Related to: 'The Crime Vault Sampler'

The destination for crime and thriller ebooks

The Crime Vault Unlocked

Launched December 1st, The Crime Vault is the UK’s most dynamic and exciting online crime fiction community.

Sphere

Blue Blood

Sara Blaedel
Authors:
Sara Blaedel

In an idyllic neighbourhood of Copenhagen, a young woman, Susanne Hansson, is discovered in her apartment bound and gagged, the victim of an extraordinarily brutal rape attack. Detective Inspector Louise Rick soon learns that Susanne met the rapist on a popular online dating site, something Susanne shamefully tries to hide.Events quickly spiral out of control as a horrified Louise realises that the rapist is using the website to target specific women for future attacks. It's not long before the next assault leads to its victim's death and Louise finds herself in the middle of a full-blown murder investigation.Undercover and in danger in a world of faceless dating, Louise must try and stop a murderer who has shocked Copenhagen to its core. But how much is she willing to risk in order to catch a killer?Danish number one bestseller Sara Blaedel brings you a heart-pounding thriller that will have you gripped until the very last page and make you ask yourself who you're really talking to online.

Mark Billingham interview Sara Blaedel

The Crime Vault: Meet The Authors

Mark Billingham interviews Sara Blaedel, the number one Danish bestseller and author of the Detective Louise Rick crime series, which has been published to acclaim around the world.

Sphere

Only One Life

Sara Blaedel
Authors:
Sara Blaedel

It was clearly no accidental drowning. When a young immigrant girl is found in the watery depths of Holbaek Fjord, a piece of concrete tied around her waist and two mysterious circular patches on the back of her neck, Detective Louise Rick is called to investigate.The girl's name was Samra, and Louise soon learns that her short life was a sad story. Abused by her father, it becomes clear that he would be capable of killing Samra if she brought dishonour to the family. But according to her family, she has done nothing to inspire this sort of violence.Samra's best friend believes that the worst has happened and shares her concerns with the police. Within days she is also discovered dead. To top it all, Samra's younger sister has also gone missing.In this heart-pounding new thriller from the Danish number one bestseller, Louise Rick must navigate a complex web of family ties, jealousy and obsession in seemingly idyllic Copenhagen, to find a remorseless predator, or predators, before it is too late...

Sphere

Unruly Passions

Kate Charles
Authors:
Kate Charles
Sphere

A Death in the Small Hours

Charles Finch
Authors:
Charles Finch

Charles Lenox is at the pinnacle of his political career and is a delighted new father. His days of regularly investigating the crimes of Victorian London now some years behind him, he plans a trip to his uncle's estate in Somerset, with the expectation of a few calm weeks to write an important speech. When he arrives in the quiet village of Plumley, however, what greets him is a series of strange vandalisms upon the local shops: broken windows, minor thefts, threatening scrawls.Only when a far more serious crime is committed does he begin to understand the great stakes of those events, and the complex and sinister mind that is wreaking fear and suspicion in Plumley. Now, with his protege, John Dallington, at his side, the race is on for Lenox to find the culprit before he strikes again. And this time his victim may be someone that Lenox loves...

Sphere

A Beautiful Blue Death

Charles Finch
Authors:
Charles Finch
Sphere

A Burial at Sea

Charles Finch
Authors:
Charles Finch

Charles Lenox, Member of Parliament, sets sail on a clandestine mission for the government. When an officer is savagely murdered, however, Lenox is drawn toward his old profession, determined to capture another killer.1873 is a perilous time in the relationship between France and England. When a string of English spies is found dead on French soil, the threat of all-out war prompts government officials to ask Charles Lenox to visit the newly-dug Suez Canal on a secret mission.Once he is on board the Lucy, however, Lenox finds himself using not his new skills of diplomacy but his old ones: the ship's second lieutenant is found dead on the voyage's first night, his body cruelly abused. The ship's captain begs the temporarily retired detective to join in the hunt for a criminal. Lenox finds the trail, but in the claustrophobic atmosphere on board, where nobody can come or go and everyone is a suspect, he has to race against the next crime - and also hope he won't be the victim.

Sphere

The Fleet Street Murders

Charles Finch
Authors:
Charles Finch

It's Christmas, 1866, and amateur sleuth Charles Lenox, recently engaged to his best friend, Lady Jane Grey, is happily celebrating the holiday in his Mayfair townhouse. Across London, however, two journalists have just met with violent deaths - one shot, one throttled. Lenox soon involves himself in the strange case, but he must leave it behind to go north to Stirrington, where he is fulfilling a lifelong dream: running for a Parliamentary seat. Once there, he gets a further shock when Lady Jane sends him a letter whose contents might threaten their nuptials.In London, the police apprehend two unlikely and unrelated murder suspects. From the start, Lenox has his doubts; the crimes, he is sure, are tied, but how? Racing back and forth between London and Stirrington, Lenox must negotiate the complexities of crime and politics, not to mention his imperiled engagement...

Sphere

The September Society

Charles Finch
Authors:
Charles Finch

In the small hours of the morning one autumn day in 1866, a frantic widow visits detective Charles Lenox. Lady Annabelle's problem is simple: her beloved son, George, has vanished from his room at Oxford. When Lenox visits his alma mater to investigate, he discovers a series of bizarre clues, including a murdered cat and a card cryptically referring to the September Society. Then, just as Lenox realizes that the case may be deeper than it appears, a student dies, the victim of foul play.What could the September Society have to do with it? What specter, returned from the past, is haunting gentle Oxford? Lenox, with the support of his devoted friends in London's upper crust, must race to discover the truth before it comes searching for him...

Sphere

A Stranger in Mayfair

Charles Finch
Authors:
Charles Finch
Susanna Gregory interviews Charles Finch

The Crime Vault: Meet The Authors

Susanna Gregory interviews fellow Crime Vault author Charles Finch, creator of the Charles Lenox series - armchair cosies at their best.

Corsair

Jennifer Egan Sampler

Jennifer Egan
Authors:
Jennifer Egan

A VISIT FROM THE GOON SQUADA brilliantly entertaining novel about memory, time, art and how humans connect at every level.LOOK AT METhe stunningly well praised second novel raises tantalizing questions about identity and reality in contemporary Western culture.EMERALD CITYEleven masterful stories, seamless evocations of self-discovery.THE INVISIBLE CIRCUSThis spellbinding novel introduces Egan's remarkable ability to tie suspense with deeply insightful characters and the nuances of emotion.

Jamie Sawyer

Jamie Sawyer was born in 1979 in Newbury, Berkshire. He studied law at the University of East Anglia, Norwich, acquiring a Master's degree in human rights and surveillance law. Jamie is a full-time barrister, practising in criminal law. When he isn't working in law or writing, Jamie enjoys spending time with his family in Essex. He is an enthusiastic reader of all types of SF, especially classic authors such as Heinlein and Haldeman.

Orbit

The Lazarus War: Artefact

Jamie Sawyer
Authors:
Jamie Sawyer
Orbit

The Lazarus War: Legion

Jamie Sawyer
Authors:
Jamie Sawyer
Orbit

The Lazarus War: Redemption

Jamie Sawyer
Authors:
Jamie Sawyer

Redemption is a novella set in the world of The Lazarus War - an explosive new space adventure series perfect for fans of The Edge of Tomorrow, Alien and James S. A. Corey's Expanse series.Jack Campbell, author of the Lost Fleet novels calls The Lazarus War: Artefact 'a gripping read that moves at warp speed.'Taniya Coetzer is the chief engineer of the transport ship Edison, on a routine cargo run to the military outpost Liberty Point. But she's also an ex-convict with a secret, and she's hoping to make peace with her estranged mother when they reach the Point.Their family reunion will be disrupted, however, when a catastrophe strikes the space station. The crew of the Edisonsuddenly find themselves fighting for their lives - and amongst the chaos, Taniya will discover that she's not the only member of the crew with a secret . . .See the world of the Lazarus War in a whole new light, in this thrilling spin-off novella from the new science fiction star Jamie Sawyer.

Sphere

The Killing Room

Richard Montanari
Authors:
Richard Montanari

'The thing is, Detective... If you believe in God, you've got to believe in the Devil.'Deepest winter. Darkest Philadelphia.A murder shocks the frozen city - the most spectacular homicide in its 300-year-old history: an ex-cop has been lured to the basement of an abandoned chapel, wrapped in barbed wire - and kept alive for ten days.Twenty-four hours after the discovery, Detectives Kevin Byrne and Jessica Balzano find another victim in another church, encased in a pristine block of ice.Someone is transforming the city's cathederals into killing rooms, someone who is determined to raise hell on earth.Packed with ingenious twists and relentless excitement, The Killing Room is a novel of blistering thrills and heart-stopping suspense.

Sphere

Cruel And Unusual

Patricia Cornwell
Authors:
Patricia Cornwell

The fingerprints say the murderer is the man who's just been executed ...At 11.05 one December evening in Richmond, Virginia, convicted murderer Ronnie Joe Waddell is pronounced dead in the electric chair. At the morgue Dr Kay Scarpetta waits for Waddell's body. Preparing to perform a post-mortem before the subject is dead is a strange feeling, but Scarpetta has been here before. And Waddell's death is not the only newsworthy event on this freezing night: the grotesquely wounded body of a young boy is found propped against a rubbish skip. To Scarpetta the two cases seem unrelated, until she recalls that the body of Waddell's victim had been arranged in a strikingly similar position ...