Related to: 'Tracey Thorn's playlist'


Bedsit Disco Queen

Tracey Thorn
Tracey Thorn

I was only sixteen when I bought an electric guitar and joined a band. A year later, I formed an all-girl band called the Marine Girls and played gigs, and signed to an indie label, and started releasing records.Then, for eighteen years, between 1982 and 2000, I was one half of the group Everything But the Girl. In that time, we released nine albums and sold nine million records. We went on countless tours, had hit singles and flop singles, were reviewed and interviewed to within an inch of our lives. I've been in the charts, out of them, back in. I've seen myself described as an indie darling, a middle-of-the-road nobody and a disco diva. I haven't always fitted in, you see, and that's made me face up to the realities of a pop career - there are thrills and wonders to be experienced, yes, but also moments of doubt, mistakes, violent lifestyle changes from luxury to squalor and back again, sometimes within minutes.


Naked at the Albert Hall

Tracey Thorn
Tracey Thorn

In her bestselling autobiography Bedsit Disco Queen, Tracey Thorn recalled the highs and lows of a thirty-year career in pop music. But with the touring, recording and extraordinary anecdotes, there wasn't time for an in-depth look at what she actually did for all those years: sing. She sang with warmth and emotional honesty, sometimes while battling acute stage-fright.Part memoir, part wide-ranging exploration of the art, mechanics and spellbinding power of singing, Naked at the Albert Hall takes in Dusty Springfield, Dennis Potter and George Eliot; Auto-tune, the microphone and stage presence; The Streets and The X Factor. Including interviews with fellow artists such as Alison Moyet, Romy Madley-Croft and Green Gartside of Scritti Politti, and portraits of singers in fiction as well as Tracey's real-life experiences, it offers a unique, witty and sharply observed insider's perspective on the exhilarating joy and occasional heartache of singing.

03 Feb
Kings Place, London

Tracey Thorn Event

The summer must-read from Kate Furnivall


Beautifully written, compulsively plotted and truly satisfying – Shadows on the Nile is a summer must-have for fans of Julia Gregson, Rosie Thomas and other sumptuous historical romances Indulge yourself with this sneak-peek at the first chapter now.

20 Feb
The Steps Theatre, Dundee

Tracey Thorn at the Dundee Literary Festival

13 Feb
Old Market Theatre, Brighton

Tracey Thorn Talk

Tracey Thorn talk at the Old Market Theatre in Brighton

by Tim Harford

The Undercover Economist - Introduction

Author Tim Harford's introduction to The Undercover Economist: the book that revealed what really motivates us.

by Nora Roberts

The Witness: Chapter 1

Chapter One of Nora Roberts' thrilling romance, The Witness.

My Autobidography


Little, Brown is delighted to announce the acquisition of PUDSEY: MY AUTOBIDOGRAPHY, the official memoir from the canine half of this year’s Britain’s Got Talent winners Pudsey and Ashleigh.

Chapter One

The Uncommon Appeal of Clouds

Read the first chapter of the latest book in Alexander McCall Smith's Sunday Philosophy Club series. The victim of an important art theft appeals to Isabel Dalhousie, Edinburgh philosopher and sleuth, for help.

Enter the Dining Club...

A look into David’s past

Take a glimpse into David's past... Welcome to The Dining Club

The Dining Club...

A glimpse into

Welcome to the Dining Club. If you fail the challenges we set, you will go no further. If you pass, a world of pleasure awaits.

Bedsit Disco Queen

Tracey Thorn events

Find out dates and locations for Tracey Thorn events

21 Feb
Pitlochry Festival Theatre, Port-Na-Craig

Tracey Thorn at the Pitlochry Literary Festival

Tracey will be talking about her book, Bedsit Disco Queen.


Tracey Thorn on Facebook

Join Tracey Thorn, author of Bedsit Disco Queen, on Facebook


Tracey Thorn on twitter

Follow Tracey Thorn, singer, gardener and bedsit disco queen

18 Mar
Old Queen's Head, London

Tracey Thorn at 'A Word In Your Ear'

Tracey Thorn at 'A Word In Your Ear' at the Old Queen's Head, London

07 Feb
Rough Trade East

Tracey Thorn Launch

27 Feb
Foyles, Charing Cross Road

Tracey Thorn Talk

Tracey Thorn talk at Foyles

02 May
Waterstones, Deansgate

Tracey Thorn Talk

Tracey Thorn will be at Waterstones Deansgate.