Jack Whyte - Pendragon - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405521369
    • Publication date:09 Jan 2014

Pendragon

Legends of Camelot 7 (Arthur the Son – Book II)

By Jack Whyte

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

The seventh book in Jack Whyte's remarkable, authentic Legends of Camelot series, now available in the UK

A matchless warrior
A true friend lost
A love like none before

The son of a Celtic King and a Romano-British aristocrat, Uther Pendragon learns early to respect honour, nobility and integrity, but he also learns to love to fight, and to kill when necessary. His closest boyhood friend is his cousin Merlyn Britannicus, and together they will set Britain on a new path.

But Camelot attracts the envy and dislike of others, among them Gulrhys Lot, King of Cornwall, and Lot's hunger for power and conquest will come to define Uther's life as his friendship with his cousin Merlyn disintegrates.

While war ravages the land, Uther seems invincible, but he is powerless against the love that will undo him; a love that will seal his place in legend as he becomes father to Arthur, High King of Britain.

Discover the most authentic telling of the Arthurian legend ever written

Biographical Notes

Jack Whyte was born and raised in Scotland, and educated in England and France. He is the author of the 'Knights of the Black and White' trilogy.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780751550849
  • Publication date: 09 Jan 2014
  • Page count: 720
  • Imprint: Sphere
Virago

House of Glass

Susan Fletcher
Authors:
Susan Fletcher
Piatkus

The Palace of Lost Dreams

Charlotte Betts
Authors:
Charlotte Betts

A sumptuously evocative story set in 18th century India from bestselling author Charlotte Betts, perfect for readers of Dinah Jefferies, Lucinda Riley and Jenny Ashcroft.'Romantic, engaging and hugely satisfying' Katie Fforde on The Apothecary's DaughterIndia, 1798. Beatrice Sinclair, a grieving young widow facing financial destitution, has travelled from Hampshire to Hyderabad to visit her brother, an employee of the British East India Company. There, she is astonished to discover that he has married a beautiful Indian girl and lives with his wife's extended family in a dilapidated palace, the Jahanara Mahal - famed for the theft of a fabled diamond many years ago.As an outsider in an unfamiliar world, Bee faces many challenges - not least of all building a new and meaningful life after the heartbreak she has endured. Meanwhile the French and British forces become locked in a battle over India's riches, and matters are complicated further by the presence of the dashing Harry Wyndam: a maverick ex-soldier and suspected spy.With rebellion in the air, Bee must decide where her loyalties lie . . .Reader reviews for Charlotte Betts:'You will never be disappointed with a Charlotte Betts book!' Amazon reviewer'Well-written and thought-provoking' Goodreads reviewer'A fantastic story loaded with history' Amazon reviewer

Orbit

Successor's Promise

Trudi Canavan
Authors:
Trudi Canavan

'EPIC, VIVID AND BELIEVABLE' Guardian on Thief's Magic'IT'S EASY TO SEE WHY TRUDI CANAVAN'S NOVELS SO OFTEN MAKE THE BESTSELLER LISTS' SFXFollowing Thief's Magic and Angel of Storms, international No. 1 bestselling author Trudi Canavan returns with the third novel in the Millennium's Rule series - her most powerful and thrilling adventure yet.Five years have passed since the Rebels confronted the Raen. Five years, in which Qall - the boy Rielle rescued - has grown up among the Travellers, with no memory of the life that was stolen from him.Five years of chaos, barely contained by Baluka and the Restorers. Worlds are at war, some overrun by deadly machines, some drained of magic by power-hungry sorcerers.As Qall comes of age, and Rielle and Tyen's hard-won peace is threatened, their loyalties are tested - and Qall's very existence is at stake.Because Dahli is still determined to restore Valhan to power, and he will stop at nothing to succeed.A gripping fantasy adventure filled with danger, intrigue and forbidden magic. Perfect for fans of Robin Hobb, Brandon Sanderson, Patrick Rothfuss and Peter V. Brett.ESCAPE TO A NEW WORLD.DISCOVER THE MAGIC OF TRUDI CANAVAN.Praise for THIEF'S MAGIC:'Her easy, flowing style makes for effortless reading . . . Delightful worldbuilding . . . Vivid and enjoyable' SFX'A must for fans of Canavan's previous work and for fantasy fans in general' Press Association'Rielle's story entrances . . . leaving readers eager for the next two volumes' Publisher's Weekly'The world-building is tremendous. The magical system is sophisticated and fascinating' Striking Keys

Piatkus

Forevermore

Kristen Callihan
Authors:
Kristen Callihan
Orbit

The Darkling Child

Terry Brooks
Authors:
Terry Brooks
Sphere

Uprising

Jack Whyte
Authors:
Jack Whyte
Orbit

The High Druid's Blade

Terry Brooks
Authors:
Terry Brooks
Piatkus

Soulbound

Kristen Callihan
Authors:
Kristen Callihan
Piatkus

Shadowdance

Kristen Callihan
Authors:
Kristen Callihan
Sphere

Resistance

Jack Whyte
Authors:
Jack Whyte

Born to a divided kingdom. Destined to unite it.AD 1286: The King of Scots is killed, leaving no heir. Twelve-year-old Robert Bruce, heir to the great House of Bruce, comes of age amid the bitter rivalry of Scotland's most powerful nobles to claim the vacant throne.The boy is schooled in the arts of warfare and the manipulation of ruthless and violent men, but when the Scottish Crown is bestowed upon Bruce's greatest enemies, Robert travels with his family to England, swearing feudal loyalty to King Edward Plantagenet - known as 'Longshanks'.But Longshanks's increasing treachery and his brutal attempts to annexe Scotland see Robert turning renegade and returning to his home country. The Battle of Bannockburn lies ahead and a legend is born.This is the story of one man's resistance, and the bravery of a country that would not yield.

Orbit

Thief's Magic

Trudi Canavan
Authors:
Trudi Canavan
Sphere

War of the Celts

Jack Whyte
Authors:
Jack Whyte

A country in ruinsA struggle for survivalA dynasty begunThe Empire is collapsing and after 450 years of occupying Britain, the Roman legions are departing to defend the homeland. Soldier turned blacksmith Publius Varrus and his friend, the Legate Caius Britannicus, decide to stay behind and build a new life in the chaos that is left behind.They dream of rebuilding the Empire, this time free of the corruption that destroyed it, and firmly based on the island of Britain, despite its being bathed in blood and brutalised by tribal invasion.Their dream is a thousand years premature, but the first step towards it is the unification of the country under one man, a monarch whose fame will echo through the ages: Publius' great grandson: Arthur Pendragon, King of the Britons.Discover the most authentic telling of the Arthurian legend ever written

Sphere

The Round Table

Jack Whyte
Authors:
Jack Whyte
Sphere

Merlyn

Jack Whyte
Authors:
Jack Whyte

A brutal murderMurmurs of magicVengeance deniedIt is 409 AD in Britain and the Roman legions are gone. Britain is abandoned and the fledgling colony of Camelot needs a new leader. Two young men, related by blood, step forward prepared to share that responsibility: Caius Merlyn Britannicus, the grandson of Camelot's founder, and his first cousin, the Celtic prince Uther Pendragon.But an act of cold barbarism shatters the trust and comradeship these two have shared since childhood and causes Merlyn to doubt his cousin's morality.As war arrives from the south-west and Uther's motives are revealed, Merlyn finds salvation where he had least expected it, and a legend is born in this prequel to Jack Whyte's groundbreaking Excalibur.Discover the most authentic telling of the Arthurian legend ever written

Orbit

Promise of Blood

Brian McClellan
Authors:
Brian McClellan
Sphere

Lancelot

Jack Whyte
Authors:
Jack Whyte
Sphere

The Last Stand

Jack Whyte
Authors:
Jack Whyte
Sphere

The Sorcerer

Jack Whyte
Authors:
Jack Whyte

A throne will be claimedHeroes will fallA destiny will be fulfilledMerlyn Britannicus returns to his home of Camelot to keep a sacred promise: to lead Arthur Pendragon to the throne.But between Merlyn and victory lie opponents who would destroy those that he loves the most. As friends and family face violent judgement, Merlyn transforms himself into the feared sorcerer of legend.Time is running out for Merlyn to unite a Britain divided by war and lust for power, and for him to turn Arthur from young hero into the High King of Britain.Discover the most authentic telling of the Arthurian legend ever written

Sphere

The Boy King

Jack Whyte
Authors:
Jack Whyte

An heir hiddenA land dividedA king in waitingHaving fled their home of Camelot, Merlyn Britannicus and the Arthur Pendragon find sanctuary in an abandoned Roman fort as the protector continues the young heir's training.Sheltered from the forces that would destroy him, Arthur grows in strength and resolve, and the child becomes a warrior and a hero.But a storm is coming, and Merlyn must make preparations for the path ahead: a dangerous journey home and the battle that will see the boy become a king.Discover the most authentic telling of the Arthurian legend ever written

Sphere

Excalibur

Jack Whyte
Authors:
Jack Whyte

A hero is bornA sword will choose himA sorcerer will save himThe Roman Empire is in ruins. On a tiny boat in the Irish Sea float one man and a child, helpless after war has nearly destroyed their home, the colony called Camelot.That man is Merlyn Britannicus, cousin to the slain king Uther Pendragon. He would shed oceans of blood and sacrifice his life to defend the baby and royal heir: Arthur.With Camelot ripped apart by warring lords and assailed by violent tribes, Merlyn must use everything in his power to protect Arthur and return him to the land in which he'll become a hero.Discover the most authentic telling of the Arthurian legend ever written