Related to: 'Events'

Constable

Reading Allowed

Chris Paling
Authors:
Chris Paling
Black Dog & Leventhal

Light

Kimberly Arcand, Megan Watzke
Authors:
Kimberly Arcand, Megan Watzke
Yen Press

Karneval, Vol. 3

Touya Mikanagi
Authors:
Touya Mikanagi

Nai and the crew of the 2nd Ship head for the metropolis of Vantonam, with 1st Ship's Jiki on board under Captain Tsukitachi's orders. The group takes some time off to enjoy the city, but while browsing the Nyanperona Shop, they are called out by a young boy, and...?! Later, Nai receives a secret communication with a dire message from Karoku as Circus begins planning an attack upon the "Smoky Mansion," where Karoku says he is being held. After the fierce battle ends and the dust settles, what truth will await Nai and Gareki...?!

Little, Brown

Girl at War

Sara Novic
Authors:
Sara Novic

Growing up in Zagreb in the summer of 1991, 10-year-old Ana Juric is a carefree tomboy; she runs the streets with her best friend, Luka, helps take care of her baby sister, Rahela, and idolizes her father. But when civil war breaks out across Yugoslavia, football games and school lessons are supplanted by sniper fire and air raid drills. The brutal ethnic cleansing of Croats and Bosnians tragically changes Ana's life, and she is lost to a world of genocide and child soldiers; a daring escape plan to America becomes her only chance for survival. Ten years later she returns to Croatia, a young woman struggling to belong to either country, forced to confront the trauma of her past and rediscover the place that was once her home.Girl At War is a haunting, compelling debut from a brilliant young writer, rooted in historical fact and personal experience. Sara has lived in the States and Croatia, and her novel bears witness to the haunting stories of her family and friends who lived through the height of the conflict, and reflects her own attempts to come to terms with her relationship to Croatia and its history. It is an extraordinary achievement for a novelist of any age, let alone age 26.

Little, Brown

England, Arise

Juliet Barker
Authors:
Juliet Barker

The dramatic and shocking events of the Peasants' Revolt of 1381 are to be the backdrop to Juliet Barker's latest book: a snapshot of what everyday life was like for ordinary people living in the middle ages. The same highly successful techniques she deployed inAgincourt and Conquest will this time be brought to bear on civilian society, from the humblest serf forced to provide slave-labour for his master in the fields, to the prosperous country goodwife brewing, cooking and spinning her distaff and the ambitious burgess expanding his business and his mental horizons in the town.The book will explore how and why such a diverse and unlikely group of ordinary men and women from every corner of England united in armed rebellion against church and state to demand a radical political agenda which, had it been implemented, would have fundamentally transformed English society and anticipated the French Revolution by four hundred years. The book will not only provide an important reassessment of the revolt itself but will also be an illuminating and original study of English medieval life at the time.

Sphere

In the Interests of Safety

Tracey Brown, Michael Hanlon
Authors:
Tracey Brown, Michael Hanlon

Does an airline pilot really need to surrender his tweezers at airport security when he's about to board an aircraft equipped with an axe on the back of the cockpit door Can a mobile phone really cause a major explosion at a gas station And is there really a good reason why you should be be prevented from swimming in a lake more than a foot deep These rules exist, and they exist in the name of our own protection. But in this engrossing dissection of global health, safety and security regulations, authors Tracey Brown and Michael Hanlon dig a little deeper to discover the real reasons behind many of the instructions we obey without questioning their creators' motives. Their conclusions range from the startling to the staggering, and in presenting them the authors seek to empower readers to question the people and organisations who come up with them in the first place.

Little, Brown

One More Thing

B. J. Novak
Authors:
B. J. Novak

A boy wins $100,000 in a box of Frosted Flakes - only to discover that claiming the winnings may unravel his family. An acclaimed ambulance driver seeks the courage to follow his heart and throw it all away to be a singer-songwriter. A school principal unveils a bold plan to permanently abolish arithmetic. A new arrival in heaven, overwhelmed by infinite options, procrastinates over his long-ago promise to visit his grandmother. We meet a vengeance-minded hare. We learn why wearing a red T-shirt is the key to finding love; how February got its name; and why the stock market is sometimes just . . . down.Finding inspiration in questions from the nature of perfection to the icing on carrot cake, from the deeply familiar to the intoxicatingly imaginative, ONE MORE THING finds its heart in the most human of phenomena: love, fear, family, ambition, and the inner stirring for the one elusive element that might make a person complete. The stories in this collection are like nothing else, but they have one thing in common: they share the playful humour, deep heart, inquisitive mind, and altogether electrifying spirit of a writer with a fierce devotion to the entertainment of the reader.

Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Comic Fantasy

Mike Ashley
Authors:
Mike Ashley
Import Aus

Australia's Worst Disasters

Malcolm Brown
Authors:
Malcolm Brown

Australia's history is punctuated by shocking incidents and accidents that have rocked the nation. Here, journalist Malcolm Brown and others examine some of the worst human dramas that we have witnessed in Australia - looking at not only what happened, but often how tragedy could have been avoided.Cases include Cyclone Tracey, the West Gate Bridge Disaster, the Ash Wednesday bushfires, the Thredbo landslide, the demolition of the Royal Canberra Hospital, the 1998 Sydney-Hobart yacht race - and most recently, the Sea King helicopter disaster. These graphic and compelling stories provide unique accounts of what happened, as well as insights into the impact of those events on survivors and the rest of the nation

at Little, Brown Book Group

Careers

The people who work at Little, Brown reflect the diversity of life in the UK and of the books we publish. As well as loving the titles on our list and giving their all to their various jobs, many belong to the groups and committees that have grown up in response to demand. We have a Diversity committee; an ethical group that looks at book production and office practice in terms of the environment; a group of volunteers who help with reading in local schools and mentor young people. If you are interested in joining Little, Brown, please check back often to view the job vacancies on this page of this website. When recruiting, we look for the top people in every field, from a wide range of social and ethnic backgrounds, and with the greatest level of talent, passion and commitment for publishing.

Prior to - 13-06-2014

Terms and Conditions of Sale

www. littlebrown.co.uk (the "Website") is operated by Littlehampton Book Services Limited (LBS) and Little, Brown Book Group Limited (referred to as "we", "us" and "our" below). Littlehampton Book Services Limited ("the Company", "our" or "us") provides a generic web-based payment gateway and generic web services (together, the "Services") to various publishers ("Publishers") for the purpose of handling order fulfilment of goods on behalf of the Publishers. By completing the order form you are submitting an order for the specified goods and you are accepting that your order and the contract between the Company and you are subject to these terms and conditions ("Service Terms"). These Service Terms and do not affect your statutory rights.

How we give back at Little, Brown Book Group

Community and Social Initiatives

Find out about Little, Brown Book Group's community and social initiatives.

by Nora Roberts

The Witness: Chapter 1

Chapter One of Nora Roberts' thrilling romance, The Witness.

Laugh, cry and fall in love

Extract from The Valentine’s Card

The Valentine’s Card is the fabulous first novel from Juliet Ashton. Publishing just in time for Valentine’s Day, it is a heart-warming, heart-breaking tale of love, laughter, and starting over full of vivid characters, real emotions and events both epic and ordinary. If you are looking for something special to read this spring The Valentine’s Card is a MUST. Perfect for fans of Cecelia Ahern, you will laugh, you will cry and you will fall in love with this bright new voice in women’s fiction.

Environmental and Ethical Policies

Here at the Little Brown Book group we're committed to working with environmental organisations to ensure that our policies and practices not only protect the environment but also improve it wherever practical. Our policy is part of a broader range of social responsibility policies that include a focus on working conditions at our head office, a responsible attitude to our suppliers, equal opportunities and charitable giving.

Fiction and non-fiction in hardback

Our Imprints - Little, Brown

Little, Brown is a literary hardback imprint within the Little, Brown Book Group. We publish across a wide range of areas, including fiction, history, memoir, science and travel, but within this diverse list the vast majority of books have in common a strong narrative and a distinctive voice. Little, Brown publishes in hardback and ebook, with paperbacks that publish under our Abacus and Sphere imprints.

Q&A with Francis Knight

debut British author

What inspired you to write FADE TO BLACK? I’ve always loved darker stories. Not grit exactly, or anything overly graphic, but explorations of the darker parts of people, the darkness we all have inside. I had a character in my head with a scarred past who was trying to overcome it. And lo, Rojan was born. He started talking and would not shut up, and he was as cynical as they come which is great to write. And slowly it became his struggle with who he is. It’s a theme that seems to crop up quite often in what I write – people struggling against the chains that bind them, even, maybe especially, the invisible ones.

debut British author

Meet Francis Knight

What inspired you to write FADE TO BLACK? I’ve always loved darker stories. Not grit exactly, or anything overly graphic, but explorations of the darker parts of people, the darkness we all have inside. I had a character in my head with a scarred past who was trying to overcome it. And lo, Rojan was born. He started talking and would not shut up, and he was as cynical as they come which is great to write. And slowly it became his struggle with who he is. It’s a theme that seems to crop up quite often in what I write – people struggling against the chains that bind them, even, maybe especially, the invisible ones.

debut British author

Q&A with Francis Knight

What inspired you to write FADE TO BLACK? I’ve always loved darker stories. Not grit exactly, or anything overly graphic, but explorations of the darker parts of people, the darkness we all have inside. I had a character in my head with a scarred past who was trying to overcome it. And lo, Rojan was born. He started talking and would not shut up, and he was as cynical as they come which is great to write. And slowly it became his struggle with who he is. It’s a theme that seems to crop up quite often in what I write – people struggling against the chains that bind them, even, maybe especially, the invisible ones.