Related to: 'Kate Colquhoun on Twitter'

Orbit

Wasteland King

Lilith Saintcrow
Authors:
Lilith Saintcrow

The plague has been stopped, the Wild Hunt mastered, but the balance of power in the sidhe realms is still shifting. The unSeelie King has a grudge against Jeremiah, but that grudge will have to wait. For he needs Gallow's services for a very delicate mission -- and the prize held out for success is Robin Ragged herself.Robin wants nothing to do with Gallow, but that isn't his problem. His problem is the Sluagh, the moonlit cavalcade of death all sidhe fear, that takes no master who is not strong enough to escape it. The Sluagh has been called on Gallow, the Queen of the sidhe's treachery grows ever deeper, most unSeelie would just as soon kill him as help him, and in order to save both Robin and himself, Gallow will have to do the unspeakable. He must become more than he ever dreamed.He must become a king.

Orbit

The Last Days of Jack Sparks

Jason Arnopp
Authors:
Jason Arnopp

THE MOST CHILLING AND UNPREDICTABLE THRILLER OF THE YEAR.Jack Sparks died while writing this book. It was no secret that journalist Jack Sparks had been researching the occult for his new book. No stranger to controversy, he'd already triggered a furious Twitter storm by mocking an exorcism he witnessed.Then there was that video: forty seconds of chilling footage that Jack repeatedly claimed was not of his making, yet was posted from his own YouTube account.Nobody knew what happened to Jack in the days that followed - until now. 'Ingenious and funny . . . A magnificent millennial nightmare' - Alan Moore'Wow. Seriously hard to put down . . . Chilling and utterly immersive' - M. R. Carey'This is The Omen for the social media age' - Chris Brookmyre'Wittier than the lovechild of Stephen Fry and Charlie Brooker, scarier than watching The Exorcist in an abandoned asylum' - Sarah LotzDISCOVER THE LAST DAYS OF JACK SPARKS - DESTINED TO BE 2016'S MOST TALKED-ABOUT THRILLER

Sphere

Tiny Hats on Cats

Adam Ellis
Authors:
Adam Ellis

Last autumn, writer and illustrator Adam Ellis adopted a little three-legged kitten named Maxwell. They don't know how he lost his limb, but Adam assumes it was a shark attack, like that surfing girl in Hawaii. (Just kidding.)One day, after coming across a pack of coloured paper, Adam started crafting tiny hats for Maxwell and posting pictures of them on Instagram. People loved it so much that he made another one, and another. Before long, he had made a few dozen and they exploded in popularity-Adam's hats were featured on The Huffington Post, E!Online, Buzzfeed UK, Jezebel, Reddit and more! Now, Adam is sharing his designs with the world so that beloved cats everywhere can share in the fashion craze that is sweeping the internet. The book will feature about 35 hats in total, organised in order of difficulty from easiest to make to hardest to make.

Constable

Mr Key's Shorter Potted Brief, Brief Lives

Frank Key
Authors:
Frank Key
Piatkus

The Drafter

Kim Harrison
Authors:
Kim Harrison

#1 New York Times bestselling author Kim Harrison delivers the first installment in her eagerly anticipated, sexy new suspense trilogy, featuring a special task agent at the top of her field and set in a futuristic Detroit . . . LIVE. DIE. REPEAT. Detroit 2030: Double-crossed by the person she loved and betrayed by the covert government organization that trained her to use her body as a weapon, Peri Reed is a renegade on the run. Don't forgive and never forget has always been Peri's creed. But her day job makes it difficult: she is a drafter, possessed of a rare, invaluable skill for altering time, yet destined to forget both the history she changed and the history she rewrote. When Peri discovers her name is on a list of corrupt operatives, she realizes that her own life has been manipulated by the agency. Her memory of the previous three years erased, she joins forces with a mysterious rogue soldier in a deadly race to piece together the truth about her fateful final task. With only her intuition to guide her, she's on a vengeful mission to decide-who must she kill and who, including herself, can she trust?Perfect for fans of Charlaine Harris, Patricia Briggs and Kelley Armstrong, this futuristic thriller is pacey, sexy and unforgettable'I wouldn't miss a Kim Harrison book for anything.' - Charlaine Harris

Sphere

The Doll Maker

Richard Montanari
Authors:
Richard Montanari

Mr Marseille is polite, elegant, and erudite. He would do anything for his genteel true love Anabelle. And he is a psychopath.A quiet Philadelphia suburb. A woman cycles past a train depot with her young daughter. And there she finds a murdered girl posed on a newly painted bench. Strangled. Beside her is a formal invite to a tea dance in a week's time.Seven days later, two more young victims are discovered in a disused house, posed on painted swings. At the scene is an identical invite. This time, though, there is something extra waiting for Detectives Kevin Byrne and Jessica Balzano.A delicate porcelain doll. It's a message. And a threat.With Marseille and Anabelle stalking the city, Detectives Byrne and Balzano have just seven days to find the link between the murders before another innocent child is snatched from its streets.

Little, Brown

Did She Kill Him?

Kate Colquhoun
Authors:
Kate Colquhoun
Orbit

Ghost Train to New Orleans

Mur Lafferty
Authors:
Mur Lafferty
Orbit

Cold Blooded

Amanda Carlson
Authors:
Amanda Carlson

The time has now come for female werewolf Jessica McClain to honour the oath she swore to the icy Vampire Queen. With her mate Rourke at her side, Jessica is confident she'll be able to sail through this job without getting herself killed. What Jessica doesn't know is that the Queen has her own more dubious plans. But even that will be the least of her worries when the rebel faction of werewolves amasses for a brutal attack. Life has always been tough for Jessica, but now she's facing an all-out war . . .

Orbit

Last Blood

Kristen Painter
Authors:
Kristen Painter

In the final showdown between the forces of dark and light, Mal and Chrysabelle face not only their old master, the vampire Tatiana, but the ancient evil that now controls her: the Castus Sanguis. Chrysabelle gathers her friends and family around her, forming a plan to bring an end to the chaos surrounding them. But the Castus is the most powerful being they've ever come up against. Defeating such evil will require a great sacrifice from someone on the side of light.One of them will change sides. One of them will die. No one will survive unscathed. Can Chrysabelle save those she cares about or will that love get her killed? What price is she willing to pay to draw last blood?

Abacus

The Man In The Wooden Hat

Jane Gardam
Authors:
Jane Gardam
Sphere

Death In The City Of Light

David King
Authors:
David King
Sphere

The Secret Diary of Mario Balotelli

Bruno Vincent
Authors:
Bruno Vincent
Abacus

Mr Briggs' Hat

Kate Colquhoun
Authors:
Kate Colquhoun
Orbit

Tracking The Tempest

Nicole Peeler
Authors:
Nicole Peeler

There's something in the water.Jane True always knew she wasn't quite normal - but she never expected to discover she had a supernatural heritage. Now she's struggling to hone her new-found powers as a halfing, including her affinity over water. Luckily, her steamy relationship with vampire Ryu helps to keep her mind off things somewhat . . .But Jane's life won't get simpler any time soon. While visiting Ryu in Boston, she becomes entangled in an investigation involving a spree of gruesome killings. All evidence points towards a being of tremendous power - who, much to Jane's surprise, may just turn out to be another halfling.

Orbit

Iron Kissed

Patricia Briggs
Authors:
Patricia Briggs

It wasn't hard to follow the scent of blood to the living room where the fae had been killed. It had been a violent death, perfect for creating ghosts.Mercy Thompson enjoys life as a mechanic, but life is never simple given her increasing closeness to the local werewolf pack, and her ability to change into coyote form at will. And when a member of the fae community calls in a favour, needing her skills for a covert murder investigation, she jumps into the hunt.But the dangers multiply and she clashes with shadowed creatures of great power. When her old boss Zee is charged with a brutal assassination, Mercy find herself fighting alone. There are those who love her, who would keep her safe, but she is wary and holds her freedom precious. Until, that is, she has nothing left to lose but her life ...

Abacus

And Did Those Feet

Charlie Connelly
Authors:
Charlie Connelly

The landscape of the British Isles is filled with history, much of which we miss as it flashes past the car window. Do we even realise that we're following the same path as the Tolpuddle Martyrs, or that we're driving past the exact spot where King Harold was killed, shot through the eye with an arrow? As a lover of both history and the British countryside, Charlie Connelly decided to rectify this, and set out on a series of walks that recreate famous historical journeys. En route he retells the story of the original trip while discovering who and what now inhabit these iconic routes. Walking in England, Scotland, Ireland and Wales, Charlie journeys alongside Boudicca's ghost in Norfolk, relives Bonnie Prince Charlie's flight to Skye disguised as Flora MacDonald's maid and takes the same 32-mile round trip as the starving Louisburgh famine walkers. He suffers broken toes, becomes trapped in the Scottish Parliament and encounters dead poets and a surprisingly high number of mad old women in woolly hats. Told with Charlie's customary charm and wit, And Did Those Feet will reveal the historical secrets hidden in the much-loved coastal, country and urban landscapes of Britain.

Orbit

Bone Crossed

Patricia Briggs
Authors:
Patricia Briggs
Virago

As Once In May

Antonia White
Authors:
Antonia White

Throughout her life, Antonia White struggled with a formidable writer's block: the FROST IN MAY quartet was thought to be her final achievement. Yet on her death, this extraordinary work - her autobiography up to the age of six - was discovered among her papers.The freshness and vitality with which Antonia White recorded her much younger self is breathtaking. A writer with the phenomenal power of almost total recall, she recreates her capricious and extravagant mother and the indomitable father she both feared and adored, who taught Antonia the first line of the Iliad when she was three. Here, too, are perfect vignettes: the glorious bridesmaid's hat which her mother later appropriated; love at first sight in Kensington Gardens and games of Mr and Mrs John Barker in the nursery. Much more than an evocation of childhood, AS ONCE IN MAY illuminates the woman and writer Antonia White was to become. It is an essential and enthralling companion to her fiction.

Are you Epic, Interplanetary, or Underworld?

Which Daniel Abraham book is best for you?

Whether it's writing urban fantasy as M. L. N. Hanover, epic fantasy under his 'real' name, or space opera as one half of James S. A. Corey (the 'James' part, apparently), there's no doubt that Daniel Abraham is a man of many talents - and many guises. This invariably leads to two questions: why the various names, and where should you begin your Daniel Abraham experience?