement to: Reach out to women and men trying to reconcile their own sexuality with their understanding of "what God wants," cultural stigma, and media pressuresDemonstrate how Christian ideas about purity have infiltrated American politics and culture-and why women are losingOffer an affirmative, healing path for everyone to understand their sexuality: one that reconciles scripture, culture, and common sense

Forever

Feel The Heat

Kate Meader
Authors:
Kate Meader
A note from our publishing director

Philip Gould: When I Die

When I Die is a special book by an extraordinarily brave and widely loved and respected man. I don’t think it would be possible for anyone to read it and not feel humbled, moved and above all inspired.

Constable

Consumer Kids

Ed Mayo and Agnes Nairn
Authors:
Ed Mayo and Agnes Nairn
Forever

Undeniable

Shannon Richard
Authors:
Shannon Richard

Grace King fell in love with Jax Anderson, her big brother's best friend, when she was six years old. Eleven-year-old Jax came to her rescue when some older boys were bullying her, becoming Grace's knight in scuffed-up sneakers on the spot. Eighteen years later, Jax is the town Sheriff and Grace is the head baker at her grandmother's cafe. They are all grown up - and still pretending there's nothing between them. But when a heated argument at the Sleepy Sheep bar turns into a heated makeout session, the days of denying their attraction are over. Now the whole town is buzzing about Jax and Grace, and not all the buzz is good. Grace's family is no stranger to scandal, and when a new secret about her parents is revealed not even Jax can protect her. As the rumours and accusations fly, can they hold on to their new relationship?

How To Books

100 Ways To Publish and Sell Your Own Ebook

Conrad Jones, Darin Jewell
Authors:
Conrad Jones, Darin Jewell

If you've published an e-book, or are planning to do so, you'll need this essential guide. It provides expert advice on every step of the process, from production through to all-important promotion. To ensure your e-book reaches its intended audience, at the very least you have to: - design and format the cover a certain way - know your options in terms of publishing platforms and choose the right one for your book - price and promote it appropriately - know which social networking, bookmarking and cataloguing sites are best suited to showcase it. This book will give your e-book its best chance of becoming a best seller.

Virago

Our Cheating Hearts

Kate Figes
Authors:
Kate Figes

By the author known and respected for her acclaimed books on relationships. Most of us manage to be monogamous, most of the time, but who cannot imagine themselves committing the 'crime' of adultery? Does being 'faithful' mean the same to everyone? Why DO people have affairs? Using real life testimony alongside the most current research, Our Cheating Hearts looks at the big questions around love and commitment. It lifts taboos, asks the tough questions and shows how in our progressive time monogamy has become the new ideal. Some people manage monogamy. For the countless others that don't, Our Cheating Hearts opens the debate and provides the honest approach that's essential.

Piatkus

Break in Two

MJ Summers
Authors:
MJ Summers

Having just discovered that her live-in boyfriend has traded her in for a twenty-two year old hostess, thirty-one year old Claire Hatley is on the run from Seattle. Devastated and alone Claire must make a fresh start. She answers an ad for a chef at a guest ranch just outside Colorado Springs and finds herself face to face with Cole Mitchell, quite possibly the sexiest man to ever ride a horse. Common sense tells them to stay away from each other, but their attraction is not to be denied. He gives her a glimpse of what love should be, but just as she starts to trust him, the past comes back to tear them apart. Join Claire and Cole as they embark on the stormy love affair of a lifetime. (Oh . . . and for those of you with husbands/boyfriends, please tell them "you're welcome" from MJ ;) )