Related to: 'Fish from the deep'

PublicAffairs

And the Money Kept Rolling In (and Out) Wall Street, the IMF, and the Bankrupting of Argentina

Paul Blustein
Authors:
Paul Blustein

In the 1990s, few countries were more lionized than Argentina for its efforts to join the club of wealthy nations. Argentina's policies drew enthusiastic applause from the IMF, the World Bank and Wall Street. But the club has a disturbing propensity to turn its back on arrivistes and cast them out. That was what happened in 2001, when Argentina suffered one of the most spectacular crashes in modern history. With it came appalling social and political chaos, a collapse of the peso, and a wrenching downturn that threw millions into poverty and left nearly one-quarter of the workforce unemployed. Paul Blustein, whose book about the IMF, The Chastening , was called "gripping, often frightening" by The Economist and lauded by the Wall Street Journal as "a superbly reported and skillfully woven story," now gets right inside Argentina's rise and fall in a dramatic account based on hundreds of interviews with top policymakers and financial market players as well as reams of internal documents. He shows how the IMF turned a blind eye to the vulnerabilities of its star pupil, and exposes the conduct of global financial market players in Argentina as redolent of the scandals , like those at Enron, WorldCom and Global Crossing , that rocked Wall Street in recent years. By going behind the scenes of Argentina's debacle, Blustein shows with unmistakable clarity how sadly elusive the path of hope and progress remains to the great bulk of humanity still mired in poverty and underdevelopment.

The summer must-read from Kate Furnivall

EXTRACT: SHADOWS ON THE NILE

Beautifully written, compulsively plotted and truly satisfying – Shadows on the Nile is a summer must-have for fans of Julia Gregson, Rosie Thomas and other sumptuous historical romances Indulge yourself with this sneak-peek at the first chapter now.

Explore

Nesting Birds

Read an extract from The Collector of Lost Things by Jeremy Page

Look at

Birds in flight

Read an extract from The Collector of Lost Things by Jeremy Page

The hero of The Collector of Lost Things

Great Auk

Read an extract from The Collector of Lost Things by Jeremy Page

Admire

Big Bears

Read an extract from The Collector of Lost Things by Jeremy Page

by Christine Feehan

Dark Storm: Chapter One

To celebrate publication of Dark Storm, we're offering you a sneak preview from the first chapter. And if you like the Dark Carpathian series, you'll love Christine Feehan's new novels Lair of the Lion and Dark Nights, available now in paperback.

Explore

Creepy Crawlies

Read an extract from The Collector of Lost Things by Jeremy Page

The fabulous

Dodo and Friends

Read an extract from The Collector of Lost Things by Jeremy Page

Study

Botany

Read an extract from The Collector of Lost Things by Jeremy Page

The Dining Club...

A glimpse into

Welcome to the Dining Club. If you fail the challenges we set, you will go no further. If you pass, a world of pleasure awaits.

by Amanda Carlson

Full Blooded

Read the first chapter of Full Blooded by Amanda Carlson, the start of an exceptionally fast-paced and irresistibly sexy new urban fantasy trilogy!

Explore

Bird Species

Read an extract from The Collector of Lost Things by Jeremy Page

Explore

Lost Things

Read an extract from The Collector of Lost Things by Jeremy Page

Enter the Dining Club...

A look into David’s past

Take a glimpse into David's past... Welcome to The Dining Club

You've chosen the Rockstar

A Girl Walks Into A Bar

A Girl Walks Into A Bar extract

The start of a magnificent new trilogy

An Extract from The Summer Queen

Overflowing with scandal, sex, triumph and tragedy. Read the first chapter of The Summer Queen, the gripping new novel from New York Times Bestseller, Elizabeth Chadwick.

You've chosen the Businessman

A Girl Walks Into A Bar

A Girl Walks Into A Bar extract

New York Times bestseller

Little, Brown to publish Hamilton: The Revolution

Find out more

An interview with Little, Brown Group Publisher

Inside Publishing: David Shelley

Find out more about publishing from Little Brown's Group Publisher, David Shelley, including how he got started, what he loves about his job, and advice he'd give to prospective employees.