Related to: 'Tracey Thorn's playlist'

Virago

Bedsit Disco Queen

Tracey Thorn

I was only sixteen when I bought an electric guitar and joined a band. A year later, I formed an all-girl band called the Marine Girls and played gigs, and signed to an indie label, and started releasing records.Then, for eighteen years, between 1982 and 2000, I was one half of the group Everything But the Girl. In that time, we released nine albums and sold nine million records. We went on countless tours, had hit singles and flop singles, were reviewed and interviewed to within an inch of our lives. I've been in the charts, out of them, back in. I've seen myself described as an indie darling, a middle-of-the-road nobody and a disco diva. I haven't always fitted in, you see, and that's made me face up to the realities of a pop career - there are thrills and wonders to be experienced, yes, but also moments of doubt, mistakes, violent lifestyle changes from luxury to squalor and back again, sometimes within minutes.

03 Feb
Kings Place, London

Tracey Thorn Event

The summer must-read from Kate Furnivall

EXTRACT: SHADOWS ON THE NILE

Beautifully written, compulsively plotted and truly satisfying – Shadows on the Nile is a summer must-have for fans of Julia Gregson, Rosie Thomas and other sumptuous historical romances Indulge yourself with this sneak-peek at the first chapter now.

20 Feb
The Steps Theatre, Dundee

Tracey Thorn at the Dundee Literary Festival

Tracey will be talking about her book, Bedsit Disco Queen, with Bob McDevitt chairing.

13 Feb
Old Market Theatre, Brighton

Tracey Thorn Talk

by Tim Harford

The Undercover Economist - Introduction

Author Tim Harford's introduction to The Undercover Economist: the book that revealed what really motivates us.

by Nora Roberts

The Witness: Chapter 1

Chapter One of Nora Roberts' thrilling romance, The Witness.

My Autobidography

Pudsey

Little, Brown is delighted to announce the acquisition of PUDSEY: MY AUTOBIDOGRAPHY, the official memoir from the canine half of this year’s Britain’s Got Talent winners Pudsey and Ashleigh.

Chapter One

The Uncommon Appeal of Clouds

Read the first chapter of the latest book in Alexander McCall Smith's Sunday Philosophy Club series. The victim of an important art theft appeals to Isabel Dalhousie, Edinburgh philosopher and sleuth, for help.

Bedsit Disco Queen

Tracey Thorn events

Find out dates and locations for Tracey Thorn events

21 Feb
Pitlochry Festival Theatre, Port-Na-Craig

Tracey Thorn at the Pitlochry Literary Festival

Tracey will be talking about her book, Bedsit Disco Queen.

Join

Tracey Thorn on Facebook

Join Tracey Thorn, author of Bedsit Disco Queen, on Facebook

Follow

Tracey Thorn on twitter

Follow Tracey Thorn, singer, gardener and bedsit disco queen

18 Mar
Old Queen's Head, London

Tracey Thorn at 'A Word In Your Ear'

Tracey Thorn at 'A Word In Your Ear' at the Old Queen's Head, London

07 Feb
Rough Trade East

Tracey Thorn Launch

Tracey Thorn launch

27 Feb
Foyles, Charing Cross Road

Tracey Thorn Talk

Tracey Thorn talk at Foyles

02 May
Waterstones, Deansgate

Tracey Thorn Talk

Tracey Thorn will be at Waterstones Deansgate.

17 Oct
Leeds Metropolitan University

Tracey Thorne University Lecture

Tracey Thorne at Leeds Metropolitan University

by Christine Feehan

Dark Storm: Chapter One

To celebrate publication of Dark Storm, we're offering you a sneak preview from the first chapter. And if you like the Dark Carpathian series, you'll love Christine Feehan's new novels Lair of the Lion and Dark Nights, available now in paperback.

Enter the Dining Club...

A look into David’s past

Take a glimpse into David's past... Welcome to The Dining Club