Related to: 'Fleet '

Fleet

The Fourth Shore

Virginia Baily
Authors:
Virginia Baily

Liliana's beloved husband has been dead six months when she finds a roll of banknotes in a drawer with a note: Treat yourself to something nice, love. The same morning, in her local café, she spies the headline on La Repubblica: two men have been shot and injured in Rome and it is suspected that Libya's Colonel Gadaffi is behind it. When she reads the name of one of the victims, Abrama Cattaneo, the last forty years of her life in England - not speaking Italian, never mentioning her Italian family - disappear in an instant. She is transported back to her years in Italy and in Tripoli, and she realises that Cattaneo, a poet, is the nephew she last saw when he was a baby. Immediately she knows what she must do. She boards a place to Rome, where she plans to reclaim the life that she failed to have. Her real life. Moving between past and present, to explore Liliana's years as a young woman in Tripoli under Italian occupation, The Fourth Shore shines a light on a forgotten period of brutal repression and once again shows that the emotionally crippling effects of war linger for decades after the fighting has stopped.

Fleet

Early One Morning

Virginia Baily
Authors:
Virginia Baily
A new literary imprint

Fleet

Read more

Discovering new literary talent

Blackfriars

Blackfriars aims to discover and nurture new talent (or talent that has been away for a while), run by Clare Smith of Little,Brown /Abacus.

The Lifeboat and Shelter wow booksellers

Two Virago Debuts make the Waterstones 11

Announced at Waterstones Piccadilly early January, Waterstones 11 is the debut fiction promotion for 2012, and Virago have two novels on the list - The Lifeboat by Charlotte Rogan and Shelter by Frances Greenslade.

The summer must-read from Kate Furnivall

EXTRACT: SHADOWS ON THE NILE

Beautifully written, compulsively plotted and truly satisfying – Shadows on the Nile is a summer must-have for fans of Julia Gregson, Rosie Thomas and other sumptuous historical romances Indulge yourself with this sneak-peek at the first chapter now.

Monday 3 February 2014

Little, Brown Book Group Acquires Constable & Robinson

Ursula Mackenzie CEO of Little, Brown and Nova Jayne Robinson, Chairman of Constable & Robinson are delighted to announce that, with immediate effect, Constable & Robinson will join Little, Brown Book Group.

Manhattan Beach to publish on October 3rd, 2017

Corsair to publish the new Jennifer Egan novel

Find out more

by Val McDermid

The Vanishing Point - Chapter One

It's every parent's worst nightmare - your child abducted while you look on, helpless. But five-year-old Jimmy's life is shrouded in secrets, and his mother will be forced to make the most difficult choice of her life - a choice that will affect everyone around her...

by J.K. Rowling

The Casual Vacancy

Little, Brown Book Group announces that the new novel for adults by J.K. Rowling is entitled The Casual Vacancy. The book will be published worldwide in the English language in hardback, ebook, unabridged audio download and on CD on Thursday 27th September 2012.

by J.K. Rowling

The Cover Release for The Casual Vacancy

Little, Brown Book Group releases the cover for The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling, along with updated cover copy, details of the audio reader and confirmed page extent.

Little, Brown Book Group

Who We Are

Three times the winner of the Publisher of the Year Award, most recently in 2010 at the Bookseller Industry Awards, Little, Brown Book Group has a proven history of success, and a track record for delivering bestsellers across the full range of our publishing.

Susanna Gregory interviews Charles Finch

The Crime Vault: Meet The Authors

Susanna Gregory interviews fellow Crime Vault author Charles Finch, creator of the Charles Lenox series - armchair cosies at their best.

An exclusive extract

The Red Book

The Red Book is the name of the annual yearbook produced by Harvard University that helps keep alumni abreast of their former classmates achievements. Deborah Kogan's highly acclaimed new novel is the story of four such Harvard students and friends, who's lives have taken very different paths in the twenty years since graduating in 1989, and who are brought together once more over the course of a turbulent reunion weekend.

The Casual Vacancy is announced

Little, Brown to publish J.K. Rowling's First Novel for Adults

Little, Brown Book Group announces that the new novel for adults by J.K. Rowling is entitled The Casual Vacancy. The book will be published worldwide in the English language in hardback, ebook, unabridged audio download and on CD on Thursday 27th September 2012.

The Virago hardback designer collection

Virago Introduces Virago Modern Classics

Feast your eyes on these beauties! The second VMC designer hardback collection, available in all good bookshops, £12.99 each.

by Mark Billingham

Rush Of Blood: An Extract

Read the first chapter of best-selling Mark Billingham's thrilling new novel 'Rush of Blood'.

A spellbinding story of Ernest Hemingway's marriage

The Paris Wife by Paula McLain

On 3 March, Virago published The Paris Wife, a spellbinding novel based on the true story of Ernest Hemingway’s marriage to Hadley Richardson, their life together in Jazz Age Paris, and the agonizing break-up of their relationship in 1926. It is an extraordinary love story, told from the point of view of Hadley, an extraordinary woman. Drawing on a vast array of contemporary sources, Paula McLain has created a voice for Hadley that captivates the reader from the first page.