Related to: 'Tracey Thorn's playlist'

Virago

Bedsit Disco Queen

Tracey Thorn
Virago

Naked at the Albert Hall

Tracey Thorn

In her bestselling autobiography Bedsit Disco Queen, Tracey Thorn recalled the highs and lows of a thirty-year career in pop music. But with the touring, recording and extraordinary anecdotes, there wasn't time for an in-depth look at what she actually did for all those years: sing. She sang with warmth and emotional honesty, sometimes while battling acute stage-fright.Part memoir, part wide-ranging exploration of the art, mechanics and spellbinding power of singing, Naked at the Albert Hall takes in Dusty Springfield, Dennis Potter and George Eliot; Auto-tune, the microphone and stage presence; The Streets and The X Factor. Including interviews with fellow artists such as Alison Moyet, Romy Madley-Croft and Green Gartside of Scritti Politti, and portraits of singers in fiction as well as Tracey's real-life experiences, it offers a unique, witty and sharply observed insider's perspective on the exhilarating joy and occasional heartache of singing.

03 Feb
Kings Place, London

Tracey Thorn Event

Tracey Thorn event at Kings Place

The summer must-read from Kate Furnivall

EXTRACT: SHADOWS ON THE NILE

Beautifully written, compulsively plotted and truly satisfying – Shadows on the Nile is a summer must-have for fans of Julia Gregson, Rosie Thomas and other sumptuous historical romances Indulge yourself with this sneak-peek at the first chapter now.

20 Feb
The Steps Theatre, Dundee

Tracey Thorn at the Dundee Literary Festival

Tracey will be talking about her book, Bedsit Disco Queen, with Bob McDevitt chairing.

13 Feb
Old Market Theatre, Brighton

Tracey Thorn Talk

Tracey Thorn talk at the Old Market Theatre in Brighton

by Tim Harford

The Undercover Economist - Introduction

Author Tim Harford's introduction to The Undercover Economist: the book that revealed what really motivates us.

by Nora Roberts

The Witness: Chapter 1

Chapter One of Nora Roberts' thrilling romance, The Witness.

My Autobidography

Pudsey

Little, Brown is delighted to announce the acquisition of PUDSEY: MY AUTOBIDOGRAPHY, the official memoir from the canine half of this year’s Britain’s Got Talent winners Pudsey and Ashleigh.

Chapter One

The Uncommon Appeal of Clouds

Read the first chapter of the latest book in Alexander McCall Smith's Sunday Philosophy Club series. The victim of an important art theft appeals to Isabel Dalhousie, Edinburgh philosopher and sleuth, for help.

Bedsit Disco Queen

Tracey Thorn events

Find out dates and locations for Tracey Thorn events

21 Feb
Pitlochry Festival Theatre, Port-Na-Craig

Tracey Thorn at the Pitlochry Literary Festival

Tracey will be talking about her book, Bedsit Disco Queen.

Join

Tracey Thorn on Facebook

Join Tracey Thorn, author of Bedsit Disco Queen, on Facebook

Follow

Tracey Thorn on twitter

Follow Tracey Thorn, singer, gardener and bedsit disco queen

18 Mar
Old Queen's Head, London

Tracey Thorn at 'A Word In Your Ear'

Tracey Thorn at 'A Word In Your Ear' at the Old Queen's Head, London

07 Feb
Rough Trade East

Tracey Thorn Launch

Tracey Thorn launch

27 Feb
Foyles, Charing Cross Road

Tracey Thorn Talk

Tracey Thorn talk at Foyles

02 May
Waterstones, Deansgate

Tracey Thorn Talk

Tracey Thorn will be at Waterstones Deansgate.

17 Oct
Leeds Metropolitan University

Tracey Thorne University Lecture

Tracey Thorne at Leeds Metropolitan University

by Christine Feehan

Dark Storm: Chapter One

To celebrate publication of Dark Storm, we're offering you a sneak preview from the first chapter. And if you like the Dark Carpathian series, you'll love Christine Feehan's new novels Lair of the Lion and Dark Nights, available now in paperback.