Related to: 'Tracey Thorn's playlist'

Virago

You're on an Airplane

Parker Posey
Authors:
Parker Posey

From the 'Queen of the Indies' and star of Christopher Guest's Waiting for Guffman and Best in Show, Woody Allen's Café Society and Irrational Man - and cult classics like Party Girl and Dazed and Confused - comes an irreverent, hilarious, and enchanting memoir full of personal stories, whimsical how-tos, recipes, and eccentric illustrations.It's hard not to love Parker Posey. A singularly gifted actress with a wickedly funny personality that belies her movie star status, her cross-generational fame stems from starring roles in such unforgettable movies as Dazed and Confused, Party Girl, and You've Got Mail, her recurring roles in Christopher Guest's mockumentaries, including his most recent, Mascots, on Netflix. With remarkable candour and a refreshing perspective on life in the spotlight, Posey opens up about the art of acting, life on the set, and the realities of its accompanying fame. She explores her relationships with brilliant directors like Christopher Guest and Woody Allen, as well as the nerves and expectations that come with the territory. A funny and authentic childhood set Posey up for a life of creating and entertaining, which not only extends to acting but to the craft of pottery, sewing, collage, yoga and cooking, all of which readers will find in this highly entertaining book. In You're On an Airplane, Posey delves into her personal style - unique, famously inspiring, and never indebted to trends--as well as her approach to everyday life on and off set. Laugh-out-loud advice from her legendary Greenwich Village therapist Mildred Newman appears alongside poignant portrayals of painful relationships and the love she has for her dog, Gracie. For fans of Nora Ephron's spot-on commentary, Jenny Lawson's absurdly comical foibles, Amy Sedaris's unexpectedly hilarious quips, and Carrie Brownstein's cool-girl appeal, You're On an Airplane proves Posey has a voice that will enchant fans and newcomers alike.

Virago

Naked at the Albert Hall

Tracey Thorn
Authors:
Tracey Thorn

In her bestselling autobiography Bedsit Disco Queen, Tracey Thorn recalled the highs and lows of a thirty-year career in pop music. But with the touring, recording and extraordinary anecdotes, there wasn't time for an in-depth look at what she actually did for all those years: sing. She sang with warmth and emotional honesty, sometimes while battling acute stage-fright.Part memoir, part wide-ranging exploration of the art, mechanics and spellbinding power of singing, NAKED AT THE ALBERT HALL takes in Dusty Springfield, Dennis Potter and George Eliot; Auto-tune, the microphone and stage presence; The Streets and The X Factor. Including interviews with fellow artists such as Alison Moyet, Romy Madley-Croft and Green Gartside of Scritti Politti, and portraits of singers in fiction as well as Tracey's real-life experiences, it offers a unique, witty and sharply observed insider's perspective on the exhilarating joy and occasional heartache of singing.

Little, Brown

In the All-Night Café

Stuart David
Authors:
Stuart David

One afternoon, in 1994, I had an idea.So begins Stuart David's magical, evocative memoir about Belle and Sebastian. Determined to make his living writing stories and songs, Stuart had spent several years scraping by on the dole in his small, industrial home town. Then he had the fateful idea to learn bass guitar, and to head for Glasgow in search of like-minded artists. It was a quiet but powerful idea that would completely transform his life. Within one extraordinary year he had helped create one of the most influential, beloved bands of all time. Set against a vivid background of early 90s Glasgow, In the All-Night Café describes Stuart's fortuitous meeting with the band's co-founder Stuart Murdoch on a course for unemployed musicians. It tells of their adventures in two early incarnations of Belle and Sebastian and culminates in the recording of the band's celebrated debut album, Tigermilk.A fascinating portrait of the group and its origins, it is also a story that will resonate with anyone who has put together - or thought of putting together - a band. It is a story of a group of friends who wanted to create a different kind of band and a different kind of music. And how - against all expectations - they succeeded. Written with wit, affection and a novelist's observant eye, In the All-Night Café brings to life the music and the early days of this most enigmatic and intriguing of bands.

Virago

Bedsit Disco Queen

Tracey Thorn
Authors:
Tracey Thorn
The summer must-read from Kate Furnivall

EXTRACT: SHADOWS ON THE NILE

Beautifully written, compulsively plotted and truly satisfying – Shadows on the Nile is a summer must-have for fans of Julia Gregson, Rosie Thomas and other sumptuous historical romances Indulge yourself with this sneak-peek at the first chapter now.

by Nora Roberts

The Witness: Chapter 1

Chapter One of Nora Roberts' thrilling romance, The Witness.

Chapter One

The Uncommon Appeal of Clouds

Read the first chapter of the latest book in Alexander McCall Smith's Sunday Philosophy Club series. The victim of an important art theft appeals to Isabel Dalhousie, Edinburgh philosopher and sleuth, for help.

by Christine Feehan

Dark Storm: Chapter One

To celebrate publication of Dark Storm, we're offering you a sneak preview from the first chapter. And if you like the Dark Carpathian series, you'll love Christine Feehan's new novels Lair of the Lion and Dark Nights, available now in paperback.

My Autobidography

Pudsey

Little, Brown is delighted to announce the acquisition of PUDSEY: MY AUTOBIDOGRAPHY, the official memoir from the canine half of this year’s Britain’s Got Talent winners Pudsey and Ashleigh.

The Dining Club...

A glimpse into

Welcome to the Dining Club. If you fail the challenges we set, you will go no further. If you pass, a world of pleasure awaits.

Enter the Dining Club...

A look into David’s past

Take a glimpse into David's past... Welcome to The Dining Club

by Tim Harford

The Undercover Economist - Introduction

Author Tim Harford's introduction to The Undercover Economist: the book that revealed what really motivates us.

Bedsit Disco Queen

Tracey Thorn events

Find out dates and locations for Tracey Thorn events

Join

Tracey Thorn on Facebook

Join Tracey Thorn, author of Bedsit Disco Queen, on Facebook

Follow

Tracey Thorn on twitter

Follow Tracey Thorn, singer, gardener and bedsit disco queen

Elizabeth Chadwick imagines

The 1212 Olympic Games

Feeling the post-Summer, post-Olympics blues? In this article prize-winning historical romance writer, Elizabeth Chadwick, imagines what the Olympics might have been like in medieval times, when her sumptuous novels of tyrant kings, would-be queens, hunky heroes and spirited heroines are set.

The start of a magnificent new trilogy

An Extract from The Summer Queen

Overflowing with scandal, sex, triumph and tragedy. Read the first chapter of The Summer Queen, the gripping new novel from New York Times Bestseller, Elizabeth Chadwick.

Admire

Big Bears

Read an extract from The Collector of Lost Things by Jeremy Page