Related to: 'Fleet '

Fleet

Early One Morning

Virginia Baily
Authors:
Virginia Baily
Fleet

Lab Girl

Hope Jahren
Authors:
Hope Jahren

'The perfect Christmas book for those already restless for spring' - Tim Adams, Guardian Best Biographies of 2016Lab Girl is a book about work and about love, and the mountains that can be moved when those two things come together. It is told through Jahren's remarkable stories: about the discoveries she has made in her lab, as well as her struggle to get there; about her childhood playing in her father's laboratory; about how lab work became a sanctuary for both her heart and her hands; about Bill, the brilliant, wounded man who became her loyal colleague and best friend; about their field trips - sometimes authorised, sometimes very much not - that took them from the Midwest across the USA, to Norway and to Ireland, from the pale skies of North Pole to tropical Hawaii; and about her constant striving to do and be her best, and her unswerving dedication to her life's work.Visceral, intimate, gloriously candid and sometimes extremely funny, Jahren's descriptions of her work, her intense relationship with the plants, seeds and soil she studies, and her insights on nature enliven every page of this thrilling book. In Lab Girl, we see anew the complicated power of the natural world, and the power that can come from facing with bravery and conviction the challenge of discovering who you are.

Corsair

When Captain Flint Was Still a Good Man

Nick Dybek
Authors:
Nick Dybek

Cal lives with his parents on Loyalty Island. Each winter, Cal's father - a captain of the island's trawling fleet - sets sail for Alaska; and though Cal is still too young to join them, he is old enough to know that everything depends on the fate of those few boats, thousands of miles north.When the fleet's owner dies, not only is the town's livelihood threatened, but so too is Cal's family. With winter fast approaching, and the fleet on the brink of extinction, Cal starts to suspect that his parents both have secrets to hide. Plagued by doubt, his loyalties strained and his moral compass thrown wildly off course, Cal is forced to make a brave and terrible choice.

A new literary imprint

Fleet

Read more

Discovering new literary talent

Blackfriars

Blackfriars aims to discover and nurture new talent (or talent that has been away for a while), run by Clare Smith of Little,Brown /Abacus.

The Lifeboat and Shelter wow booksellers

Two Virago Debuts make the Waterstones 11

Announced at Waterstones Piccadilly early January, Waterstones 11 is the debut fiction promotion for 2012, and Virago have two novels on the list - The Lifeboat by Charlotte Rogan and Shelter by Frances Greenslade.

The summer must-read from Kate Furnivall

EXTRACT: SHADOWS ON THE NILE

Beautifully written, compulsively plotted and truly satisfying – Shadows on the Nile is a summer must-have for fans of Julia Gregson, Rosie Thomas and other sumptuous historical romances Indulge yourself with this sneak-peek at the first chapter now.

by Val McDermid

The Vanishing Point - Chapter One

It's every parent's worst nightmare - your child abducted while you look on, helpless. But five-year-old Jimmy's life is shrouded in secrets, and his mother will be forced to make the most difficult choice of her life - a choice that will affect everyone around her...

by Nora Roberts

The Witness: Chapter 1

Chapter One of Nora Roberts' thrilling romance, The Witness.

The start of a magnificent new trilogy

An Extract from The Summer Queen

Overflowing with scandal, sex, triumph and tragedy. Read the first chapter of The Summer Queen, the gripping new novel from New York Times Bestseller, Elizabeth Chadwick.

Susanna Gregory interviews Charles Finch

The Crime Vault: Meet The Authors

Susanna Gregory interviews fellow Crime Vault author Charles Finch, creator of the Charles Lenox series - armchair cosies at their best.

Monday 3 February 2014

Little, Brown Book Group Acquires Constable & Robinson

Ursula Mackenzie CEO of Little, Brown and Nova Jayne Robinson, Chairman of Constable & Robinson are delighted to announce that, with immediate effect, Constable & Robinson will join Little, Brown Book Group.

Are you Epic, Interplanetary, or Underworld?

Which Daniel Abraham book is best for you?

Whether it's writing urban fantasy as M. L. N. Hanover, epic fantasy under his 'real' name, or space opera as one half of James S. A. Corey (the 'James' part, apparently), there's no doubt that Daniel Abraham is a man of many talents - and many guises. This invariably leads to two questions: why the various names, and where should you begin your Daniel Abraham experience?

by Mark Billingham

Rush Of Blood: An Extract

Read the first chapter of best-selling Mark Billingham's thrilling new novel 'Rush of Blood'.

An exclusive extract

The Red Book

The Red Book is the name of the annual yearbook produced by Harvard University that helps keep alumni abreast of their former classmates achievements. Deborah Kogan's highly acclaimed new novel is the story of four such Harvard students and friends, who's lives have taken very different paths in the twenty years since graduating in 1989, and who are brought together once more over the course of a turbulent reunion weekend.