Charles Stross - The Fuller Memorandum - Little, Brown Book Group

The Fuller Memorandum

Book 3 in The Laundry Files

By Charles Stross

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

The third book in the 'Laundry' series - the world's only science fiction/ dark comedy/ Cold War/ IT/ Lovecraftian Horror/ spy novels!

Bob Howard is an IT specialist and field agent for the Laundry, the branch of Her Majesty's secret service that deals with occult threats.

Overworked and underpaid, Bob is used to his two jobs overflowing from a strict nine to five and, since his wife Mo has a very similar job description, he understands that work will sometimes follow her home, too. But when 'work' involves zombie assassins and minions of a mad god's cult, he realises things are spinning out of control.

When a top-secret dossier goes missing and his boss Angleton is implicated, Bob must contend with suspiciously helpful Russian intelligence operatives and an unscrupulous apocalyptic cult before confronting the decades-old secret that lies at the heart of the Laundry: what is so important about the missing Fuller Memorandum? And why are all the people who know dying . . . ?

Biographical Notes

Charles Stross was born in Leeds, England, in 1964. He has worked as a pharmacist, software engineer and freelance journalist, but now writes full time.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781841497709
  • Publication date: 01 Jul 2010
  • Page count: 384
  • Imprint: Orbit
Orbit

Outer Earth

Rob Boffard
Authors:
Rob Boffard

Welcome to Outer Earth: a vivid, dangerous world where every day is a desperate struggle for survival. Who said in space no one can hear you scream?Outer Earth is a huge space station orbiting the ruins of our planet. Dirty, overcrowded and inescapable, it's humanity's last refuge . . . and possibly its final resting place.For there are dark forces at work on the station: forces that seek to unleash chaos. If they succeed, there will be nowhere left to run. This omnibus edition contains all three of Rob Boffard's adrenaline-fuelled Outer Earth novels: Tracer, Zero-G and Impact.

Orbit

Beyond the Empire

K. B. Wagers
Authors:
K. B. Wagers
Orbit

Into the Drowning Deep

Mira Grant
Authors:
Mira Grant

The voyage of the Atargatis set off on a journey to the Mariana Trench to film a 'mockumentary' bringing to life ancient sea creatures of legend. She was lost at sea with all hands. Some have called it a hoax; others a maritime tragedy.Now, a new crew has been assembled. But this time they're not out to entertain. Some seek to validate their life's work. Some seek the greatest hunt of all. But for the ambitious young scientist Victoria Stewart, this is a voyage to uncover the fate of the sister she lost. Whatever the truth may be, it will only be found beneath the waves.But the secrets of the deep come with a price . . .New York Times bestselling author Mira Grant takes us on a journey into the unknown in this gripping stand-alone novel in which myths come to life.

Orbit

Places in the Darkness

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre

Orbit

Forbidden Suns

D. Nolan Clark
Authors:
D. Nolan Clark

Forbidden Suns is the unmissable final novel in the Silence trilogy - widescreen space opera at its very best, combining blistering action with jaw-dropping plot twists. In the cold of space, the fire of revenge still burns. Aleister Lanoe has been on a mission since before he can remember. Honing his skills as a fighter pilot and commander through three centuries of constant warfare, he has never met a foe he cannot best.But now he faces a mission which may be his last: take vengeance on the alien race who has coldly and systematically erased all the sentient life in its path.In all his years at war, the stakes have never been higher . . .

Hachette Audio

The Eternity War: Pariah

Jamie Sawyer
Authors:
Jamie Sawyer
Orbit

Raising Fire

James Bennett
Authors:
James Bennett

Fans of Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher will revel in this fiery tale of magic, mayhem and modern-day mythology.Life isn't treating Red Ben Garston well. He's lost everything he once held dear, including the love of his life. Still, at least he escaped the clutches of a malevolent spirit bent on total destruction. So there is that.Now Ben just wants to drink, and forget, and drink some more. But he can't. Not yet.Because someone is stirring up trouble. Someone who wants to unleash a powerful ancient magic that could bring the realm of mythology crashing into the modern world.If Ben fails to stop them, the world will burn - and that's the last thing he needs on his conscience.

Orbit

The Dragon Lords: False Idols

Jon Hollins
Authors:
Jon Hollins

A heist story with a difference: Guardians of the Galaxy meets The Hobbit in this rollicking fantasy adventure.The Dragons who once ruled over the land are dead. The motley crew that stole the dragons' gold and stumbled through a revolution are rich, and praised as saviors. Everyone gets to live happily ever after, right? Well, it might have worked out that way if the dragons in Kondorra had been the only ones. If they hadn't been just the tip of the spear about to fall upon the whole world . . .The Dragon Lords: False Idols combines non-stop action, death-defying adventure and a never-before-assembled cast of wisecracking misfits. This series is a worthy addition to every fantasy lover's horde.

Hachette Audio

The Stone Sky

N. K. Jemisin
Authors:
N. K. Jemisin

The incredible conclusion to the trilogy that began with the Hugo Award-winning The Fifth Season · Shortlisted for the Hugo, Nebula, Kitschies, Audie and Locus Awards · A New York Times Notable Book · The inaugural Wired.com book club pick The Moon will soon return. Whether this heralds the destruction of humankind or something worse will depend on two women. Essun has inherited the phenomenal power of Alabaster Tenring. With it, she hopes to find her daughter Nassun and forge a world in which every outcast child can grow up safe. For Nassun, her mother's mastery of the Obelisk Gate comes too late. She has seen the evil of the world, and accepted what her mother will not admit: that sometimes what is corrupt cannot be cleansed, only destroyed. Praise for this trilogy: 'Amazing' Ann Leckie 'Breaks uncharted ground' Library Journal 'Beautiful' Nnedi Okorafor 'Astounding' NPR 'Brilliant' Washington Post

Orbit

Raid

K. S. Merbeth
Authors:
K. S. Merbeth
Orbit

Strange Dogs

James S. A. Corey
Authors:
James S. A. Corey
Orbit

The Delirium Brief

Charles Stross
Authors:
Charles Stross
Orbit

Forgotten Worlds

D. Nolan Clark
Authors:
D. Nolan Clark
Hachette Audio

The Boy on the Bridge

M. R. Carey
Authors:
M. R. Carey

Once upon a time, in a land blighted by terror, there was a very clever boy. The people thought the boy could save them, so they opened their gates and sent him out into the world. To where the monsters lived. In The Boy on the Bridge, M. R. Carey returns to the world of his phenomenal word-of-mouth bestseller, The Girl With All the Gifts, for the very first time.

Orbit

Bound

Benedict Jacka
Authors:
Benedict Jacka

Alex Verus can see the future. But he never thought he'd see this day.Manoeuvred by forces beyond his control, the probability mage has made a terrible choice: he's agreed to work for his old master once more.Richard Drakh, the sadistic dark mage Alex escaped as an apprentice, has him in his clutches again. And this time, he won't let go so easily.

Orbit

New York 2140

Kim Stanley Robinson
Authors:
Kim Stanley Robinson
Orbit

Forsaken Skies

D. Nolan Clark
Authors:
D. Nolan Clark
Orbit

After the Crown

K. B. Wagers
Authors:
K. B. Wagers

Former gunrunner-turned-Empress Hail Bristol was dragged back to her home planet to fill her rightful position in the palace. With her sisters and parents murdered, the Indranan empire is on the brink of war. Hail must quickly make alliances with nearby worlds if she has any hope of surviving her rule. When peace talks turn violent and Hail realizes she's been betrayed, she must rely on her old gunrunning ways to get out of trouble. With help from an old boss and some surprising new allies, she must risk everything to save her world.

Orbit

Babylon's Ashes

James S. A. Corey
Authors:
James S. A. Corey
Orbit

Fireborn

David Dalglish
Authors:
David Dalglish

The next breathtaking novel in the Seraphim series - a soaring new fantasy adventure from USA Today bestselling author, David Dalglish Bree and Kael Skyborn have seen their island invaded, their Seraphim disbanded and their royal family imprisoned. A rebellion grows from the ashes, demanding Bree to be their Phoenix, their symbol against Center's tyranny, and for Kael to find the doomsday prophet Johan and sway his cult to their side. Should they fail, the hope of their rebellion fails with them.