Related to: 'Lost Things'

Abacus

The Collector of Lost Things

Jeremy Page
Authors:
Jeremy Page

I felt the worlds of ocean and ice were meeting in a frontier of rage, as if the Earth had torn in two along this line.This was a place if there ever was a place, where you could disappear.The year is 1845 and young researcher Eliot Saxby is paid to go on an expedition to the Arctic in the hope of finding remains of the by now extinct Great Auk. He joins a regular hunting ship, but the crew and the passengers are not what they seem. Caught in the web of relationships on board, Eliot struggles to understand the motivations of the sociopathic, embroidery-loving Captain Sykes, the silent First Mate French, the flamboyant laudanum-addicted Bletchley and, most importantly of all, Bletchley's beautiful but strange 'cousin' Clara. As the ship moves further and further into the wilds of the Arctic sea, Eliot clings to what he believes in, desperate to save Clara but drawn irrevocably back into the past that haunts him.The first historical novel from an author who has been critically acclaimed for his two contemporary novels (Salt and The Wake), The Collector of Lost Things is a compulsive, beautifully writtten read.

Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Travel in Dangerous Places: Arctic

John Keay
Authors:
John Keay
Look at

Birds in flight

Read an extract from The Collector of Lost Things by Jeremy Page

Admire

Big Bears

Read an extract from The Collector of Lost Things by Jeremy Page

The fabulous

Dodo and Friends

Read an extract from The Collector of Lost Things by Jeremy Page

Study

Botany

Read an extract from The Collector of Lost Things by Jeremy Page

Explore

Bird Species

Read an extract from The Collector of Lost Things by Jeremy Page

Explore

Creepy Crawlies

Read an extract from The Collector of Lost Things by Jeremy Page

Explore more

Fish from the deep

Read an extract from The Collector of Lost Things by Jeremy Page

The hero of The Collector of Lost Things

Great Auk

Read an extract from The Collector of Lost Things by Jeremy Page

Explore

Nesting Birds

Read an extract from The Collector of Lost Things by Jeremy Page

by Christine Feehan

Dark Storm: Chapter One

To celebrate publication of Dark Storm, we're offering you a sneak preview from the first chapter. And if you like the Dark Carpathian series, you'll love Christine Feehan's new novels Lair of the Lion and Dark Nights, available now in paperback.

An interview with Little, Brown Group Publisher

Inside Publishing: David Shelley

Find out more about publishing from Little Brown's Group Publisher, David Shelley, including how he got started, what he loves about his job, and advice he'd give to prospective employees.

Little, Brown Book Group

Partnership with Prospect

Little, Brown is pleased to announce an ongoing partnership with Prospect magazine, the highly-influential current affairs journal which brings together the sharpest minds on the events and ideas that define the modern world.

The Dining Club...

A glimpse into

Welcome to the Dining Club. If you fail the challenges we set, you will go no further. If you pass, a world of pleasure awaits.

Chapter One

The Uncommon Appeal of Clouds

Read the first chapter of the latest book in Alexander McCall Smith's Sunday Philosophy Club series. The victim of an important art theft appeals to Isabel Dalhousie, Edinburgh philosopher and sleuth, for help.

You've chosen the Barman

A Girl Walks Into A Bar

Barman extract from A Girl Walks Into A Bar

The summer must-read from Kate Furnivall

EXTRACT: SHADOWS ON THE NILE

Beautifully written, compulsively plotted and truly satisfying – Shadows on the Nile is a summer must-have for fans of Julia Gregson, Rosie Thomas and other sumptuous historical romances Indulge yourself with this sneak-peek at the first chapter now.

New York Times bestseller

Little, Brown to publish Hamilton: The Revolution

Find out more

from Niki Valentine

Toy Shop of Horrors

Author Niki Valentine talks about the inspirations behind The Doll's House, the eBook exclusive prequel to Possessed - the perfect Halloween read.