Chris Bunch and Allan Cole - Death Match: Sten Omnibus 3 - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780748125906
    • Publication date:06 Dec 2012
Books in this series

Death Match: Sten Omnibus 3

Numbers 7 & 8 in series

By Chris Bunch and Allan Cole

  • Paperback
  • £13.99

An omnibus of books seven and eight in this fast-paced military SF series, full of action, adventure and intrigue, from the undisputed masters of the genre. Perfect for fans of Jack Campbell and Dan Abnett.

DIPLOMACY IS OVERRATED

Soldier, Imperial bodyguard, Fleet Captain, Prisoner of War - Sten has been many things in his long career, but there's one thing he's never been - a diplomat.

But when the Emperor sends Sten to the Altaic Cluster to support its dictator in quelling a civil war, a diplomat is exactly what Sten must be. As the war intensifies, he begins to suspect he's up against something more than a local disturbance. Someone - operating in deep cover and seemingly backed by the highest authorities - is working behind the scenes to escalate disaster. And that someone wants nothing more than to see Sten dead . . .

This omnibus contains the novels VORTEX and EMPIRE'S END.

Biographical Notes

Chris Bunch was a Vietnam veteran and served as a patrol commander and combat correspondent for Stars and Stripes. His writing partner Allan Cole is a scriptwriter and science fiction author, who often draws on his father's experience as a CIA operative in his fiction.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781841494951
  • Publication date: 06 Dec 2012
  • Page count: 800
  • Imprint: Orbit
Orbit

Autonomous

Annalee Newitz
Authors:
Annalee Newitz

'Autonomous is to biotech and AI what Neuromancer was to the Internet' NEAL STEPHENSON 'Something genuinely and thrillingly new' WILLIAM GIBSON 'Holy hell. Autonomous is remarkable' LAUREN BEUKESEarth, 2144. Jack is an anti-patent scientist turned drug pirate, traversing the world in a submarine as a pharmaceutical Robin Hood, fabricating cheap medicines for those who can't otherwise afford them. But her latest drug hack has left a trail of lethal overdoses as people become addicted to their work, doing repetitive tasks until they become unsafe or insane. Hot on her trail, an unlikely pair: Eliasz, a brooding military agent, and his indentured robotic partner, Paladin. As they race to stop information about the sinister origins of Jack's drug from getting out, they begin to form an uncommonly close bond that neither of them fully understands. And underlying it all is one fundamental question: is freedom possible in a culture where everything, even people, can be owned?

Orbit

New York 2140

Kim Stanley Robinson
Authors:
Kim Stanley Robinson
Orbit

Rosewater

Tade Thompson
Authors:
Tade Thompson

John W. Campbell Award finalist for Best Science Fiction Novel A Google Play Favourite Book 2017 NOMMO Award nominee for Best NovelRosewater is a town on the edge. A community formed around the edges of a mysterious alien biodome, its residents comprise the hopeful, the hungry and the helpless - people eager for a glimpse inside the dome or a taste of its rumoured healing powers.Kaaro is a government agent with a criminal past. He has seen inside the biodome, and doesn't care to again - but when something begins killing off others like himself, Kaaro must defy his masters to search for an answer, facing his dark history and coming to a realisation about a horrifying future.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Hearts We Sold

Emily Lloyd-Jones
Authors:
Emily Lloyd-Jones
Orbit

Persepolis Rising

James S. A. Corey
Authors:
James S. A. Corey
Black Dog & Leventhal

Magnitude

Kimberly Arcand, Megan Watzke, Katie Peek
Contributors:
Kimberly Arcand, Megan Watzke, Katie Peek

In Magnitude, Kimberly Arcand and Megan Watzke take us on an expansive journey to the limits of size, mass, distance, time, and temperature in our universe, from the tiniest particle within the structure of an atom to the most massive galaxy in the universe; from the speed at which grass grows (about 2 to 6 inches a month) to the speed of light. Fully-illustrated with four-color drawings and infographics throughout and organized into sections including Size and Amount (Distance, Area, Volume, Mass, Time, Temperature), Motion and Rate (Speed, Acceleration, Density, Rotation), and Phenomena and Processes (Energy, Pressure, Sound, Wind, Computation), Magnitude shows us the scale of our world in a clear, visual way that our relatively medium-sized human brains can easily understand.

Hachette Audio

Places in the Darkness

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre
Orbit

Forbidden Suns

D. Nolan Clark
Authors:
D. Nolan Clark
Orbit

All the Pretty Little Horses

Mira Grant
Authors:
Mira Grant

A Newsflesh novella from the New York Times bestselling author that brought you Feed, Mira Grant.Stacy and Michael Mason are among the most famous heroes of the zombie apocalypse. Stacy, however, has fallen into a deep depression after having to shoot their infected son. In the aftermath of the pandemic, they start publicly documenting the recovery effort, which Michael hopes will take Stacy's mind off of her trauma and help her recover.As they film the rescue of an enclave of orphans and report on the orphanages that have sprung up to care for traumatized, parent-less children, they begin to consider the last, greatest step of recovery: adoption.More from Mira GrantInto the Drowning DeepNewsflesh Short FictionApocalypse Scenario #683: The BoxCountdownSan Diego 2014: The Last Stand of the California BrowncoatsHow Green This Land, How Blue This SeaThe Day the Dead Came to Show and TellPlease Do Not Taunt the OctopusNewsfleshFeedDeadlineBlackoutFeedbackRise: A Newsflesh CollectionParasitologyParasiteSymbiontChimera

Orbit

The Corporation Wars: Emergence

Ken MacLeod
Authors:
Ken MacLeod
Orbit

The Eternity War: Pariah

Jamie Sawyer
Authors:
Jamie Sawyer

The first novel in a brand new series, The Eternity War: Pariah is an action-packed science fiction adventure - perfect for fans of The Expanse series, Peter F. Hamilton, Alastair Reynolds and Adrian Tchaikovsky. The soldiers of the Simulant Operations Programme are mankind's elite warriors. Veterans of a thousand battles across a hundred worlds, they undertake suicidal missions to protect humanity from the insidious Krell Empire and the mysterious machine race known as the Shard. Lieutenant Keira Jenkins is an experienced simulant operative and leader of the Jackals, a team of raw recruits keen to taste battle. They soon get their chance when the Black Spiral terrorist network seizes control of a space station. Yet no amount of training could have prepared the Jackals for the deadly conspiracy they soon find themselves drawn into - a conspiracy that is set to spark a furious new war across the galaxy.Set in the same universe as Jamie Sawyer's acclaimed Lazarus War novels, The Eternity War series is an explosive tale of elite marines, deep-space exploration and warring galactic empires.Praise for Jamie Sawyer:'A gripping read that moves at warp speed' Jack Campbell, author of the Lost Fleet series'Alien biomechs . . . terrorism, subterfuge and traitors . . . starships sporting particle beam weapons, railguns the size of skyscrapers, laser batteries, missiles . . . This, dear readers, is the good stuff' Neal Asher, author of the Agent Cormac novels 'Hyper-speed entertainment from a new master of science fiction' William C. Dietz, author of the Halo tie-in novels'Gripping, gritty and unsentimental - Sawyer shows us how perilous future war can be' Michael Cobley, author of Seeds of Earth'An adrenaline shot of rip-roaring military SF' Stephen Deas

Orbit

Provenance

Ann Leckie
Authors:
Ann Leckie
Orbit

The Stone Sky

N. K. Jemisin
Authors:
N. K. Jemisin
Orbit

Raid

K. S. Merbeth
Authors:
K. S. Merbeth

Clementine is a bounty-hunter in a world gone mad. Bound and gagged in her passenger seat is the most revered and reviled raider king in the eastern wastes. She can't cash him in and she can't let him go, so together they cross the wasteworld, following a dying road and dodging bloodthirsty raiders who either want to free Jedediah or claim him as their own. And in a world where lawlessness reigns, a tyrant worse than they could have ever imagined emerges to take the throne.

Hachette Audio

The Delirium Brief

Charles Stross
Authors:
Charles Stross

Bob Howard's career in the Laundry, the secret British government agency dedicated to protecting the world from the supernatural, has involved brilliant hacking, ancient magic and combat with creatures of pure evil. Now the Laundry's existence has become public, and Bob is being trotted out on TV to answer pointed questions about elven asylum seekers. What neither Bob nor his managers have foreseen is that their organisation has earned the attention of a horror far more terrifying than any demon: a government looking for public services to privatise. There are things in the Laundry's assets that big business would simply love to get its hands on . . .Inch by inch, Bob Howard and his managers are forced to consider the truly unthinkable: a coup against the British government itself.

Orbit

Forsaken Skies

D. Nolan Clark
Authors:
D. Nolan Clark
Orbit

Babylon's Ashes

James S. A. Corey
Authors:
James S. A. Corey
Robinson

Superhero Therapy

Janina Scarlet, Wellinton Alves de Faria
Contributors:
Janina Scarlet, Wellinton Alves de Faria
Robinson

To Hell and Back

John Marzillier
Authors:
John Marzillier

Despite how rare one-off traumatic events may seem, the statistics show that the majority of us are likely to experience such trauma at some point in our lives. In this innovative and engaging book, Marzillier combines first-hand accounts from trauma sufferers with over forty years of clinical practice to provide an honest, human description of how trauma affects us at the time and also after the event. Whether discussing accounts of terrorist bombings, natural disasters, road accidents or physical attacks, he looks at what these experiences do to us and offers practical and consoling advice - for both sufferers and their loved ones - on coping with the experience and developing resilience for the future.

Orbit

The Obelisk Gate

N. K. Jemisin
Authors:
N. K. Jemisin

WINNER OF THE 2017 HUGO AWARD FOR BEST NOVEL The season of endings grows darker, as civilization fades into the long cold night. Essun has found shelter, but not her missing daughter. Instead there is Alabaster Tenring, destroyer of the world, with a request only Essun can grant. Praise for this trilogy: 'Amazing' Ann Leckie 'Breaks uncharted ground' Library Journal 'Beautiful' Nnedi Okorafor 'Astounding' NPR 'Brilliant' Washington Post 'Heartbreaking, wholly unexpected' Brian Staveley 'Awesome' Book Smugglers 'A powerful story of hope and survival' The Root