Related to: 'What We're Reading'

Corsair

Manhattan Beach

Jennifer Egan
Authors:
Jennifer Egan

'This is a novel that will pull you in and under and carry you away on its rip tides . . . Its resonances continue to wash over the reader long after the novel ends' the Guardian'2017's Most Anticipated Book . . . it will suck you into its orbit and remind you just why it is you love reading' Stylist magazine'This is a novel that deserves to join the canon of New York stories' New York Times Book ReviewThe long-awaited novel from the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of A Visit from the Goon Squad, Manhattan Beach opens in Brooklyn during the Great Depression.'We're going to see the sea,' Anna whispered. Anna Kerrigan, nearly twelve years old, accompanies her father to the house of a man who, she gleans, is crucial to the survival of her father and her family. Anna observes the uniformed servants, the lavishing of toys on the children, and some secret pact between her father and Dexter Styles. Years later, her father has disappeared and the country is at war. Anna works at the Brooklyn Navy Yard, where women are allowed to hold jobs that had always belonged to men. She becomes the first female diver, the most dangerous and exclusive of occupations, repairing the ships that will help America win the war. She is the sole provider for her mother, a farm girl who had a brief and glamorous career as a Ziegfield folly, and her lovely, severely disabled sister. At a night club, she chances to meet Styles, the man she visited with her father before he vanished, and she begins to understand the complexity of her father's life, the reasons he might have been murdered. Mesmerizing, hauntingly beautiful, with the pace and atmosphere of a noir thriller and a wealth of detail about organized crime, the merchant marine and the clash of classes in New York, Egan's first historical novel is a masterpiece, a deft, startling, intimate exploration of a transformative moment in the lives of women and men, America and the world. Manhattan Beach is a magnificent novel by one of the greatest writers of our time.'Beautifully rendered . . . genuinely affecting and handsomely constructed. It moves for all the right reasons' Independent 'A gripping, modern version of a 19th century novel . . . such an absorbing read' Evening Standard

Constable

Don't Let My Past Be Your Future

Harry Leslie Smith
Authors:
Harry Leslie Smith
Little, Brown

The Silent Ones

William Brodrick
Authors:
William Brodrick
Sphere

The Sixth Lamentation

William Brodrick
Authors:
William Brodrick
Chapter One

The Uncommon Appeal of Clouds

Read the first chapter of the latest book in Alexander McCall Smith's Sunday Philosophy Club series. The victim of an important art theft appeals to Isabel Dalhousie, Edinburgh philosopher and sleuth, for help.

on Courtenay Grimwood’s The Outcast Blade

Grimwood’s Venice: Love and War in the ‘City of Sex and Death’

This week (4th May 2012) saw Orbit UK’s publication of Jon Courtenay Grimwood’s second Assassini book, THE OUTCAST BLADE, sequel to THE FALLEN BLADE which was released last year.

The Dining Club...

A glimpse into

Welcome to the Dining Club. If you fail the challenges we set, you will go no further. If you pass, a world of pleasure awaits.

Enter the Dining Club...

A look into David’s past

Take a glimpse into David's past... Welcome to The Dining Club

The summer must-read from Kate Furnivall

EXTRACT: SHADOWS ON THE NILE

Beautifully written, compulsively plotted and truly satisfying – Shadows on the Nile is a summer must-have for fans of Julia Gregson, Rosie Thomas and other sumptuous historical romances Indulge yourself with this sneak-peek at the first chapter now.

The start of a magnificent new trilogy

An Extract from The Summer Queen

Overflowing with scandal, sex, triumph and tragedy. Read the first chapter of The Summer Queen, the gripping new novel from New York Times Bestseller, Elizabeth Chadwick.

A compulsive thriller causing ripples in the blogosphere

Robin Wasserman Introduces The Book of Blood and Shadow

To mark the launch of Robin Wasserman's first book with Atom, the compulsive thriller causing ripples in the blogosphere, the author introduces us personally to The Book of Blood and Shadow.

by Saskia Sarginson

The Twins: Chapter One

A deeply moving, gripping read, this is a novel about the secrets we all carry with us, and the bonds between twins that can never be broken. It is an astonishing debut. Read chapter one.

by Mark Billingham

Rush Of Blood: An Extract

Read the first chapter of best-selling Mark Billingham's thrilling new novel 'Rush of Blood'.

Environmental and Ethical Policies

Here at the Little Brown Book group we're committed to working with environmental organisations to ensure that our policies and practices not only protect the environment but also improve it wherever practical. Our policy is part of a broader range of social responsibility policies that include a focus on working conditions at our head office, a responsible attitude to our suppliers, equal opportunities and charitable giving.

First Published November 2007; Updated Winter 2011

Our Environmental and Ethical Policy

Hachette UK is committed to working with environmental organisations to ensure that its policies and practices not only protect the environment but also improve it wherever practical. Our environmental policy is part of a broader range of social responsibility policies that include a focus on working conditions at our own sites and those of suppliers, a responsible attitude to our suppliers, equal opportunities and charitable giving.

by Nora Roberts

The Witness: Chapter 1

Chapter One of Nora Roberts' thrilling romance, The Witness.

by Tim Harford

The Undercover Economist - Introduction

Author Tim Harford's introduction to The Undercover Economist: the book that revealed what really motivates us.

13 June 2104

Terms and Conditions of Sale

These terms and conditions of sale (the "Terms") govern any orders placed using and purchases made in connection with the Website. Please read these Terms carefully. You agree to be bound by these Terms by placing orders using and/or by making purchases in connection with the Website. Do not place orders using or make purchases in connection with the Website if you do not agree to these Terms. Nothing in these Terms affects your statutory rights. The Website and the information contained on it may be supplemented, removed, changed and/or updated without notice to you. We may revise these Terms and any other legal notice on the Website (including the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy) without notice to you. All changes will be effective when posted on the Website and you should check the Website from time to time to review these Terms and other legal notices because they are binding on you.

Terms and Conditions of Sale

www. littlebrown.co.uk (the "Website") is operated by Littlehampton Book Services Limited and Little, Brown Book Group Limited (referred to as "we", "us" and "our" below). Littlehampton Book Services Limited (“LBS”) is a company registered in England and Wales (registration number 00250744) LBS whose registered office is at Faraday Road, Durrington, Worthing, West Sussex, England, BN13 3RB.